Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Arjun Mk1A

See brother the issue is not with the Royal Enfield. They have some super awesome bikes which can be used for adventure and stuff . The problem is the military wants only the Classic Variant . There are bikes such as Himalayan which can be modified with IA permission and subscription into a dirt bike config or even an ATV . But for that they need to dig in

KTM Adventure 1290 not even in sales in India. Also need to check the effectiveness of this so called Bike forces. If you are riding a bike on Open battlefield, you are toast. In desert, plains got rekt by BMP Auto canon to shreds. In mountainous terrain like Himalayas, cold weather will definitely kill them due to lack of protection offered by an say APC, IFV. Nothing to do in Jungle.

In Urban environment there may be lot of hiding spots for an enemy sniper and good luck escaping them.
Also carrying a ATGM on a bike is difficult one. Trust me just try to hold an Medium Size VIP Trolley in an bike you know the real difficulty.

Most probably they are used for peacetime border watch or moving light weight items to remote locations. For that Classic is fine, that bike can be easily repaired have good amount of low end torque and also a good ride quality.

The KTM the germans using is basically a High compression engine where you need push the RPM for some usable power and torque. ADV 390 have this issue where the engine suffers shutdown due to poor low speed performance. That bike is good for Highways but when riding in low gear it suffered from poor power delivery. Some of them reduce the chain sprocket for getting low speed riding capability.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
KTM Adventure 1290 not even in sales in India. Also need to check the effectiveness of this so called Bike forces. If you are riding a bike on Open battlefield, you are toast. In desert, plains got rekt by BMP Auto canon to shreds. In mountainous terrain like Himalayas, cold weather will definitely kill them due to lack of protection offered by an say APC, IFV. Nothing to do in Jungle.

In Urban environment there may be lot of hiding spots for an enemy sniper and good luck escaping them.
Also carrying a ATGM on a bike is difficult one. Trust me just try to hold an Medium Size VIP Trolley in an bike you know the real difficulty.

Most probably they are used for peacetime border watch or moving light weight items to remote locations. For that Classic is fine, that bike can be easily repaired have good amount of low end torque and also a good ride quality.

The KTM the germans using is basically a High compression engine where you need push the RPM for some usable power and torque. ADV 390 have this issue where the engine suffers shutdown due to poor low speed performance. That bike is good for Highways but when riding in low gear it suffered from poor power delivery. Some of them reduce the chain sprocket for getting low speed riding capability.
There is never anything called open battlefield in real warfare.and trying to snipe a guy moving on a bike all I can tell you is good luck with that.speed itself is an important element in warfare .and though cannot be used for the roles like anti tank like people have said they can be usefull for establishing ambush points and being in places the enemy least expects to you be without leaving a massive trail

Arjun Mk1A

There is never anything called open battlefield in real warfare.and trying to snipe a guy moving on a bike all I can tell you is good luck with that.speed itself is an important element in warfare .and though cannot be used for the roles like anti tank like people have said they can be usefull for establishing ambush points and being in places the enemy least expects to you be without leaving a massive trail

If the holding forces know the road network very well. They can easily take out this bike wielding gangs easily.
Again the usage will be more on quick recce and patrol. Again this is only happen in normal. Even Russ -UKR the russians are doing their recce via their armoured vehicles due to hostility presence.

This is few western jumlas IA should not Import it.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
If the holding forces know the road network very well. They can easily take out this bike wielding gangs easily.
Again the usage will be more on quick recce and patrol. Again this is only happen in normal. Even Russ -UKR the russians are doing their recce via their armoured vehicles due to hostility presence.

This is few western jumlas IA should not Import it.
If the holding force knows the area well even armored vehicles are gonna get boinked like how the Russians learnt the hard way around kiev.quick recce and patrol and other uses by SF are still gonna be done predominantly by this "jumla"

Lonewarrior

If you are riding a bike on Open battlefield, you are toast.
If you're doing anything on an open battlefield be it riding a bike or driving the most modern T-90M MBT then you're either a stupid or a Russian who's deserves to get toasted.
In desert, plains got rekt by BMP Auto canon to shreds.
Desert is one the most fun place to attack an enemy due the ever changing dunes. But let's assume it's not desert and just plain; the BMP need to be in 1-1.5km range to engage the target and those elusive f*ckers on bike can engage the target from as far as 5km with their ATGMs.
In mountainous terrain like Himalayas, cold weather will definitely kill them due to lack of protection offered by an say APC, IFV.
So how are all our Jawans at Siachin still alive without the luxury of APC?
Imagine a mountainous terrains where it's a nightmare for your enemy to even climb with heavy load due to lack of oxygen; you're going around on a bike singing chala jaata hu, kisi ki dhun me, dhadakti dill ke, misilein liye with your Bois
Nothing to do in Jungle.
Everything to do in a jungle; like not having to cross shallow waters on foot or walking in mud the whole day or covering the distance in less than half the time.
In an urban environment with lots of hiding spot for sniper there won't be a need to conduct hit-and-run attack on armour. Coz in urban environment these bike borne troops themselves will take up the role of sniper. Taking three four targets from one building and then rapidly moving to the next posting before counter-sniper fire starts to come.
Fair point; but you must also consider that a medium size VIP trolley is (1) extremely bulky (2) with weight distributed unevenly and (3) lacking anything to carry it on back.

But in case of ATGMs it's just a compact cylindrical container with weights in range of 13-16kg (standard carry backpack of almost all armies weighs more than this) that can be very easily slung around the back.
Most probably they are used for peacetime border watch
And this is most deadly way of using a bike. If you use it on patrol then you're simply telling your enemies that you have a fixed route and they can ambush you whenever they want. You're wasting the biggest benefit of a bike; element of surprise.

CRPFs used to carry raids on bikes in Latehar and Gumla in Jharkhand; and it was quite a success. But then they stated using bikes for patrolling and things started getting bad very soon.

Here are some resources regarding this new idea of fast attack teams in silent bikes.

Arjun Mk1A

If the holding force knows the area well even armored vehicles are gonna get boinked like how the Russians learnt the hard way around kiev.quick recce and patrol and other uses by SF are still gonna be done predominantly by this "jumla"

Now comes the question. Where these things happened in Real world?

From India's perspective our Behind the Lines operations are pretty much happened as Infill and Exfill by Foot and Choppers.

Never heard about any US SF used bikes in AFG, IRAQ. Whatever available information is they also moved via foot to monitor enemy positions. At max micro drones for enhanced situational awareness. Even it is a ambush a chance of survival in an armored vehicle is much higher than a 2 wheeler.

That's why I am saying this is more like showoff when in reality this is pretty much unsafe in lot of areas of operation.

Now comes the question. Where these things happened in Real world?

From India's perspective our Behind the Lines operations are pretty much happened as Infill and Exfill by Foot and Choppers.

Never heard about any US SF used bikes in AFG, IRAQ. Whatever available information is they also moved via foot to monitor enemy positions. At max micro drones for enhanced situational awareness. Even it is a ambush a chance of survival in an armored vehicle is much higher than a 2 wheeler.

That's why I am saying this is more like showoff when in reality this is pretty much unsafe in lot of areas of operation.
Few words for you
Iran iraq war, iranian basij squads.
images (84).jpeg
images (85).jpeg
stingerbike.jpg

"mom, can I have that Famas ?"

"oh we have Famas at home"

*meanwhile 3d-printed FamAR at home be like*
1679166505897.png

1679166369937.png

1679165968262.png

1679166588321.png

introducing FAMAR-15 by a guy on twitter 'Stubbs_GunGuy'; basically a bullpup-ised AR in 3d-printed FAMAS like shell and so

Uparwaale ki mehar se itna kuch tha saalon ke paas khinchne ke liye par inhe dikha to bas mortar.

Khair, 7500 ki chiz pe kya hi kilasna.
Badhiya hai, jo bhi hai.
Hasiye mat aap, ye jadeed tariqa hai before this army used ASS to carry heavy mortars.

Lonewarrior

@Lonewarrior which is the best ak modernisation that is available for Indian army if they have to upgrade some of those ak203s ?
PDC dust cover from FAB Defence (330)
PDC-2D.jpg

M-lok handguard from SLR Rifleworks (320)
7D80B01A-6C10-40A8-BCAC-1260335CBB7F.jpeg

Magpul Zhukov stock (100)
mag585-blk_magpul_zhukov-s_stock_01_1.jpg

Magpul MOE grip (20)
MAG523-BLK-510x450.jpg

EOTech HWS EXPS3-2 and G43 magnifier (1,200)
Screenshot_2023-03-19-13-27-02-41_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

And that would be all. Some 2,000 dollars

SwordOfDarkness

If you're doing anything on an open battlefield be it riding a bike or driving the most modern T-90M MBT then you're either a stupid or a Russian who's deserves to get toasted.

Desert is one the most fun place to attack an enemy due the ever changing dunes. But let's assume it's not desert and just plain; the BMP need to be in 1-1.5km range to engage the target and those elusive f*ckers on bike can engage the target from as far as 5km with their ATGMs.

So how are all our Jawans at Siachin still alive without the luxury of APC?
Imagine a mountainous terrains where it's a nightmare for your enemy to even climb with heavy load due to lack of oxygen; you're going around on a bike singing chala jaata hu, kisi ki dhun me, dhadakti dill ke, misilein liye with your Bois

Everything to do in a jungle; like not having to cross shallow waters on foot or walking in mud the whole day or covering the distance in less than half the time.

In an urban environment with lots of hiding spot for sniper there won't be a need to conduct hit-and-run attack on armour. Coz in urban environment these bike borne troops themselves will take up the role of sniper. Taking three four targets from one building and then rapidly moving to the next posting before counter-sniper fire starts to come.

Fair point; but you must also consider that a medium size VIP trolley is (1) extremely bulky (2) with weight distributed unevenly and (3) lacking anything to carry it on back.

But in case of ATGMs it's just a compact cylindrical container with weights in range of 13-16kg (standard carry backpack of almost all armies weighs more than this) that can be very easily slung around the back.

And this is most deadly way of using a bike. If you use it on patrol then you're simply telling your enemies that you have a fixed route and they can ambush you whenever they want. You're wasting the biggest benefit of a bike; element of surprise.

CRPFs used to carry raids on bikes in Latehar and Gumla in Jharkhand; and it was quite a success. But then they stated using bikes for patrolling and things started getting bad very soon.

Here are some resources regarding this new idea of fast attack teams in silent bikes.
Bikes will never be used on a battlefeild. They have good utility as personnel carriers for remote areas with poor access, but else it is suicidal to ride into battle on a bike.

Bikes are very unsafe as is, under duress we will loose as many to accidents as to enemy fire.

A-545 and A-762 rifles being fired, probably first ever vdo of 7.62x39mm version of the rifle being fired that too in full auto;

freeze test (? sort of) of A-545 rifle

both A-545 and A-762 seems to have given a new name "Kord" rifle with 6P67 and 6P68 being official designations