SSLV News, Discussions, Updates and Reports

TopWatcher

It is not inconceivable to me that SpaceX is beating ISRO.

US had tons of Space engineers and scientists who were out of work after shutdown of Shuttle program and failure of many return to moon programs.
US has been powerhouse in Space sector with far greater Budget and technology than ISRO.

SpaceX tapped into the scene at the right time and it took them over a decade to perfect their rockets and re-usable stage 1.
Sab budget ka khel hai.

ISRO ka budget bhi 100 Billion $ kar do, 1saal main jupiter main ja ke baide ga.

Yeh to thora jyada ho gya! :laugh:
Thoda nahi bohot zyada. @TopWatcher Firmly believes that there is absolutely no issue and Indian Space Program would surpass that of NASA tomorrow if funded equally today.
As if R&D cycles, production time, building facilities, planning activities and system development aren't a thing or don't consume any time.

Thoda nahi bohot zyada. @TopWatcher Firmly believes that there is absolutely no issue and Indian Space Program would surpass that of NASA tomorrow if funded equally today.
As if R&D cycles, production time, building facilities, planning activities and system development aren't a thing or don't consume any time.
It would take minimum 3 decades to get where NASA regardless of speed of increment in budget.

TopWatcher

Arre budget toooo bhadaooo, u will see change in 1 year.

Budget kahan bashao bc? Ever worked in planning dept anywhere?

You have to give requirement with an action plan according to your output capability, according to facilities you have. People won't become Supermen even if you triple their salaries tomorrow. Every program takes 4-5 years, new programs apart from regular one consume a decade and a new facility takes 15-20 years.

You are not buying groceries from a store which you can just increase by your budget. It's an industrial activity and an experimental one. ISRO asks for budget according to its capabilities, usually gets 95% of demand and still returns unspent money every year from it to government. Budget is given in small slices as per your working capacity.

Building a launch station, a new launch vehicle development would itself consume more than a decade. ISRO has 16-17k people, how many more people they can hire and train up to date to be independent managers? How are you supposed to see any change in one year? Biggest space powers had to struggle for 2 decades to push launch capacity by 30%.

And also, where are orders to do 25 launches an year? Where are so many Indian satellites and spacecraft. Where is the 50 tonne payload yet that India would send to Moon?

It is not a bit game. Just increase budget is a pure nonsense talk at YouTube comments level. ISRO never gave requirement of $5 billions because they can't spend $5 billions.

TopWatcher

Budget kahan bashao bc? Ever worked in planning dept anywhere?

You have to give requirement with an action plan according to your output capability, according to facilities you have. People won't become Supermen even if you triple their salaries tomorrow. Every program takes 4-5 years, new programs apart from regular one consume a decade and a new facility takes 15-20 years.

You are not buying groceries from a store which you can just increase by your budget. It's an industrial activity and an experimental one. ISRO asks for budget according to its capabilities, usually gets 95% of demand and still returns unspent money every year from it to government. Budget is given in small slices as per your working capacity.

Building a launch station, a new launch vehicle development would itself consume more than a decade. ISRO has 16-17k people, how many more people they can hire and train up to date to be independent managers? How are you supposed to see any change in one year? Biggest space powers had to struggle for 2 decades to push launch capacity by 30%.

And also, where are orders to do 25 launches an year? Where are so many Indian satellites and spacecraft. Where is the 50 tonne payload yet that India would send to Moon?

It is not a bit game. Just increase budget is a pure nonsense talk at YouTube comments level. ISRO never gave requirement of $5 billions because they can't spend $5 billions.
Bhai 100 crore ke liye bhi sochta hai ISRO.

I know how ISRO scratch their head to make things low cost so that govt approved budget.

Bhai 100 crore ke liye bhi sochta hai ISRO.
Not just ISRO, every organisation in India thinks for anything costing even more than 10k ruppees.

ISRO has a budget of $2 billions and every penny of its requirement is a result of detailed study and purchase request, labor cost estimation, insurance and certification costs etc.. A budget is a library, not a paper grocery shop bill. Every departments, every station's every employee and equipment detail is demanded along with budget.

Everyone has a role, everyday has tasks and targets defined and no one is free. That's why things delay on issues like weather, material stuck somewhere, fabrication delay, experimental failure. No one is free and no time is spare.

Things are not simple as you are oversimplifying it.
I know how ISRO scratch their head to make things low cost so that govt approved budget.
And how do "you know"?

ISRO requests budget with a detail summary of every single penny they plan to spend. Government studies that and approves budget accordingly. And as told before, ISRO gets 12.5k crores when they ask for 13k crores. Cost cutting in any mission is a commendable job and employees are honored for it. It is not that somehow government doesn't approve some mission and then ISRO scratches head to do it dirt cheap (that magic doesn't happen). Mission costs in India are generally low because of cheap manpower, low inflation and old tech.

Not trying to cut costs isn't going to push Indian space program ahead somehow either. India used orbital manuevers in Chandryaan and Mangalyaan because India doesn't have a rocket upper stage powerful enough for direct injection, not because GoI didn't give ISRO enough money.

Magic of cutting down cost greatly of an otherwise costly mission in India instantly, doesn't happen. Doesn't happen anywhere in world. You can't save money in any big project which is not pre-planned entirely.

++
Chinese and Indian space programs are about national development through getting sustainable ways of exploring space by keeping them low cost and affordable than settling political scores like US & USSR. Their aim is doing everything sustainably so that can be practically useful.

SammyBoi111

As @Indx TechStyle said in the above posts, ISRO, and India, first needs the 'appetite', the requirement, to justify bigger budgets. I'd say that we have a lot of scope for refining our goals and ensuring laser sharp focus on them....
1) First, let's start with the military. Do we have a satellite-based ISR network as widespread as the Americans (regionally speaking), to ensure 24x7 coverage of every single inch of the Loc and the LAC? No. So, let's build one. Let's plan to have, say, 30 - 40 such dedicated spy satellites.

2) Second, navigation. We have our own IRNSS (NaVIC). Its small, and regional. Let's upgrade the specs, and spread its coverage, gradually aim for global services. We'll need dozens of major (and maybe, hundreds of micro) satellites and payloads for this purpose, so let's aim for that.

3)Third, interplanetary missions, deep-space research, probes, etc. We want more demand from here, we need increased frequency of such missions.

4) Human spaceflight. We're taking the first, ultra-critical steps for that. Let's detail or plans after Gaganyaan. Orbital refuellers, our very own space-station, so many applications. ISRO will need a lot of manpower and money for this one.

Necessity is, after all, the mother of invention, innovation and bigger budgets...

1) First, let's start with the military. Do we have a satellite-based ISR network as widespread as the Americans (regionally speaking), to ensure 24x7 coverage of every single inch of the Loc and the LAC? No. So, let's build one. Let's plan to have, say, 30 - 40 such dedicated spy satellites.
The proposal is already there. A network of 30-40 satellite will take time to build with frequency of 5-6 launches/year, expanding which would take time in India. Spacecraft development is parallel.
2) Second, navigation. We have our own IRNSS (NaVIC). Its small, and regional. Let's upgrade the specs, and spread its coverage, gradually aim for global services. We'll need dozens of major (and maybe, hundreds of micro) satellites and payloads for this purpose, so let's aim for that.
Under work, NVS series of satellites is one of them.
All theoretical work on GINS (Global Indian Navigation System) had been completed back in 2020 and spacecraft and facility development in underway.

Experimental satellites like TDS-01 are to test their indigenous payloads in orbit.
3)Third, interplanetary missions, deep-space research, probes, etc. We want more demand from here, we need increased frequency of such missions.
That would take time. A mission can't be sanctioned unless you define missions planned on it. And you can't make repititive missions for same spacecraft. Given that India is just a "new player" in space compared to West, Russia, China and Japan, PSLV came in 1994 and GSLVs beacme operational in mid 2010s only, India actually has just begun recently.
4) Human spaceflight. We're taking the first, ultra-critical steps for that. Let's detail or plans after Gaganyaan. Orbital refuellers, our very own space-station, so many applications. ISRO will need a lot of manpower and money for this one.
Gradually under expansion. HSFC as a brand new separate body is a part of that expansion.

Human Spaceflight anyway has separate budget sanctioned by central government apart from ISRO budget.

IN-SPACe issues EoI for SSLV tech transfer to industry

BENGALURU: The Indian National Space Promotion and Authorisation Centre (IN-SPACe) on Tuesday issued an expression of interest (EoI) for transfer of technology (ToT) of the small satellite launch vehicle (SSLV) to Indian private players.
“This first-of-its-kind ToT is a significant milestone for the Indian Space sector. Unlike in the case of the PSLV, where a manufacturing contract was awarded to a consortium, in case of SSLV, the launch vehicle is being entirely offered to the private industry,” IN-SPACe chairman Pawan Goenka said.
He added that the recipient of this ToT would be able to grow the small satellite segment in a big way, paving the way for India to become the global hub for such launches.
Isro chairman S Somanath said: “The private space industry in India so far has played a limited role in contrast to the global scenario wherein private players are in the forefront of space activities. Isro needs to mentor and handhold the private industry and needs to work in a collaborative mode for overall development of the sector. SSLV is an outcome of years of efforts of hundreds of Isro scientists and I’m sure this ToT will give a big boost to the industry.”
Isro has so far flown the SSLV twice and only one of the missions was a success. It is a three-stage solid launch vehicle capable of carrying a payload of up to 500kg to a 500km circular orbit.

Reactions: SKC

Copied to relevant threads.
IN-SPACe, ISRO to meet 20 cos that make small rockets
ISRO recently announced to transfer the technology for making the small rocket or Small Satellite Launch Vehicle (SSLV) to private companies.

Chennai Officials of the Indian National Space Promotion and Authorisation Centre (IN-SPACe) and the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will meet representatives of about 20 companies interested in making a small rocket on August 8, a top official confirmed.
IN-SPACe is the regulator for private players in the Indian space sector and ISRO is the Indian space agency.
Recently it had had announced the ISRO’s decision to transfer the technology for making the small rocket or Small Satellite Launch Vehicle (SSLV) to private companies.
“Twenty companies have applied. Consortium formation will be known only when they submit the EOI (Expression of Interest),” IN-SPACe chairman Pawan Goenka said.
“We are having a pre-EOI meeting on 8th (August) where ISRO and IN-SPACe teams will interact with all the applicants and based on the interaction we may fine tune the EOI,” Goenka added. As per the conditions put out earlier, the interested private players or the leader of the consortium should have a minimum turnover of Rs 400 crore and be profitable.
The respondents should be in operation for a period not less than seven years and have at least five years manufacturing experience, thus excluding new age rocket startups if interested to bid alone.
The Intellectual Property Rights of the SSLV configuration considered for transfer of technology shall continue to be owned by ISRO.
However non-exclusive and non-transferable license of the rocket technology will be given to the selected party. The SSLV designed and developed by ISRO has a payload capacity of 500 kg and is powered by solid fuel. As per IN-SPACe, the technology to make SSLV will be transferred only to Indian private industries.
To the question how IN-SPACe is getting involved in the transfer of technology as the technology is owned by ISRO which already has a commercial arm by name NewSpace India Ltd (NSIL) a senior official of ISRO told IANS: "The contract will be with NSIL. INSPACe is facilitating the deal as per their mandate."
The Indian space agency has flown the rocket twice with satellites.