New Assault Rifles for Indian Army

Which Contender`s Rifle has more chances of winning than others?

cyclops

IA can't get a standardised rifle right, even when they account for +50% of the defence budget.

Share-of-Defence-Services-in-DSE.jpg

As a metric of comparison(regardless of the fact that they have different military operating procedures & Ops), here's how the US defence budget operates.

NotASussyBoi

IA can't get a standardised rifle right, even when they account for +50% of the defence budget.

View attachment 187762

As a metric of comparison(regardless of the fact that they have different military operating procedures & Ops), here's how the US defence budget operates.
Honestly guys i have to admit , ofb is doing ok with that budget

SilentlAssassin265

View attachment 187762

Increase navy budget to 24%
Decrease army budget to 42%
Increase air force budget to 27 %

All the MoD guys and Gernails went to Russia in Kalashnikov factory, saw all the AKs and decided to buy watered down AK203🤷‍♂️.
Representative picture of new buttstock and trigger guard on Ak12, also now offered on Ak203
1672374432102.png

RIP to our infantry guys, the most neglected branch in IA🥲. Everybody likes tanks, arty but nobody likes infantry 😭
compared to muh AK-12 hurr durr AK-203 (whatever we're getting) is much saner choice, it just lacked in terms of tactical fire selector and buttstock being same from AK-103 (i.e. solid pattern one that also folds on side, non-length-adjustable)
now with recent pictures coming out they brought tactical fire selector back, only thing still kind of outdated is buttstock,
but as i mentioned in past, genruls think that 'sipahi ko length adjustbale buttstock dena matlab training ka kharchaa badhaanaa' 🤷‍♂️

rest for AK-12, just look yourself the kind of issues it was facing, even ones fresh out from factory,
:bplease: 😏 reminder this is AK-12, and pics were taken in March,2021 by russian defense journo Alexander Sladkov

View attachment 123476View attachment 123478
View attachment 123479
View attachment 123480
View attachment 123481
Russia's current issue AK-12 itself is facing such QA issues at this very early stage of induction, cracking in furniture and even metal parts, rusting of muzzle, gas piston...who knows what lies in future,
and we are bringing their Tech here for AK-203,
and as if it wasn't enough whole production is going to be done by OFB//Successor

😏 BTW after these pics came out, russians slyly blamed everything on 'recruits who didn't follow standard handling practices'...like yeah a country where even a school going bachcha is given basic disassembly training on AK and their baap daadaa have been using it since 70+ years is now suddently facing such issues...totally believable, not related to manufacturing me ghaplaa at all, yes

***********************************************************************************************************************

I personally believe with this political deal we are stuck between a rock and a hard place now,
pulling the plug means angering ruskie katyusha that would also fuck up other things, also all that chunaavi promise to people of Amethi about giving them jobz etc etc...

keeping continuing it means at best getting same AK (with rails now) that we've been using here,

or at worst, seeing minor-major issues like shown above on them because now two devils are involved in this project together,both having their own track records regd various things

meanwhile desi firearms get shoahed for nothing...

Hope in events of AK-203 showing QA issues here, if it happens, nobody blames troops here this time with too much oil daal diya or sahi tareeke se khola-joda nahi or what not...

Edit - However i forgot to mention it,
one major factor behind this deal was to bring standardisation among plethora of different AKs being used here, with one factory-standard AK that's got all elementary stuff (talking about rails and so) here,
but again, if that was also a goal then how come we could not achieve same thing here with our own AKs is a question, don't say OFB doesn't make railed AKs here they perfectly are capable of doing so as visible in their current iterations of various INSAS based rifles, it was just not done due to certain ;reasons;
^aanndd this is exactly why i am not so faithful about QC QA etc things with desi made ruusi AK as these OG Russian made supplied to Russian Army are like this 🤷‍♂️ and here we're being hopeful that going in JV with one of the worst QC QA Offender out there that OFB is is going to deliver satisfactory rifles huuuh ? 🤷‍♂️

also, one big unnecessary-potentially issues causing thing about AK-12 is, it has gotten burst fire mode (two rounds burst here, in prototypes it used to be three round burst mode) with very similar ratchet-pawl cranking mechanism for burst fire that we have on INSAS...and we pretty much burned our hands with that by not following QC QA and end result was 3RB was going full auto on INSAS or causing other jams (after trying to find extensively about what potentially could have gone wrong with 3RB on INSAS i think i have found enough material to point it at very specific thing causing it all etc...but maybe in some later post)
so why bother with similar AK-12 thing which who knows could also fail here in future

due to all these facts i believe overall whatever we're getting in name of AK-203 is better than AK-12 in practical terms BUT IT IS ALSO SOMETHING THAT WE COULD VERY WELL HAVE DONE ON OUR OWN HERE 😒

Lonewarrior

Someone just buy the licence for AK-12 Prototype - II, chamber it in 6.5 Grendel and end this debate for once and all
🥱

Lonewarrior

Their website has product list

They have dmr as well as sniper for 7.62x51
Arre Chicha, ye kis line me aa gaye aap

We don't go here by what's listed in someone's website. We here go by actual proof.
How quick you're to link their website and show me that they have mentioned 7.62x51mm. But have you ever bothered to ask yourself why the assault rifle mentioned in that very same page doesn't even have a f*ing trigger

There's a company called HTNP industries; no one knows where they came from or what they actually do. But do you know what they claim on their website?
They are developing a nuclear capable Hypersonic Glide Vehicle.

Very much AK alpha type vibe from this pic...

I think AKs will be our go to weapon anyway so better we chose them with a different round and be done with carbine assault rifle battle rifle etc etc debate.

Someone just buy the licence for AK-12 Prototype - II, chamber it in 6.5 Grendel and end this debate for once and all
🥱
Why buy the license.. we already produce Aks in India. Intention is missing with no clarity what we want why we want when we want and how much we are willing to spend on it. Once that is done all will be cakewalk.