Privatization of strategic assets: National security concerns

Leaving the caste debate aside. There is huge debate around the concept of generalisation vs specialisation. IAS babus can be generalists, but for some projects you need people from specialist background because of the complications of projects involved. e.g. Nandan Nilekani for UADAI. Government should be open to hire best talent from anywhere in India.

For your kind information , your "specialist " nandan nilekani was failed miserably to handle the uadai and then government has to call a generalist IAS officer which got the job done

Abhay Rajput 02

Buying trucks from tatra is definitely a better idea than assembling them in beml plants .

But it is army Which has chosen tatra trucks instead of Tata trucks for whatever reasons , Maybe Tatra trucks are found to be more suitable for that particular terrain or it maybe a scam like you have mentioned .

Army is Also buying trucks of Tata based on it's requirements .

TATA is Also using engines from Cummins ( American company )

Transmission systems / gearbox of ZF Friedrichshafen ( German company ) . Suspensions by Hendrickson Inc ( American company ) , similarly most of the important parts .

but still you don't consider it screwdrivergiri ??
The link which i have posted say 96 percent indigenous . The video you posted - these engines are built in india not . Army only qualifies product aka acceptable . It can be 2,3,4 . After that MOD aka babus select.

Most of the components of T90 tanks and sukhoi 30 mki are manufactured in India under licence production should we start calling these systems indigenius ?

Does this apply to babus ? India is probably the only major country which doesn't have the capability to hire and fire bureaucrats at will
The only reason why talented people leave lucrative jobs in in foreign countries to join IAS cadre , otherwise only few mediocres would want to work under uneducated politicians

Abhay Rajput 02

Most of the components of T90 tanks and sukhoi 30 mki are manufactured in India under licence production should we start calling these systems indigenius ?
Sukhoi by value is close to 60 percent , dont know about t90.
All major components are foreign kits . And yes you can call su30mki 60 percent indigenous . Far better 50 or 40 percent right. Besides comparing trucks and aircraft are different. We cant make many critical components of aircraft. Thats not the case with trucks. Its as simple as that. There is a reason our ofb aren't even able to build good rifle. Look at private companies rifles .

All major components are foreign kits . And yes you can call su30mki 60 percent indigenous . .
60% indigenous .

All major components are foreign kits . And yes you can call su30mki 60 percent indigenous . Far better 50 or 40 percent right. Besides comparing trucks and aircraft are different. We cant make many critical components of aircraft. Thats not the case with trucks. Its as simple as that. There is a reason our ofb aren't even able to build good rifle. Look at private companies rifles .
Can we make efficient engine ,transmission . system suspension of trucks ? If yes then why Indian companies are buying licenced produced items made by foreign countries ? ?

Have you yourself tested those " private " riffles that you have declared them Good ?
Most of these private companies are just doing licence production of foreign riffles and just want to earn money , Which is not a bad thing .

But army band government has other ideas .

Abhay Rajput 02

Can we make efficient engine ,transmission . system suspension of trucks ? If yes then why Indian companies are buying licenced produced items made by foreign countries ? ?

Have you yourself tested those " private " riffles that you have declared them Good ?
Most of these private companies are just doing licence production of foreign riffles and just want to earn money , Which is not a bad thing .

But army band government has other ideas .

They are not buying. They are making them in india. Beml buys kits. Yes we can definitely build truck engines. Recently we made even tanks engine if 1500hp i heard. And everything required to build a truck can be made in india. As tata does. There trucks sold to the army are 96 percent indigenous.
I haven't tested any rifles from private firm but i have tested insas . Its pretty accurate , other than that, it doesn't have anything. Jamming , is the biggest problem in it. And i can bet our forces loves ak more than insas. Also i am pretty sure private firms guns will be atleast better than insas

They are not buying. They are making them in india. Beml buys kits. Yes we can definitely build truck engines. Recently we made even tanks engine if 1500hp i heard. And everything required to build a truck can be made in india. As tata does. There trucks sold to the army are 96 percent indigenous.
I haven't tested any rifles from private firm but i have tested insas . Its pretty accurate , other than that, it doesn't have anything. Jamming , is the biggest problem in it.
Even oppo/ Vivo are making mobiles in India , why people are boycotting them ? These mobiles are indigenous ??

Of course we can make engines , transmission systems gearbox , etc but the problem would be it's efficiency and reliability , this is the reason why Indian companies use reliable and trustworthy components Made by foreign companies .

Aside from that Pensions eat away at on budget. From my point of view pensions never was a good idea.
Do you know how pension works ? Are you working in any organisation ?

government is deducting 10% of your basic income throughout your working life and the same amount is invested by your employer , and that money is invested in government bonds / share market betc and from all that money + profit earned people get pension in their old age .

All the developed countries have social security schemes but in India thinks that old people are burden .

Government is providing pension to all the MLA and MPs but you have problem with pension of common people

Abhay Rajput 02

Even oppo/ Vivo are making mobiles in India , why people are boycotting them ? These mobiles are indigenous ??

Of course we can make engines , transmission systems gearbox , etc but the problem would be it's efficiency and reliability , this is the reason why Indian companies use reliable and trustworthy components Made by foreign companies .
Changing topics i see.
Here the key word is indigenous - what is indigenous .?

Are they recruiting no qualification Bajrang Dal members to lead OFB, SAIL, GAIL. Those who are being recruited are the ones who have been former CEOs employee reputed managers or simply competent people who can aid the government.
Passing an exam dosent mean u will become Bill gates or Satya Nadella.
What is the qualification of minister of finance ?

Passing competitive exams in India is a symbol of above average IQ and hard working nature .

The selected people get practical experience throughout their working life ,

Which qualified CEO is going to leave his high paying job and career for temporary positions in government government organisation for low salaries ?

Kindly compare salaries of government organisations and MNCs in India and abroad

Changing topics i see.
Here the key word is indigenous - what is indigenous .?
Comprehension problem i see .

Please explain "indigenous" , sukhoi 30 is 60% indigenous but oppo mobiles are not ??

Do you know how pension works ? Are you working in any organisation ?

In government organisations government is deducting 10% of your basic income throughout your working life and the same amount is invested by your employer , and that money is invested in government bonds / share market betc and from all that money + profit earned people get pension in their old age .

All the developed countries have social security schemes but in India thinks that old people are burden .

Government is providing pension to all the MLA and MPs but you have problem with pension of common people
U are the one who complained about not giving enough payment to employees and aksing for pensions at the same time.
Pension would makes sense if the operation cost of the company wasn't this high and BSNL actually has more employees per Connection and still shit services. Pensions funds when factoring inflation becomes a burden on government where they didn't make sustainable gains and still have to feed the bloated workbase.

Again no need to give anything to politicians after their sevice is done.

The socialist utopia u are looking for has an inherent flaws of low efficiency which isnt going to go away by throwing mud at private firms.

Bsnl is a dinosaur in modern times.

It got 4g bid along with everyone else but fucked up on their own by choosing wimax when everyone was going for LTE.
Even back in 2005 they have been losing subscribers on their own network and infra.

Passing competitive exams in India is a symbol of above average IQ and hard working nature
Hard work doesn't guarantee sucess otherwise donkeys would have been the king of the jungele, thats the socialist garbage u are harping there
The selected people get practical experience throughout their working life ,
Yes IAS babu that spend their 3 years studying BSC history, sociolgy and prepare 2 years of UPSC and then get some technical department where they are trained or gain experience by working. Vs A guy who had expertise in the particular field
Which qualified CEO is going to leave his high paying job and career for temporary positions in government government organisation for low salaries ?
Why whats the problem they will suck money out of the system like babus are already doing but this time actually manage to gain some profit
Who will join and who will not is governments problem.

People here are acting as if Capitalism is perfect, ain't no one saying that.
We tried socialism for 70 years and what did it get us. Let's try a change of pace for once.

U are the one who complained about not giving enough payment to employees and aksing for pensions at the same time.
Pension would makes sense if the operation cost of the company wasn't this high and BSNL actually has more employees per Connection and still shit services. Pensions funds when factoring inflation becomes a burden on government where they didn't make sustainable gains and still have to feed the bloated workbase.

Again no need to give anything to politicians after their sevice is done.

The socialist utopia u are looking for has an inherent flaws of low efficiency which isnt going to go away by throwing mud at private firms.

Bsnl is a dinosaur in modern times.

It got 4g bid along with everyone else but fucked up on their own by choosing wimax when everyone was going for LTE.
Even back in 2005 they have been losing subscribers on their own network and infra.
lol whut ?

salaries and pension Both are different things and Both have importance .

please increase your knowledge before blabbering .

BSNL is not paying pension to it's employees and pension has nothing to do with profitability of organisation .

people get pension from their own invested money and the money invested by their employers all that money collected over the years are invested by fund manager and from that money and profit pension is paid.

People here are acting as if Capitalism is perfect, ain't no one saying that.
We tried socialism for 70 years and what did it get us. Let's try a change of pace for once.
All the countries you call capitalists are more socialist than India ( Which is a socialist country according to the constitution )

India has worst features of both socialism and capitalism .

You've mentioned this multiple times now. Indian automotive sector is pretty mature. Its one of the few success stories of manufacturing.

Sophisticated engines are being designed and built in India. One example on top of my mind is Ford EcoSport's Dragon 1.5L engine. Manufactured and designed in India. Incidentally the EcoSport one of the top exported cars too

Yes BEML does screwdrivergiri, but many private companies don't