Chinese president to visit Pakistan, hammer out $46-billion deal

China, Pakistan Sign Gas Pipeline Deal for Iran Imports Tasnim News Agency - China, Pakistan Sign Gas Pipeline Deal for Iran Imports
April 21, 2015 - 17:33
TEHRAN (Tasnim) - China signed a deal with Pakistan to construct a pipeline to take Iran's gas at border and take it across the country to the southern port of Gwadar.

The value of the deal – that has been signed during the visit by the Chinese President Xi Jinping to Islamabad – is $2 billion, The Wall Street Journal reported.

It has now officially paved the grounds for the resumption of exports of Iranian natural gas to Pakistan – a project that has been delayed for years.

Known as the Peace Pipeline, the project is meant to transfer natural gas from Iran's energy hub of Asalouyeh to Pakistan. Iran has already taken the pipeline to the border with its eastern neighbor. However, Pakistan had so far failed to construct its share of the project due to what officials say has been a lack of funds.

The pipeline from Iran will bring much-needed gas to Pakistan, which suffers from a crippling electricity deficit because of a shortage of fuel for its power-generation plants. Pakistan has been negotiating for months behind the scenes for China to build the Pakistani portion of the pipeline, the Journal added.

The gas pipeline deal was part of a package of economic agreements that President Xi signed with Pakistan's Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Monday. The total value of the package is reported to have been around $45 billion and is meant to create what is now known as the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC).

The CPEC links China's far-western region to Pakistan's south-western Gwadar port on the Arabian Sea through Kashmir and is a massive project of road, rail, energy schemes, pipelines and investment parks.

I remember a Chinese moderator on a western forum, name starting with x, scorning about Indian investment in Afghanistan as dolling out freebies to them. That cunning poster always made me sick whenever I read his diatribes. But here in Pakistan's case Chinese have different standards.

For all these decades these Chinese have been lying about their design vis a vis Pakistan. Since the rise of social media they have been getting pulled out, called out and at times abused by Indians on each of their lies. Their lies on nuclear proliferation, military alliance with Pakistan and many, including rouge PLA Generals conniving with Pakistan army and banned terrorist organizations doing tactical offences at LAC, IB and LOC to make borders hot or unsettle any diplomatic initiative between either of three.

Because now they can not wish away Indians on internet, they have been bit forthcoming on Indian forums but still patronizing on other non Indian forums. Even under all these compulsions Chinese will keep trying saving the face by adding many apologetic caveat to their assertions, to make it sound subtle and less alarming.

On the other hand Pakistanis cheerleaders never made a bone about them being subservient of China. Pakistan's only reason to brag about China is/was to tease Indians, not that pornographic webcam tease but bad mouthing.

If anyone is good in history of India-China-Pakistan relationships then they can recall that Pakistanis have been using Chinese name to warn and use the same language that we are jealous of them since 60s.

Once in a decade they think either China or USA is their savior especially when the chips are down a Ghada-e-Hind doesn't seem feasible looking at Indian progress.

If Pakistanis think it a new phenomenon that has taken India with an awe and surprise then they have just done a gross misunderstanding on how India reacts to nexuses like such.

BTW for Indian readers please watch this host who once said that he is an Arab and rest of the baboons around him, addressing him as 'Sir',are timid Dravidians. Look at his one sided zeal with no Indian perspective, full bragging about some alleged MoUs of 46 Billion and a failed attempt to belittle world's 6th largest economy with 46 billion dolor, they haven't yet got.

Khabarnaak on Geo News – 25th April 2015 - Video Dailymotion

China-Pakistan Pacts Worth Billions Reveal Beijing's Ambitions

The U.S. rival wooed Pakistan with sweet words and hard cash this week, part of a two-way lovefest less about mutual investment than Beijing's deepening ambitions for the region.

"My friend's lovely image dwells in the mirror of my heart; I tilt my head slightly, and here it comes into my sight," China's President Xi Jinping proclaimed in an editorial in the Daily Times newspaper at the start of a two-day trip to Pakistan, quoting an Urdu poem. "This will be my first trip to Pakistan, but I feel as if I am going to visit the home of my own brother."

Xi's flowery language set the stage for some serious announcements.

During a his visit, the Chinese president and Pakistan's Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif unveiled energy and infrastructure projects worth $45 billion, as well as agreements deepening military cooperation between the two countries.

China has always regarded Pakistan as a strategic partner — namely a bulwark against India — but the trip signaled a serious strengthening of ties between the two nations.

The consolidation of the China-Pakistan partnership is part of what experts have described as Beijing's "Great Game" strategy, where it aims to bolster its position in Central Asia amid pressure from the U.S. at sea.

"This is not just about the economics of it, rather the strategic imperative of it," said Sakib Sherani, a former economic adviser to the government who now heads Macro Economic Insights consultancy. "China has big plans for the region, not just Pakistan."

The central plank of Xi's trip was to establish an "economic corridor" linking Gwadar, a port in the south of Pakistan, with China's western Xinjiang region.

The infrastructure revamps — which include helping upgrade Pakistan's dilapidated railroad network, and building dams, ports and power stations — are part of China's plan to create a "Silk Road" of land and sea ties to markets in the Middle East and the rest of Asia. The Silk Road is the ancient name for the ancient trade route from China, India, ancient Persia, Africa and Europe.

Along with trade and infrastructure deals, China and Pakistan also announced they were boosting military ties.

Beijing, already struggling with a Muslim separatist movement in Xinjiang, is looking to help Pakistan quell its own militant groups that could team up with Chinese ones.

After several terrorist attacks and abductions targeting Chinese citizens in Pakistan, Beijing was also keen to ensure the safety of the laborers working on the slew of projects unveiled during the meeting.

"Our cooperation in the security and economic fields reinforce each other, and they must be advanced simultaneously," Xi said during an appearance with Sharif on Monday.

This is not a trivial point: Not only is the port of Gwadar located in Pakistan's Balochistan province, which has been rocked by a separatist insurgency for years, militants have killed tens of thousands throughout the country in the last decade.

So the decision to take a measured security risk and invest so heavily in Pakistan marked an "important turnaround" for Beijing policy, according to Professor Zhu Feng, a leading international security scholar at Peking University.

"Pakistan has been a very solid security partner, but for many years China maintained some distance because of Pakistan's domestic situation," he said. "We are very scared of instability. But China has realized that for a stabilizing Pakistan, China's economic engagement is very necessary."

Obviously aware of China's security fears, Pakistan was anxious to assure Beijing they were on top of the security situation.

"I assured President Xi that Pakistan considers China's security as important as its own security," Sharif said on Monday.

Pakistan also announced it would devote a 12,000-man strong force to guard the at least 5,000 more workers expected in Pakistan as the work gains momentum.

China's move to step up its presence in the region comes after the U.S. administration announced a "pivot" to Asia — but it doesn't necessarily mean the rivals will be in direct competition.

"What we're seeing is an informal division of labor between Beijing and Washington when it comes to Pakistan," Arif Rafiq, adjunct scholar at the Washington-based Middle East Institute said. "Beijing is providing assistance of a strategic nature to Islamabad, investing in big ticket energy and infrastructure projects and aiding Pakistan's military modernization.

"Washington will continue to be a tactical partner for Islamabad, providing it with funding and material vital to fighting a prolonged counterinsurgency against the Pakistani Taliban," Rafiq added.

However, China only has to look at the U.S.'s experience with Pakistan to see that even the most well-laid plans can go awry. Washington poured more than $30 billion of mostly military aid into the country — a key ally — after the 9/11 attacks on the U.S., but violence has continued unabated.

So Islamabad still must make good on its promises to safeguard Chinese workers and the vast infrastructure projects being planned, according Khurram Husain, business editor for the daily Dawn.

"This is a large and game-changing opportunity that the Chinese are offering," he said. "It's also up in the air whether Pakistan can get its house in order to be ready for embracing this opportunity."
China-Pakistan Pacts Worth Billions Reveal Beijing's Ambitions - NBC News
This will put greater pressure on Pakistan to ensure that terrorists from Pakistan do not fan out in Xinjiang and help the Uighurs.

That will be a difficult call since Pakistan has no control over the terrorist groups that are a dime to a dozen in Pakistan and they cannot outsource the anti terrorist operations in Pakistan to China either.

Pakistan has to ensure that the Chinese labour, technicians, engineers, etc are also protected and are not subject to terrorists attacks. Another tough call.

They are changing the route of the economic corridor to Xinjiang from Gwadar port and avoiding Balochistan and Pakhtoonistan and instead moving it through Punjab. This has already found immense disfavour in Balochistan and Pakhtoonistan. This will alienate the two peoples since it is looked upon as favouring the Punjabis, who are always taken to be the most favoured of the lot. More dissatisfaction, more problems and more terrorism are on the cards.

If Chinese companies operate in Pakistan they way they have done in Africa with very strict discipline which is essential to complete the projects in time, there will be an uproar since Pakistanis are laid back labour .

The whole issue is rife with problems but China will surely find a way to lesson the Pakistanis to be grateful for small mercies that the Chinese are showering on them.

I remember a Chinese moderator on a western forum, name starting with x, scorning about Indian investment in Afghanistan as dolling out freebies to them. That cunning poster always made me sick whenever I read his diatribes. But here in Pakistan's case Chinese have different standards.
The WAB chap who is one of the Chinese Communist plants who has infiltrated into the West?

He is a total dolt but a very good Communist spy acting as a termite to brainwash the western mind. Must have paid good money to be there on the forum.

zaib

One thing i am dissapointed is even with a strong govt, India hasn't given a warning or raised concerned over Chinese roads through a disputed territory belonging to India. Modi should raise this issue in his China visit.
Modi ko aqal a gae ha or wo samajh gaya ha k it will not work this time

zaib

This will put greater pressure on Pakistan to ensure that terrorists from Pakistan do not fan out in Xinjiang and help the Uighurs.

That will be a difficult call since Pakistan has no control over the terrorist groups
u admits that Pakistan has no control over these groups then how can u people say that pakistan is involved in terrorist activities in india or any where else

Modi ko aqal a gae ha or wo samajh gaya ha k it will not work this time
Par tumhe aqal kabhi nahi aani, signing MoU's since 2010. Ab us paper ka aachar banake kha lo, kyoki haat main phooti kaudi nahin aane wali :rofl:

u admits that Pakistan has no control over these groups then how can u people say that pakistan is involved in terrorist activities in india or any where else
Exactly, Pakistan is incapable nation and the world knows it and your Army and ISI thought that they will use these Talibans and LeTs as strategic assets against India and Afghanistan. I salute the spirit of the Pakistanis, they chose to eat grass to create monsters (PA & ISI alongside Strategic assets). Just got the news that your Strategic Assets have attacked Afghan Army in Northern Afghanistan.
BTW, are you guys daydreaming about construction of a corridor through Indian Territory?:lol:

Pakistan govt no but Isi yes

No Control over groups that are killing Pakistanis themselves.

But all control through ISI working in and against Afghanistan and India.

That's how.

zaib

Pakistan govt no but Isi yes
ISI had a control on them just to drag RUSSIA from afghanistan due to immense pressure of US but now this new military leadership of Pakistan army is trying their level best to uproot terrorism without any discrimination.

How come we don't hear of any operations against Lashkar ?

zaib

Lashkar e tayeba has a proer office in lahore and are working openly and u can meet their chief Hafiz Saeed anytime.U want to ban him and his organisation just because he speaks against india in his aaddresses and support kashmiries openly, it is not possible because everyone has a freedom of speech.we hate modi and baba ram dev because they deliver hate speeches against us and want a ban on them,would u do this for us or support this thing? ofcourse not! then why we

Lashkar e tayeba has a proer office in lahore and are working openly and u can meet their chief Hafiz Saeed anytime.U want to ban him and his organisation just because he speaks against india in his aaddresses and support kashmiries openly, it is not possible because everyone has a freedom of speech.we hate modi and baba ram dev because they deliver hate speeches against us and want a ban on them,would u do this for us or support this thing? ofcourse not! then why us
Frankly when I asked the question I did not expect a different answer, your answer is self explanatory w.r.t discrimination as far as Indian POV is concerned.

Even if I wanted to continue with this argument, we are so used to this argument that I could probably write both my arguments and your counter arguments myself.

Bye bye ....

zaib

Frankly when I asked the question I did not expect a different answer, your answer is self explanatory w.r.t discrimination as far as Indian POV is concerned.

Even if I wanted to continue with this argument, we are so used to this argument that I could probably write both my arguments and your counter arguments myself.

Bye bye ....
Frankly when i was writing an answer to ur comment, i was not hoping to get a different reply but "Bye bye"

SANITY

Lashkar e tayeba has a proer office in lahore and are working openly and u can meet their chief Hafiz Saeed anytime.U want to ban him and his organisation just because he speaks against india in his aaddresses and support kashmiries openly, it is not possible because everyone has a freedom of speech.we hate modi and baba ram dev because they deliver hate speeches against us and want a ban on them,would u do this for us or support this thing? ofcourse not! then why us
Your freedom of speech does not apply in Pakistan when it is the excuse for torturing minorities, liberals as well as muslims.
What are Pakistan's blasphemy laws? - BBC News

Where the constitution makes the ultimate unforgivable crime into a law, How does a state and constitution degrading human life on the name of faith expects to progress and have prosperity? And you speak of freedom, equality. Huh.....

Frankly when i was writing an answer to ur comment, i was not hoping to get a different reply but "Bye bye"
On a lighter note...

You must be either a genius or a good chess player if you had indeed anticipated my reply.

Wah Bhai wah...

zaib

On a lighter note...

You must be either a genius or a good chess player if you had indeed anticipated my reply.

Wah Bhai wah...
i am not a genius but a good chess player and it is not a rocket science to anticipate a reply when u are arguing an indian.we have same question same answers and same blames from the start of our journey

ha ha good one...

good taliban and bad taliban