Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

Prashant Sharma

Between_the_lines
These are knee jerk reactions.

Well atleast I am not happy with whatever is being done. Unless until POK is unstable, it's all useless..
Even after their 6 dead they will retaliate in some other way. And then again same chain of events will occur.
You are just giving them status quo and more and more chances to prepare and kill Indians.

They killed 4 Ind soldiers Ind killed 6 of theirs.

We lost 4 of our soldiers with status quo.

US pressure
.................................................................................
Don't get urself flattered by the news of one odd protest somewhere in PoK. Mirpuris are Punjabis. Gilgit is scarcely populated & highly militarised.
Disturbance there is a far fetched idea.
Get that & stop whining

Don't get urself flattered by the news of one odd protest somewhere in PoK. Mirpuris are Punjabis. Gilgit is scarcely populated & highly militarised.
Disturbance there is a far fetched idea.
Get that & stop whining
If MI and RAW wants they can do it but they don't expand their area of operation apart from intel gathering. There are 100 flaws and loop hoes which can be exploited but you people can only worry about DA, HRA, TA , commissary and etc..

You cannot do shit sitting this side of LC and claiming lives there. This is never ending skirmish with status quo for India.

Why? Because Pakistan never calls Kashmir as their territory. So there is no question of status quo for them. How many of MI and RAW people know about pakistani constitution? None. Where as those Pakis have hired best people on indology and indian politics to find out the loop holes.

10-15 rangers killed is BS in my opinion.
There's like less than 3% chance of mortars and machine gun fire causing casualties in that magnitude on LoC/IB.
But destruction of 4 BoPs is confirmed which as per historical trends would suggest about 2-4 casualties.
You think that Our retaliation was in the Same sector where we lost One soldier

NO ; BSF must have had a ready targetting list based on the
Number of people in each post

And then they opened fire on pre selected targets catching them in the open

Agree with @Screambowl. Border skirmishes are the new status quo. Nothing will come out of it. In the end we will be counting number of soldiers only. LoC has to become unstable. This tactical independance is not taking us anywhere

Kalki_2018

Exactly. The LoC skirmishes are battering pakis much more. They can try to keep hiding their causalities but their families and soldiers know the truth and are thorough demoralized. But India needs to make sure the Afghan border is kept hot and active. That is why ANA must be provided 105 mm IFG, Mi-35's (second hand from eastern europe?), T-55's from storage (have to figure out how to get them there) and 120 mm mortars.

Kalki_2018

How are these vermins commando's? Does SSG stand for scrawny starved grass eating commando's?

Every time you will end up taking a revenge and boasting about it. But no one is looking at other side that even after taking revenge pakistan is not learning And they will not learn. You have to take the bold step and risk.

No matter what you need to come over this status quo. If you do not want smila agreement to be breached, Then destabilize LC from point NJ9842.

Why? Because beyond point NJ9842 the LC is itself not demarcated and not acceptable by Pakistan.. So conventionally even you breach it you are not violating their territory nor Simla Agreement neither 2003 cease fire line.

There is no question of nuclear threat in that area.

delbruky

THE VALOR OF BHAI SATI DAS 1621-1675
How are these vermins commando's? Does SSG stand for scrawny starved grass eating commando's?
Vermins yes but my friend Body Shape has nothing to do with Strength. Those heavy built body building KHALI types showing off muscles that you see on TV are of NO USE in a Mountainous War Terrain. The Slim and Lean Body structure like that of the Sherpa of Nepal who do the heavy lifting going up and down the Mt. Everest every week, or like Lance Armstrong (Bicyclists) is the real deal. These Slim Grass Eating Guys that you claim actually have enormous stamina, which is what matters in a war.

There is a scientific term used in Sports medicine while describing performance of body structures called V02 MAX which basically describes how much oxygen the lungs and body can absorb while doing a workout. It also measures the blood oxygen level at high altitude.

The bottom line is that these Slim types can run a full marathon at high altitudes while an average man (like us) can barely run 100 meters before running out of breath.

Another Example, these guys can take cold water shower in subzero temperatures everyday without falling sick, what normal people would call "Water Boarding"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tirunesh_Dibaba

Every time you will end up taking a revenge and boasting about it. But no one is looking at other side that even after taking revenge pakistan is not learning And they will not learn. You have to take the bold step and risk.

No matter what you need to come over this status quo. If you do not want smila agreement to be breached, Then destabilize LC from point NJ9842.

Why? Because beyond point NJ9842 the LC is itself not demarcated and not acceptable by Pakistan.. So conventionally even you breach it you are not violating their territory nor Simla Agreement neither 2003 cease fire line.

There is no question of nuclear threat in that area.
Something must be done about the Non Battle casualties

They are just too high

A total of 84 Indian Army personnel died in combat, while 1,131 died in accidents and of other reasons, Parliament was told on Wednesday.

Cross-border Strikes Must Go On Till There is Need to Pressure Pak: Lt Gen DS Hooda

Lt Gen (retd) DS Hooda has said that the Indian Army has done enough and it's Pakistan's prerogative to bring peace to the border area.

New Delhi: In September 2016, in the aftermath of the Uri terror attacks, he was leading the planning and execution of the Indian Army’s surgical strikes against terror pads in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir. Over a year since the 2016 strikes and hours after the BSF avenged the killing of a BSF jawan and destroying three Pakistan Army posts, Lt Gen (retired) DS Hooda, the man behind one of India’s most decisive military missions, speaks to News18’s Uday Singh Rana about the sustainability of cross-border strikes.

You led India’s surgical strikes in September 2016. What was the difference and similarity between that strike and the one late on Wednesday night, in which BSF killed 15 Pakistan Rangers?

There are many options that the Army has while responding to such attacks. I don’t think the terminology is very important here. The fact is that the action has been taken. We say there is a certain sanctity to the Line of Control. But if we have people from Pakistan coming in every day, with ceasefire violations taking place every day, then that sanctity is completely lost.

It was said that cross-border strikes would be an exception rather than the rule. Why, then, are they happening more often from both sides?

I’m not sure if we can say it’s happening more often. It has happened in the past. It isn’t the first time that the Pakistanis have crossed over to our side. As far as learning lessons are concerned, I don’t think the aim was to stop Pakistan from supporting terrorism in Kashmir. The intention was to tell them that there are terrorists on your side and they shouldn’t feel secure. We also needed to send across a message to our own countrymen. If something happens on our side that does not mean that the Army would sit quietly.

Lt Gen (retd) Panag compared India’s military strategy of cross-border strikes to a Kabaddi match. Do you think that’s a fair comparison to make?

What should be the response to actions like this? What is expected from us? Will the Indian Army sit on its hands? The Army should take a call on what they can do and when they can do it. We can’t keep sitting in our own territory and not respond to actions that are clearly sponsored by the Pakistani army. The responsibility of bringing calm to the LoC lies with Pakistan. We have always told them that if they want things to calm down, they should keep a check on things that are happening on their side.

Can this be a long-term strategy? Can India sustain it?

To me, it should carry on as long as there is a need to put pressure on Pakistan. It is definitely sustainable, we have enough capability and enough troops on the ground. Do we want to continue this? Well, the ball is in Pakistan’s court. The Indian Army is not happy that there is violence because the people who are dying are our comrades.

So we can’t even say when this confrontation will end?

Absolutely not. The prerogative lies with Pakistan, not India.

Akshay_Fenix

Govt Approves Rs 6809-Cr Bi-directional Zojila Tunnel Project in Jammu & Kashmir

The project would enhance the safety of travellers crossing Zojila Pass and reduce the travel time from 3.5 hours to 15 minutes, he added.

"Defense forces have to face hard time ensuring supplies to border posts during winters. This pass is most strategic for the entire Kargil sector which has seen intrusion and war in the past," Gadkari said.

Hindustani78

Inflicted casualties along the International Border in Jammu, says BSF
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/bsf-kills-intruder-along-international-border-destroys-2-pakistan-posts/article22365175.ece
Jammu, January 04, 2018 11:10 IST
Updated: January 04, 2018 22:12 IST

An Armyman carries a rocket launchers during an encounter, in Arnia. File | Photo Credit: PTI

The force also destroyed two Pakistani posts in retaliation to the killing of its jawan in unprovoked firing.

The Border Security Force (BSF) killed an intruder and “heavily damaged” Pakistan posts “inflicting casualties” along the International Border (IB) in Jammu on Thursday.

Ram Awtaar, DIG, BSF, said around 5:45 a.m. the alert troops noticed suspicious movement of two to three persons near the Nikowal border outpost in the Arnia Sector in R.S. Pora.

“The intruders were challenged and fired at, resulting in the death of an infiltrator. No weapon was seized from the intruder. It seems he was a guide of the infiltrating group,” he said. He was identified as Anwar Alam, resident of Sialkot in Pakistan.

The BSF also claimed to have destroyed Pakistan bunkers near Samba, where a BSF jawan was killed on Wednesday. “Our response was solid. We inflicted heavy damages. Sixteen tunnels were hit. We are ready for any challenge in the area,” said the DIG.

The BSF officials said “Two Pakistani mortar positions were also destroyed on Wednesday night.”

The BSF launched ‘Operation Alert’ along the over 200-km long International Border (IB) in the State “to curb the increasing movement of infiltrating militants from across the border.”

Pak. alleges ceasefire violation
A spokesman of Pakistan’s Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) alleged that the “Indian Army committed unprovoked ceasefire violation along working boundary in Zafarwal Sector”. He alleged innocent civilians were targeted, in which “three were injured”. He also claimed to “neutralising one Indian post”.

jadoogar

It may sound cynical but I am thinking why there are no terror attacks in the hinterland or metro cities of India. Why Pak is not doing what it knows best. Is it the fear of retaliation or lack of capability.
Many train derailment last year in which hundreds were killed and injured were shown to be Paki terror attacks.

Hindustani78

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...nt-movement/story-jJrgjWdaK2xe0It9MIeBZO.html

The Border Security Force (BSF) has launched “Operation Alert” along the over 200-kilometer-long International Border (IB) in Jammu and Kashmir to curb the increasing movement of infiltrating militants from across the border.

“There are inputs that there is movement of militants and accordingly, we have declared ‘Ops Alert’ on the border,” Inspector General of BSF Jammu Frontier, Ram Awatar told reporters here on Thursday.

The BSF gave a military send off by organising Wreath-laying ceremony at Frontier headquarters here in the honour of the late Head Constable Radha Pada Hazara, who was killed in sniper firing by Pakistan rangers along the IB in Samba sector yesterday.

J&K DGP Dr S P Vaid, IGP Jammu Zone and Dr S D Singh attended the ceremony along with the IG BSF Jammu Ram Awtar and other senior officers and Jawans of BSF.

“It is because of that alertness, that they have acted like that (resorting to sniper firing). The moral of the BSF is high and will continue to remain high,” the IG said.

He said the effort of the BSF was to maintain peace along the border, but Pakistan was always trying to disturb this peace.

“It is because of this machination of Pakistan that they yesterday martyred one jawan by sniping,” he said.

Giving details of Wednesday incident, the IG said “this jawan was performing duty at a forward post and there were four to five rounds of fire from Pakistan and one of them hit him”.

“It was followed by automatic weapon fire. After getting intimation the neighbouring mounts retaliated back and solid response was given by the BSF in which Pakistan has suffered large human and property loss”, he added.

Pakistan posts were destroyed and the entire infrastructure in those posts has been damaged, the officer said.

He added that one intruder was killed in R S Pura sector on Wednesday.

“There was movement under thick cover of fog and one intruder was spotted well inside Indian territory and he was fired upon and shot dead. He was resident of Sialkot district (of Pakistan). It was an infiltration attempt,” the officer said.

Either he was a member of the infiltration group or their guide, he said.

Speaking to the reporters, DGP J&K Police, Dr SP Vaid said “those who are thinking they have done good by murder of humanity, need to introspect. Our forces are capable of giving them a befitting reply”.

Indian Sniper.001

It may sound cynical but I am thinking why there are no terror attacks in the hinterland or metro cities of India. Why Pak is not doing what it knows best. Is it the fear of retaliation or lack of capability.
First of all, they know that the current govt. is not the same which let them off the hook in 26/11. Secondly, India has projected it has got a better support from other countries compared to 2008, their ground is slippery. India will go on an all-out offensive if there's another terror attack.
So, they are compensating by attacking at the border, and activating their sleeper cells and doing the dirty work of train tracks sabotaging and stuff.

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/licews-deployed-loc/

LICEWS to be deployed on LoC

The Low Intensity Conflict Electronic Warfare System (LICEWS) for the Army is being procured from state-run defence PSU Bharat Electronics Limited for Rs 470 crore.
“This system will equip Indian Army with upgraded communications infrastructure to effectively deal with advanced communications systems being used by terrorist groups,” the Defence Ministry said in a statement.
The communication system is likely to be deployed along the LoC in Jammu and Kashmir.