Arjun Main Battle Tank (MBT) Mark II

Its a new tank under Arjun series also known as FMBT in public ..

Kunal Bhai was Arjun MK2 Inducted? long ago i knew they ordered some 125 Tanks, later never knew they were Inducted or not....
thanks in Advance...

Same topic cannot be reproduce for every member, Go through the thread before getting on conclusion

SilentKiller

My fear is Army won't go with FMBT or Arjun MK3 or 4 in future but will opt for a russian tank..
Reason for fear is that arjun project or future FMBT getting too late..we have only inducted Arjun MK1 and not Mk2 as army want DRDO to make arjun lose some weight and this means further delay and by them other tanks in market will get mature and arjun will get tough fight from T-14 tank in future.

Within Indian Army of-course, On field it already proven that its the best machine all around ..

Lets keep our assumption at bay, Will all know when Government announce details ..

My fear is Army won't go with FMBT or Arjun MK3 or 4 in future but will opt for a russian tank..Reason for fear is that arjun project or future FMBT getting too late..we have only inducted Arjun MK1 and not Mk2 as army want DRDO to make arjun lose some weight and this means further delay and by them other tanks in market will get mature and arjun will get tough fight from T-14 tank in future.

Avadi HVF capacity being ramped up

Capacity at the Heavy Vehicles Factory (HVF), Avadi, which manufactures heavy battlefield equipment for Indian Army, is being increased significantly even as the factory is gearing up to manufacture Main Battle Tank Arjun Mark II.
HVF is awaiting final confirmation from Army for Mark II, according to Hari Mohan, Senior General Manager. Some of the major components, chassis building, gear box and miscellaneous components will be part of the augmentation for which construction is going on and machinery is being procured, he told newspersons on the sidelines of a CII conference on Defence Manufacturing Technologies on the theme ‘Defence Indigenisation – Window of Opportunities’.
Revenue increase
Mohan said HVF is likely to report a 60 per cent increase in revenue to nearly ₹2,400 crore this year, and next year, it will be nearly ₹3,000 crore. “We have been booked by Indian Army till 2035,” he said.
HVF has nearly 300 industry partners, of which 100 are in Tamil Nadu. Mohan said there are many items that HVF is yet to indigenise. There is ample business opportunity for the private sector.
“There are also severe capacity limitations for our existing vendors,” he said.

For supplying a major component that goes under the chassis of the battle tank, HVF had only one vendor, and is now developing Lucas TVS as another source in Chennai. All the components that go into the tanks are very technology intensive. “No failure is acceptable, and this is a challenge,” he said.
Kunal Bhai was Arjun MK2 Inducted? long ago i knew they ordered some 125 Tanks, later never knew they were Inducted or not....
thanks in Advance...

rohit b3

I got this from a neutral source -

1) Protection: Very good materials but the design have an huge problem.Just look at the front right side of the turret.You can see a giant hole right? here an image: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/KWgLARHNxXc/maxresdefault.jpg This is the gunner sight and that part don't have any composite armor module to protect the crew.This is a giant week point and it's situated on the FRONT of the tank...any modern tank round can easily penetrate that part of the tank. Here an image: where you can understand the problem: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7380/9127762185_d3acb77a9c_b.jpg - Now we need to talk about the blowout panel....Every tank now days have them to separate the crew from the ammunition...just in case of an internal fire.The Arjun on paper should have them too but if you watch the videos on the Arjun you can notice something strange: http://imgur.com/2XmgXaa (from this video ) NO separate ammo compartment....an incoming hit can ignite the tank´s ammunition and vaporize it. - Again about the Kanchan armor....very good but not present on the whole turret...check the sides and you can notice that 2/3rds of the turret are exposed http://i.imgur.com/nRFeW8q.jpg -

2) Main Gun The main gun is and old rifled gun still adopted only by the challenger (than more times would be upgraded in a smoothbore gun but due budget problems the upgrades weren't never made) This kind of gun is obsolete.In the past the rifled gun were more accurate than smoothbore thanks to the spin motion that applies to the bullet.But that was true in the PAST. Now the modern bullets have fins that make them spin itself. A smoothbore gun have an higher shell choice,an higher range and better durability. - Another problem...the penetration power.The Arjun can penetrate only 300mm of RHA from 2km!!! This is too low! A modern APFSDS can penetrate 800-900mm from 2km! The Arjunonly 1/3 of the other standards! http://imgur.com/uIKd9zq

Is this fair enough?

1. Such an design is for better gunnery results, Their are design trade offs, MK2 has separate ammunition bin, The photo is from MK1 and of an prototype ..

2. APFSDS rounds are high pressure rounds and used only in Major tank to tank battles, In majority low pressured rounds are used and they are more accurate from rifled gun, No FCS can predict a round trajectory from smooth-bore 100%, 300mm @ 2000ms at 60degree and at 90 degree its 460mm @ 2000ms.

===========

Hardly fair, Though these were covered in various threads ..

Rushil51

I got this from a neutral source -

1) Protection: Very good materials but the design have an huge problem.Just look at the front right side of the turret.You can see a giant hole right? here an image: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/KWgLARHNxXc/maxresdefault.jpg This is the gunner sight and that part don't have any composite armor module to protect the crew.This is a giant week point and it's situated on the FRONT of the tank...any modern tank round can easily penetrate that part of the tank. Here an image: where you can understand the problem: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7380/9127762185_d3acb77a9c_b.jpg - Now we need to talk about the blowout panel....Every tank now days have them to separate the crew from the ammunition...just in case of an internal fire.The Arjun on paper should have them too but if you watch the videos on the Arjun you can notice something strange: http://imgur.com/2XmgXaa (from this video ) NO separate ammo compartment....an incoming hit can ignite the tank´s ammunition and vaporize it. - Again about the Kanchan armor....very good but not present on the whole turret...check the sides and you can notice that Another problem...the penetration power.The Arjun can penetrate only 300mm of RHA from 2km!!! This is too low! A modern APFSDS can penetrate 800-900mm from 2km! The Arjunonly 1/3 of the other standards! http://imgur.com/uIKd9zq

Is this fair enough?
I have some questions

1.) The gunner sight issue looks serious but wouldn't that target area be too small? I mean it wouldn't be highly unlikely to tank to get hit there? Btw I checked Challenger 2, M1 Abrams and T-90's front and they don't have Gunner sight in such a big gaping hole so maybe yes this can be a big issue.

2.) Surely it is the round that is weak and not the gun as it talks the specifications of the round rather than the tank's Gun

Their is a reason that Army wanted this in MK2 as well, DRDO on other hand had prototype of Arjun with sloped Armour and FCS at top of turret but was rejected in favor of design which was as per Army requirement ..

I have some questions

1.) The gunner sight issue looks serious but wouldn't that target area be too small? I mean it wouldn't be highly unlikely to tank to get hit there? Btw I checked Challenger 2, M1 Abrams and T-90's front and they don't have Gunner sight in such a big gaping hole so maybe yes this can be a big issue.

Some of known Prototypes and models of Arjun series tanks :

Arjun prototype with 105mm L7 cannon and unknown FCS from 1980s

Arjun MK1 prototype from mid 90s with BEL FCS

Tank Ex aka Karna MBT, Arjun modified turret mated with T-72M1 chassis, From early 2000

Enhanced Arjun MK1 with unknown FCS and new turret, Never went into production, Date unknown

Arjun MK1 with ARDE 120mm cannon which went into production from late 2000

Arjun MK2 prototype at Defexpo 2015 at Goa.

Abhijeet Sinha

You mean Defexpo 2016 at Goa.

Hi, I am new on this forum (although a passive reader for a long time)

I had a question for you, please read below:

Recently ISIS destroyed Turkish Leopard 2A4s in the north of Syria.
https://southfront.org/isis-hits-2-more-turkish-leopard-2-tanks-in-northern-syria-photos/

This raised a question in my mind regarding Arjun MK1 and other tanks without ERA/active protection.
Have they really become so vulnerable to these Anti tank missiles possessed by terrorist organisations that they can take these tanks down so easily.

Or the export variant of the these Leopard 2A4s have weaker armour, as compared to the German Leopard 2A4s.

tejas warrior

You mean Defexpo 2016 at Goa.

Hi, I am new on this forum (although a passive reader for a long time)

I had a question for you, please read below:

Recently ISIS destroyed Turkish Leopard 2A4s in the north of Syria.
https://southfront.org/isis-hits-2-more-turkish-leopard-2-tanks-in-northern-syria-photos/

This raised a question in my mind regarding Arjun MK1 and other tanks without ERA/active protection.
Have they really become so vulnerable to these Anti tank missiles possessed by terrorist organisations that they can take these tanks down so easily.

Or the export variant of the these Leopard 2A4s have weaker armour, as compared to the German Leopard 2A4s.
Arjun Mk2 has showcased the ability of Kanchan armor to protect the tank when hit at point blank range by a T-72.

Does it answer your question ?

Abhijeet Sinha

Thanks
I think it was Arjun MK1 Kanchan armour itself that withstood APFSDS rounds from T72, point blank.
http://tanknutdave.com/the-indian-arjun-main-battle-tank/
Has Kanchan 2 been used in Arjun MK2 armour?

I read on the wiki (couldn't find any other source) that the T90M armour also withstood APFSDS rounds, fired from a distance of 250 m. (I am not sure if 250 m means point blank in tank world?)

Their is no official name for Improved Kanchan Armour, Though few material name did came up like boron carbide and titanium alloy ..

Lets keep other tank debate in other thread, This thread is specifically for Arjun MK2 news and development ..

Thanks
I think it was Arjun MK1 Kanchan armour itself that withstood APFSDS rounds from T72, point blank.
http://tanknutdave.com/the-indian-arjun-main-battle-tank/
Has Kanchan 2 been used in Arjun MK2 armour?

I read on the wiki (couldn't find any other source) that the T90M armour also withstood APFSDS rounds, fired from a distance of 250 m. (I am not sure if 250 m means point blank in tank world?)