Wuhan Coronavirus Thread

Is coronavirus a biological warfare agent released by China?

• yes

Votes: 175 89.3%
  • no

Votes: 21 10.7%

HitmanBlood

It is collapsed already IMO in places like B,lore / mumbai.

Here in NCR, it's jugaad which is working.. normal Joe like me are being told to F**k off ... there r no beds...
Same in Ahmedabad and Lucknow

DivineHeretic

The Screwup in this second wave has been monumental, and will cost over a hundred thousand lives, if we are lucky. Unlucky and this absolutely goes out of control in the rural areas, and half a million dead will become a distinct possibility.

If the country goes on a deadstop right now, it will still be more than 3 weeks before covid new cases curve starts swinging down. But that wont happen, instead the combination of people's cavalier attitude mixed with an inept government supported by multiple super spreader events across the nation means that we will likely see multiple spikes over the next couple of months, each higher than the previous, each setting new records. Optimistic models claim peaks of 500,000 cases and 3-4,000 deaths a day, pessimistic models project 1,000,000+ cases and 10,000 deaths a day by mid/end May. But that is not even the main threat.

Our saving grace has been the relatively low case fatality rates. But therein lies a major problem. Case morbidity has a unique curve. It generally tracks as a stable percentage of new cases till the medical infrastructure is able to bear the active caseload. However, once the medical infra begins to get overwhelmed, case morbidity percentages begin to spike as people who could otherwise be saved die from lack of support. We've seen such scenes in New York last year, where case fatality rates as a percentage of new cases shot up to 8-9% during April-May 2020, as the medical set up was overstressed beyond capacity. We have seen similar scenes in specific regions in Italy and Brazil last year as well, as medical infra collapsed under load and patients were left to essentially die. We now expect similar scenes across tier 1 and tier 2 cities in India by end of next week.

The Screwup in this second wave has been monumental, and will cost over a hundred thousand lives, if we are lucky. Unlucky and this absolutely goes out of control in the rural areas, and half a million dead will become a distinct possibility.

If the country goes on a deadstop right now, it will still be more than 3 weeks before covid new cases curve starts swinging down. But that wont happen, instead the combination of people's cavalier attitude mixed with an inept government supported by multiple super spreader events across the nation means that we will likely see multiple spikes over the next couple of months, each higher than the previous, each setting new records. Optimistic models claim peaks of 500,000 cases and 3-4,000 deaths a day, pessimistic models project 1,000,000+ cases and 10,000 deaths a day by mid/end May. But that is not even the main threat.

Our saving grace has been the relatively low case fatality rates. But therein lies a major problem. Case morbidity has a unique curve. It generally tracks as a stable percentage of new cases till the medical infrastructure is able to bear the active caseload. However, once the medical infra begins to get overwhelmed, case morbidity percentages begin to spike as people who could otherwise be saved die from lack of support. We've seen such scenes in New York last year, where case fatality rates as a percentage of new cases shot up to 8-9% during April-May 2020, as the medical set up was overstressed beyond capacity. We have seen similar scenes in specific regions in Italy and Brazil last year as well, as medical infra collapsed under load and patients were left to essentially die. We now expect similar scenes across tier 1 and tier 2 cities in India by end of next week.
Best go to lower tier towns or rural areas and seclude self for few weeks.

At the end of the day, self discipline is very important. Unless majority population has the understanding of the gravity of what they are facing and are disciplined enough and smart enough - there is nothing the govt or anyone can do to reduce fatalities.

here2where

.....there is nothing the govt or anyone can do to reduce fatalities.
UK super best bootlicker cm rawat is guilty as hell of inducing covid fatalities by his stupid retarded utterances. Google is your friend.

Meanwhile grim situation in GJ continues

Five bodies cremated on single pyre in Surat

sajobajo

Hi, please do share whether your friends mother took Covishield or Covaxin.

Wish her a speedy recovery. Tough times ahead.
I believe it was covishield, Covaxin is still not as widely available.
I also suspect the cold storage requirements are simply not being met for a big chunk of our vaccination drives. The box carrying the vials is open at most centers, and with the heat wave, there is no way it is maintained at 2-6 degrees, more like 20 in best case.

UK super best bootlicker cm rawat is guilty as hell of inducing covid fatalities by his stupid retarded utterances. Google is your friend.

Meanwhile grim situation in GJ continues

Five bodies cremated on single pyre in Surat

But what was the Chhattisgarh CM Baghel doing?

Campaigning in Assam. :rofl:

What is happening in India's Covid epicenter Maharashtra?
People sneaked into Karnataka after lockdown was lifted and turned Karnataka into a hotspot.

My cousin sisters hubby passed away on Tuesday in Bhilai because of Covid on the 3rd day after onset of fever. Had fever around 101 on the first day, started having loose stools by the evening of 2nd day, developed breathing difficulty within a few hours, was shifted to a hospital but passed away the next morning. CT revealed severe lung damage. The body wasn't handed over to the family. There are similar stories from across India, including God's very own, Kerala. Why single out only BJP ruled states alone?

What has Maharashtra's MVA done since the onset of Covid?
Nothing.

All Congressi and opposition ruled states deliberately created the migrant crisis - Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan and Delhi.

Hamam mein sabhi nange hain bhai, kisi ek ki khilli mat udaao.

doreamon

Politically speaking this is serious screw up for bjp if only opposition can use the upcoming months . We had a chance to avoid large gatherings , increase vaccination .. sputnik cld have been early approved . Lots of idle sitting vaccine plants . Increase capacity of hospitals and number of oxygen cylinders .. Training of ngos who cld operate whr doc are less . And now this shortage of remdesivir ... what hurts is we r now economically screwed as well .

here2where

But what was the Chhattisgarh CM Baghel doing?

Campaigning in Assam. :rofl:

What is happening in India's Covid epicenter Maharashtra?
People sneaked into Karnataka after lockdown was lifted and turned Karnataka into a hotspot.

My cousin sisters hubby passed away on Tuesday in Bhilai because of Covid on the 3rd day after onset of fever. Had fever around 101 on the first day, started having loose stools by the evening of 2nd day, developed breathing difficulty within a few hours, was shifted to a hospital but passed away the next morning. CT revealed severe lung damage. The body wasn't handed over to the family. There are similar stories from across India, including God's very own, Kerala. Why single out only BJP ruled states alone?

What has Maharashtra's MVA done since the onset of Covid?
Nothing.

All Congressi and opposition ruled states deliberately created the migrant crisis - Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan and Delhi.

Hamam mein sabhi nange hain bhai, kisi ek ki khilli mat udaao.
iam in complete agreement with you that all states, regardless of political colours are equally responsible. but atleast other states, including delhi, to the best of my knowledge, 'did their job' by issuing and appearing to follow covid protocols. what is particularly obnoxious in rawat's case were his ridiculous utterances like 'come have a dip and nothing will happen to you' and overt yindooo appeasement ..

i was not trying to paint political one-upmanship in my post. we are all nanga today, no doubt.

DownWithCCP

iam in complete agreement with you that all states, regardless of political colours are equally responsible. but atleast other states, including delhi, to the best of my knowledge, 'did their job' by issuing and appearing to follow covid protocols. what is particularly obnoxious in rawat's case were his ridiculous utterances like 'come have a dip and nothing will happen to you' and overt yindooo appeasement ..

i was not trying to paint political one-upmanship in my post. we are all nanga today, no doubt.
It's mostly the people's fault and partly the governments' as well, the people for not following precautions like wearing mask and maintaining distance wherever possible and the government for thinking the pandemic was over.

Spindrift

Guys there is no point in comparing what is happening in BJP or non-BJP states. This whole shit fest of a situation with the Wuhan virus is a result of a complete failure of the system and we are all in this together.

View attachment 85504

Is it even possible ... in 24 hrs longs got damaged .. This happened in rajastan . Dainik bhaskar jaipur edition
Same with my cousin's husband. Gone within 12 hours of complaining of breathlessness.

High viral load? Re-infection while being asymptomatic during the first time if at all infected? Mutation? Or plain old cytokine storm.

He was around 35 and very fit. That's what is quite puzzling.

ert
Sorry to be a myth buster but Keju did nothing too...delhi is no better than others per se

here2where

Sorry to be a myth buster but Keju did nothing too...delhi is no better than others per se
atleast dilli sarkar had banned all religious congregations - its a different matter that the rule may or may not be followed; but kujli can say he did his job. but what we saw in UK was the cm, a constitutional post holder, shirking his responsibility and encouraging people to disregard covid protocols in place all over the country. un-freaking-believable and indefensible in anyone's books.

what is heartening to see is atleast one of the akhadas retreating when they realised the fact you need to be alive to be religious. hopefully more akhadas and general public there will follow suit

atleast dilli sarkar had banned all religious congregations - its a different matter that the rule may or may not be followed; but kujli can say he did his job. but what we saw in UK was the cm, a constitutional post holder, shirking his responsibility and encouraging people to disregard covid protocols in place all over the country. un-freaking-believable and indefensible in anyone's books.

what is heartening to see is atleast one of the akhadas retreating when they realised the fact you need to be alive to be religious. hopefully more akhadas and general public there will follow suit
Kumbh to be wrapped up by April 17: What this Niranjani Akhada Sadhu says is another reason Kumbh was nothing like Tablighi Jamaat

Kumbh and Tablighis can never be compared. The Hinuds will always put good of society above religious ceremonies, while the peacefuls will always place their religion and try to damage the society as much as possible.

johnq

Hydroxychloroquine, zinc, bismuth subsalicylate, dexamethasone (corticosteroids), budesonide inhaler (inhaled corticosteroid) and antiviral drugs should be given over the counter for free to anyone with symptoms as early as possible.

sajobajo

Hydroxychloroquine, zinc, bismuth subsalicylate, dexamethasone (corticosteroids), budesonide inhaler and antiviral drugs should be given over the counter for free to anyone with symptoms as early as possible.
Thats a good idea. Infact we can start with mass distribution of VitD, VitC, Zinc kits to all areas urgently free of cost and in huge numbers. HCQ as well. Prophylactic distribution is better than groping in the dark that we are currently doing.

johnq

Thats a good idea. Infact we can start with mass distribution of VitD, VitC, Zinc kits to all areas urgently free of cost and in huge numbers. HCQ as well. Prophylactic distribution is better than groping in the dark that we are currently doing.
The problem is that people are sitting at home without any treatment (in the early stages) thinking it will just go away, and then they are showing up at hospitals when things get really bad. By then, it's usually too late for even the hospital to help them, and hospitals are currently filled to capacity. Hydroxychloroquine, zinc, bismuth subsalicylate, dexamethasone (corticosteroids), budesonide inhaler (or other inhaled corticosteroids) generally have minimal side effects and are also available at relatively low cost in India (probably the same for antivirals being used in Covid other than Remdesivir; Remdesivir can also be hard on the liver), so these can be mass-produced and distributed over the counter for free through the pharmacies. The government can run ads on TV instructing anyone with symptoms to get these drugs through their pharmacies at the earliest onset of symptoms.