Privatization of strategic assets: National security concerns

So if a foreign company builds, designs and manufactures in India then its inconsequential ? This is very short term thinking

MNCs are without borders. Tata and Suzuki are both MNCs. Leaving out emotional blinkers, in many ways Suzuki is more "Indian" than Tata Motors. If you disagree here's a useful example - if these "evil MNCs" didn't invest in engine design and tech in India and "lovable swadeshi" companies like TATA wouldn't have gotten access to a talent.

Another example - if it wasn't for the evil software MNCs and baniya Indian services companies, then Indian software product ecosystem wouldn't have taken off.
If foreign companies manufactures in India , it may provide jobs to some people and tax to government but ultimately all the profit , IP rights would be owned by them and we would be dependent on them .
Also one Day they will replace Indian workers to automated robots with artificial intelligence .
This is the reason why Chinese mobile companies are opposed , otherwise they are provided excellent assembled in India mobile in cheap prise .

1) The first thing they see is that Govt snatched profitable businesses from Private Companies (run by Indian entrepreneurs ) and turned them un-profitable. Banks were taken away, collieries were taken away, airlines were taken away, steel plants were taken away AND they all spectacularly turned un-profitable.
Naturally we general public don't even trust PSU/ Govt sector or have very low opinion on them.
+100

Imagine if those companies were operated like ITC where government owns a significant stake but the company is free from interference. IIRC even L&T had a significant government stake

Foreign engines, suspension , transmission system , gearbox in 90+% of Indian trucks /cars .....

Vs

2% market share in offroad tyres ?
Most of that designed and manufactured in India. You want a "swadeshi" product ?

Mahindra Engines

LCVDI83 X 8420.9 NA263600551600 - 3000494761485138BSVI
0.9 TC463750981200 - 3000144
PV/CVmFalcon76 X 8831.29035002001600 - 2600535640697130Euro 4, Euro 5, BS6
PV4D1576 X 82.541.512135003001750483550750164Euro 4, BS6
PV11537503001500483550750164Euro 4, BS6
PVmHAWK83 X 9231.57136001951400466638832164Euro 4, BS6
PV10037502401600164Euro 4, BS6
PVmHAWK85 X 9642.215537503601750-2800725680780229BS VI
PV/CV14037503201600-2800677708847229Euro 4, Euro 5, Euro 6, BS VI
PV12040002901800-2800677708847229Euro 4, Euro 5, Euro 6, BS VI
LCVMDI88.9 X 101.642.56532001951400-2200716618872261BSVI
7532002001400-2200
CVMDI88.9 x 101.642.58032002201400-2200722584829265BSVI
CVMDI Tech96 x 12243.514024005251250-1800850680848342BSVI
CV12525003751250-1800850680848338BSVI
CVMpower105 X 13767.228022001050

I am giving the view- the way general public see PSU and govt operated things:
1) The first thing they see is that Govt snatched profitable businesses from Private Companies (run by Indian entrepreneurs ) and turned them un-profitable. Banks were taken away, collieries were taken away, airlines were taken away, steel plants were taken away AND they all spectacularly turned un-profitable.
Naturally we general public don't even trust PSU/ Govt sector or have very low opinion on them.

2) Govt should have maintained the Healthcare sector (Hospitals) and Education Sector (schools & colleges). Here they privatized very fast. they privatized so fast that most people can't go to a Govt hospital or govt school anymore!

3) And in BLR, govt can't even give clean drinking water to the very people who file ITR. We buy water from "tanker mafia" :)

So for 70 years, same story- same result- same conclusion.

Private baniyas are slightly better. Everyone is NOT Tata. If they can import from China, they will do scredrivergiri of chinese components all day. ;)

Govt should give better guidelines, policies and incentives to private sector (with emphasis on Indian private companies). AND Ideally, govt should have maintained the education sector and healthcare sector well. A part of defence sector should be with Govt (that's what i think, not that everything should go to private sector.. BUT that's my opinion. In PSU defence sector, no union, no strike/bandh/dharna should be there.)

If banks (both govt and private banks) are giving loans to private sector, which in turn is turning into NPA, the issue is with the banks. Unfortunately for this again, the tax paying people who file ITR do suffer the most and WILL suffer the most. Guess this is the problem of capitalism which people don't speak of here ;)

It is governments responsibly to provide opportunities to grow to all the Indians .
It is governments banks Which are providing most of the mudra loans ( 10 lakhs loan without any security ) , agriculture loans , education loans , jandhan accounts etc .

Without government banks nobody would provide banking services to piss poor Indians .

You can see the condition of private hospitals and education institutions , they may look clean but they will succk blood even from your dead bodies ,most Indian can not afford it .

Same thing would happen with every area if there is no government alternative then there would be duopoly or monopoly and people would be forced to pay whatever price these organisations are demanding .

Most of that designed and manufactured in India. You want a "swadeshi" product ?

We can learn a lot from China , how they developed domestic industries , organisations and social networking sites .

Mahindra Engines

LCVDI83 X 8420.9 NA263600551600 - 3000494761485138BSVI
0.9 TC463750981200 - 3000144
PV/CVmFalcon76 X 8831.29035002001600 - 2600535640697130Euro 4, Euro 5, BS6
PV4D1576 X 82.541.512135003001750483550750164Euro 4, BS6
PV11537503001500483550750164Euro 4, BS6
PVmHAWK83 X 9231.57136001951400466638832164Euro 4, BS6
PV10037502401600164Euro 4, BS6
PVmHAWK85 X 9642.215537503601750-2800725680780229BS VI
PV/CV14037503201600-2800677708847229Euro 4, Euro 5, Euro 6, BS VI
PV12040002901800-2800677708847229Euro 4, Euro 5, Euro 6, BS VI
LCVMDI88.9 X 101.642.56532001951400-2200716618872261BSVI
7532002001400-2200
CVMDI88.9 x 101.642.58032002201400-2200722584829265BSVI
CVMDI Tech96 x 12243.514024005251250-1800850680848342BSVI
CV12525003751250-1800850680848338BSVI
CVMpower105 X 13767.228022001050
Yes Mahindra is much better than Tata in terms of innovation , sometimes they use unethical ways achieve their goals but I don't have problem with it.

And Ideal condition for mixed market economy is 25%+ sector owned by government.
For that to happend well

Hijibiji

It is governments responsibly to provide opportunities to grow to all the Indians .
It is governments banks Which are providing most of the mudra loans ( 10 lakhs loan without any security ) , agriculture loans , education loans , jandhan accounts etc .
Govt wanted to bring ALL indians to the lowest level. When they could not do that anymore, they started privatization (which is nothing BUT the reversal of original publicization that Govt had done). if govt really wanted to help the indians who needed it the most, the picture would be different.

Without government banks nobody would provide banking services to piss poor Indians .
And still poor Indians go to Bandhan bank, XYZ Microfinance etc. Meanwhile SBI itself gives loans to big industrialists and create NPAs. Where will poor indians go?

You can see the condition of private hospitals and education institutions , they may look clean but they will succk blood even from your dead bodies ,most Indian can not afford it .
They indeed suck blood and sometimes life too. BUT Govt hospitals will suck life directly ;)

Same thing would happen with every area if there is no government alternative then there would be duopoly or monopoly and people would be forced to pay whatever price these organisations are demanding .
I agree with YOU. That's why i said earlier that IMO, health/ education etc should have been propelled by Govt for those Indians who cannot even go to private schools etc. BUT what did Govt do? First they destroyed Govt schools. After that, they asked private schools to bear their burden through RTE. Again we tax filing poor indians are paying for Govt RTE to the non-ITR filing indians ;)

That's what govt gave us.

Govt wanted to bring ALL indians to the lowest level. When they could not do that anymore, they started privatization (which is nothing BUT the reversal of original publicization that Govt had done). if govt really wanted to help the indians who needed it the most, the picture would be different.

And still poor Indians go to Bandhan bank, XYZ Microfinance etc. Meanwhile SBI itself gives loans to big industrialists and create NPAs. Where will poor indians go?

They indeed suck blood and sometimes life too. BUT Govt hospitals will suck life directly ;)

I agree with YOU. That's why i said earlier that IMO, health/ education etc should have been propelled by Govt for those Indians who cannot even go to private schools etc. BUT what did Govt do? They asked private schools to bear their burden through RTE. Again we tax filing poor indians are paying for Govt RTE to the non-ITR filing indians ;)

That's what govt gave us.
Do you know the minimum average balance in savings account of Bandhan Bank ? Compare that to SBI ? Compare charges for various services account statement SMS passbook cheuqe ATM etc .

Check rate of interest charged by them onn various loans , you would be surprised .
Poor Indians can't afford it.
And yes Bandhan Bank Will become another PMC bank .

Government is creating many impractical schemes which ultimately punishes the middle class families.

Hijibiji

Do you know the minimum average balance in savings account of Bandhan Bank ? Compare that to SBI ? Compare charges for various services account statement SMS passbook cheuqe ATM etc .

Check rate of interest charged by them onn various loans , you would be surprised .
Poor Indians can't afford it.
And yes Bandhan Bank Will become another PMC bank .

Government is creating many impractical schemes which ultimately punishes the middle class families.
Bandhan Bank was just an example. Now they are a Bank. They started with micro-finance.
And poor indians who will NOT get a loan from any private / public bank will go to microfinance. Is not that how microfinance fills the gap?