Time has come for India to fight next war with home-made equipment: Army chief

General Bipin Rawat has said that good progress has been made in lightweight bullet-proof material and fuel cell technology, and it must continue.
By Zee Media Bureau | Updated: Jan 08, 2018, 12:39 PM IST

New Delhi: Army chief General Bipin Rawat has underlined the need for modernization of armed forces in view of changing and challenging dynamics of military operations. He also said dependence on imported military equipment should be minimised.

Speaking at an Army Technology Seminar on Monday, General Rawat said that armed forces which are technologically advanced would play a key role in operations in the times to come. "There is a huge requirement of modernization of our armed forces, in every field," he said. "Future wars will be fought in difficult terrains and circumstances & we have to be prepared for them. "We would like to gradually move away from imports (in defense technology) because for a nation like ours, the time has come to ensure that we fight the next war with home-made solution."

General Rawat also added that the Indian Army is on the right track towards using technology and that support from relevant industries would be crucial. "A good headway has been made in lightweight bullet-proof material and fuel cell technology. The journey has begun and this must continue," he said. "We are confident that if we get support from industry, we will walk the extra mile to ensure that we utilize the technology you give us."

This is not the first time that the Army Chief has commented on equipping armed forces with the latest that technology has to offer. In November, he had spoken about armoured vehicles in the future should have the ability to operate on both northern and western borders. "Whatever be the future armoured vehicle we are looking at, we must have the capability to operate on the western border and the northern border. Whatever equipment we are going to introduce must be capable of inter-operability on both fronts," he had previously said.

The Indian Army last year also finalised plans to replace ageing weapons and has plans of acquiring 7 lakh rifles, 44,000 light machine guns (LMGs) and nearly 44,600 carbines.

http://zeenews.india.com/india/futu...ire-modernized-forces-army-chief-2072581.html

@IndianHawk @Willy2 @roma @Krusty @Defcon 1 @Ghanteshwar @raheel besharam @raja696 @Amr @AnkitPurohit @Akshay_Fenix @aditya10r @airtel @aditya10r @ancientIndian @Bahamut @Berkut @Bornubus @Bengal_Tiger @ersakthivel @FRYCRY @Gessler @HariSud @hit&run @hardip @indiandefencefan @IndianHawk @JayPatel @Kshatriya87 @LETHALFORCE @Mikesingh @NavneetKundu @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @PaliwalWarrior @Pulkit @smestarz @SakalGhareluUstad @Srinivas_K @ShashankSharma @Superdefender @Screambowl @TacticalFrog @Abhijat @A chauhan @Alien @alphacentury @Ancient Indian @Ankit Purohit @anupamsurey @armyofhind @Bharat Ek Khoj @Bhumihar @blueblood @brational @Bangalorean @Blackwater @Bornubus @bose @Bullet @cobra commando @DingDong @DFI_COAS @dhananjay1 @ersakthivel @F-14B @fooLIam @gpawar @guru-dutt @here2where @hit&run @HariPrasad-1 @Indx TechStyle @Kshatriya87 @jackprince @Kharavela @Illusive @I_PLAY_BAD @LETHALFORCE @Lions Of Punjab @maomao @Mad Indian @OneGrimPilgrim @Peter @piKacHHu @Pinky Chaudhary @porky_kicker @Razor @raja696 @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @SanjeevM @saty @sydsnyper @Srinivas_K @Screambowl @sorcerer @Simple_Guy @Sylex21 @wickedone @tarunraju @TrueSpirit2 @thethinker @Tshering22 @vayuu1 @VIP @Vishwarupa @VIP @Varahamihira @Navnit Kundu @WARREN SS @Willy2 @3deffect

General Bipin Rawat has said that good progress has been made in lightweight bullet-proof material and fuel cell technology, and it must continue.

New Delhi: Army chief General Bipin Rawat has underlined the need for modernization of armed forces in view of changing and challenging dynamics of military operations. He also said dependence on imported military equipment should be minimised.

Speaking at an Army Technology Seminar on Monday, General Rawat said that armed forces which are technologically advanced would play a key role in operations in the times to come. "There is a huge requirement of modernization of our armed forces, in every field," he said. "Future wars will be fought in difficult terrains and circumstances & we have to be prepared for them. "We would like to gradually move away from imports (in defense technology) because for a nation like ours, the time has come to ensure that we fight the next war with home-made solution."

General Rawat also added that the Indian Army is on the right track towards using technology and that support from relevant industries would be crucial. "A good headway has been made in lightweight bullet-proof material and fuel cell technology. The journey has begun and this must continue," he said. "We are confident that if we get support from industry, we will walk the extra mile to ensure that we utilize the technology you give us."

This is not the first time that the Army Chief has commented on equipping armed forces with the latest that technology has to offer. In November, he had spoken about armoured vehicles in the future should have the ability to operate on both northern and western borders. "Whatever be the future armoured vehicle we are looking at, we must have the capability to operate on the western border and the northern border. Whatever equipment we are going to introduce must be capable of inter-operability on both fronts," he had previously said.

The Indian Army last year also finalised plans to replace ageing weapons and has plans of acquiring 7 lakh rifles, 44,000 light machine guns (LMGs) and nearly 44,600 carbines.

http://zeenews.india.com/india/futu...ire-modernized-forces-army-chief-2072581.html

@IndianHawk @Willy2 @roma @Krusty @Defcon 1 @Ghanteshwar @raheel besharam @raja696 @Amr @AnkitPurohit @Akshay_Fenix @aditya10r @airtel @aditya10r @ancientIndian @Bahamut @Berkut @Bornubus @Bengal_Tiger @ersakthivel @FRYCRY @Gessler @HariSud @hit&run @hardip @indiandefencefan @IndianHawk @JayPatel @Kshatriya87 @LETHALFORCE @Mikesingh @NavneetKundu @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @PaliwalWarrior @Pulkit @smestarz @SakalGhareluUstad @Srinivas_K @ShashankSharma @Superdefender @Screambowl @TacticalFrog @Abhijat @A chauhan @Alien @alphacentury @Ancient Indian @Ankit Purohit @anupamsurey @armyofhind @Bharat Ek Khoj @Bhumihar @blueblood @brational @Bangalorean @Blackwater @Bornubus @bose @Bullet @cobra commando @DingDong @DFI_COAS @dhananjay1 @ersakthivel @F-14B @fooLIam @gpawar @guru-dutt @here2where @hit&run @HariPrasad-1 @Indx TechStyle @Kshatriya87 @jackprince @Kharavela @Illusive @I_PLAY_BAD @LETHALFORCE @Lions Of Punjab @maomao @Mad Indian @OneGrimPilgrim @Peter @piKacHHu @Pinky Chaudhary @porky_kicker @Razor @raja696 @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @SanjeevM @saty @sydsnyper @Srinivas_K @Screambowl @sorcerer @Simple_Guy @Sylex21 @wickedone @tarunraju @TrueSpirit2 @thethinker @Tshering22 @vayuu1 @VIP @Vishwarupa @VIP @Varahamihira @Navnit Kundu @WARREN SS @Willy2 @3deffect
So buy Arjun mk2,alh Dhruv,HAL Tejas,and other Dhanush guns in numbers.

-Indigenous Sumbarine nuclear and conventional
-indigenous Carbines
- Indigenous Armoured Vehicles
- Indigenous satellite system
- Indigenous Helmet Camouflage shoes gloves goggles BPJ
-indigenous night vision and combat communication
- indigenous artillery
-indigenous Frigate, destroyers
-indigenous missiles akash brahmos QRSAM NAG

Pretty words but IA is doing everything they can to oppose indigenous equipment.

The only service which has demonstrated consistent support to building in India and developing the very best technology in-house is the Navy. That has come from decades of resolute commitment and belief in Indian scientists and companies and balancing that with operational requirements.

The Army and the Air Force would do well to learn these lessons and wholeheartedly accept those platforms that have been developed through sheer effort and a lot of sacrifices.

That means accepting the Arjun MkII into service. Mass produce the JVPC and the Excalibur and come out with an official statement lauding the Tejas program.

raja696

one thing is for sure.

No matter how sub standard our home made warfare equipment is, if we can induct in large levels in to armed forces success is guaranteed.

All defects in them can be rectified by foreign vendors who are interested in bringing up that product with there sub products integration. That goes in to R&D as well. thats nothing but auto TOT.

But now we face total bhakwaas reality because of lobbies in our armed forces. Every time we raise requirements for total new foreign vendor tanks or aircrafts etc units . They demand our part of flesh and risking our sovereign right to respond in warfare.

so good or bad pls go for massive indigenous products induction. From there go for upgradation of parts with R&D from foreign vendors.

That will help us the know how to use sub products in other system's as well.

Enough is Enough now we have our own private defence players to help us. Use them by going full induction of desi products. :india2::india2::india2:

Part of the problem is that the army is unable to decide on the equipment it wants. It is unable to draw up accurate specifications for the equipment and a lot of time goes in finalising the specifications or QRs -- qualitative requirements.

Many times it draws up QRs that are so ambitious that nobody can meet them. Which in turn, means that tenders are frequently issued, withdrawn and re-issued, leading to chaos and delays

Quality control of indigenous equipment is another issue. For eg, even the basic infantry's primary weapons, the INSAS rifle and light machine gun, which the Ordnance Factory Board fabricates, have not met the standards of a modern army. These Ordnance factories use 20th century technologies in the 21st century.

Companies such as Larsen and Toubro Ltd (L&T), Tata group, Mahindra and Mahindra Ltd (M&M), besides recent entrants like the Reliance and Adani groups, are hoping that the appointment of a full-time defence minister in Nirmala Sitharaman will help propel their indigenous defence manufacturing mission.

The private sector in India has less than 5% (which is about Rs 5,000 crore annually) share of direct orders from the defence ministry for manufacturing and is gradually moving towards 10% in tandem with the Make In India initiative. The expectation, is that the private sector’s share will rise to 20-25% in the next three-four years as major defence contracts in the decision pipeline enter the execution phase.

Indian Army must order more Arjun Mark - II at least 300. They will be more than enough for the defensive and holding operation at the Rajesthan desert ...

one thing is for sure.

No matter how sub standard our home made warfare equipment is, if we can induct in large levels in to armed forces success is guaranteed.

All defects in them can be rectified by foreign vendors who are interested in bringing up that product with there sub products integration. That goes in to R&D as well. thats nothing but auto TOT.
nothing personal against you in my post but i kind of understand what you meant and it's a great idea except that surely the process of doing it is incorrect ??

if we induct in mass numbers without first correcting , can you imagine the chaos in the military and the opposition parties will be making merry hell in parliament

i think what you actually meant was to commit to our own product even if slightly , yes only slightly below standard .....then bring up to par with imported sub-parts ....plus some tot

if our indigenous product is too far below standard , no amount of patchwork can save it and there will be huge loss of money and worse still huge loss of confidence and reticence to try again

then after the proto-type is in good order, now they could go for mass induction .....that way there is a working proto and the system has a plan to fix some less than critical errors with imported modules

otherwise there will be huge finger pointing and the usual indian delay game and blame games will be on display big time

@IndianHawk @Willy2 @roma @Krusty @Defcon 1 @Ghanteshwar @raheel besharam @raja696 @Amr @AnkitPurohit @Akshay_Fenix @aditya10r @airtel @aditya10r @ancientIndian @Bahamut @Berkut @Bornubus @Bengal_Tiger @ersakthivel @FRYCRY @Gessler @HariSud @hit&run @hardip @indiandefencefan @IndianHawk @JayPatel @Kshatriya87 @LETHALFORCE @Mikesingh @NavneetKundu @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @PaliwalWarrior @Pulkit @smestarz @SakalGhareluUstad @Srinivas_K @ShashankSharma @Superdefender @Screambowl @TacticalFrog @Abhijat @A chauhan @Alien @alphacentury @Ancient Indian @Ankit Purohit @anupamsurey @armyofhind @Bharat Ek Khoj @Bhumihar @blueblood @brational @Bangalorean @Blackwater @Bornubus @bose @Bullet @cobra commando @DingDong @DFI_COAS @dhananjay1 @ersakthivel @F-14B @fooLIam @gpawar @guru-dutt @here2where @hit&run @HariPrasad-1 @Indx TechStyle @Kshatriya87 @jackprince @Kharavela @Illusive @I_PLAY_BAD @LETHALFORCE @Lions Of Punjab @maomao @Mad Indian @OneGrimPilgrim @Peter @piKacHHu @Pinky Chaudhary @porky_kicker @Razor @raja696 @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @SanjeevM @saty @sydsnyper @Srinivas_K @Screambowl @sorcerer @Simple_Guy @Sylex21 @wickedone @tarunraju @TrueSpirit2 @thethinker @Tshering22 @vayuu1 @VIP @Vishwarupa @VIP @Varahamihira @Navnit Kundu @WARREN SS @Willy2 @3deffect[/QUOTE]

raja696

nothing personal against you in my post but i kind of understand what you meant and it's a great idea except that surely the process of doing it is incorrect ??

if we induct in mass numbers without first correcting , can you imagine the chaos in the military and the opposition parties will be making merry hell in parliament

i think what you actually meant was to commit to our own product even if slightly , yes only slightly below standard .....then bring up to par with imported sub-parts ....plus some tot

if our indigenous product is too far below standard , no amount of patchwork can save it and there will be huge loss of money and worse still huge loss of confidence and reticence to try again

then after the proto-type is in good order, now they could go for mass induction .....that way there is a working proto and the system has a plan to fix some less than critical errors with imported modules

otherwise there will be huge finger pointing and the usual indian delay game and blame games will be on display big time

[/QUOTE]

What I meant was indegenous functional equipment, may be not upto most modern standards. Yes money to upgrade is lost or too high, not all of them need upgrades. Indeed all that purchase money goes to R&D and stays in country.May be we can throw some pie to our private partners(2nd party) and foreigner vendors as consultants.Doing so biggest advantage is foreign players will let go Indian arms lobby as they know India cant afford to loose its designs already in use. so they will help to develop it further. If this is not the case typical lobbying and defense media will keep on sabotage the development of indigenous prototypes and models and let them fail.

In this case what china did is bold and beautiful. Right now we are choosing between inability to meet requirements vs corrupt lobbyists choice. So ball is in our court.

As well as we are sacrificing sovereignty itself and even if we go for complete foreign vendor product we cant purchase them quantitatively because they are soo expensive.

Yes patching up indeginous product costs alot but in event of another mumbai like attack we dont have to get panicked due to lack of inventory.

imagine in case of 2 front war. Its a war of quantitative requirement(defensive) and qualitative is for precision attack.

So let the money be throw in our own pockets , atleast long term goal will be met with out delays and improved internal infrastructure.

So many jobs etc will also be byproduct.

Indians should have been South korea in ship building. Because of this lack of spending for local ship builders and get them trained in new technologies to suit our requirements is a big problem.

First of all Goi is very poor to establish research groups for its needs. we dont even have business intelligence(BIS) and Data support system (dss) like models to pick our local indegenous players and integrate them in to our productivity.

Watching current conflicts world over and our skirmishes at LOC It looks like Indian armed forces are below par as compare to Western forces and I see no effort being made to learn.

I ask what lessons were learnt from Gulf war 1&2 when Chinese took the clue to Modernise on war scale.

It is a smoke screen that terror poses greater challenge that we are becoming hardened tackling it. Terror is an instrument that is used to bleed our resources so that we can not develop technological edge.

The debate on numbers vs technological edge though tilt in favour of numbers as our conflicts are with highly populous countries but not investing indigenously developed smart technologies is going to make us a high attrition enduring force if not pushover who would rely more on strategic restraints than an assertive, preemptive force.

Homemade equipment will not appear overnight it takes decades to lay down the infrastructure and dedication by
different governments over many years along with industry. I have been saying indigenous weapons are the only
way to guarantee total security for years. I think corruption is the main obstacle. India has good indigenous capability in
regards to missiles and naval capability but lacking in other areas. This lacking maybe intentional by for kickbacks
and bribes from very strong international lobbies.