Unfriendly neighbours propelling huge Defence spend: Chidambaram

gogbot

Puducherry: Union Home Minister P Chidambaram said India had to spend a huge amount on Defence since the neighbouring countries, including Pakistan, were not friendly towards it.

Addressing a public meeting here last night, Mr Chidambaram said a sum of Rs 1.47 lakh crore was spent on Defence in a country where Mahatma Gandhi preached and followed 'Ahimsa.'

A sum of Rs 40,000 crore was being spent on internal security.To tackle divisive forces and naxal menace, huge spending was required.

However, the country still had the money to allocate Rs 41,000 crore on Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme because of its strong economy.

Mr Chidambaram said Rs 12,000 crore was allocated for rural roads and several schemes being implemented aided by economic development.

Agantrope

Nation's Interest first, when someone eats the grass to compete with us, why we spend your money to beef up the security.

ajtr

friendly or unfriendly india has to be always prepared with its defence forces.If one thing india has to learn from its history iss to never let its guard down on its frontiers be it in high Himalayas or in hot desert or in deep seas coz you never know who gonna be you enemy in future.