Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

@Screambowl How many troops we need to take back POK?
And what elements required?
It's like crossing the AGPL and taking on one of their positions. You would require minimum three platoons for taking back the position with atleast 2 platoons as re enforcement for one post/complex. With artillery, heli and UCAV assistance.

tharun

It's like crossing the AGPL and taking on one of their positions. You would require minimum three platoons for taking back the position with atleast 2 platoons as re enforcement for one post/complex. With artillery, heli and UCAV assistance.
So we need 100-150 troops to take one post/complex.
How many post/complex are there that we need to capture?
And to capture army barracks or company head quarters require extra troops right?

Taking a post is Easy ; Holding it is difficult

We will need to create Fortifications
And then the Approach Road or path for logistics support

That takes time

Will the enemy allow you to entrench yourself

They can always bring troops from other sectors

Therefore any meaningful action will involve
A simultaneous attack Through out the LOC

Open the Entire Front

But that will lead to casualties

Already SERVING officers are talking BS
and using words like Brinkmanship

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...not-brinkmanship-lt-gen-m-m-naravane-5080953/

If YOU can convince the entire country that all casualties in such a conflict would be justified ; then let us go for it

If you are talking about causality then it will still happen when they attack you and put a bumboo in your arse like they did in Kargil and that time the causality will be more.

In siachen if India had already taken on Bana post before they came in causality would be far less. Finally in the end you people had to send soldiers. A whole platoon was butchered by pakis with their captain FYI!

You people lack preventive measures. And when the water level rises to your neck then you try to act.

Taking a post is Easy ; Holding it is difficult
I already said in previous posts that fortification would be followed by. If the post is at 5200m at 5100m two bunkers, 4700m small complex and bunkers make it a base selection of location can be easily carried out.
Therefore any meaningful action will involve
A simultaneous attack Through out the LOC

I think you need to understand the difference between AGPL and LOC and why you can hold territory across AGPL and not across LOC.

If u read few lines instead HEADING...

Although India claimed that they were responding to aggression from Pakistan, an Indian resident in the area of the violation insisted that New Delhi started firing on its neighbour first.

there are some reasons behind the TIMING ... even i want to know why now India escalated!
Reasons are pretty simple:

1) if there is attack on IA inland, there would be a attack on paki posts.
2) if there are military age men loitering on the LOC, there would be fired upon.
3) if we are fired up on from paki posts, there would be return fire on paki posts.
4) if there is infiltration detected, they would be fired upon.

I think these four points cover almost all reasons.

So we need 100-150 troops to take one post/complex.
How many post/complex are there that we need to capture?
And to capture army barracks or company head quarters require extra troops right?

If Indian army selects a point like Gharkun 6000m at lets say they have a post at 5700m
it would have at least 5-6 bunkers at 5500m on a feature and 3-4 further down at 4000m. All heavily equipped. Heli drop remains the only option to send in men. The paki posts on the hill would have atleast one platoon.

Pak army barracks or company hq would come under Indian domination once the post on hill falls. Then IA can pin pointedly observe them and guide the artillery.

Pak Mortar position providing fire support to forward post which are taking fire from "Enemy"

"Dushman ka fire a raha he" on Set

Pak Mortar position providing fire support to forward post which are taking fire from "Enemy"

"Dushman ka fire a raha he" on Set

yeh to fata ya kpk hai. Jahan tak mera khayal hai. during zarb e azb

Pata ni yar 1 serving bande ne bheja tha link.

tharun

If Indian army selects a point like Gharkun 6000m at lets say they have a post at 5700m
it would have at least 5-6 bunkers at 5500m on a feature and 3-4 further down at 4000m. All heavily equipped. Heli drop remains the only option to send in men. The paki posts on the hill would have atleast one platoon.

Pak army barracks or company hq would come under Indian domination once the post on hill falls. Then IA can pin pointedly observe them and guide the artillery.
First we need is to soften up the paki post with heavy artillery and then send heli drop our guys.
One platoon of pakis and that many bunkers on one hill....all we need is better strategy.
Why we need hill to be captured to guide artillery.Can't we put the co-ordinates of the barracks or company hq and use MLRS?

Good point...

Also to be noted, the mud walled house.

Don’t think J&K or surrounding areas has mud walled houses of that particular design.

First we need is to soften up the paki post with heavy artillery and then send heli drop our guys.
One platoon of pakis and that many bunkers on one hill....all we need is better strategy.
Why we need hill to be captured to guide artillery.Can't we put the co-ordinates of the barracks or company hq and use MLRS?
Yes they need to soften the feature before they heli drop the men, but this should me immediate. And this is why UCAV can do the job with assistance from 105mm light field gun and 120mm mortar for maximum effect.. I have no idea whether pinaka or bofors, or even dhanush can be brought in that region.