Corvus Splendens
I see , new weapons for the Walking Dead series season , I pressume . But seriously for LARPers and Cowboys this'd be toon fun
Bro i am not a mechanical enginigger so I don't know that much about manufacturing engg and stuff, but i can guess it is either spot welded or riveted/screwed or (if they can afford it lol) friction welded stuff,@Lonewarrior @Johny_Baba @aditya g and others
I have question. A rifle uses a lot of sheet metal parts, of which dust covers are one (question wrt AK series specifically). There exists a lot of dust covers with p-rails, I was wondering what kind of process do they use to manufacture them?
Standard stamped AKM dust cover
Dust Cover with rails
The later ones also appear, to my eyes at least, to be , made up of sheet metal. My reason behind this is any other manufacturing process will lead to high material losses. So what exactly is been done here? Are the rails being welded or some other joining process is used to two different parts, namely the cover and the rail section?
You just need to stick a rail on top of that piece, that's it. There are n number of ways of doing it, each with own set of pros and cons@Lonewarrior @Johny_Baba @aditya g and others
I have question. A rifle uses a lot of sheet metal parts, of which dust covers are one (question wrt AK series specifically). There exists a lot of dust covers with p-rails, I was wondering what kind of process do they use to manufacture them?
Standard stamped AKM dust cover
Dust Cover with rails
The later ones also appear, to my eyes at least, to be , made up of sheet metal. My reason behind this is any other manufacturing process will lead to high material losses. So what exactly is been done here? Are the rails being welded or some other joining process is used to two different parts, namely the cover and the rail section?
Bro i am not a mechanical enginigger so I don't know that much about manufacturing engg and stuff, but i can guess it is either spot welded or riveted/screwed or (if they can afford it lol) friction welded stuff,
FAB one though looks like its top section is machined-milled using a thick sheet and later remaining parts were sliced off of its sides and it was curved into that shape using hydraulic press or dunno something like that, i guess
Thank you all.You just need to stick a rail on top of that piece, that's it. There are n number of ways of doing it, each with own set of pros and cons
1. Rivet/weld/screw a rail on existing stamped dust cover. Easier, cheaper to make but will suffer from zero shifting.
2. Same as previous but this time on a custom made dust cover, stamped from heavier gauge steel. Better than previous but also costlier.
3. Milled/forged aluminium one piece dust cover with rails. Most expensive but also most stable.
Yo, that's my man...good observation.Thank you all.
@Lonewarrior won't using a heavier gauge steel create problems in fitting? If we keep inner dimensions constant and the thickness of the sheet increases, there will be protrusions
Yo, that's my man...good observation.
Yup, it'll definitely increase. But, if you increase the thickness from 0.75mm to 1 or even 1.5mm the difference won't be much from a user's point of view. And on top of that, if you round or chamfer the edge of the sheet then the same protrusion will become an aesthetic wonder.
I got myself a 3D printer and I want to print a modified AKM on it (always been a dream to hold an AK). I am designing the model from scratch.@BlackViking why do you keep asking such questions though, are you into AK aftermarket parts and kits dhandho ?
Saala itta casually I got myself a 3D printer bolne ke baad bhi inko banana AKM hi hai.I got myself a 3D printer and I want to print a modified AKM on it (always been a dream to hold an AK). I am designing the model from scratch.
Also I am an engineer so always a bit curious about various manufacturing processes, mostly because I haven't seen small arms mfg. ever and you guys here know a lot lot more about them, so I reach out to you guys.
Kek come to bihar you will get to build an AK and also get a chance to be in IB/NIA watch list.I got myself a 3D printer and I want to print a modified AKM on it (always been a dream to hold an AK). I am designing the model from scratch.
Also I am an engineer so always a bit curious about various manufacturing processes, mostly because I haven't seen small arms mfg. ever and you guys here know a lot lot more about them, so I reach out to you guys.
Lol ok bhai i kinda sensed you are tinkering with actual stuff etc, so askedI got myself a 3D printer and I want to print a modified AKM on it (always been a dream to hold an AK). I am designing the model from scratch.
Bhrata it's a sasta FDM printer. Nothing Hi-fi. But agar 5-6 saal me kuch paise kama loon to koi maast waal bhi le lengeSaala itta casually I got myself a 3D printer bolne ke baad bhi inko banana AKM hi hai.
Laanat hai
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
W | Russia to supply air defence system and small arms to Pakistan | Pakistan | 3 | |
Gun memes | General Multimedia | 83 | ||
Israeli-Indian JV to make small arms in private sector | Defence & Strategy | 15 | ||
India identifying requirement for small arms fire detection system | Indian Army | 6 |