Oppression of Mumbaikars

King Julien

Several people were hurt and one died when police baton charged unruly demonstrators protesting against water cuts in front of the BrihanMumbai Municipal Corporation on Thursday.

An unspecified number of protestors received injuries when the riot police used force to disperse them after they tried to force their way into the BMC headquarters in south Mumbai this afternoon, officials said.

The agitators from several parts of the city and its suburbs had started collecting in front of the BMC office since noon under the umbrella of an NGO--"Swabhiman" to protest 15 per cent cut introduced by the local body in view of the water shortage due to scanty monsoon.

Waving red flags and shouting slogans against BMC, the agitators pulled down barricades put up by the police and tried to barge into the Corporation headquarters, prompting the security personnel to lathicharge.

Claiming that nobody was seriously injured in police action, sources said the area has been cleared of the agitators.

King Julien

Marathi Gunde, that's what people call us for demanding our right,
even after Maharashtra contributes more then 45% of GDP our basic needs are neglected, when our politicians stand up to demand our rights they are tagged as traitors. God knows how long do we suffer:thumbs_thmbdn:

Sabir

It is not Mumbai alone. Most of our cities have poor infrastructure, people are deprived of basic amenities. Instead of secluding ourselve as Mumbaikar or Kolkattaia Babu, we should voice as Indians for the basic things (aren't we paying highest rate of tax inthe world) we deserve for our hard-earnd money. It is painful to see how these money is being wasted by our own netas (just today I saw in news paper a trinamul MP from Kolkata has made a bill around 37 Lakh in 5 star hotel in last six month).

King Julien

It is not Mumbai alone. Most of our cities have poor infrastructure, people are deprived of basic amenities. Instead of secluding ourselve as Mumbaikar or Kolkattaia Babu, we should voice as Indians for the basic things (aren't we paying highest rate of tax inthe world) we deserve for our hard-earnd money. It is painful to see how these money is being wasted by our own netas (just today I saw in news paper a trinamul MP from Kolkata has made a bill around 37 Lakh in 5 star hotel in last six month).
Mate, 4000 mumbaikars die in train accidents annually, when they come on streets to protest, you tag them as 'Gunda'; Just last month 5 people died under train somewhere near gurgaon, people there stopped trains, went on rampage but People didn't tag them as gunda, then why this treatment to Mumbai?

No security, No clean Drinking water, Pathetic Infrastructure, yet Illegal Migrants are given VVIP treatment under the banner of "National Integrity" by alleged educated citizens...

atleast_a_bronze

I see no surprise in this.
I'ld have been surprised, if the BMC had given a patient hearing to the people and provided an amicable solution for the same. So, it's normal, expected behaviour:wink:

S.A.T.A

The police who generously dealt the lathis,the officer who ordered it,his seniors and the govt all of them report to,are from Maharashtra and elected by Marathi.........who else is supposed to take blame.

^^This incident is a clear case of police brutality and not "Marathi"/"Mumbaikar" oppression. There is a thread discussing Police refroms member may wish to continue their discussion there.
Thread Closed.