Sukhoi Su 30MKI

Dark Sorrow

Agree Bro, the evolution of aerospace technology cannot be stopped.
The 4th generation combat aircraft will be phased out in the next two decades.
Nobody is disputing the fact.
AF all round the world plan to use 4th generation combat aircraft all the way till 2070s.

Tridev123

AF all round the world plan to use 4th generation combat aircraft all the way till 2070s.
Well, might be.
They would nonetheless be periodically modernised.

But,
Would it be out of choice or compulsion.
There are dozens of low income countries who might not need expensive 5th generation fighters because they do not face any major security threat or who cannot afford them even if they live in a high threat environment.

Bhartiya Sainik

I am only trying to highlight the double standards of some people who would praise the F15 Strike Eagle(an beautiful aircraft with formidable capabilities) without referring to its large RCS problem but who would immediately point out the large RCS handicap of the Su30mki whenever it comes up for discussion.

Both these planes were designed in an era when stealth technology had not yet been successfully demonstrated and validated. They both have powerful high thrust engines, top speed ofMach 2 and above, can carry large payloads, large internal fuel capacity and thus range etc. The Su30mki probably has the most powerful PESA radar in the world while the F15's newer versions have powerful AESA radars.
Both are literally beasts which dwarf other smaller fighters.

But still they will also eventually die and be replaced.

As far as India is concerned when even the Pakistani JF17 Block 3 aircraft will be having an AESA radar, the absence of such an alternative on the Su30mki is unacceptable. The Su30mki also needs new long range BVR missiles which will out range the AMRAAM 120C present on their F16 fleet and also match the latest Chinese BVR missiles to be acquired by the PAF.

The Su30mki can provide enough power for an large(higher number of TRM's) AESA radar which can be used to guide even very long range AAM missiles like the Meteor. It's armament should include extra range Anti Radiation missiles to take out enemy radars and SAM sites from an safe distance.

I really don't know how we will match the J20's in case China stations a few squadrons in Tibet or Xinjiang. Will our AMCA be available in time or will we be forced to again depend on imports. Either the F35 or the Su57.

Assuming that the Rafale cannot take out the J20???.
You would need to see the J20 first before it spots the Rafale. Though the Meteor is far ahead of any available Chinese long range BVR missile.
The 2-seat Sukhois are more humpy bumpy so they could be having more RCS than F-15E but i guess that difference won't save F-15E as both jets have more than threshold RCS required by today's radars to detect them at expected distances. The SE & EX & other customized export models might have reduced RCS.

1648553826968.png

1648553867709.png

1648557574263.png

We don't have big issues with China, only border disputes, our trade with them is considerable; but conflict with Pakistan dates back to Persian/Mughal invasion, occupation, genocide, looting since a millenium back. Pakis are the Persian descendants & highly untrustworthy like mosquitos, occupying the seat of our Sindhu civiliation given to them by our weak dynasty monarchs.

After watching J-20's airshow demo videos i would say that its agility is pathetic. It has not demonstrated the maneuvers which MKI & Su-35 are capable of. Rafale gave a tough fight to F-22 in excercises & i have seen Rafale demo at Aero-India. It is a very agile sneaky jet so it & even the MKI now will hold J-20. And only missile range in BVR is not enough, its seeker, electronics, agility, trajectory programming & tactics also matters.

The Chinese Su-35-S are definitely a threat but again Rafale & upgraded MKI can deal with it. Losses will be on both sides but at worst there will be a stalemate.
Our MKIs have started getting upgraded with wingtip jammers. I hope the MAWS problem gets sorted soon.

The J-10C & upgraded JF-17 are good jets but our LCA will be upgraded to handle them. Pak J-10C doesn't have TVC but the Chinese one can be dangerous which only MKI & Rafale can defeat.

So i don't think China is stupid to actively join Pak in a 2 front war with us whcih might & most probably will lead to bigger multi-national war or even World War also destroying its trade & commerce permanently. Even if we have a nuclear war with Pak, i don't think China will jump in if it has commonsense. All it can do is supply weapons to Pak & submerge them in debt like Ukraine is being supplied by West but NATO has not risked conventional war leading to nuclear war clearly warned by Putin.

And talking about AESA, # of TRMs don't matter bcoz the radar llogically fragmets its TRMs into smaller groups to direct multiple thin sharp beams in different directions at different intervals in different modes simultaneosly. All the TRMs are never activated together. Such S/w controlled technique is in accordance with LPI or Low Probability of Intercept. This has been shown in animations also. So efficiency of AESA also depends on programming skills of avionics engineers.

1648557683395.png

1648557695436.png

Last but not least, i don't think we will ever get F-35 or Su-57 bcoz we got S-400 & we bailed out of PAKFA-FGFA for good as we were not getting tech transfer & build license. Both jets are money traps

johnj

I am only trying to highlight the double standards of some people who would praise the F15 Strike Eagle(an beautiful aircraft with formidable capabilities) without referring to its large RCS problem but who would immediately point out the large RCS handicap of the Su30mki whenever it comes up for discussion.

Both these planes were designed in an era when stealth technology had not yet been successfully demonstrated and validated. They both have powerful high thrust engines, top speed ofMach 2 and above, can carry large payloads, large internal fuel capacity and thus range etc. The Su30mki probably has the most powerful PESA radar in the world while the F15's newer versions have powerful AESA radars.
Both are literally beasts which dwarf other smaller fighters.

But still they will also eventually die and be replaced.

As far as India is concerned when even the Pakistani JF17 Block 3 aircraft will be having an AESA radar, the absence of such an alternative on the Su30mki is unacceptable. The Su30mki also needs new long range BVR missiles which will out range the AMRAAM 120C present on their F16 fleet and also match the latest Chinese BVR missiles to be acquired by the PAF.

The Su30mki can provide enough power for an large(higher number of TRM's) AESA radar which can be used to guide even very long range AAM missiles like the Meteor. It's armament should include extra range Anti Radiation missiles to take out enemy radars and SAM sites from an safe distance.

I really don't know how we will match the J20's in case China stations a few squadrons in Tibet or Xinjiang. Will our AMCA be available in time or will we be forced to again depend on imports. Either the F35 or the Su57.

Assuming that the Rafale cannot take out the J20???.
You would need to see the J20 first before it spots the Rafale. Though the Meteor is far ahead of any available Chinese long range BVR missile.
The major issue with mki its rcs and same tech from 1998/2002. Only good new is Israel EW pod. Since then 20 years[a long period] PAF and PLAAF acquired tech to counter mki. On the other hand f15e is developed into new versions se/x and having better weapons, ew and sensors[double beast], and no longer best in af.
F22, F35, EF taking the role. Su 35 having most powerful pesa radar, su mki having first hybrid radar but not so powerful. I think f14/f15 having more powerful ones.
When iaf received first su30mki, only japan and israel having something similar, paf lacked bvr capability and no jets similar to mig 29 and plaaf jets no match for mki. 2 plus decade, now 36 rafale.

India Super Power

The major issue with mki its rcs and same tech from 1998/2002. Only good new is Israel EW pod. Since then 20 years[a long period] PAF and PLAAF acquired tech to counter mki. On the other hand f15e is developed into new versions se/x and having better weapons, ew and sensors[double beast], and no longer best in af.
F22, F35, EF taking the role. Su 35 having most powerful pesa radar, su mki having first hybrid radar but not so powerful. I think f14/f15 having more powerful ones.
When iaf received first su30mki, only japan and israel having something similar, paf lacked bvr capability and no jets similar to mig 29 and plaaf jets no match for mki. 2 plus decade, now 36 rafale.
Are bhai kab iaf ka khoon kolega
Kab super sukhoi upgrade hoga
Sach me agar hua na toh 101 naryal mandir me fodunga

Tridev123

The 2-seat Sukhois are more humpy bumpy so they could be having more RCS than F-15E but i guess that difference won't save F-15E as both jets have more than threshold RCS required by today's radars to detect them at expected distances. The SE & EX & other customized export models might have reduced RCS.

View attachment 147692
View attachment 147693

View attachment 147698

We don't have big issues with China, only border disputes, our trade with them is considerable; but conflict with Pakistan dates back to Persian/Mughal invasion, occupation, genocide, looting since a millenium back. Pakis are the Persian descendants & highly untrustworthy like mosquitos, occupying the seat of our Sindhu civiliation given to them by our weak dynasty monarchs.

After watching J-20's airshow demo videos i would say that its agility is pathetic. It has not demonstrated the maneuvers which MKI & Su-35 are capable of. Rafale gave a tough fight to F-22 in excercises & i have seen Rafale demo at Aero-India. It is a very agile sneaky jet so it & even the MKI now will hold J-20. And only missile range in BVR is not enough, its seeker, electronics, agility, trajectory programming & tactics also matters.

The Chinese Su-35-S are definitely a threat but again Rafale & upgraded MKI can deal with it. Losses will be on both sides but at worst there will be a stalemate.
Our MKIs have started getting upgraded with wingtip jammers. I hope the MAWS problem gets sorted soon.

The J-10C & upgraded JF-17 are good jets but our LCA will be upgraded to handle them. Pak J-10C doesn't have TVC but the Chinese one can be dangerous which only MKI & Rafale can defeat.

So i don't think China is stupid to actively join Pak in a 2 front war with us whcih might & most probably will lead to bigger multi-national war or even World War also destroying its trade & commerce permanently. Even if we have a nuclear war with Pak, i don't think China will jump in if it has commonsense. All it can do is supply weapons to Pak & submerge them in debt like Ukraine is being supplied by West but NATO has not risked conventional war leading to nuclear war clearly warned by Putin.

And talking about AESA, # of TRMs don't matter bcoz the radar llogically fragmets its TRMs into smaller groups to direct multiple thin sharp beams in different directions at different intervals in different modes simultaneosly. All the TRMs are never activated together. Such S/w controlled technique is in accordance with LPI or Low Probability of Intercept. This has been shown in animations also. So efficiency of AESA also depends on programming skills of avionics engineers.

View attachment 147699
View attachment 147700

Last but not least, i don't think we will ever get F-35 or Su-57 bcoz we got S-400 & we bailed out of PAKFA-FGFA for good as we were not getting tech transfer & build license. Both jets are money traps
Thanks for the detailed post.
The Government and the Air Force must have worked out some contingency plans to deal with any possible challenge from the J20. We knew about the Chinese plans to induct the J20 in a big way.

Now, can the S400's radar detect the J20 is unknown. I would think that the Russians have supplied the same set of radars to both China and India. Though some reports say that the longest range SAM of 380 km range is not part of the Chinese S400 package.

The actual data on the performance parameters of the J20 will only be available to the intelligence agencies if they have been successful in penetrating the PLAAF.
The information in the public domain would be unreliable and even misleading.
I seriously doubt whether we have the capability to recruit agents inside China and especially in the PLA. Pakistan is a different matter altogether and I would expect that we would have successfully penetrated both the civil society and the military.

I think we depend on other countries especially the Americans for reliable intelligence on China and the capabilities of its major weapon systems.

I don't mind making an statement like
'God alone knows how good is our human intelligence(human assets) network in China'
Probably our satellite based reconnaissance intelligence on China is not bad. Guessing correctly I hope.

For India, China is a difficult nut to crack. Not least because of the language. How many people in India know Chinese Mandarin language.

johnj

View attachment 147692
View attachment 147693

View attachment 147698

View attachment 147699
View attachment 147700

Not a good analysis consider our performance. When we acquired mki, only japan and israel having similar ones in asia. After that paf acquired aew, f16bk52, jf17 and plaf j10c, j11c, j11d, j16, j20, aew and new aams , only good news is 36 rafale. Now a lots of asian countries having superior jets than mki also more modern jets than ours. we/i felt having undefeatable iaf when mki arrive, same can't say with rafale, we lost the edge starting from issue with fgfa. We thought iaf become first country in asia to have 5th gen, now straggling to buy 150 4.5 gen and new awacs lr 360. Good old times. Now sanctions on russia, also increase issue with mki.

India Super Power

The Government and the Air Force must have worked out some contingency plans to deal with any possible challenge from the J20. We knew about the Chinese plans to induct the J20 in a big way.

Now, can the S400's radar detect the J20 is unknown. I would think that the Russians have supplied the same set of radars to both China and India. Though some reports say that the longest range SAM of 380 km range is not part of the Chinese S400 package.

The actual data on the performance parameters of the J20 will only be available to the intelligence agencies if they have been successful in penetrating the PLAAF.
I seriously doubt whether we have the capability to recruit agents inside China and especially in the PLA. Pakistan is a different matter altogether and I would expect that we would have successfully penetrated both the civil society and the military.

I think we depend on other countries especially the Americans for reliable intelligence on China and the capabilities of its major weapon systems.

'God alone knows how good is our human intelligence(human assets) network in China'
Probably our satellite based reconnaissance intelligence on China is not bad. Guessing correctly I hope.

For India, China is a difficult nut to crack. Not least because of the language. How many people in India know Chinese Mandarin language.
Pls don't have hope on goi and iaf they will know all the problems but won't act
Surprising right bcoz no other airforce is lethargic like iaf they will not act until shit hits the fan and barely prepared for aggressions

Bhartiya Sainik

F-14 has better radar than MKI ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
:shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1:
:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
:pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy:
:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
:daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty:
:doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

johnj

Are bhai kab iaf ka khoon kolega
Kab super sukhoi upgrade hoga
Sach me agar hua na toh 101 naryal mandir me fodunga
Waiting and hearing for a long time, without any results and only good news is drdo working on it - super sukhoi to mki upgradation.
Its not iaf, but tech/politics around iaf.

Tridev123

I think all of us agree that the Su30mki needs to be upgraded as soon as possible.
Even if we start tomorrow, it will take us years to upgrade the entire fleet.
Ideally I would like our scaled up Uttam AESA radar to be part of the package.
We can only hope.

johnj

Rafale with advanced awacs can counter j20. More rafale and new awacs added to iaf in future if current gov remains in power. Intelligence data not so helpful for countering j20, they can change specs of j20.

Covfefe

@johnj any idea on the proprietary issues with Su30? Mission computers, EW systems, Radar can be indigenised/replaced without involving/paying Ruskies? They had objected to certifying DRDO MAWS systems earlier?
I remember Saurav Jha had said in one of his IAH that we "probably" have the source code for MKI

Bhartiya Sainik

Not a good analysis consider our performance. When we acquired mki, only japan and israel having similar ones in asia. After that paf acquired aew, f16bk52, jf17 and plaf j10c, j11c, j11d, j16, j20, aew and new aams , only good news is 36 rafale. Now a lots of asian countries having superior jets than mki also more modern jets than ours. we/i felt having undefeatable iaf when mki arrive, same can't say with rafale, we lost the edge starting from issue with fgfa. We thought iaf become first country in asia to have 5th gen, now straggling to buy 150 4.5 gen and new awacs lr 360. Good old times. Now sanctions on russia, also increase issue with mki.
Don't worry, IAF is not worried about PAF. Our MiG-29UPGs, MKIs, upgraded M2Ks, Rafales can take care of all Pak jets. Losses will be on both sides but Pak will be wiped out.
Pakistan has panicked & bought J-10C fearing Rafale but we are not panicking against China bcoz although China does have number advantage over us but hopefully won't join Pak in Indo-Pak war resulting in World War. Neither we nor China have reasons for full blown war over border disputes unless you EU guys want us to fight, there could be skirmishes resulting in stalemate, ceasefire & some negotiations & treaty. Hence we are not exactly competing with China.
Other Asian countries are not going to have war with us for any reason.
Sanctions on Russia are like speed-breakers for us, not road-block.

johnj

F-14 has better radar than MKI ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
:shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1::confused1:
:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
:pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy:
:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
:daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::daru::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty:
:doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::doh::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:
At least it can fire aam beyond 100km. good thing you noticed f14. f15 c/d radar more powerful in a/a mode, f15 e ones allrounder, bars in mki one gen ahead , hybrid one, but aesa a way better, now mki lacks aesa and jaguar having aesa, so jaguars having better ones.
mki can detect 5m2 around 170km, jf 17 pesa 150km for 5m2, similar to mmr. just imagine mk1a vs mki in a/a combat.

Bhartiya Sainik

Don't worry. J-20 is good but not like F-22/35. Rafale's EW & agility are good & can deal with J-20.
And we won't have full blown war with China bcoz there is not reason big enough.

Tridev123

Rafale with advanced awacs can counter j20. More rafale and new awacs added to iaf in future if current gov remains in power. Intelligence data not so helpful for countering j20, they can change specs of j20.
Bro, an successful intelligence operation is when we collect secret technical information and the targeted party does not even realise that a leak has taken place.
They should never know and if in the worst case scenario they do detect it, it should be too late to undo the damage.

Glad to know about your confidence in the Rafale. It is indeed a technologically advanced aircraft. But I would like to have the opinion of French members of the forum on whether it can best the J20.

France being part of NATO(almost) would have far more credible information on the actual capabilities of the J20. I would value their judgement.

By the way France has started the process of developing its own 5th generation stealth aircraft. If not solo, at least in partnership with the European Union allies.

Dark Sorrow

@johnj any idea on the proprietary issues with Su30? Mission computers, EW systems, Radar can be indigenised/replaced without involving/paying Ruskies? They had objected to certifying DRDO MAWS systems earlier?
I remember Saurav Jha had said in one of his IAH that we "probably" have the source code for MKI
MKI's mission computer is Indian, we don't need Russian help regarding this. EW suite is from IAI and now we plan to use DRDO SPJ so EW Suite is not a problem.
We plan to replace Radar with Uttam and as mission computer is Indian this should not be an issue.
Anything changing aerodynamics of the aircraft; Russians can complain that they won't be responsible for flight worthiness and we may have to do the entire flight certification locally.

johnj

Proprietary issues with mki always a issue, but money can solve it. If you consider Russians , its about human resources and money, now Chinese paying and working with them.
Source code, i don't know, may be limited support for weapon integration. Hal integrated astra into fcr, but astra similar to r77, but all these are not a issue for future - mki upgrade. [mica ir ok and rf ?].
Mki gets modified w.r.t su 30 sm2 with drdo tech and Russian support.
Maws, some of su 30mki using drdo maws, don't they[4 not 6] ? Russians always support India, for a price, without any major conditions. No countries give critical tech.
Super sukhoi -tech from fgfa, now drdo developing tech for upgrading mki , we can see most of the tech in mwf after that in mki, only engine remains a issue, a major aero dynamics issue, only area Russia having a major advantage[its about money, i think]. I don't know exact tot transfer, not even close, considering mmrca, hal don't hesitate to share mki tot details with dassualt.

johnj

Don't worry, IAF is not worried about PAF. Our MiG-29UPGs, MKIs, upgraded M2Ks, Rafales can take care of all Pak jets. Losses will be on both sides but Pak will be wiped out.
Pakistan has panicked & bought J-10C fearing Rafale but we are not panicking against China bcoz although China does have number advantage over us but hopefully won't join Pak in Indo-Pak war resulting in World War. Neither we nor China have reasons for full blown war over border disputes unless you EU guys want us to fight, there could be skirmishes resulting in stalemate, ceasefire & some negotiations & treaty. Hence we are not exactly competing with China.
Other Asian countries are not going to have war with us for any reason.
Sanctions on Russia are like speed-breakers for us, not road-block.
If paf attack air bases close to border, we destroy their ones with brahmos, nirbhay , shaurya missile and destroy majority of their air bases, jets. Rest by mki.
Chines, more rafale needed.
Its a military comparison, not about www3.
Already slow, more speed-breakers not so good.