PT Usha breaks down after being humiliated

Sridhar

House keeper
PT Usha breaks down after being humiliated
Updated on Tuesday, October 06, 2009, 09:54 IST
Tags:PT Usha
Zeenews Bureau

Bhopal: The doyen of Indian athletics, PT Usha being denied adequate facilities is not just a one-off case but an incident that can well explain why India despite having a huge pool of talented individuals is not able to rise upto expectations at international level sports events.

The country’s best ever Olympics performance in Beijing last year had raised hopes of reviving the fortunes of Indian sports but incidents like these put a huge question mark over the optimism.

A day after World Boxing Champion MC Mary Kom complained of sub-standard accommodation and food during National Boxing Championships, it was the turn of flying queen PT Usha to face the humiliation.

PT Usha was accompanying an athletics team in capacity as a coach at National Open Athletics being held in Bhopal, when the organizers ensured that doyen of Indian athletics weeps in front of the gathered media.

Usha broke down in tears while narrating the horrendous tale of shabby arrangements provided to her and the young team during the event. A complaining Usha said, “ After all these years of playing at the national and world level a athlete wants some amount of respect from the officials, but forget that if PT Usha was made to share a room with five others then condition of a relatively new athlete can be imagined.”

The event comes as a huge shock to the nation which is preparing itself for a mega event like Commonwealth Games to showcase its might to world.

One being asked if incidents like this were the reason why India fails to perform at the bigger stage, a somber looking Usha said.

“It is because of this that parents do not encourage their children to take up to sports. If we want to win medals at Olympics and other important events, we will have to do something about it.”

PT Usha breaks down after being denied accommodation

View article on single page
1 | 2 |

ppgj

if other sports can get even 5% of attention that cricket gets in india, we would be a sports power.

johnee

if other sports can get even 5% of attention that cricket gets in india, we would be a sports power.
Even cricketers used to be treated shabbily once. It is only recently(about a decade) that the cricketers are really earning mulah. Cricket's fate turned once India won the world cup in 1983.
Similarly, others sports will get public attention(and therefore sponsors and thereby money) when they win a big trophy.

For eg:
Saina Nehwal won in Indonesia and she was in spotlight,
Vijender won Bronze Medal and he is in spotlight,
Abinav Bindra won Gold in Olympics and shooting has become more popular.

So, other sports must try to do well, so that they can get noticed. No point in blaming cricket.

ppgj

So, other sports must try to do well, so that they can get noticed. No point in blaming cricket.
they are trying. but just look at the stadiums when a cricket match is being played and when say a football match is happening. there is hardly any crowd. with no people no media support how do they get noticed? performance agreed but mind you there are some 200 countries in the world and football is played by almost all. cricket is only between some 10 odd countries. so competition in football is tough. same with athletics and other sports. so even if india ends 10th, 20th, 100th etc that is still better than 2nd or 4th in cricket.

johnee

they are trying. but just look at the stadiums when a cricket match is being played and when say a football match is happening. there is hardly any crowd. with no people no media support how do they get noticed? performance agreed but mind you there are some 200 countries in the world and football is played by almost all. cricket is only between some 10 odd countries. so competition in football is tough. same with athletics and other sports. so even if india ends 10th, 20th, 100th etc that is still better than 2nd or 4th in cricket.
Mate, I agree with all that you have said, nevertheless, people appreciate success and only success. No one can force people to watch a particular sports(specially, when the national players in that sport come no where near the top spot), just like no one can force people to stop watching a particular sports.
If some sports wants to compete with cricket, then let them show some on-field success. Trying is good but not enough, success is needed and rewarded. Sportsmen should stop criticizing cricket and cricketers and instead should work to excel in their field so that they can be a success too. By the way, BCCI gives lot of money to other sports to help them out. What more do other sports expect?

Sridhar

House keeper
What PT Usha did in her golden years
NDTV Correspondent​
11:20 IST, Tuesday, October 06, 2009 (New Delhi)

Regarded as queen of Indian track and field, P. T. Usha has been associated with Indian athletics since 1979. She is one of the greatest athletes India has ever produced.

In 1979 she participated in the National School Games, where she was noticed by O. M. Nambiar, who coached her throughout her career.

Achievements

Secured 4 gold medals in the Karachi international Invitation meet

1981: Secured 2 gold medals in Pune Int: Invitation meet 1 gold medal in Hissar International Invitation meet 2 gold medals in Ludhiana International Invitation meet

1982: Secured 1 gold medal and 1 bronze medal in the world junior meet at Seoul 2 Silver medals in New Delhi Asian Games.

1983: Secured 1 gold medal and 1 silver medal in Asian Track & Field Meet at Kuwait 2 Gold in International Invitation Meet at New Delhi 2 Gold in Int: national Invitation Meet at New Delhi

1984: Secured 1 gold medal in International meet at Inglewood U.S.A

Participated in the Los Angeles Olympics Games in the 400 M.H and missed a bronze medal by 1/100th of a second. 7th place in the 4x 400 mt: relay 3 Gold medals in the Eight nations International Invitation meet Singapore 4th place in 400.M.H in the International Invitation Meet at Tokyo.

1985: Secured 2 Gold & 2 Silver medal in the World Railway meet at Olomog,in Czheck republic and was adjudged as the Best Railway Athlete. It was the first time in the history of Indian Railways that any Indian athlete, male or female achieved this honor for Indian Railways.

5th place in the World Grand Prix Meet at Prague in 400 m.hurdles Bronze Medal in the World Grand Prix Meet at London in 400m.h. Silver Medal in the World Grand Prix Meet at Britslawa in 400m. 4the place World Grand Prix Meet at Paris in 400 m. Bronze Medal in the World Grand Prix Meet at Budapest in 400m. Silver Medal in the World Grand Prix Meet at London Silver Medal in the World Grand Prix Meet at Ostrawa 5th place in 400.M.H. & 4th place in 400.Metres in World Cup Championship held in Canberra. 5 Gold Medals & 1 Bronze Medal in Asian Track & Field Meet at Jakarta. 1986: 6th place in the 400 m. in Good Will Games at Moscow.

4 Gold medals & 1 Silver medal in the Asian Games at Seoul. 1 Gold medal in the Malaysian Open Athletic Meet. 3 Gold Medals in Lions Athletic Meet at Singapore. 2 Gold Medals in Four Nations Int: National Invitation Meet at New Delhi. 1987: Secured 3 gold medals & 2 Silver medals in the Asian Track & field Meet at Singapore.

2 gold medals in the Malaysian open athletic meet at Kuala Lumpur 3 gold medals in the Int: invitation meet at a New Delhi. 5 Gold medals in the South Asian Federation Games at Calcutta. Parcipated in the World Champion Ship OF Athletics in Rome.She became the first Indian to run in the semi finals of 400m hurdles.

1988: 3 gold medals in the Singapore Open athletic meet at Singapore. 2 Gold medals in Pre-Olympics Intl athletic meet at New Delhi. Participated in the Seoul Olympics 400m Hurdles.

1989: 4 gold medals& 2 silver medals in the Asian Track Field Meet At New Delhi 3 gold medals in the Intl Invitation Meet at Calcutta 4 gold medals in the Malayasian Open Athletic Meet.

1990: 3 silver medals in the Beijing Asian Games

1994: 1 silver medal in the Hiroshima Asian Games. 1 bronze medal in the Intl Permit Meet at Pune. 1995: 1 bronze medal in the SAF Games at Chennai 1 bronze medal in the Intl Permit Meet at Pune. 1996: Participated in the Atlanta Olympics Games. 1 silver medal in the Intl Permit Meet at Pune. 1997: 1 gold medal in the Intl Permit Meet at Patiala. 1998: 1 gold medal,1 silver medal and 2 bronze medal in the Asian Track Field Meet at Fukoka. 2 gold medals & 1 silver medal in the Raja Bhalendra Singh Intl Athletic meet at New Delhi. Participated in the Bangkok Asian Games 1 silver medal awarded in the 4x400 mt.Relay as member 1999: 1 gold medal & 2 silver medals in the SAF Games at Kathmandu 1 gold medal in the Raja Bhalendra Singh International Athletic meet at New Delhi.

World Record During the 1985 Asian Track & Field Meet at Jakarta, Indonesia, Usha secured 5 gold medals in the 100, 200, and 400 metre sprints, the 400 metre hurdles, and the 4 x 400 metre relay. She also earned a bronze medal in the 4 x 100 metre relay. This is the current record for most gold medals earned by a female in a single track meet.

Awards and honours

Recipient of Arjuna Award ,1984. Greatest women athlete, in 1985 Jakarta Asian Athletic Meet. Padma Sree in 1984. Best Athlete in Asia Award in 1984,1985,1986,1987,and 1989. Marshal Tito award for the best railway sportsperson in 1984,1985,1989 and 1990 1986 Seoul Asian Games, won the Adidas Golden Shoe Award for the best athlete Thirty International Awards, for her excellence in Athletics Kerala Sports Journalists Award for the year 1999 World Trophy for best Athlete 1985, 1986

What PT Usha did in her golden years - CRICKETNDTV.com

Sridhar

House keeper
After humiliation, PT Usha shifted to better hotel
Headlines Today New Delhi, October 6, 2009

India's sprint queen P.T. Usha, who had alleged that she was humiliated and provided a shabby accommodation in Bhopal, was on Tuesday shifted to an upmarket hotel in the city.

Usha was provided a room at the Jajan-Numa hotel. Sanjay Chaudhary, Director (Sports), Madhya Pradesh, told Headlines Today that all measures were being taken to ensure that Usha had a comfortable stay.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh sports officials had blamed the Sports Authority of India (SAI) for the ill-treatment meted out to Usha.

Headlines Today had reported how Usha was denied proper accommodation after her arrival in Bhopal along with the Kerala athletics team to participate in the National Open Athletics championship. She is the team's coach.

Usha said she was made to shunt between the old and new hostels by Sports Authority of India (SAI) officials. The two hostels are in different parts of the city. She was then given a room to be shared with five athletes.

Eventually, Usha checked into a hotel that her husband booked her into. She broke down while narrating her ill-treatment to Headlines Today.

After humiliation, PT Usha shifted to better hotel: India Today - Latest Breaking News from India, World, Business, Cricket, Sports, Bollywood.

Sridhar

House keeper
PT Usha humiliated in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh Govt. orders Probe

Bhopal: In a shocking development, Nation's Pride, Sprint Queen PT Usha was humiliated at the 49th National Open Athletics Championship in Bhopal. She broke down before the reporters, while narrating her ordeal. She claimed that she was asked to share her room with five others.

PT Usha and Milkha Singh are the most respected people in the history of Athletics in the country. PT Usha has symbolised the woman power in India and is still an inspiration for thousands of woman athletes. Any insult to her is no less than an insult to the nation.

PT Usha is currently the coach of an athletics team. When she asked for a better accommodation, the officials reportedly refused, saying she need to share her room with other athletes. The Madhya Pradesh Government has asked the Sports Director to probe the incident.

Breaking News Online: PT Usha humiliated in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh Govt. orders Probe

NSG_Blackcats

Member of The Month OCTOBER 2009
If sports other than cricket is neglected than definitely cricket is not responsible for it. We tend to forget BCCI had no money to facilitate the 1983 World Cup winning Cricket team. We must give credit to BCCI for the way they marketed Cricket.

It is not that we do not have talent is other sports. Our sports persons have proved themselves in Boxing, Shooting, Badminton, Tennis, Hockey etc on world stage. But it is the lack of professionalism of the governing bodies that is hurting us and government of India is watching like a mute spectator. Our sports minister failed to recognise Pulela Gopichand (only the second Indian to win the All England open). That tells you the story.

The sport governing bodies are administered like a family business. KPS Gills was president of Indian Hockey Federation. He ran IHF like his own property. Now the less we talk about Suresh Kalmadi the better. PriyaRanjan Dasmunshi was president of Indian Football Federation until he had a heart attack. Same is the case with many federation.

ppgj

If sports other than cricket is neglected than definitely cricket is not responsible for it.
hope not it is directed at me 'cos i brought cricket in. if yes, then you may go thro' my posts. i have nothing against cricket. my only point is other sports do not get as much attention. that is all.

NSG_Blackcats

^^ No it is not directed at you mate. I am just trying to highlight, it is the governing bodies of other sports and government responsible for the pathetic condition of sports other than cricket.

johnee

hope not it is directed at me 'cos i brought cricket in. if yes, then you may go thro' my posts. i have nothing against cricket. my only point is other sports do not get as much attention. that is all.
Mate,
no sport gets any attention in India. Cricket also suffered the same fate, but it came out of it by its luck and hard work. The same will apply to other sports as well. The administrators of the game are a corrupt, lazy and inefficient bunch who acquired positions to amass wealth and not to serve the sports. The sportsmen have to get the glory by sheer hardwork and once success starts coming, then money and popularity will also follow. No shortcuts...

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
I think PT Usha rasie to fame in 1984 Olympics. Its a shame that she was treated like that. She was even admired in Pakistan. I suggest you guys write to your MP and sports minister. Your voice counts too. If u remember the video shown of Pakistani soldiers beating a person one good news coz of free media is that the officer involved in one of the incident was jailed for 1 months and asked to apologize. You guys do the same thing, support PT Usha other wise u won't get any new PT Usha in India.

johnee

I think PT Usha rasie to fame in 1984 Olympics. Its a shame that she was treated like that. She was even admired in Pakistan. I suggest you guys write to your MP and sports minister. Your voice counts too. If u remember the video shown of Pakistani soldiers beating a person one good news coz of free media is that the officer involved in one of the incident was jailed for 1 months and asked to apologize. You guys do the same thing, support PT Usha other wise u won't get any new PT Usha in India.
Musalman Sahab,

Do you really believe that the local MP or Sports Minister doesnt know the reality? Everyone is well aware of the ground situation.

Do you really believe that only one Pakistani Officer was involved in that beating incident? Do you really believe that only one such incident happened? Do you really believe that the higher ups did not know about such incidents? Everyone higher up is well aware of what goes on ground.

If something comes out, then someone is made a scape goat, but the real issues are never addressed. It applies to PT Usha episode and Pak Army episode.

Sorry, for going off-topic.

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
Musalman Sahab,

Do you really believe that the local MP or Sports Minister doesnt know the reality? Everyone is well aware of the ground situation.

Do you really believe that only one Pakistani Officer was involved in that beating incident? Do you really believe that only one such incident happened? Do you really believe that the higher ups did not know about such incidents? Everyone higher up is well aware of what goes on ground.

If something comes out, then someone is made a scape goat, but the real issues are never addressed. It applies to PT Usha episode and Pak Army episode.

Sorry, for going off-topic.
May be u r right but how many times u and i have tried this???????

NSG_Blackcats

Nothing is impossible.

•If Mahatma Gandhi had thought it would be impossible to drive the British out of India we might never got independence.

•Milkha Singh (the flying sikh) had ran bare foot in the Olympics. He still has the best record hold by an Indian athlete.

•Everyone said it is impossible to build Konkan Railways. But a railway engineer named E Sridharan proved all of them wrong.

•India cannot have world class transport system. How many times we had said this? Ride the Delhi metro and feel the difference. The man behind this is also E Sridharan.

I can give numerous instances.
Time is changing. India is changing but need to make these changes faster.

johnee

Nothing is impossible.
I would have almost agreed with you. Your arguement was persuasive and inspirigng BUT,

ONE thing is IMPOSSIBLE!

For our corrupt netas and lazy babus to do their work properly without creating a mess, is IMPOSSIBLE.
They never fail to fail. Commonwealth games preparation are behind the schedule, while chinese were ahead of the schedule with their Olympics preparation.
Even a relatively easy thing like giving accomodation to athelets and coaches cant be done by them without hurting a legendary athlete of India....

NSG_Blackcats

For our corrupt netas and lazy babus to do their work properly without creating a mess, is IMPOSSIBLE.
They never fail to fail. Commonwealth games preparation are behind the schedule, while chinese were ahead of the schedule with their Olympics preparation.
Even a relatively easy thing like giving accomodation to athelets and coaches cant be done by them without hurting a legendary athlete of India....
We keep on shouting at our politicians and babus. The reason being it is the most convenient thing to do. The easiest thing in the world is crticising others. In the eighties we were talking about how bad is our system. We are taking about the same thing in 2009. What is the definition of System? The person of this country and its citizens forms the system. We cannot expect an American to change our system. Politicians and babus are not coming from outside. A country is as good as its citizens want it to be.

People like Medha Patekar, Sunadarlal Bhuguna and many others like them have the right to criticize the system as they have fought to change the system. I do not have that right because I have done nothing to change it.

johnee

We keep on shouting at our politicians and babus. The reason being it is the most convenient thing to do. The easiest thing in the world is crticising others. In the eighties we were talking about how bad is our system. We are taking about the same thing in 2009. What is the definition of System? The person of this country and its citizens forms the system. We cannot expect an American to change our system. Politicians and babus are not coming from outside. A country is as good as its citizens want it to be.

People like Medha Patekar, Sunadarlal Bhuguna and many others like them have the right to criticize the system as they have fought to change the system. I do not have that right because I have done nothing to change it.
NSG,
I have heard this kind of arguement several times before and I fell for it initially. The truth is that this is a simplistic view of things. Our system is not defined by people. It is defined by Political class, bureaucracy, media, business class and judiciary These are the powercenters that control the system. These are elites. Ordinary people have hardly the time or energy to manage their own business. The powercentres drive the policies and nation.

So, if things are not going correctly then these people will have to share the blame. Ordinary people look up to them for guiding the nation.