Wuhan Coronavirus Thread

Is coronavirus a biological warfare agent released by China?

• yes

Votes: 175 89.3%
  • no

Votes: 21 10.7%

Channel News Asia is one of the worst anti india channels in Singapore . Only regular viewers knew their biased coverages . By the way the screen grab they posting in this video was from 2019 prayagraj kumbh not from this latest one .

Who are you?
You could keep your stupidity to your own self as well and not post things you know not much about.

Okabe Rintarou

All folks, let us not spread the paranoia and make the conditions ripe for another lock-down, whatever name may it be called by,
I hope all of you, or at least some of you have gone through the findings published in Lancet. Please go through before poking fun and crying "conspiracy theorists".
It is almost certain that Covid virus is airborne (as all other coronaviruses). No amount of wearing masks will protect you. It is not spread by droplets coming from sneeze and coughs, please stop shaming or prosecuting people not wearing masks.
Not everyone of us live in cool climates. There are real chances of suffering from hypoxia if you overdo wearing masks. Last year a friend of mine went to the doc with symptoms of covid and she was asked to wear masks a little lose. She wore 2 masks those days. She got covid tested, and it had come negative. She had to spend long amounts of time outside due to her profession. Please, not everyone of us make our living in AC rooms.

Actual medical science mandates that the only way to counter airborne pathogens is lots and lots of fresh air. Please do not live in cooped up spaces if possible. Go outside and walk, run, cycle if possible without interacting with other people. Eat a balanced diet. Nature has endowed us with a tremendous defence system, the Immune system. Do allow it to do its work.
Kindly read high school biology and verify if anything that has been written is wrong or incongruous with actual verified science.
Posting a clarification on the mask thing you wrote. I've known since February 2020 that this virus is airborne (read enough papers on it). Despite this not wearing masks is a terrible idea. The normal (non-N95) masks WORK. They might not protect you, but in a population where almost everyone is wearing normal masks, the collective effect WILL protect you.
This works because what exits the mouth of an infected person is DROPLETS. These droplets then encounter the outside dry atmosphere, sun and wind flow and before these droplets settle, some of them undergo enough evaporation to turn them into "nuclei" otherwise known as aerosol, which have diameter less than 5 microns. Covid virus is 150 nm in diameter as far as I remember. This aerosol can remain suspended in air for long periods of time, which a normal mask wearer can breathe in and contract Covid. N95 masks filter these nuclei out. But the droplets can only become nuclei or aerosol if they have traveled in the outside air for some time/distance. If the infected person is wearing a NORMAL mask, it will catch the droplets so that NO AEROSOL FORMED.

This is also why its said that hot and humid environment is good to stop Covid transmission: because high humidity prevents the evaporation that turns Droplets into Aerosol/Nuclei. And hence infected people are unable to generate anything more than droplets in heavily humid environments.

As for the part about open air, that is solely a method that relies on the statistics that if you have a sufficiently open atmosphere, nuclei/aerosol does not build up (like it does in a closed room). There is a threshold of infected aerosol concentration below which, even if you breathe in that infected aerosol, its statistically unlikely to infect you (every viral particle has a mild chance of infecting you but a much greater chance it will either not be able to enter any of your cells or simply come across a macrophage).

ONE MORE REASON TO WEAR NORMAL MASKS: Normal masks won't protect you from getting infected but they are GOOD if you want a reduced amount of viral nuclei/aerosol to enter your lungs AND if you want to complete protect yourself from droplets that have two orders of magnitude more viruses than a nuclei or aerosol particle. If you get exposed to a high viral load i.e. a high number of viruses (such as by not wearing a normal mask and accidentally letting a droplet in), your chances of organ damage and even death increase significantly.

TL;DR Normal masks are not sure shot protection but still provide a good enough barrier to:
a.) Protect your own self to the extent that you won't get a high viral load and thus are much less likely to die
b.) Protect your family members 100% by ensuring that even if you are infected, you are UNABLE to produce any aerosol or droplets as the mask catches them all.

c.) Protect the country at large because you are doing your part by ensuring that you don't spread the virus to ANYONE ELSE (again 'cause you can't generate aerosol when wearing a normal mask).

Spindrift

From onwards a few things we must understand for next two years we need to make a concrete plan that includes

1. Make students to have only online classes for next 2-3 yrs.

2. Those who are in IITs or Clg with hostel facilities to have option of taking classes but then they shouldn't be allowed to leave campus frequently.

3. Humanity courses even in clg to be taught using online facilities only.

This will provide people to plan accordingly for next two year atleast.

4. We need to tripleup our bed available in hopitals asap.

5. Availability of over the counter drugs to treat it and training of staff specific u to treat covid victims in bulk.

There is no need to make people go through the whole 3-4 yr nurse course just provide basic training to lots of educated youth and let them enter in this sector for now . On the job training will be enough for such role.

6. There are lots of churches with ample land and waqf board with land in prime location in delhi. There land need to be taken over for hospitals

Also there should be a total ban to the salary provided by gov to Mullah's of mosques instead use the money to pay for medicines of poor and provide them food.

Madarsas should be shut down and converted into hospitals and schools run by gov.

And make masks compulsary
To add to it, retired army medics should be called back and asked to assist with the Covid situation

here2where

... So if people want to commit suicide by not wearing masks, I do not see what our personal problem is....
Idiots dying is nature's way of cleaning the pond and we shouldn't interfere in the process.

But...

before the non-mask wearing idiots die, they tend to overwhelm the healthcare system - equipment/doctors/nurses/resources are hogged by the idiots before they kick the bucket.

That is the problem.

I don't see what is this new meme of not wearing masks.
I am in Maharashtra, and even the most careless people wear masks now.

Everyone is spooked about the disease.

Not wearing masks would be ok when everyone was in the moh maya of "Corona gaya", but now is not the case.

UP goes to polls next year.

Congress+MVA ensuring maximum travelers from Maha end up in UP adding to chaos and bad press.

Its going to be a tough road ahead for Mahant ji as Priyanka Vadra is known to play dirty.

1618752213385.png

IndianYonko

Coronavirus India Live Tracker: Delhi facing acute shortage of oxygen, says Kejriwal
Delhi is facing acute shortage of oxygen. In view of sharply increasing cases, Delhi needs much more than normal supply. Rather than increasing supply, our normal supply has been sharply reduced & Delhi’s quota has been diverted to other states: CM Arvind Kejriwal (ANI)

Keju. is back...

temujin

Please, could anyone give suggestions for a good pulse oxymeter from Amazon.in ?
Just checked-prices have gone insane but Dr Morepen is a decent brand, so is BPL. But get any really as there isn't a lot that can go wrong with cheaper ones. Considering the issues with oxygen supply in India, an oxygen concentrator may not be a bad investment, especially if you have vulnerable family members and have money to spare. Once again, prices have gone up but you should be able to pick one delivering 5-6 l/min for 30k. I can see some rental offers too online.

Cheran

Coronavirus India Live Tracker: Delhi facing acute shortage of oxygen, says Kejriwal
Delhi is facing acute shortage of oxygen. In view of sharply increasing cases, Delhi needs much more than normal supply. Rather than increasing supply, our normal supply has been sharply reduced & Delhi’s quota has been diverted to other states: CM Arvind Kejriwal (ANI)

Keju. is back...
1618756978631.png

PS - Delhi yesterday hit 25000 cases.

1618757376317.png

Regarding remdesivir -

1618757018153.png

temujin

View attachment 85810

PS - Delhi yesterday hit 25000 cases.

View attachment 85812

Regarding remdesivir -

View attachment 85811
The latest evidence however is that Remdesivir does not alter course of illness so useless for all intents and purposes. It's just being prescribed out of habit following its early emergency authorisation by FDA. The only medication that has been consistently show to work is Dexamethasone (and Tocilizumab more recently)

The latest evidence however is that Remdesivir does not alter course of illness so useless for all intents and purposes. It's just being prescribed out of habit following its early emergency authorisation by FDA. The only medication that has been consistently show to work is Dexamethasone
How does Dexamethasone help Covid patients?

There has been a scramble of sorts for Dexamethasone in Bangalore over the past 3 months.

Alarmist wave may cause total collapse of the system. Whatever we might be saying is correct.
However, this kind of Kejru type of shouting and jumping about is good for politics. Not for anything else.
While you will avoid corona spread by preventing congregations in rallies, cinema halls and markets, you will cause extreme overcrowding in vaccine centres and rampant looting once the vaccines are available no more.
It will trip the whole system. Covid-19 is still not deadly for 98% of people getting the virus. Let us not overreact.
And yes I know 2% of 1.2 Billion is a large number, but people are recovering too. Let us not kid ourselves and think everyone will be affected in India. That is not statistically possible. Geographical spread of Corona is limited.

temujin

How does Dexamethasone help Covid patients?

There has been a scramble of sorts for Dexamethasone in Bangalore over the past 3 months.
What's causing lung injury, thrombotic syndrome resulting in multi system involvement (and eventually deaths) in CoviD is the immune response secondary to the initial infection- Dexamethasone prevents this.

Can Covid lead to Neutropenia/Sepsis shock?

temujin

Can Covid lead to Neutropenia/Sepsis shock?
Covid is associated with clotting abnormalities, including a very serious condition called DIC- reduction in lymphocytes and thrombocytes are most commonly observed in this context, not a reduction in neutrophils. Sepsis like syndromes can occur in CoviD I suppose but death mostly results from ARDS and other organ failure secondary to hypoxia and coagulation problems

Crowds are everywhere , people have a livelyhood and govt have economy to run.
Better make more Vaccines, and make zinc, azithromycin and other medicines available everywhere and ask people to not come out without purpose.
How much effective is the combination of zinc and azithromycin?