New Russian single engine fighter jet

Dark Sorrow

Because PLAAF will field at least 8 sqns of J-20 along the LAC in a few years. They realized this is the toughest frontier they face.
What makes you think that Su-75 can challenge them? Rafale would be a better challenge to them with its Spectra EW suite.
We're crawling with Tejas, I have zero hope that we'll be able to raise 10 sqns of 5th Gen aircraft in the next decade. Su-75 is our ticket to 10 sqns of 5th Gen aircraft by 2032, if we start moving now.
Yes, Tejas production is slow and we need to ramp up its production. Decision has been made that Mig-21 will be replaced by Tejas. I don't think their will be any revision on this.
The way Russians have hurried Su-75 I have no confidence in the aircraft. Even if everything goes as per schedule I don't think Su-75 will be ready by 2032 if we ask for enhancements.
As you claimed UAC will have entertain ToT it will be ridiculously expensive and time consuming for us interface our or Israeli or french avionics.
Just designation a jet 5th generation doesn't make it naturally superior.
Are you imagining some thing like Su-30MKI?
Again, IAF has said only 5th generation aircraft they are interested in is AMCA. Let IAF revise their statement then we shall see how things play out.
We need to get out of imported maal mentality.
This aircraft is purportedly 1/2 the unit price of a Rafale, possibly has superior RCS and RAM.
Their bare-bone price for Su-75 is 30M. In this configuration the jet is completely useless. Once you start adding electronics and avionics the price will jack up like crazy. We will even have to foot the bill for R&D.
From where you came across the conclusion that Su-75's RCS and RAM is better than Rafale.
AFAIK Russian have not carried out any RCS testing on Su-75 be it simulation or real like. Just look at F-22 or F-35 or even our AMCA detailed testing carried out for each feature.
Yeah, go ahead and seek F-35 from them when chicoms field J-20 in numbers and are flying sorties into India on a daily basis like they are into the Taiwan ADIZ. The Americans will tie you with cuckolded terms-of-sale, restricted tech, and you'll be able to get nearly two Su-75 for the price of an F-35.
No one is proposing to buy F-35 as you claimed. More Rafale will be ideal. What is the use of having 2-3 Su-75s in price of one F-35 if the single F-35 can shoot down these 2-3 F-35 by itself.

Actual air combat nowadays is way completed where by you have AWACS and EW support packages with you.

I get a lot of hostility from your post towards US. Remember we earn our Forex exchange by trading with US and EU. Russians on the other hand cost Forex exchange.

Why should IAF and GoI foot the bill for R&D of a Russian aircraft when we are getting nothing in return. We better focus on our AMCA.

If IAF is going to be a guinea pig for development of new aircraft why not it be our own aircraft.

What makes you think that Su-75 can challenge them? Rafale would be a better challenge to them with its Spectra EW suite.

Yes, Tejas production is slow and we need to ramp up its production. Decision has been made that Mig-21 will be replaced by Tejas. I don't think their will be any revision on this.
The way Russians have hurried Su-75 I have no confidence in the aircraft. Even if everything goes as per schedule I don't think Su-75 will be ready by 2032 if we ask for enhancements.
As you claimed UAC will have entertain ToT it will be ridiculously expensive and time consuming for us interface our or Israeli or french avionics.
Just designation a jet 5th generation doesn't make it naturally superior.
Are you imagining some thing like Su-30MKI?
Again, IAF has said only 5th generation aircraft they are interested in is AMCA. Let IAF revise their statement then we shall see how things play out.
We need to get out of imported maal mentality.

Their bare-bone price for Su-75 is 30M. In this configuration the jet is completely useless. Once you start adding electronics and avionics the price will jack up like crazy. We will even have to foot the bill for R&D.
From where you came across the conclusion that Su-75's RCS and RAM is better than Rafale.
AFAIK Russian have not carried out any RCS testing on Su-75 be it simulation or real like. Just look at F-22 or F-35 or even our AMCA detailed testing carried out for each feature.

No one is proposing to buy F-35 as you claimed. More Rafale will be ideal. What is the use of having 2-3 Su-75s in price of one F-35 if the single F-35 can shoot down these 2-3 F-35 by itself.

Actual air combat nowadays is way completed where by you have AWACS and EW support packages with you.

I get a lot of hostility from your post towards US. Remember we earn our Forex exchange by trading with US and EU. Russians on the other hand cost Forex exchange.

Why should IAF and GoI foot the bill for R&D of a Russian aircraft when we are getting nothing in return. We better focus on our AMCA.

If IAF is going to be a guinea pig for development of new aircraft why not it be our own aircraft.
When I don't have faith in HAL to shrug of its PSU mentality, I have full faith in DRDO to develop all the necessary techs in time. In fact, the last few years have shown that a competent leadership and proper amount of capital infusion does make wonders with R&D at DRDO.

The fact that Su-75 is barely out of drawing board and Russians are actually calling for investment partners, is a sign to me that Su-75 may go the way of FGFA clusterfck. We most definitely should stay well clear of it.

As for China fielding J-20 sqdns in LAC, given IAF is confident that J-20 isn't the wonder bullet China has been touting, we should keep faith in our forces' judgement. Lately they haven't been making the bad calls they are famous for so far as induction of platforms are concerned. The subsequent statements of ACM also gives an impression that for once IAF has actually figured out an induction plan and is working close with HAL/DRDO to achieve that.

I would say IAF should consider building up Rafale fleet to 6-7 sqdns to take care of any eventuality with China till AMCA comes in to service. Also, doesn't IAF need a heavy 5 gen fighter that would eventually replace Su-30MKIs? Isn't MKIs gonna start getting phased out from 2040s? IAF must start thinking on that angle from.

Anyhow, the engine deal IMO is crucial for now. Without it, whatever 5 gen tech we make we wont have a fighter to fly.

Dark Sorrow

The fact that Su-75 is barely out of drawing board and Russians are actually calling for investment partners, is a sign to me that Su-75 may go the way of FGFA clusterfck. We most definitely should stay well clear of it.
You nailed it with one sentence.

Because we're too slow. AMCA won't be a reality before 2040. We are with AMCA today where we were with Tejas in 1995. Chicoms already have at least 150 production J-20s, and are adding them at a rate of 0.6 sqns per year. Their lines are rolling.

And much of the hostility toward the US comes from the fact that just 2 months into power, the Democrats legit tried a regime-change OP in India (against Modi). They are an unreliable ally that's capable of being downright hostile. Their call-center trinkets have tied our hands against industrial-scale christian-conversion OPs; heck we even let the Americans defile the Red Fort on January 26, because we didn't want to lose their call center money.

Because we're too slow. AMCA won't be a reality before 2040. We are with AMCA today where we were with Tejas in 1995. Chicoms already have at least 150 production J-20s, and are adding them at a rate of 0.6 sqns per year. Their lines are rolling.

And much of the hostility toward the US comes from the fact that just 2 months into power, the Democrats legit tried a regime-change OP in India (against Modi). They are an unreliable ally that's capable of being downright hostile. Their call-center trinkets have tied our hands against industrial-scale christian-conversion OPs; heck we even let the Americans defile the Red Fort on January 26, because we didn't want to lose their call center money.
Bro, today OFB got dissolved. This will give a clear sign to the HAL too. In fact, HAL's rotary wing has been doing fabulous work. So, one can hope that once the fire is lit underneath HAL too would morph into a competent enterprise.

We cannot match the Chicoms platform to platform. They'll always outpace us. It is at the end of the day the power of money that speaks how much and how many toys one can have in how little time.

However, unlike China we have less amount area to cover and less number of enemies to mind. So, if we don't need to overstretch ourselves and keep our concentration to what can be achievable. Both IAF and ADA believe that they can not only build AMCA in time, but they can actually have a good platform too. Given IAF is a picky bunch, I too believe when AMCA comes, it would be a very good platform. Hopefully, by that time our Aeronautical private partners would have developed its own expertise to manufacture and add to the production line too.

As for the call center trinkets of USA, like it or not, if we lose the call center trinkets we wouldn't have the money o buy Su-75 or AMCA. So, this is a battle we should stay away from. Yes, US deep states have been making trouble in India, but when we cannot even keep one of their fronts Ford Foundation in blacklist even, what chances do we have to defy them in larger sphere?

yes, we most likely would be able to set our own course more independently in 5-10 years hence. But, the next few years are too crucial to botch up the game. Don't forget that the deep state had successfully torpedoed Japan's economy and can do that easily to us, too. We are still vulnerable - whether it is the matter of economy, R&D or even ideological and political conviction.

Btw, Red Fort might have been instigated by them, but the silence from our end is completely us.

Bro, today OFB got dissolved. This will give a clear sign to the HAL too. In fact, HAL's rotary wing has been doing fabulous work. So, one can hope that once the fire is lit underneath HAL too would morph into a competent enterprise.

We cannot match the Chicoms platform to platform. They'll always outpace us. It is at the end of the day the power of money that speaks how much and how many toys one can have in how little time.

However, unlike China we have less amount area to cover and less number of enemies to mind. So, if we don't need to overstretch ourselves and keep our concentration to what can be achievable. Both IAF and ADA believe that they can not only build AMCA in time, but they can actually have a good platform too. Given IAF is a picky bunch, I too believe when AMCA comes, it would be a very good platform. Hopefully, by that time our Aeronautical private partners would have developed its own expertise to manufacture and add to the production line too.

As for the call center trinkets of USA, like it or not, if we lose the call center trinkets we wouldn't have the money o buy Su-75 or AMCA. So, this is a battle we should stay away from. Yes, US deep states have been making trouble in India, but when we cannot even keep one of their fronts Ford Foundation in blacklist even, what chances do we have to defy them in larger sphere?

yes, we most likely would be able to set our own course more independently in 5-10 years hence. But, the next few years are too crucial to botch up the game. Don't forget that the deep state had successfully torpedoed Japan's economy and can do that easily to us, too. We are still vulnerable - whether it is the matter of economy, R&D or even ideological and political conviction.

Btw, Red Fort might have been instigated by them, but the silence from our end is completely us.
Action on OFB will do precious little on HAL, which is just a fabrication company. The actual work on AMCA will come from agencies such as ADA, which are showing precious little progress. AMCA is still on a drawing-board. Russians have a mock-up of the Su-75, which means they've finalized its design, and will begin developing test aircraft.

Call center trinkets are dispensable even today. They make up less than 10% of our GDP. But the damage to our society that we're allowing them to get away with, is incalculable. Hindus will become a minority in India by 2040 at this rate.

Su-75 is the AK-47 and MiG-21 of this generation--a low-cost 5th gen fighter with supposedly low RCS, which is able to go toe-to-toe against the likes of F-35 CTOL. With lack of interest from India, Russians will be happy to sell it to Pakistan, and that will be a costly problem for us, where we'll have to go to gora saheb with a bowl asking for F-35, and pay for it not with money, but with souls. Each F-35 costs ~$150 million in cash, and roughly 5 million Hindus converted to Christianity (per aircraft). I don't think that's a good price.

Dark Sorrow

Wow that is a lot of negativity for AMCA. Mid 2030s is the date set for IOC production.
As for PRC you can't go toe to toe. That will bankrupt you like Soviet.

It makes no sense for us to invest in an unproven platform whose cost might triple once you start making it potent enough. A platform for whom you won't own IP or ToT.
A platform on whom you might invest for R&D and on your investment Russians will sell to others including your adversaries. Just look what happened with Su-30 platform.
Kindly elaborate on this issue how they tried regime-change OP.
Remember Russians are selling us their hardware for profit. They want money from us; money that we earn by trading with US and EU.
We can afford to antagonize Russians but can't afford to antagonize western powers. Our economy is at stake here. We are not strong as PRC to antagonize west and get away with it.

Dark Sorrow

Su-75 is the AK-47 and MiG-21 of this generation--a low-cost 5th gen fighter with supposedly low RCS, which is able to go toe-to-toe against the likes of F-35 CTOL.
Just because Mig-21 could counter it adversaries doesn't mean same philosophy will work for 5th generation fighters. Air combat has evolved a lot.
Even USAF is focusing on 4.5th generation fighters and not sole relying on 5th generation fighters. I think we are good with Rafale and Tejas till we will have AMCA.
Supposedly low RCS is debatable as no RCS testing/simulation is done till date.
With lack of interest from India, Russians will be happy to sell it to Pakistan, and that will be a costly problem for us, where we'll have to go to gora saheb with a bowl asking for F-35, and pay for it not with money, but with souls. Each F-35 costs ~$150 million in cash, and roughly 5 million Hindus converted to Christianity (per aircraft). I don't think that's a good price.
Dude you need to stop panicking!!! take a chill pill Su-75 is no magical platform. If PAF get Su-75, so be it. We can counter it with our current arsenal. We weren't afraid of their F-16 or sabres (1965/71) why should be be afraid of Su-75 which is a poor man equivalent for 5th generation fighter.
In India Pakistan scenario 5th generation won't help much as the entire airspace as each others assets are under heavy surveillance.
Even if we buy the so called 5th generation fighters Su-75 what is stopping the Russians from selling the platform to PRC. they have a bigger valet then us.
Kindly confirm your issue is it PAF getting Su-75, IAF getting F-35 or Hindus converted to Christianity?

THESIS THORON

Dude you need to stop panicking!!! take a chill pill Su-75 is no magical platform. If PAF get Su-75, so be it. We can counter it with our current arsenal. We weren't afraid of their F-16 or sabres (1965/71) why should be be afraid of Su-75 which is a poor man equivalent for 5th generation fighter.
BRAH, I DONT AGREE WITH YOU ONLY ON PAF GETTING SU 75

BECAUSE. WE HAVE BOUGHT RAFALE FOR OUR EASTERN BORDER (2SQDS), AND IAF IS GOING THROUGH FUND CRUNCH SO DONT EXPECT MORE RAFALE.

AND ALSO DONT EXPECT THAT MKI'S WILL BE ABLE TO FACE SU 75, BEC I DONT SEE SUPER SUKHOI UPGRADE
COMING ANY TIME SOON.

IMO PAF WILL GET J20 BY 2028-29

SO IF YOU GET SU-75 EVEN WITH BASE CONFIGURATION (30 MILLION) AND USE DRDO DEVLOPED ELECTRONICS IT WILL BE BEST.

AND ORDER TEJAS MK2 IN 170 NO.

THIS COMBO WILL BE BEST FOR MAKING 42 SQDS.

Action on OFB will do precious little on HAL, which is just a fabrication company. The actual work on AMCA will come from agencies such as ADA, which are showing precious little progress. AMCA is still on a drawing-board. Russians have a mock-up of the Su-75, which means they've finalized its design, and will begin developing test aircraft.

Call center trinkets are dispensable even today. They make up less than 10% of our GDP. But the damage to our society that we're allowing them to get away with, is incalculable. Hindus will become a minority in India by 2040 at this rate.

Su-75 is the AK-47 and MiG-21 of this generation--a low-cost 5th gen fighter with supposedly low RCS, which is able to go toe-to-toe against the likes of F-35 CTOL. With lack of interest from India, Russians will be happy to sell it to Pakistan, and that will be a costly problem for us, where we'll have to go to gora saheb with a bowl asking for F-35, and pay for it not with money, but with souls. Each F-35 costs ~$150 million in cash, and roughly 5 million Hindus converted to Christianity (per aircraft). I don't think that's a good price.
Bro, why are you using present tense when comparing Su-75 with F-35? It hasn't gone through any tests and even doesn't have the main systems incorporated as yet. So how would you know that it can go toe to toe with F-35?

Remember that even when USA had deep knowledge of stealth and 5 gen Tech through F-117, F-22 and B-2, it still took literally decades to tweak the niggles of F-35. Even then F-35 till this day remains underpowered.

Also, 5Gen isn't only the stealth aspect of a fighter. It means wholesome upgrade of network centric communication, radar, super cruise, weapon package, EW and many other aspects. Russia doesn't have a great track record in those aspects either. India prefers western systems much better and would have to incorporate those in Su-75 even if IAF goes for it. That would again cost extra.

In comparison, Rafale is the platform which already fits much of the criteria. It even has a very low RCS for a 4.5 Gen AC. Most importantly, it is already there and can give breather to IAF till AMCA comes in numbers.

Now, AMCA would be our very own platform and we can actually have tanche based upgrade options for it too. We wouldn't have to go to Russia for every little permission for incorporating newer modules or even structural upgrades if the need rises, like we will have to inncase of Su-75.

Fact is, India cannot both sponsor a project of AMCA and also sponsor Su-75 due to budgetary constraints. So, it is best we focus on our in house project.

Gandaberunda

Yanks will never offer or agree to sell F35 to India because we are fielding S400. Also IAF won't be intrested in F35 because of it's high operational cost and maintenance. Even USAF is struggling to maintain F35 and reversed their focus on 4.5 gen bird which is now pitched to replace F16
US will always offer old F16 renamed F21 which IAF is not interested or F15 eagle or FA18.
We will build our own fighters or struggle without fighters but in future we may consider Su-75 if we are in dire need to increase our squadrons if our own Aerospace industry faulters to deliver. But as of now it's no go. Get couple of Rafale squadrons and focus on producing indegenous birds

backburner

if su-75 is the real deal........then why are russians not using it ? why did they wasted money and time to build su-57 a dual engine fighter....

i don't know i am correct or not but according to me the dual engines in all of their fighters probably shows how unreliable and maintenance prone their engines are......coz dual engines are expensive and despite russian financial situation they still have not changed their aircrafts to smaller,cheaper,single engine fighters......look at the chinese how desperately they are trying to build j-10s

and what are going to do with su-75......a so called 30mill$ fighter which only exists on paper......AMCA's design and the probable use of dual american engines shows it will be a deep strike fighter whose job will be to penerate deep inside chinese landmass

Dark Sorrow

BRAH, I DONT AGREE WITH YOU ONLY ON PAF GETTING SU 75

BECAUSE. WE HAVE BOUGHT RAFALE FOR OUR EASTERN BORDER (2SQDS), AND IAF IS GOING THROUGH FUND CRUNCH SO DONT EXPECT MORE RAFALE.

AND ALSO DONT EXPECT THAT MKI'S WILL BE ABLE TO FACE SU 75, BEC I DONT SEE SUPER SUKHOI UPGRADE
COMING ANY TIME SOON.

IMO PAF WILL GET J20 BY 2028-29

SO IF YOU GET SU-75 EVEN WITH BASE CONFIGURATION (30 MILLION) AND USE DRDO DEVLOPED ELECTRONICS IT WILL BE BEST.

AND ORDER TEJAS MK2 IN 170 NO.

THIS COMBO WILL BE BEST FOR MAKING 42 SQDS.
We should start working in the direction to counter 5th generation fighters of PAF.
It is not a question if PAF will get 5th generation fighters but when they will get 5th generation fighters .
If they don't get Su-75 then they will get J-20 or J-31.

We should focus on our own indigenous capability to counter 5th generation fighters .
Buying Su-75 will even more strain IAF's budget and will adversely affect AMCA program. Buying Su-75 will be counter-productive to India's interest in long term.

Base price of 30 Million is total BS. It is simple case of standard product-pricing trap.
Who will foot the bill to incorporate India specific enhancements? Till now Russians have not agreed for ToT so how will you incorporate niche stuff. Adding each enhancements will increase the per unit cost in 10s of millions.
We could do all enhancements in Su-30MKI as we had its ToT still it cost us a fortune.
If Su-75 is so great why Russians are not committing any orders?
I am still not even talking about maintenance and serviceability. Historically Russian aircraft have had issues with maintenance and serviceability. For 5th generation fighters maintenance and serviceability issue exacerbates even more.

THESIS THORON

We should start working in the direction to counter 5th generation fighters of PAF.
It is not a question if PAF will get 5th generation fighters but when they will get 5th generation fighters .

We should focus on our own indigenous capability to counter 5th generation fighters .
Buying Su-75 will even more strain IAF's budget and will adversely affect AMCA program. Buying Su-75 will be counter-productive to India's interest in long term.

Base price of 30 Million is total BS.
Who will foot the bill to incorporate India specific enhancements? Till now Russians have not agreed for ToT so how will you incorporate niche stuff. Adding each enhancements will increase the per unit cost in 10s of millions.
We could do all enhancements in Su-30MKI as we had its ToT still it cost us a fortune.
I am still not even talking about maintenance and serviceability. Historically Russian aircraft have had issues with maintenance and serviceability. For 5th generation fighters maintenance and serviceability issue exacerbates even more.
after seeing that amca will have eots and das my mind changed :cruisin5:

so I am also supporting amca rather than su 75.

regarding paf getting j20, as usual they will get downgraded version of it :pound::pound:
so, it will have just stealth shaping and paint.

Dark Sorrow

if su-75 is the real deal........then why are russians not using it ? why did they wasted money and time to build su-57 a dual engine fighter....
They tried Su-57 but failed to achieve all goals be it aircraft's stealth, radar and supercruise capability.
Indian Air Force cited demanding maintenance programs, and high maintenance costs as main reasons behind its reluctance to proceed with the project.

backburner

Base price of 30 Million is total BS. It is simple case of standard product-pricing trap.

PAF getting 5th gen fighter........first let the pakis pay their debts to china..
the chinese are desperate to get their money back .......but the pakis have so far given them donkeys , women and grains .....looking at their nature paki generals will soon give their wives and children but will never pay their loan back and pakis cannot afford russian aircraft in large numbers

Actually, the Su-75 will most likely see funding from Turkey. Remember that the entire S-400 game that's being played between Washington and Ankara is going to explode sooner than later. F-35 is out of the picture and TAI TF-X is still on the drawing board. The Turks are currently negotiating with the British to get on board the Project Tempest (PT). While the Brits have indicated their will to cooperate with Turkey, chances are that the US might force the British to cancel any cooperation with the Turks.

Since Germany is not politically independent and Ankara is on a collision course with France in the Mediterranean, that leaves only Su-75 as a viable option to collaborate and perhaps merge with the TAI TF-X. If this happens, then Turkey will most likely leave NATO, leaving a big, gaping hole in the alliance, and making several others with a more independent policy, rethink.

Other potential partners could be Malaysia, Vietnam, Algeria, Argentina and/or Brazil.