Zarb-e-Azb cost $1.9 billion: Dar

ISLAMABAD: Federal Minister for Finance Ishaq Dar on Friday said that Pakistan conducted successful Operation Zarb-e-Azb at the total cost of $1.9 billion that depended upon well-coordinated efforts of all stakeholders.

A Special Steering Committee meeting was held on Friday to discuss Fata’s Temporarily Displaced Persons (TDPs), Emergency Recovery Project, at the Economic Affairs Division.

Speaking on the occasion, the finance minister emphasised that the success of Zarb-e-Azb depended upon the well-coordinated efforts of all stakeholders.

He stated that the total cost of the operation was $1.9 billion, of which the cost of rehabilitation was $800 million;

$530 million was for security enhancement and the operational cost was $270 million of which the government had disbursed half. Similarly, the government has also spent $300 million for wheat subsidy and other TDP related expenses.

The minister noted that all the stakeholders, including the federal government, Fata, Safron and security forces, had worked diligently and in a coordinated manner in order to achieve the objectives of the operation for safe return of Fata TDPs.

He appreciated the efforts of World Bank for financing of $75 million for cash transfer support to Fata TDPs.

He directed Nadra to leave no stone unturned in preparation of software and mechanism that would pass the tests of all international standards of transparency as this was the hallmark of the government.

Dar inaugurated the Operations Unit for the TDPs at the Economic Affairs Division and issued instructions that the work of return and rehabilitation of TDPs must be completed by the end of 2016 as planned.

dawn.com

assuming 800 million $ is cost of military operations, why do i have the feeling they managed it dead cheap.
Is the moral of the story is that if military flattens out the villages and towns before entering them brings down the cost of war, that is a good learning.... Looks like the stupid americans have been doing this the wrong way for a decade in this region...

assuming 800 million $ is cost of military operations, why do i have the feeling they managed it dead cheap.
Is the moral of the story is that if military flattens out the villages and towns before entering them brings down the cost of war, that is a good learning.... Looks like the stupid americans have been doing this the wrong way for a decade in this region...
Many jawans fell fighting for their land and that is not cheap. But their blood didn't shed in vain, there's been a decline in terrorist attacks in Pakistan by 80% eversince the operation was launched.

It's been a costly war. Civilians were evacuated before the military started bombing the hideouts and destroying the IED making facilities.

@blue marlin

@Neo

apka tapsara is mauju pe

dont u think imran khan would have done this for free by negotiating:)
:)
Kya Pakistan Azaad ho gaya?

What happened to Im-Ran Khan??? :confused1:

Many jawans fell fighting for their land and that is not cheap. But their blood didn't shed in vain, there's been a decline in terrorist attacks in Pakistan by 80% eversince the operation was launched.

It's been a costly war. Civilians were evacuated before the military started bombing the hideouts and destroying the IED making facilities.
Most of the terrorists were among civilians so you evacuated Terrorists and killed the Civilians.

Pak Army is a Hijra Army and can kill civilians like in Bangladesh,Balochistan,Kashmir.

The Zarb-e-azab II would be coming soon as Taliban "Freedom Fighters" would be coming back on your Army and kill your Children.

Don't worry, your generals have made enough money in this exercise.

i don't think reduction in terror attacks in your side is a permanent feature. even on our side there is reduction in cross border infiltration once a year during winters, that does not mean your tango's have learnt their lessons.

Karma is a bitch !!!!!

Kya Pakistan Azaad ho gaya?

What happened to Im-Ran Khan??? :confused1:

Most of the terrorists were among civilians so you evacuated Terrorists and killed the Civilians.

Pak Army is a Hijra Army and can kill civilians like in Bangladesh,Balochistan,Kashmir.

The Zarb-e-azab II would be coming soon as Taliban "Freedom Fighters" would be coming back on your Army and kill your Children.

more than him funny cartoon baba was more interesting.

he came,did bakwas and when Canadian govt threaten him that his Canadian citizenship will be evoked he vanished from pak land
patriotic paki:biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

blue marlin

so why dont you formally introduced you in member greeting section.

anyhow i meant what is ur views on this topic
well $1.9 is quiet alot of money considering they defence budget is just over $7 billion this year. but typically this figure is a base figure the true defence budget is larger than published. end of the day they getting rid of the militants so thats always a plus and soon it will be back to normal and people can get on with there ordinary lives.

which clearly shows some AID money has been deviated to army meant for civilian projects

blue marlin

which clearly shows some AID money has been deviated to army meant for civilian projects
i would guess so. and wheres the harm in that? pakistani is recovering and is removing the cancer of terrorism. aid in what ever form is welcome. besides the US is stopping aid anyway and the uk may follow suit. but we dont want to talk about it. some one made a freedom of information act request to find out how much did we send in aid, and it was declined due to potentially harming our relation with pakistan. point being who cares if there get aid , india gets aid to. but you guys used it for your space program. so we are stopping your aid this fiscal year. when pakistan is developed enough they wont need it too.

UK is stopping the AID because we have effectively stopped UK's darling NGOs from receiving foreign AID. Government of India does not accept any foreign AID.

Pakistan has no intention of fighting it's good terrorists. Pakistan's terrorists are just lying low waiting for opportune moment to strike. Terror, suicide bombing has become a part of Pakistani genetic makeup. Without terror Pakistanis will face severe identity crisis.

blue marlin

UK is stopping the AID because we have effectively stopped UK's darling NGOs from receiving foreign AID. Government of India does not accept any foreign AID.

Pakistan has no intention of fighting it's good terrorists. Pakistan's terrorists are just lying low waiting for opportune moment to strike. Terror, suicide bombing has become a part of Pakistani genetic makeup. Without terror Pakistanis will face severe identity crisis.
in the past i would agree with you but this new coas does not care about good or bad. they are both the same to him. from what i know both types were given the option of either surrendering or be killed. this was proven a few weeks ago when they killed a punjab terrorist leader and some others. even in balochistan many people are simply dropping there weapons as they find it the better way foward. its unfair to say its all pakistans fault, india too has had it's share of using proxies in Pakistan and Afghanistan. remember these terrorist groups were from the soviet era. when the were fighting the ussr. with pakistani and US backing along with a few others.

who knew that one day these people in the white house will eventually kill US/nato troops.

reaganmeetstalibanwhitehouse.jpg

in the past i would agree with you but this new coas does not care about good or bad. they are both the same to him. from what i know both types were given the option of either surrendering or be killed. this was proven a few weeks ago when they killed a punjab terrorist leader and some others. even in balochistan many people are simply dropping there weapons as they find it the better way foward. its unfair to say its all pakistans fault, india too has had it's share of using proxies in Pakistan and Afghanistan. remember these terrorist groups were from the soviet era. when the were fighting the ussr. with pakistani and US backing along with a few others.

who knew that one day these people in the white house will eventually kill US/nato troops.

View attachment 5869
You are either a naive British or a lying Pakistani. Every week Pakistan pushes Good Terrorists into Indian territory under cover of artillery/mortar fire from across the border.

Brutal tactics adopted by the PA in POK and Balochistan will have temporary effect. Pakistanis will continue to bleed monetarily and literally.

Quoting our NSA: “You can do one Mumbai; you may lose Balochistan”.

blue marlin

You are either a naive British or a lying Pakistani.
the first one.
keep-calm-cause-britain-rules-2.png

Every week Pakistan pushes Good Terrorists into Indian territory under cover of artillery/mortar fire from across the border.
Brutal tactics adopted by the PA in POK and Balochistan will have temporary effect. Pakistanis will continue to bleed monetarily and literally.

Quoting our NSA: “You can do one Mumbai; you may lose Balochistan”.
let me tell you something, its a secret, if india stops it's terrorist activities in Pakistan and Afghanistan then Pakistan will stop too.

the first one.
View attachment 5872

let me tell you something, its a secret, if india stops it's terrorist activities in Pakistan and Afghanistan then Pakistan will stop too.
If you have any such proof then instead of barking go to UN and tell about it.

UN would laugh at you since you are a country which gave shelter to Osama and officially a Terrorist State.

UN also has loads of Terrorist orgs which are in Pakistan.Your new Prophet Hafiz is a declared terrorist by UN.

Pakistan is a Terrorist State and has no credibility.

Pakistan using Terrorists against India: Pentagon