Siachen Glacier : The Highest battleground on Earth

The Govt is going whole hog to build public opinion on demilitarising the Siachen Glacier.

Today in We the People, it was packed with peaceniks and the people who opposed it were very subdued in presenting that side of the debate.

Gurmeet Kanwal, who has possibly not seen the Glacier during his military service was all for demilitarisation because for 15 years he said that not a shot was fired and he put his faith in the Pakistan word that the Pakistanis would not occupy the Satoro REidge once the Indians vacate.

It is obvious that no shots were fired by the Pakistanis since they were on the lower heights, having lost even their Qaid Post (now Bana Top) and the effect firing from below to above is affected! Further, the Indian retaliation would cause them real misery.

If people are suffering and dying art 12 per year is the reason (as some put it) to vacate, then why not vacate Kashmir where more are dying than 12!

If Aneeta Joshua was allowed to visit, it is again to build up Indian public opinion with bleeding heart stories.

It also shows how Pakistan is desperate being financially down and out and unable to air supply its northern posts because the landslide has wiped out forever the land route. Also, it will allow Pakistan to use troops in Afghanistan once the US pulls out. Even earlier Pakistan had claimed that there were no Pakistani troops in Afghanistan and only it was Taliban. The Konduz airlifted evacuation gave proof to this lie when Pakistani troops were also arilifted from Konduz.

Therefore, who can trust Pakistan? Maybe Gurmeet Kanwal and Manmohan Singh.

Mammohan is really going whole hog for the Nobel Peace Prize.

He will go down in history in ignominy when Pakistan occupies Saltoro Ridge.

latsar

hafiz saeed is roaming freely preaching jihad on India .These buffoons in Delhi are talking about peace .I DON'T UNDERSTAND whether these ppl are working in favor of India or against.

Talks on Siachen in June, don't expect dramatic result: Antony

India today made it clear that it would insist on proper authentication by Pakistan of the troop positions in Siachen before any disengagement is undertaken and cautioned against expecting any "dramatic" result from the next round of talks in June on the vexed issue.

Defence Minister A K Antony asserted in the Rajya Sabha that India stood by its stand on authentication and had neither hardened or softened the position.

"Some people have said we are hardening our position (on Siachen), some say we have softened the position. We have neither hardened nor softened our position. We are standing where we were," he said, replying to a debate on the functioning of the Defence Ministry.

While informing the House that the 13th round of Defence Secretary-level talks on Siachen will take place in the second week of next month, Antony said during the last round Pakistan had refused to authenticate the troop positions of the two countries but India insisted on it.

"Don't expect dramatic results (from the next round of talks. It is a complicated issue," he said.

Making it clear that India was keen on authentication and had "not changed the position", he said, "it is the national position, not government position. We took the position after considered decision."

Siachen, the world's highest militarised zone, has been a long-pending dispute between India and Pakistan as the border is not clearly demarcated in the glaciated region.

Talks on Siachen in June, don't expect dramatic result: Antony - Indian Express

I agree with ray sir here, the whole propaganda machine is firing all cylinders to make public opinion to give up Siachin, truly sad days when some one has only noble price in mind :(

ajtr

Siachen: Pak banks on PM to deliver after Gen Singh's exit

On Friday, Pakistan managed to delay the liberalised visa pact on specious grounds. Even though Home Secretary RK Singh went to Pakistan for the explicit purpose of signing the agreement, the Pakistanis managed to delay it.

According to The Indian Express, Islamabad wanted the visa agreement to be signed by Home Minister P Chidambaram even though it was explicitly agreed during talks between President Asif Ali Zardari and Manmohan Singh in April that the home secretaries would sign it.

Knowing full well that Chidambaram was not going to be part of the visa pact delegation, the Pakistanis still insisted that he should come at least for a few hours to sign the agreement, which the home minister declined. They thus held the visa agreement hostage.

Says the Express quoting Ranjan Mathai on the visa pact delay: "We also have reports that the Pakistani side referred to some delay in its procedure and the Pakistani Interior Minister's (Rehman Malik's) desire for political participation in signing of the visa pact."

Earlier, the Pakistanis decided to postpone talks on Sir Creek – where agreement is at hand – from the 14 May date scheduled earlier.

Nobody in the external affairs ministry should be fooled. All these are Pakistan's excuses to get India to move out of Siachen – something it has been desperate to achieve since India holds the high ground on that glacier.

The Indian army has been very clear – from Gen VK Singh downwards – that an advantage obtained with so much sacrifice of men and material cannot simply be gifted away through so-called "demilitarisation" for no advantage at all.

However, the weak link in the Indian position is the Prime Minister himself, who seems to be scrounging around for a diplomatic victory to pull off when his reputation is otherwise in tatters.

According to a report in India Today, as early as June 2005, the PM told soldiers at the Siachen base camp: "Siachen is called the highest battlefield, where living is very difficult. Now the time has come that we make efforts that this is converted from a point of conflict to the symbol of peace."

But the magazine also notes that Siachen is what the PM may be willing to sacrifice for personal achievement. "Demilitarisation is his CBM (confidence building measure) offer to Pakistan. Cynics suggest that he, too, has become a victim of the Nobel Peace Prize syndrome, trapped by the desire of temporary personal applause at the cost of national interests. It is his ticket to history."

underlines the fact that while Sir Creek is close to a solution, Siachen is not since the Indian army is dead set against it. It says "Indian army chiefs starting from Gen AS Vaidya and continuing to Gen VK Singh have refused to support what they perceive will be a major concession to Pakistan, as it is India which will have to withdraw."

The Pakistani decision to delay talks on Sir Creek and also the visa agreement could be clearly related to Gen VK Singh's retirement by end-May, when he will be replaced by Gen Bikram Singh, who, the Sunday Guardian suspects, "is expected to lead the reversal of the army's position in order to help Dr (Manmohan) Singh achieve his dream of leaving a 'peace mark' on Indo-Pak relations."

The Pakistani reference to "political participation" is probably a veiled reference to get Manmohan Singh to hand them a lolly.

One hopes the government is not foolish enough to not see through the Pakistani ruse. Manmohan should be seeking to leave a legacy of peace based on real trust with Pakistan, not by allowing them to hoodwink us once again. As in Kargil. As on 26/11. As in the Shimla Agreement. As always.

With looming talks in june Seems siachin withdrawal is not too far.

Singh sung blue, everybody knows how
Singh sung blue, that's dreams and it grows how

Singh and the other Singh are subject to
The blues now and then
But when they take the blues
And make a song
They wail 'em out again

Singh sings blue, weeping like a willow
Singh sings blue, sleeping on their pillow
Funny thing,
But they can sing it with a cry in their voice
And before they know it gets to feeling good
But simply they have a choice

Singh and Singh are subject to
The blues now and then
But when they take the blues
And make a song
They wail 'em out again

Song sung blue, weeping like a willow
Song sung blue, sleeping on my pillow
Funny thing,
And before they know it start to feeling good
They simply have got all the choice

Song sung blue
Funny thing,

(Apologies to Neil Diamond and 'Song Sung Blue')

ajtr

Dilli bahoot door hai!
June exclusive talks on siachin will tell dilli kitani door hai...waise ab jada door nahi as pakistan is already offering lakvi's head as its part of CBM for siachin withdrawal by india as CBM by india

And you think we will fall for cosmetic moves? Even if you hand over Hafeez Saeed, we will not move from Siachen. You still don't get it do you? You guys are nowhere in Siachen. It's India which is there. For India, it's not even an issue.

ejazr

lakvi's head is not part of a CBM. That is what any half descent country after having caught with its pants down in a telivised terrorist attack would have done 2 years back.

The real CBM was to sign the Sir Creek agreement and authenticating the troop positions before even talking about a troop withdrawal. Since neither of the two have happened. It is unlikely MMS would be able to push this through. The Pakistanis have overplayed their hand AGAIN as usual and we are going to say a "failure" of the Siachen talks in June. Not in least brought about by the failure in signing the Sir Creek agreement earlier.

It is so pathetically humorous that you are cliffhanging to a will o' the wisp.

No sane Indian, let anyone in uniform would like to commit harakiri.

ajtr

It is so pathetically humorous that you are cliffhanging to a will o' the wisp.
Well i'm optimist.It just my optimism which you see as humor.

No sane Indian, let anyone in uniform would like to commit harakiri.
Well sane Indian cant do harakiri but Indian PMs can.Last 63 years of indian history is full of such harakiri by indian PMs.Thats why there is much strong reason for me to be optimistic about siachin.

ajtr

And you think we will fall for cosmetic moves? Even if you hand over Hafeez Saeed, we will not move from Siachen. You still don't get it do you? You guys are nowhere in Siachen. It's India which is there. For India, it's not even an issue.
Not Indians but indian PMs do fall for cosmetic moves.Last was in S-e-S and Thimpu. :)

Well i'm optimist.It just my optimism which you see as humor.

Well sane Indian cant do harakiri but Indian PMs can.Last 63 years of indian history is full of such harakiri by indian PMs.Thats why there is much strong reason for me to be optimistic about siachin.
That is Breaking news! :rofl:

But the way Pakistan has gone, it has done harakari ever since it came into being.

It still does not know what it wants to be or where it is heading!

ajtr

That is Breaking news! :rofl:

But the way Pakistan has gone, it has done harakari ever since it came into being.

It still does not know what it wants to be or where it is heading!
Pakistan is like disgruntled muslim voters of india like as those of in Kashmir or in UP,Bihar etc.So every party try to give them SoPs for their votes.Like for kashmiris SoPs is in form of autonomy enshrined in article 370 for other muslim voters Sop is reservation in job education etc like wise for pakistan siachin is and other issues are those SOPs that should be offered by indian govt to win over pakistani people.It should not stop Indian govt from offering CBMs aka SOPs to pakistan even if few pakistan mujahids overturn the apple cart.As it never stopped indian govt to offer SOPs to muslim comunitiy as a whole even if there are attacks by Indian mujahideens.As PM manmohan singh said ,"muslims have first right to Indian resources" So that right is shouuld also be extended to the disgruntled muslim of pakistan.Few attacks should not cloud the vision of Indian govt in bringing in these pakistanis into mainstream.