Women's veils a sign of backwardness, says official in China's Xinjiang

XINJIANG: The custom of women wearing face veils is not a tradition of minority people in China’s western area of Xinjiang or in any Muslim country, but is a symbol of extremism and backwardness instead, a senior regional official said on Thursday.

Energy-rich Xinjiang, visited this week by British finance minister George Osborne on a rare trip by a Western official, is strategically located on the borders of Central Asia. China has great plans for the region in its new Silk Road strategy.

The government has stepped up curbs on religious clothing in the heavily Muslim area, where it blames separatists for violence that has killed hundreds of people over the past few years.

Read: Woman sues police over headscarf removal

Many Xinjiang experts say the outlawing of veils and strict enforcement of the rules could further stigmatise the region’s Uighurs, who speak a Turkic language and call the region home.

Last year, Karamay, a northwestern city in Xinjiang, banned people wearing head scarves, veils or long beards from boarding buses. Authorities in Xinjiang’s capital of Urumqi have also banned the wearing of Islamic veils in public.

In unusually strong comments, Xaukat Emen, a member of the Xinjiang Communist Party standing committee, said face veils and other coverings for women were “typical extremist attire” and had nothing to do with Xinjiang, or Arab or Muslim countries.

“A people who totally cover both their eyes are certainly a backward people. We Uighurs do not want to see our female comrades wear this type of clothing,” he told a news conference in Beijing.

“Many women want to work, and many want to have contact with society. So on this issue, we will resolutely not agree.”

In some cases, men had worn the veil to kidnap children, he added.

Uighurs have traditionally followed a moderate form of Islam, but many have begun adopting practices more common in Saudi Arabia or Pakistan, such as full-face veils for women, as China has stepped up the security crackdown of recent years.

Read: White House to honour Muslim woman for environmental work

Exiles and many rights groups trace the real cause of the unrest to China’s heavy-handed policies, including curbs on Islam and the culture and language of the Uighurs. China denies trying to repress the Uighurs.

An Uighur himself, Xaukat Emen said the government was committed to supporting religious rights in Xinjiang, especially those relating to important festivals such as Eid and the fasting month of Ramazan.

“All the people enjoy religious freedom, and the normal religious practices of believers are protected by law,” he said.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/962584-veil-1443074283-684-640x480.jpeg

@Zarvan

@Neo

@musalman

this statement from china is against the principal of pak-china dosti no. 420:biggrin2:
:biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

waititng for condom nation from pakistan govt and mullah brigade:biggrin2::biggrin2:

Bhai pherendship with china is deeper than mountain , higher than sea and sweeter than veena malik:biggrin2:
China is doing all the things which are against the very concept of Ummah and Islam and yet we see Mard e momins going to China and singing "taller than mountain friend" .

It's never easy for any reforms - like that by Anaturk in Turkey, or by Peter the Great in Russia against diehard backwardness for modernization. History often makes a detour - Xinjiang used to be secular like Central Asia but then extremism sneaked in reviving.

~Tapa talks: Orange is the new black.~

Zarvan

@Zarvan

@Neo

@musalman

this statement from china is against the principal of pak-china dosti no. 420:biggrin2:
:biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

waititng for condom nation from pakistan govt and mullah brigade:biggrin2::biggrin2:
China is making sure they face civil war. As for backwardness yes using women and their bodies and promoting them as free items with different products is quite liberating. We Muslims are proud to be backward.

guru-dutt

China is making sure they face civil war. As for backwardness yes using women and their bodies and promoting them as free items with different products is quite liberating. We Muslims are proud to be backward.
but you pakistanies dont have the guts to say this to your chinese friends lolzz they make your imams dance like rakkassas , make muslims eat during roza and that too pig meat and what do you thekedaars of islam from the so called "isalm ka quilla" do to help the cause of your so called muslim brothers from china ? ..... g**** me damm nahi pakistani kissi se kam nahee:blah:

guru-dutt

Why ?

They are just removing the backwardness of the Islamic culture , see below :
pakistanies are basicalli nothing but used tissue to most of there so called "friends not masters""birader islamik mumalikcs"&"all wether friends" and slowli but steadily they have started to realise whats there actual postion in todays world but there acute sense of racial supremacy and islam ki thekedaari dosnet lets them accept or aknowledge that and to keep them selfs relevent they keep on bragging about kashmir and atom bumb/johri slahiyat :pound:

Only bigots would dump such into the basket of religion, as burqa, by either narrow or freewheeling interpretation of the "books".

Free free to wear whatever fetish in one 's harem. Yet it has nothing to do with "piety", not a bit.

Unlike in private space it has everything to do with aesthetics in the public domain. Wrapping oneself up entirely in black can't be called a good taste and is very disturbing and disrespectful to others. It shall be prohibited as much as public security is concerned too. Again it's of zilch relevance to culture or tradition.

Historically Uyghurs had been very secular (with Sufism vestiges)and civilized. Wahabism has driven some to the extent that they even declared haram of laughing at weddings or weeping at funerals, or coerced shoppers to stop alcohol and cigarette sales. Indeed weirdoes those zealots are, to deprive freedom of non followers.

don't be ridiculous . an indian fm a country of patel, yadav, dalit ksh.... lecturing Chinese on "secular" and "default fashion"? [emoji1]

don't bring that typical Indian communal mindset into comprehending Chinese affairs. we surely see and deal with it through our own prism ~ our longstanding civilization that none has outlived.

I_PLAY_BAD

China is a machine like country which never understands religion, culture etc as far as their state policies are concerned.
This statement from a Chinese official is not a thing to create much surprise.

don't be ridiculous . an indian fm a country of patel, yadav, dalit ksh.... lecturing Chinese on "secular" and "default fashion"?
:pound: its funny when you argue with yourself.

don't bring that typical Indian communal mindset into comprehending Chinese affairs. we surely see and deal with it through our own prism ~ our longstanding civilization that none has outlived.
Yeah, much like how you couldn't come up with a religion of your own and had to adapt it from Indians :lol:

Seriously, wth are you even arguing here? Indians here are only pointing out the hypocrisy of Pakistanis . why does it bother you when we talk about pakis? So much loves for pakis but no love for your own muzzies?:lol:

China is a machine like country which never understands religion, culture etc as far as their state policies are concerned.
This statement from a Chinese official is not a thing to create much surprise.
Its a good thing that it understands no religion and crushes the islamist thugs. India should learn this from Chinese on how to deal with these thugs

[emoji14]ound: its funny when you argue with yourself.

Yeah, much like how you couldn't come up with a religion of your own and had to adapt it from Indians [emoji38]

Seriously, wth are you even arguing here? Indians here are only pointing out the hypocrisy of Pakistanis . why does it bother you when we talk about pakis? So much loves for pakis but no love for your own muzzies?[emoji38]
More funny is Indians spouting hypocrisy [emoji38] on default fashion blah blah, or religion blah blah.

Advanced countries like France banning burqa - escaping Indian skewed attention to fashion?

What abt u taking care of yr 180 mil muslims first before spilling free lectures for others. Charity starts from your own home. Last time u demolished even hundred-year-old Babri Masjid. So save your love for them.

More funny is Indians spouting hypocrisy
on default fashion blah blah, or religion blah blah.
There is no hypocrisy here except on the minds of brainwashed CCPbots:lol:

Advanced countries like France banning burqa - escaping Indian skewed attention to fashion?
What about USA , UK, Italy, Germany which have not ? They are not advanced countries ? Stupid argument is stupid.

What abt u taking care of yr 180 mil muslims first before spilling free lectures for others. Charity starts from your own home.
We do. They have more rights here than what you ever will have in your own country:lol:

Last time u demolished even hundred-year-old Babri Masjid. So save your love for them
Was it government sponsored? Stupid chicoms are stupid :lol:

There is no hypocrisy here except on the minds of brainwashed CCPbots[emoji38]

What about USA , UK, Italy, Germany which have not ? They are not advanced countries ? Stupid argument is stupid.

We do. They have more rights here than what you ever will have in your own country[emoji38]

Was it government sponsored? Stupid chicoms are stupid [emoji38]
[emoji38] a dalit or yadav or patel living in self conceited complacency and scorning others fm a 10x advanced country.

what an inflated ego like yours soaked in Ganges.

get out of your cave Indian retard[emoji35]