UAVs and UCAVs

Rajaraja Chola

>Implying that giving final judgement that we can't make drones is truth
based on lack of knowledge, ignorance or whatever.

I don't know what you are on about. You are comparing apples and oranges, rustom - 1 was working years ago, neither IAF nor GOI backed those projects. You must be kidding if you are saying that India doesn't have the capability when college dropouts can make better meme drones, when rustom - 1 which flown in 2009 was a capable platform, it was no different that turkish Bayraktar Tb2, almost same and if our armies and government-backed the project then it would have been way superior system.

It was never about 'we can't' it was always about the 'intent'. Likes of turkey invested in their project and we didn't but now things have changed.

I don't see any reason to be such pessimism considering we already are more or on less on track with likes of SWIFT, Cats warrior system as said by HVT.

Until recently no one seemed serious bout drones and that's why we didn't see any much investment but things are changing, from IA to IAF, their chiefs have stated it time and time again and presence and work of speed up SWIFT, Ghatak, Cats warrior shows that we are in moving in right direction.

> a start up in defence is one of the worst decisision
Absolute cope, based on what? If the product is good that it doesn't matter if it comes from some established company or a startup.

I gave example of Ideaforge because a private company will always try to maximize and they run on incentives and that deal was a right thing to do. Even if it was some meme amount of money.
Nothing is final. The judgement is based on current scenario. You are the one making rosy prediction based on what I don't know.

As for you frequently quoting Rustom, no one here knows for sure how much the project has progressed. It can fly all right. Did it meet its specs? Was it's software matured? What did IA want. What did DRDO deliver. Nit everything that flies are mil ready. Even if everything is good, and if the product is not manufacturable (DFM is a separate topic) it can be rejected too. People are taking about design issues in Rustom 2.

Thirdly I am blaming the govt as well. This govt.is very very big on talk reg acquisition. Funds are going down every year. The govt has to be on top of stuff and not reactive. It was embarassing when we went for shopping for want of enough.A2A missiles after Balakot.

My friend has an start up which works in testing and validation systems. He has worked on defence project and products which I can't share. But he has never won one project by himself. There is a rule that a single company can't do more than 2-3 projects at the same time. So that company helps him win 4th or 5th project, but independently the cartel Wont let him win. If you are a start-up offering something what has GoI ordered? Idea forge orders was forced.

FalconZero

Nothing is final. The judgement is based on current scenario. You are the one making rosy prediction based on what I don't know.

As for you frequently quoting Rustom, no one here knows for sure how much the project has progressed. It can fly all right. Did it meet its specs? Was it's software matured? What did IA want. What did DRDO deliver. Nit everything that flies are mil ready. Even if everything is good, and if the product is not manufacturable (DFM is a separate topic) it can be rejected too. People are taking about design issues in Rustom 2.

Thirdly I am blaming the govt as well. This govt.is very very big on talk reg acquisition. Funds are going down every year. The govt has to be on top of stuff and not reactive. It was embarassing when we went for shopping for want of enough.A2A missiles after Balakot.

My friend has an start up which works in testing and validation systems. He has worked on defence project and products which I can't share. But he has never won one project by himself. There is a rule that a single company can't do more than 2-3 projects at the same time. So that company helps him win 4th or 5th project, but independently the cartel Wont let him win. If you are a start-up offering something what has GoI ordered? Idea forge orders was forced.
I will reply in detail later cuz I am running out of time but if you are saying that a country which can build fighter aircrafts, attack helis can't build a simple drone then I would leave you to your wisdom.

Rajaraja Chola

I will reply in detail later cuz I am running out of time but if you are saying that a country which can build fighter aircrafts, attack helis can't build a simple drone then I would leave you to your wisdom.
Identification of the right people and right partners to work on something is the best part of project management. Having a large pool is worthless if the Project management is bad enough.

And drones aren't that simple. If it's that simple we would have an Indian designed MALE or HALE in service. We don't. Complex visual processing algorithms are the biggest challenges. Our private sectors has enough experience on this. Whether DRDO used their expertise is another matter altogether.

SavageKing456

Identification of the right people and right partners to work on something is the best part of project management. Having a large pool is worthless if the Project management is bad enough.

And drones aren't that simple. If it's that simple we would have an Indian designed MALE or HALE in service. We don't. Complex visual processing algorithms are the biggest challenges. Our private sectors has enough experience on this. Whether DRDO used their expertise is another matter altogether.
I think ADE is kinda cursed.

FalconZero

Turkish Bayraktar Akinci drone showed 24hrs+ of endurance and tested for the payload carrying capacity of 1.5ton which it successfully completed.

Video :

> Bayraktar AKINCI TİHA took off with a payload of 3000 lb (1,360 kg) in the presence of the Presidency of Defense Industries (SSB) and official delegations of the user forces as part of the ongoing design verification activities in Çorlu. AKINCI flew for 13 hours and 24 minutes with NEB, with a take-off weight of 6 tons (6,049 kg).

> Bayraktar AKINCI broke the altitude record in Turkish aviation history, breaking the altitude record of Turkish aviation history by climbing to an altitude of 38,039 feet (11,594 meters) on July 8, 2021, lasting 25 hours and 46 minutes. AKINCI, which has made 874 sorties, has made 874 sorties in test and training flights so far, and in the firing test carried out on July 5, 2021,

panzerfeist1

mini drones are more preferable if they are insect like such as the black hornet and this carrying explosives. Russian State Tech Firm Designing Dragonfly Drone – UAS VISION

Chinese and U.S. Summit.

U.S.: Look how great we are we made a drone fly in Mars.

China: Thats great and all so why not cooperate with us.

Russia: Hold my Vodka.

Russian scientists have proposed sending a helicopter to Venus.

Scientists of The Moscow Aviation Institute offers to send an unmanned helicopter to Venus to research its surface and volcanoes.

In the spring, the Korolyov's Cosmonautics Readings opened in Moscow. The day before, a collection of abstracts based on the results of the readings was published.

"As a result of the development of aviation technologies, unmanned aerial vehicles are becoming more widely used. Currently, their application is being considered as part of the lander of interplanetary stations for research missions on the surface and inside the calderas of Venus ' volcanoes," one of the theses says.

The helicopter will have the shape of a sphere, the materials say.

Researchers note that the main problem in the development of Venus is the high temperature (467°C). In this regard, in the helicopter, the outer titanium layer with a diameter of 700 mm will have a wall thickness of 2.5 mm and is covered with screen-vacuum insulation-a material that is used for a large temperature difference between the insulated system and the environment.

In addition, it is planned to use aerogel, which has the lowest thermal conductivity.

Source:
https://m.gazeta.ru/science/news/2021/07/08/n_16214636.shtml

asianobserve

mini drones are more preferable if they are insect like such as the black hornet and this carrying explosives. Russian State Tech Firm Designing Dragonfly Drone – UAS VISION

Chinese and U.S. Summit.

Scientists of The Moscow Aviation Institute offers to send an unmanned helicopter to Venus to research its surface and volcanoes.

In the spring, the Korolyov's Cosmonautics Readings opened in Moscow. The day before, a collection of abstracts based on the results of the readings was published.

"As a result of the development of aviation technologies, unmanned aerial vehicles are becoming more widely used. Currently, their application is being considered as part of the lander of interplanetary stations for research missions on the surface and inside the calderas of Venus ' volcanoes," one of the theses says.

Researchers note that the main problem in the development of Venus is the high temperature (467°C). In this regard, in the helicopter, the outer titanium layer with a diameter of 700 mm will have a wall thickness of 2.5 mm and is covered with screen-vacuum insulation-a material that is used for a large temperature difference between the insulated system and the environment.

In addition, it is planned to use aerogel, which has the lowest thermal conductivity.

Source:
That would be another great accomplishment by Russia and humanity if it can be done. Update us here if it's been done.

Cheran

Chinese and U.S. Summit.

Source:
Great, hope that Venus mission is approved.

Let's not forget the Russian Venera success.

1626081063466.png

1626081073498.png

1626081081527.png

1626081089660.png

1626081098737.png

mokoman

Rajaraja Chola

Mantospace

Sometimes the best things come in small packages...

View attachment 99285
View attachment 99287
View attachment 99288
View attachment 99289
View attachment 99290

These are innovations, surely one day indian companies will produce this type of products.

Draft Drone Rules, 2021 released for public consultation by Ministry of Civil Aviation

Posted On: 15 JUL 2021 11:27AM by PIB Delhi

Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) has released the updated – The Drone Rules, 2021 for public consultation. Built on a premise of trust, self-certification, and non-intrusive monitoring, The Drone Rules, 2021 will replace the UAS Rules 2021 (released on 12 March 2021). The last date for receipt of public comments is 5 August 2021.

Key takeaways from the Draft Drone Rules, 2021 include:

1. Approvals abolished: unique authorisation number, unique prototype identification number, certificate of conformance, certificate of maintenance, import clearance, acceptance of existing drones, operator permit, authorisation of R&D organisation, student remote pilot licence, remote pilot instructor authorisation, drone port authorisation etc.

2. Number of forms reduced from 25 to 6.

1. Fee reduced to nominal levels. No linkage with the size of the drone.

2. Safety features like ‘No permission – no take-off’ (NPNT), real-time tracking beacon, geo-fencing etc. to be notified in future. A six-month lead time will be provided for compliance.

3. Digital sky platform shall be developed as a business-friendly single-window online system.

4. There will be minimal human interface on the digital sky platform and most permissions will be self-generated.

5. Interactive airspace map with green, yellow, and red zones will be displayed on the digital sky platform.

6. Yellow zone reduced from 45 km to 12 km from the airport perimeter.

7. No flight permission required upto 400 feet in green zones and upto 200 feet in the area between 8 and 12 km from the airport perimeter.

8. No pilot licence required for micro drones (for non-commercial use), nano drone and for R&D organisations.

9. No restriction on drone operations by foreign-owned companies registered in India.

10. Import of drones and drone components to be regulated by DGFT.

11. No security clearance required before any registration or licence issuance.

12. No requirement of certificate of airworthiness, unique identification number, prior permission and remote pilot licence for R&D entities.

13. Coverage of drones under Drone Rules, 2021 increased from 300 kg to 500 kg. This will cover drone taxis also.

14. All drone training and testing to be carried out by an authorised drone school. DGCA shall prescribe training requirements, oversee drone schools and provide pilot licences online.

15. Issuance of Certificate of Airworthiness delegated to Quality Council of India and certification entities authorised by it.

16. Manufacturer may generate their drone’s unique identification number on the digital sky platform through the self-certification route.

17. Easier process prescribed for transfer and deregistration of drones.

18. Standard operating procedures (SOP) and training procedure manuals (TPM) will be prescribed by DGCA on the digital sky platform for self-monitoring by users. No approvals required unless there is a significant departure from the prescribed procedures.

1. Maximum penalty under Drone Rules, 2021 reduced to INR 1 lakh. This shall, however, not apply to penalties in respect of violation of other laws.

2. Drone corridors will be developed for cargo deliveries.

3. Drone promotion council to be set up to facilitate a business-friendly regulatory regime.

Link to Public Notice

FalconZero

India to acquire 30 US-built MQ-9 Reaper drones from United States

With an objective to enhance the offensive capabilities of the Indian forces, the government will be acquiring 10 US-built MQ-9 Reaper or Predator B armed drones each for the Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Air Force. The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC), headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, may take the final call next week about this deal worth $3 billion, a source in the government said.

Title says 30 but the article says 10 and if it is 10 then it will cost whooping 300 million per unit, what kind aof retarded deal is that?
These are not even armed version, probably this news is not true.

Title says 30 but the article says 10 and if it is 10 then it will cost whooping 300 million per unit, what kind aof retarded deal is that?
These are not even armed version, probably this news is not true.
10 for each service

Khareedne ko toh kitna kuchh khareedte hai, istemal kabhi karna hota hani.