Terror Launchpads Targeted After Uri Attack Active Again: Army To NDTV

Soldiers on night patrol near the fence close to Line of Control in Uri

Story Highlights
  • After terror attack on army camp in Uri, India conducted surgical strike
  • Terror launchpads in Pak-Occupied Kashmir re-occupied now: army
  • Almost all areas hit in surgical strikes now "active": army
New Delhi: Just 30 kms from where Pakistani terrorists attacked an army camp in Uri in Kashmir last year, the army's senior-most commander in the region, is reviewing reports of the latest developments along the Line of Control. The snow is melting and this is the time of the year when Pakistani forces try to push through infiltrators into India.

Major General RP Kalita, who heads the army's 19 Division based in Baramulla, says that terror launchpads directly opposite Uri in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir have now been reoccupied.

Indian soldiers trekked through the night to take out staging areas for terrorists in Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir on September 25 and returned home safely before dawn. The action was direct military retaliation for the assault on the army base in Uri, the worst in more than a decade in the region, in which 19 soldiers were killed.

A jawan deployed at a snow-bound post in the Uri sector of Kashmir uses night-vision device

"After the surgical strike, for some time we had intelligence inputs that some of them (terrorists) had moved back but during the winter, we continued to get inputs about their occupation (of launch pads)," Major General Kalita told NDTV, adding that almost all the areas hit after the Uri terror attacks which fall under his area of responsibility are now "active".

The division he heads is responsible for defending 100 kilometres of the Line of Control in Kashmir's Uri sector.

"Across our area, there are nine or ten launch pads that we are aware of," he said. "The structure can be a hut, a dhok (a makeshift structure) which is temporarily occupied from which they carry out the final coordination and thereafter they are launched for infiltration."

Announcing the surgical strikes in September, the army said the Pakistani terrorists waiting there were assigned to attack major metros in India.

Since the Uri attack, the army has been worried about new tactics, weapons and technology being used by terrorists who cross the Line of Control or de facto border into Kashmir. Pakistani terrorists caught in infiltration attempts have been equipped with incendiary items - essentially highly inflammable liquids in cans which can be sprayed on a target which are then set alight by firing a grenade.

A high altitude minefield in the Uri sector of Kashmir

Another new practice is that terrorists are no longer restricting attempts to enter India to the summer, when the snow has melted in the high, remote passes blanketed with snow. An infiltration attempt in the Uri sector was beaten back this winter. Terrorists attempting to fight during the cold winters come equipped with professional mountaineering boots and clothing designed for snow.

Over the last year, terrorists entering Jammu and Kashmir have also been able to communicate with their handlers by pairing a mobile phone with a radio set through a Bluetooth link. According to General Kalita, "Since last year, we have seen them communicating using Wi-SMS, which is difficult to intercept though our people are working on that. It is quick bursts of transmission by radio."

We should use 130mm artillery to blast these camps/launch pads. What's stopping us? We have real time satellite imagery and video to direct accurate artillery fire on these targets. What are we waiting for? Why aren't we making full use of our assets that the Pakis don't possess?

Or are we waiting for them to enter and strike again?

Expect 2 - 3 deadly fidayeen attack this summer including on non military installations such as police station.

For last few years this has been a regular business resulting in the death of several officers and troops including the Col (CO) level officers.

Villager

why the army telling to NDTV ??
Irrespective of propaganda against NDTV, it is fact that NDTV is one of the most neutral if not the most neutral news channel. They don't take sides towards any political party and don't have many loud mouth anchors and don't look for TRP as much as other media channels do.

sarcasm i hope.....:confused1:

you gulped down its USP! if still in the mouth, pls quickly spit it out & stomp it & do a nauli and dhauti kriya so that the toxins ingested could be removed out.

a recent sample of the neutrality of ndtv, as exhibited by one of its foremost known rabidly neutral anchors:

some insight into from where/how ndtv draws its strength to keep continuing on the pious path of serving national interest with all the world's neutrality in its morality kitty:

https://www.amazon.com/NDTV-Frauds-classic-example-breaking-ebook/dp/B01NC2VHPI

https://www.pgurus.com/ndtv-frauds-book-shows-indian-media-house-broke-rules/

P.S. - mind if we share your post with harishchandrakumari NIRA RADIA?!

Bhai aaj to Wednesday Hai ..Aaj bhee chada liye kya

Villager

sarcasm i hope.....:confused1:
that's the impression I got since a few years back when I started watching compared to aaj tak, star news, india tv, zee news etc it but it seems from your reply that I might have missed something. Aaj tak was also a good channel earlier.

Edit: Well Barkha wasn't the prime reason for liking NDTV. The reporters of NDTV seem calm (both old and young ones), try to carry debates discussions more effectively, cover whole range of issues on society, environment, politics, animal protection, defense, stock market, gadets, cars etc and you don't have to see the Pravachan of Babas or Saas Bahu and Saazish type shows three times a day because when I open news channel, I just want news.

that's the impression I got since a few years back when I started watching compared to aaj tak, star news, india tv, zee news etc it but it seems from your reply that I might have missed something. Aaj tak was also a good channel earlier.
This is true as far as covering defense (minus barkha) and social issues apart from Doordarshan. Just compare the rabid shouting clowns of Times now and NDTV

Speaking of which just love the recent reporting of NDTV from forward LoC posts which was mostly about the quality of food given to the troops posted there. Vishnu som took all the care by not revealing the name of the post and sensitive stuff like that.