Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

You seem to have some suggestions about sniper tactics...

Consider this in your assumptions, an American sniper apparently fires 2,50,000 rounds before earning the patch.

We don’t buy those amounts of sniper ammo.
Correct........... Because we have never considered using Snipers as an offensive weapon. For us it is just a another member of the team with a more accurate weapon then others.

Raj Malhotra

OFB Manufactures 7.62*51 and 7.62*63 bolt action sniper rifles

It also manufactures Bolt action Vidhwansak rifle in in three calibers 12.5, 14.5 & 20mm

Introducing new calibers like 0.338 is a minor task on both these platforms.

Army Orders NIL. Guess Why?

OFB Manufactures 7.62*51 and 7.62*63 bolt action sniper rifles

It also manufactures Bolt action Vidhwansak rifle in in three calibers 12.5, 14.5 & 20mm

Introducing new calibers like 0.338 is a minor task on both these platforms.

Army Orders NIL. Guess Why?
Nothing stops OFB from continuing with the development of newer models.

I doubt it would cost more than 2-3 crores to develop or improve upon existing products.

Waiting for GSQR is an excuse.

All they could come up is this. In which angle is this rifle up to modern standards?

Enquirer

You seem to have some suggestions about sniper tactics...

Consider this in your assumptions, an American sniper apparently fires 2,50,000 rounds before earning the patch.

We don’t buy those amounts of sniper ammo.
I doubt that '250,000' number!
The whole idea of sniper training is to get to one-shot-one-kill and make every round count!
250,000 rounds on a sniper rifle means using up more up few THOUSAND barrels!!
Assuming sniper training course is 1 year with 300 training days, then a single trainee would need more than 3-6 barrels a day (while shooting nearly 1000 rounds every day)!!
Highly improbable!!!

I doubt that '250,000' number!
The whole idea of sniper training is to get to one-shot-one-kill and make every round count!
250,000 rounds on a sniper rifle means using up more up few THOUSAND barrels!!
Assuming sniper training course is 1 year with 300 training days, then a single trainee would need more than 3-6 barrels a day (while shooting nearly 1000 rounds every day)!!
Highly improbable!!!
i was quoting from memory..
This is what i could find...
https://www.quora.com/How-many-rounds-does-a-sniper-fire-in-practice

Enquirer

i was quoting from memory..
This is what i could find...
https://www.quora.com/How-many-rounds-does-a-sniper-fire-in-practice
It appears that the speculation is for a lifetime of 50+ yrs, and not during the training!
From one of the answers, a former sniper is saying that he shoots few hundreds to a dozen on the range!
Clearly the 'hundreds' shot is from a regular assault weapon and not from sniper rifle. The few dozen/day is mostly from a sniper rifle. All put together it's few thousands of shots during the training (not all days are at the range)

Defenceanalyst91

https://www.aninews.in/news/nationa...t-action-kills-2-attackers201812310900570001/

Baramulla (Jammu and Kashmir) [India], Dec 31 (ANI): The Indian Army has foiled an attempt by Pakistani Border Action Team (BAT) to carry out an attack across the Line of Control (LoC) in Naugam sector of Kashmir, killing two suspected Pakistani soldiers.
According to statement issued by the Indian Army, a large cache of warlike stores has also been recovered. From the recovery, it was estimated that they intended to carry out a gruesome attack on the Indian Army forward post in Naugam sector.
The attackers, who were dressed in Indian Army and BSF fatigues for deception, were provided cover fire by the Pakistani Army post as they tried to sneak into the Indian side, the statement said.
BAT is a small unit generally comprising Pakistani Army personnel and terrorists who sneak across the LoC or Internationsl Border to carry out an attack on an Indian post.
"The intruders attempted to move by exploiting the thick jungles close to LoC and were assisted by heavy covering fire of high calibre weapons such as Mortars and Rocket Launchers from the Pakistani posts," the statement said.
"The movement was nonetheless detected by the vigilant Indian Army troops deployed along the LoC. The fire-fight initiated by Pakistan was given strong retaliation by Indian Army and the exchange of fire continued the whole night," it added.
Prolonged search operations in thick jungles and difficult terrain conditions were conducted by the army personnel, after which elimination of two likely Pakistani soldiers was confirmed.
The search operations are still underway in the Sector to sanitise the area.
It was also reported that a few other intruders managed to escape across the LoC, taking advantage of the Pakistani firing and adverse weather and visibility conditions.
Army authorities applauded the courage and perseverance of the alert troops.
"The Indian Army's resolve to keep a strict vigil along the LoC and defeat all such nefarious designs of Pakistan will continue to remain firm and consistent," the statement read.
"We will ask Pakistan to take back the mortal remains of deceased likely Pakistani soldiers since Pakistan did provide full covering fire support to these intruders," it added. (ANI)

Seems like We conducted cross border ride after 2 of our JCOs killed in Sniper Attack last week.

The number of casualties suggest so. Did they return the bodies?

Why don't they ever release any pics like Porks do! Propaganda is not overrated...

Defenceanalyst91

The number of casualties suggest so. Did they return the bodies?

Why don't they ever release any pics like Porks do! Propaganda is not overrated...
What I think is, India might conducted cross border ride after last week sniper attack by Pakis. Yesterday's failed BAT attack might be retaliatory attack for our cross border ride.

"We will ask Pakistan to take back the mortal remains of deceased likely Pakistani soldiers since Pakistan did provide full covering fire support to these intruders," it added. (ANI)
Not a chance! The Porks call them 'non state actors' and not Pakis, which is a convenient facade to hide behind their shenanigans. This cover gives them plausible deniability. They will instead spew their usual rubbish that this was a false flag op to tarnish the image of Pak!! Bloody morons!

I heard this same shit "We can block karakoram Highway from Siachin "
Dont fall for this lie. Look at the map. Karakoram highway is nowhere near Siachin. We cant get down from there. If mutual withdrawal is possible we can withdraw from Siachin, It will save lives and resources
Who is saying forces in Siachen is to block KKH?