Russia says Mohammed cartoon publication illegal

Russia says Mohammed (PBUH) cartoon publication illegal

MOSCOW: Russia's media watchdog on Friday warned publications that printing cartoons of the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) was against the country's law and ethical norms following the Charlie Hebdo attack in France.

"The publication in Russian media of such caricatures go against ethical and moral norms worked out over centuries," said the media and communications watchdog Roskomnadzor.

"Disseminating caricatures on religious themes in the media can be considered insulting or humiliating to the representatives of religious confessions and groups, and qualified as inciting ethnic and relgious hatred", an offence under Russian law, it said.

The publication would also violate the Russian media and anti-extremism laws, the watchdog said, adding that it was asking Russian media to "refrain from publishing caricatures that can be seen as a violation".

The watchdog published the statement as a response to the ongoing debate on the "legality of publishing caricatures depicting religious objects of worship which affect feelings of religious people."

Many newspapers and magazines around the world reprinted cartoons of the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) by Charlie Hebdo, whose Paris office was attacked by Islamist gunmen on January 7, leading to the deaths of 12 people.

Although Russia's leadership extended its condolences to France, and Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov participated in the unity march staged at the weekend, pro-Kremlin commentators and Muslims accused the cartoonists of provoking the attack.

Russia's Council of Muftis - a top Muslim authority - condemned the attack but said that "perhaps the sin of provocation... is no less dangerous for peace than the sin of those who yield to the provocation".

It further said after Charlie Hebdo published a post-attack issue with the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) on the front page that it is an "unacceptable response" to the shooting because one "cannot laugh at the feelings of the faithful."

Several rallies have been announced next week by Muslims opposing the cartoons, including one in Chechnya's main city Grozny.

Chechnya's leader Ramzan Kadyrov said those who drew the cartoons were "people without spiritual and moral values" and said that 500,000 people would participate in the rally scheduled for Monday morning.

Meanwhile some protesters who have picketed in support of Charlie Hebdo have been punished. Moscow's Tverskoy District Court on Friday sentenced Mark Galperin, an opposition activist who held up a "Je Suis Charlie" poster near the Kremlin last Saturday, to eight days of arrest.

Another picketer, 75-year-old Vladimir Ionov, was fined. Both were found guilty of staging an unsanctioned public event.

Russia says Mohammed (PBUH) cartoon publication illegal - World - DAWN.COM

I wish more countries followed Russia's example.
Prevention is better than cure.

I wish more countries followed Russia's example.
Prevention is better than cure.
Muslims need to stop being touchy and over sensitive about every single thing. Ignoring than getting getting excited and incited is a better option. Islamic world needs reforms, change of mindset and come in tune with modern times.

blueblood

Muslims need to stop being touchy and over sensitive about every single thing. Ignoring than getting getting excited and incited is a better option. Islamic world needs reforms, change of mindset and come in tune with modern times.
Funny thing is that Muslims often end up damaging themselves by reacting stupidly. So far 4 are dead in Niger and 1 wounded in Pak while protesting. Tally was much higher during the protests of "innocence of muslims" with at least 50 dead and the dude who made it, is calmly sipping his beer and watching porn.

Yusuf bhai, if you are a muslim you ought to know better than this. Reforms are fine but no matter how reformed or enlightened you get, certain area's will remain a no go for a muslim. One of these area's is making fun of the Prophet or other religious icons.

There are more than a billion muslims in the world, 99% are non violent and living a normal life. It's not the islam that needs reforms, it remains a good and perfect religion. It's the extremists we need to expose and brand as unislamic and eliminate them from our society.

Putin once said, terrorism has no nationality, no religion.
I think he is right.

Free Karma

@Neo the sad part about this is that Charlie Hebdo was on it's knees economically, they were begging for donations from their subscribers and would not have lasted 2 more months. Most of us did not even know who these guys were. But this action has now given it soaring publicity, and the last edition sold out (50 lakh copies!). If anything it's made it bigger and better known.

A better route to go wouldve been to use court cases. Even if the case was not won, it wouldve put them deeper in a financial hole and sped up the companies demise.

blueblood

There are more than a billion muslims in the world, 99% are non violent and living a normal life. It's not the islam that needs reforms, it remains a good and perfect religion. It's the extremists we need to expose and brand as unislamic and eliminate them from our society.
Hence things will never change as far as Islam and muslim are concerned. Here's something for you to chew on.

In April 2003 American Eagle Outfitters in USA introduced following Sandals as one of their summer products. This company operates about 750 American Eagle stores in the US and Canada.

On 27 April, 2003 IndiaCause launched an informal protest (which was not yet conveyed to our members). We also communicated our disappointment with the Management and expected their response before we launched a formal protest.

On 29 April, 2003 American Eagle Management responded positively to our protest and faxed their letter confirming "Please accept this letter as our formal apology for our use of the image resembling the Lord Ganesh on this product". In his letter Neil Bulman, Jr. (Vice President and General Counsel, AE) assured "we will remove these flip-flop shoes from our stores".... (letter below)

American Eagle Outfitters Apologize for Ganesha flip-flops

Yusuf bhai, if you are a muslim you ought to know better than this. Reforms are fine but no matter how reformed or enlightened you get, certain area's will remain a no go for a muslim. One of these area's is making fun of the Prophet or other religious icons.

I think he is right.

Let me ask you a very simple question... I read somewhere that Pakistani Parliament passed resolution against the French newspaper against the first publication after the attack... Now the question is why the same parliament did not pass a resolution to condemn attack and killings on the paper editors and staff on the first place??

asianobserve

Re: Russia says Mohammed (PBUH) cartoon publication illega

Then Muslims should refrain from making fun of their Prophet. That's not hard. But for those who do not subscribe to that point of view then they should not be affected by any such religious codes. Remember that Muslim has so many "dont's" that frankly I am really tired of. I am not Muslim but I cannot go out and eat pork from restaurants because they are not on the menu as not to offend the sensibilities of Muslims. Your religion is choking the whole non-Muslim World.

Do not do this do not do that, what the ----- is that? If you Muslims think that you must not do this or that so that you can go to your Prophet's heaven then that's your prerogative. Allah is a God and Mohammad is sitting on the right side of Allah in your heaven, I'm sure neither MOhammad or Allah does not need your protection. They can simply cast us who do not believe into hell once we die while you can go straight to their paradise, complete with 70 virgins! What's wrong with that?

Just stop trying to silence the World into submitting into your medieval whims and caprices!

Besides, where the ---- are these pious Muslims when some deranged Muslims kill a lot of people in the name of Islam? Your religion is threatening the way of life of non-Muslims all over the World and yet you will not allow us the right to voice out what we think of your religion? ----- it!

I think he is right.
By trying to justify stifling freedom to express our views or the open discourse on religion you are only helping these extremists in your religion achieve what they want (maybe that's what you want?). You need to man up to the challenge facing your religion, tell these medieval retards that other people are entitled to be heard of what they think about some aspects of your religion.

@Neo the sad part about this is that Charlie Hebdo was on it's knees economically, they were begging for donations from their subscribers and would not have lasted 2 more months. Mo
st of us did not even know who these guys were. But this action has now given it soaring publicity, and the last edition sold out (50 lakh copies!). If anything it's made it bigger and better known.

A better route to go wouldve been to use court cases. Even if the case was not won, it wouldve put them deeper in a financial hole and sped up the companies demise.
Your words make sense and the majority of global muslim population will agree with you hence they don't take weapons but fight with a pen, they way you and I are doing.
Unfortunately, the extremists have no patience nor tact to solve the matter peacefully, they are brainwashed and vlinded by prejuduce and hatred. If only they understood the true meaning of Islam they'd know that killing an innocent person is forbidden. They have hijacked Jihad and done more harm to islam and muslims than the kafirs.

Let me ask you a very simple question... I read somewhere that Pakistani Parliament passed resolution against the French newspaper against the first publication after the attack... Now the question is why the same parliament did not pass a resolution to condemn attack and killings on the paper editors and staff on the first place??
I'm afraid you are misinformed; Pakistan did condemn the attaxk on January 8th.

Pakistan condemns deadly Paris shooting: FO - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

I don't quite understand.
Please elaborate, thx
It is in response to your argument that all should follow the Russia's example...

Russia also controlled the Islamic terrorisism in Chechnya on certain terms... Do you agree that all should follow the Russia's example / method of controlling extresism ?

Re: Russia says Mohammed (PBUH) cartoon publication illega

Then Muslims should refrain from making fun of their Prophet. That's not hard. But for those who do not subscribe to that point of view then they should not be affected by any such religious codes. Remember that Muslim has so many "dont's" that frankly I am really tired of. I am not Muslim but I cannot go out and eat pork from restaurants because they are not on the menu as not to offend the sensibilities of Muslims. Your religion is choking the whole non-Muslim World.

Do not do this do not do that, what the ----- is that? If you Muslims think that you must not do this or that so that you can go to your Prophet's heaven then that's your prerogative. Allah is a God and Mohammad is sitting on the right side of Allah in your heaven, I'm sure neither MOhammad or Allah does not need your protection. They can simply cast us who do not believe into hell once we die while you can go straight to their paradise, complete with 70 virgins! What's wrong with that?

Just stop trying to silence the World into submitting into your medieval whims and caprices!

Besides, where the ---- are these pious Muslims when some deranged Muslims kill a lot of people in the name of Islam? Your religion is threatening the way of life of non-Muslims all over the World and yet you will not allow us the right to voice out what we think of your religion? ----- it!

By trying to justify stifling freedom to express our views or the open discourse on religion you are only helping these extremists in your religion achieve what they want (maybe that's what you want?). You need to man up to the challenge facing your religion, tell these medieval retards that other people are entitled to be heard of what they think about some aspects of your religion.
I hear you and I understand your anger. Believe it or not, it angers me too and with me millions of other muslims living in the west. But the west is responsible for their own mess, the radicalisation of the youth, the impoverishment and everything. These countries have democratic designs and laws to protect everyone including the minorities. If serving pork can be banned, it is because the system allows it to be banned so don't blame it on islam.

It is in response to your argument that all should follow the Russia's example...

Russia also controlled the Islamic terrorisism in Chechnya on certain terms... Do you agree that all should follow the Russia's example / method of controlling extresism ?
We must declare a war against the terrorists and use any method there is as long as it is effective and does not harm the the innocent.

Again, terrorism has no religion, no nationality.

Your words make sense and the majority of global muslim population will agree with you hence they don't take weapons but fight with a pen, they way you and I are doing.
Unfortunately, the extremists have no patience nor tact to solve the matter peacefully, they are brainwashed and vlinded by prejuduce and hatred. If only they understood the true meaning of Islam they'd know that killing an innocent person is forbidden. They have hijacked Jihad and done more harm to islam and muslims than the kafirs.
What is interesting is that you as a supposedly peaceful Muslim still identifies non-Muslims as Kafirs. :rolleyes:

What I meant the parliamnet passing resolution and not FO condemnation..
Imho passing a parliamentary resolution is an internal matter and its purpose is to dictate future foreign policies.
What is important is the FO condemnation as it is directly aimed to sympethize with the Paris victims.

We must declare a war against the terrorists and use any method there is as long as it is effective and does not harm the the innocent.
That is too simplistic statement... what do you think the current PA operations in KP are not harming the innocents ??

Again, terrorism has no religion, no nationality.