sajobajo

There is tremendous resource churn in India's IT Industry, not by the means of groundbreaking innovations or stupendous rise in business, but due to a terrible attrition of resources.
trak.in
As a mid-lower-level career minion in a conservative I T Services company, I am seeing the equation has changed to about 5x the amount in lakhs for the years in experience, a figure simply unthinkable in service terms a couple of years back.
Then there are product cos, which seem to be paying over a crore for Architect level positions. And even that is not landing them any good prospects. The whole thing reminds me of the dot-com boom.
So I put on my CT hat and :
- Is this artificial bubble being created by the startups with access to and tacit approval from unlimited deep chinese capital ? Most of them dont earn a dime in profit but continue to pay top dollar.
- A lot more emphasis is given to funding than actually turning a profit.
- The services/low cost/offshore DC model would eventually become unviable sooner rather than later, and the IT cos leave for more lucrative destinations like East Europe, Mexico/Brazil, Vietnam and Thailand. Heck we already have a DC in both Poland and Thailand. Look at what happened to the call centers after the boom.
- The chinese, having accomplished what they want, simply pull the rug from under the so-called startup environment, leaving them high and dry with a lot of mouths but no food to feed them.
While I am happy that my friends are getting 50-70L offers from about 20L just a year back, I am just not sure if this is sustainable. The hiring standards also seem to have been lowered quite a bit around here. Now I am not in any way a top dog , but even to my bottom of the barrel standards most guys we just hired simply wouldnt have a chance if times were any different.
I would like to hear what the esteemed forumer's think of this.
Indian IT Employees Offered 100% Salary Hike, Rs 60 Lakh Package For 10 Yrs Experience!
While in conversation with ET, Vikram Ahuja, co-founder of Talent500 said, companies are offering as much as 50%-100% hike to top talent, this sudden bump up in payouts will make India less attractive for global players which are drawn here for a cheaper workforce. He further added India continues to remain a preferred destination for global recruiters but the recent increase in pay packages has made many re-evaluate their increased dependence on the region.

Indian IT Employees Offered 100% Salary Hike, Rs 60 Lakh Package For 10 Yrs Experience!
Indian IT Employees Offered 100% Salary Hike, Rs 60 Lakh Package For 10 Yrs Experience!India is a strange place. It attracted global IT companies to establish their bases in India, with a carrot of cheap talent. These companies after looking at possi

As a mid-lower-level career minion in a conservative I T Services company, I am seeing the equation has changed to about 5x the amount in lakhs for the years in experience, a figure simply unthinkable in service terms a couple of years back.
Then there are product cos, which seem to be paying over a crore for Architect level positions. And even that is not landing them any good prospects. The whole thing reminds me of the dot-com boom.
So I put on my CT hat and :
- Is this artificial bubble being created by the startups with access to and tacit approval from unlimited deep chinese capital ? Most of them dont earn a dime in profit but continue to pay top dollar.
- A lot more emphasis is given to funding than actually turning a profit.
- The services/low cost/offshore DC model would eventually become unviable sooner rather than later, and the IT cos leave for more lucrative destinations like East Europe, Mexico/Brazil, Vietnam and Thailand. Heck we already have a DC in both Poland and Thailand. Look at what happened to the call centers after the boom.
- The chinese, having accomplished what they want, simply pull the rug from under the so-called startup environment, leaving them high and dry with a lot of mouths but no food to feed them.
While I am happy that my friends are getting 50-70L offers from about 20L just a year back, I am just not sure if this is sustainable. The hiring standards also seem to have been lowered quite a bit around here. Now I am not in any way a top dog , but even to my bottom of the barrel standards most guys we just hired simply wouldnt have a chance if times were any different.
I would like to hear what the esteemed forumer's think of this.