New Assault Rifles for Indian Army

Which Contender`s Rifle has more chances of winning than others?

Their are two issues with the deal
  1. Cost per rifle
  2. ToT for of barrel or manufacturing location of the barrel
Again barrel ka lafda ?
You know madam , there was a similar lafda when T 90 was to be manufactured at Avadi, barrels came from Russia

Offtopic , it is good to see ladies like you interested in indian defence matters .there were one or two before also

Dark Sorrow

Again barrel ka lafda ?
You know madam , there was a similar lafda when T 90 was to be manufactured at Avadi, barrels came from Russia
Metallurgy for barrel assembly is the only critical technology in a rifle. Russians don't want to part with it.
Russians are trying to milk us.

Dark Sorrow

Seems like this deal is going down the drain we need new rifle by next year hate seeing those Insas
The part I fail to understand why we are going for AK-203 when we have indigenous options. The looks more like this deal has become retirement welfare scheme for some people.

INSAS is a good rifle and has served its purpose very well.
INSAS was never designed for COIN operations, it was designed to fight PA. The doctrine on which INSAS was designed and how was it put to operation are 2 contradictory doctrines.
AK-203 is more geared towards COIN operations.

Metallurgy for barrel assembly is the only critical technology in a rifle. Russians don't want to part with it.
Russians are trying to milk us.
But madam , don't we make our own kalash variants , we can ask te bulgarians , or any one else

NoobWannaLearn

The part I fail to understand why we are going for AK-203 when we have indigenous options. The looks more like this deal has become retirement welfare scheme for some people.

INSAS is a good rifle and has served its purpose very well.
INSAS was never designed for COIN operations, it was designed to fight PA. The doctrine on which INSAS was designed and how was it put to operation are 2 contradictory doctrines.
AK-203 is more geared towards COIN operations.
Yea but insas is outdated now and gov here is still stuck in deals no repeat order of sigs still and no updates on carbine too

Aniruddha Mulay

Yea but insas is outdated now and gov here is still stuck in deals no repeat order of sigs still and no updates on carbine too
As far as carbines are concerned, the deal with Caracal has been dropped and 4 lakh carbines will be locally made, expect an RFP sometime later this year or early next year with induction in latter half of 2023

omaebakabaka

Any sane country with the size of Indian Army would have its own platform (original or derived) based on its threat profile vs enemies or opponents and fully capable of advancing that platform for decades.....small arms is most challenging decision and we perfectly goofed up by making it a kichidi.....even people starting out with good intentions (entering NDA e.t.c) turn into useless idiots when they move into position of power in this country.

Dark Sorrow

INSAS has its use too.
AK-203 would only be effective in COIN ops Kashmir.
SIG-716 is effective in COIN ops Kashmir and mountain warfare.
INSAS is effective in Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat against PA regulars.
INSAS will also be effective in Tibet plateau against PLAGF.
For this reason we are inducting carbines. These carbines will replace INSAS.

NoobWannaLearn

INSAS has its use too.
AK-203 would only be effective in COIN ops Kashmir.
SIG-716 is effective in COIN ops Kashmir and mountain warfare.
INSAS is effective in Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat against PA regulars.
INSAS will also be effective in Tibet plateau against PLAGF.
For this reason we are inducting carbines. These carbines will replace INSAS.
I see thank you after we retire our insas or any other guns what happens to those guns are they kept in inventory for war time emergency?

Dark Sorrow

I see thank you after we retire our insas or any other guns what happens to those guns are they kept in inventory for war time emergency?
Most will remain in service till they break down.
Some go to police force, NCC and paramilitary.
Some go in storage.
Some rifles have reached end of life.

NoobWannaLearn

Most will remain in service till they break down.
Some go to police force, NCC and paramilitary.
Some go in storage.
Some rifles have reached end of life.
Those rifles who have reached the end of their life do they get disassembled and their parts get used as something or its just too much work for Litte parts?

Dark Sorrow

Those rifles who have reached the end of their life do they get disassembled and their parts get used as something or its just too much work for Litte parts?
I don't know what happens to riles that have reached end of their life.
I know they are scrapped (i.e. pulled out of service) but I don't know what happens to such rifles after that.
I doubt their is much use of the sub-assemblies of a old rifle.

NoobWannaLearn

I don't know what happens to riles that have reached end of their life.
I know they are scrapped (i.e. pulled out of service) but I don't know what happens to such rifles after that.
I doubt their is much use of the sub-assemblies of a old rifle.
Yea thank you for the information

RUSSIA WANTS TO BUILD NEXT GENERATION TANKS, SUBMARINES WITH INDIA
As the second regiment of the S-400 Triumf air defence system starts getting delivered, Russia said it expects the serial production of AK 203 rifles in Amethi to begin in late 2022-early 2023

Moscow: Underlining it is the only country in the world which can actually do a complete Transfer of Technology (TOT) in hi-tech defence equipment, Russia has said it wants to build the next generation armoured vehicles and submarines in joint collaboration with India.

Russia also said despite the ongoing war with Ukraine that has prompted international sanctions, it has stood by its contractual obligations and delivery of all systems, including the S-400 air defence system, as per schedule.

The delivery of the second regiment of the S-400 system is already underway.

Russia’s Federal Service for Military Technical Cooperation (FSMTC) head Dmitry Shugaev said: “Work is underway to organise the production of the AK-203 assault rifles in India, the serial production of which is expected to begin in late 2022-early 2023. The implementation of contracts for the construction of Project 11356 frigates in Russia and India is also proceeding as planned. The current geopolitical situation has not significantly affected the fulfilment of our obligations.

He was speaking on the sidelines of the Army 2022, an international defence show that is being held by Russia in Moscow.

The head of FSMTC, which deals with all military related deals and commercial cooperation with other countries, said the Russian Federation traditionally offers India the cutting edge models of weapons and military equipment.

“Russia is the only country that engages in large-scale cooperation with India in the field of sophisticated military technologies including transfer of knowhow to Indian partners.

“During more than 60 years of military-technical cooperation, our countries have, in fact, implemented the principle of Make in India,’ he said.

Shugaev said in all those years — with the help of the USSR, and subsequently Russia — hundreds of enterprises and facilities for military production were created in India, “which currently form the basis of the Indian defence sector”.

“With our assistance, dozens of types of high-tech military products have been localised in India. The current stage of our relations in this area of cooperation is distinguished by India’s desire to accelerate the development of its national military-industrial complex, reduce the dependence on imports of military products and join the ranks of the world’s leading arms exporters.

“We support this desire and are ready for industrial cooperation, looking for joint projects that, on the one hand, would be beneficial for Russian and Indian enterprises, and, on the other, would ensure our relations reach a new level of technological partnership,” he said.

Shugaev added the Russian side was ready for cooperation and had already submitted proposals on the joint development and production of modern types of military equipment.

Asked what these were, he said, “A future main battle tank, infantry fighting vehicle, fifth-generation aircraft, diesel-electric submarines and other types of modern weapons.”

Taking a jab at western countries, he underlined, “Once again I want to emphasise that Russia is ready for the widest technological cooperation, unlike the Western so-called ‘partners’, who promise a lot, but in fact are not very eager to share advanced technologies with India.”

He said the military-technical cooperation between Russia and India has no analogues in the world.

Shiugaev noted that many countries today were planning to set up their own military production through the transfer of technology and the acquisition of competencies.

One of the leaders in this sphere is, of course, India, which implements the Make in India program, he said.

“We do understand these trends and are ready to flexibly respond to them. We have a number of similar projects with India — the BrahMos missile, the localisation of tank rounds, and Kalashnikov assault rifles, and the construction of ‘11356 frigates’ at an Indian shipyard,” he said.

He said both India and Russia have the potential to build mutually-beneficial cooperation in the supply of weapons and military equipment.

All types of Russian-made military equipment are widely represented in the Indian armed forces — land, sea, aviation and air defence.

“All Russian-made military products supplied for export have an envisaged potential for upgrade, and the equipment delivered to India is no exception.

In addition to upgrading, there are other areas of cooperation between our countries, such as creating conditions for servicing the delivered weapons and equipment in India, as well as jointly producing various types of equipment and weapons for sale in third countries,” Shiugaev said.

Amethi unit all set to make AK-203 rifles
Russia to send equipment shortly

The manufacture of the AK-203 assault rifles by the Indo-Russian joint venture at Amethi, Uttar Pradesh is set to begin by year-end and the manufacturing equipment required for it will be dispatched from Russia shortly, according to a senior official of Kalashnikov, the Russian company which manufactures the rifles. The production was originally scheduled to begin early this year.

“Training of Indian workers of the factory will begin shortly and the manufacturing process will reach 100% indigenisation in three years,” the official who did not wish to be identified said. He stated that earlier issues with regard to the ammunition for the rifles have been resolved.

Confirming this, Dmitry Shugaev, Director of the Federal Service for Military-Technical Cooperation (FSMTC) of Russia, said on the sidelines of the Army-2022 expo, “Work is under way to organise the production of the AK-203 assault rifles in India, the serial production of which is expected to begin in late 2022-early 2023.”

Delayed due to war
As reported by The Hindu earlier, as part of pre-production activities, retrials were scheduled to be done with ammunition from the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) in Russia in the first half of February, but got delayed by few months due to the war in Ukraine. On this, officials said this issue had now been resolved and a local manufacturer of ammunition had been identified in India.

As per the contract, over 6.1 lakh AK-203 assault rifles costing over ₹5,000 crore will be manufactured by a Joint Venture, Indo-Russian Rifles Private Ltd (IRRPL), at Korwa, Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. IRRPL was set up jointly between erstwhile OFB [now Advanced Weapons and Equipment India Limited (AWEIL) and Munitions India Limited (MIL)] of India and Rosoboronexport (RoE) and concern Kalashnikov of Russia.

A modern production line has been established and a small arms range has been set up where both factory and acceptance tests of assault rifles will be carried out.

The full-scale production of the rifles is expected to be reached within 2-3 years, Director-General of Rosoboronexport Alexander Mikheev had stated earlier. As per contractual terms, the first 70,000 AK-203 rifles will be produced in India with a phased increase in the extent of localisation from 5% to 70%. The remaining rifles will be produced with 100% localisation.

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय

Delhi | The F-INSAS soldiers have been provided with the #AK203 assault rifles, planned to be manufactured in Amethi in a joint venture between #Indian and #Russian entities. #MadeInIndia

Indian Version of AK-203 assault rifle
Lads, I know we have been having a lot of fun with this cartoon caricature of the so called future bharathiya sainak. But honestly if EVERY jawan in IA looks like this in the next 5 year, then dammit that would be a great improvement from the current rag tag milita style look don't you think ?

Except that instead of that AK a SSS AR style rifle would be good

LondonParisTokyo

Lads, I know we have been having a lot of fun with this cartoon caricature of the so called future bharathiya sainak. But honestly if EVERY jawan in IA looks like this in the next 5 year, then dammit that would be a great improvement from the current rag tag milita style look don't you think ?

Except that instead of that AK a SSS AR style rifle would be good
Yes but the color is extremely ugly