Nag anti-tank Missile

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
So the first post in this thread was in 2009 was DRDO babu saying Nag will join army service "soon" ! Utterly shameful that even after 14 yrs this "soon" is still being repeated. Both IA and Babu's are at fault here

KaiGoku

So the first post in this thread was in 2009 was DRDO babu saying Nag will join army service "soon" ! Utterly shameful that even after 14 yrs this "soon" is still being repeated. Both IA and Babu's are at fault here
I do you one better man.

This is an article from my fathers book that I found. It dates back to 1991. Soviet Union still hasn't collapsed yet & the Warsaw pack just got dissolved. India was sending gold to the West in exchange of foreign reserves. And my father was younger to me in age.

30 years is an awfully long time.

We took 2 generations to develop Nag Missile. Still not induced in mass scale. But I am optimistic it will happen soon.

I do you one better man.

This is an article from my fathers book that I found. It dates back to 1991. Soviet Union still hasn't collapsed yet & the Warsaw pack just got dissolved. India was sending gold to the West in exchange of foreign reserves. And my father was younger to me in age.

We took 2 generations to develop Nag Missile. Still not induced in mass scale. But I am optimistic it will happen soon.
Hello comrade new member, nice for this insight . I would not be born for another 13 years, from the time this book was published

I do you one better man.

Kindly tell the name of the book also, is it vayu magazine?

thebakofbakchod

I do you one better man.

Story of most indigenous defence products. Drdo is not blameless for this shitshow. In fact they were the worst offenders for the longest time in terms of making big promises which they could not deliver. Only in the last decade did things start to improve. And that is without going into the attitude of the Indian army

"DRDO under Kalam has done more on public relations than on proper research and development. That is the reason why many of our projects like LCA are terribly lagging behind in schedules," says Shankar Sen Chaudhury, an independent technical analyst based in Hyderabad.

"The structural environment in DRDO labs have to change if effective results in indigenisation is to take place," he adds.

Another problem is the rocky relationship that Kalam has with the armed forces. He and his colleagues argue that the forces do not have any specialists who understand the design and development concepts of DRDO. "Therefore, the armed forces always interfere in our projects halfway through," a DRDO scientist says.

Many say this messy relationship between DRDO, "the seller" and the three armed forces, "the buyers", should be blamed on both sides. "Kalam was a marketing man. He wanted to hard-sell his half-baked DRDO products to us, like the Arjun tank," says an army officer.

But DRDO asks: When the forces induct imported products without any trails, why can't they rely on indigenous products? DRDO officials say the only reason for this is that the army does not have the experience to induct an indigenous weapon system.

DRDO has been mouthing the politically correct mantra of indigenisation because a number of disgruntled scientists in the organisation charge, "Dr Kalam is a politician."

His critics say the problem is that India's defence programmes is a one-man show. "Only Kalam is recognised and acknowledged. It is ridiculous that thousands of us are working there, and only one man is framed in a glass house. That is the precise reason for the high rate of brain drain from DRDO," a disgruntled DRDO engineer said.
Almost 25 years later, nothing has changed!

This entire series of posts showed the pathetic state of affairs inside DRDO and IA.

KaiGoku

Wheelers publication?
Maybe, will have to check. I don't have it right now. I took the pictures some time back while casually scrolling through old books.

I couldn't believe my eyes. The first time I read about Nag Missile in such a old book 😅

Being a defence enthusiast I had always rooted for Nag Missiles success. Just didn't know the 1st missile was successfully test fired so long time back.

Maybe, will have to check. I don't have it right now. I took the pictures some time back while casually scrolling through old books.

I couldn't believe my eyes. The first time I read about Nag Missile in such a old book 😅

Being a defence enthusiast I had always rooted for Nag Missiles success. Just didn't know the 1st missile was successfully test fired so long time back.
My papa has a wheelers publication GK book from year 1999 .
There is a defence section in it, well nag, akash, arjun you have it all

daya

Helina mass production
Pichhle bees salon se yahi chal raha hai.. ye testing wo testing.. aur fir ye sab kis liye.. kewal dikhawe ke liye.. china ki salami slicing jaari hai.. hamari kadi ninda...

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Pichhle bees salon se yahi chal raha hai.. ye testing wo testing.. aur fir ye sab kis liye.. kewal dikhawe ke liye.. china ki salami slicing jaari hai.. hamari kadi ninda...
The first post in this thread was on jul 4 2009 , where drdo chief Saraswat says Nag to join IA "soon". This is the state of our defence industry and it's credibility !

Shame on Babu's who promise the moon and deliver zero. IA corrupt top brass and lobby too....
In the end chinka will shaft us and even then these Babu's will keep saying soon moonmoon.....

The first post in this thread was on jul 4 2009 , where drdo chief Saraswat says Nag to join IA "soon". This is the state of our defence industry and it's credibility !

Shame on Babu's who promise the moon and deliver zero. IA corrupt top brass and lobby too....
In the end chinka will shaft us and even then these Babu's will keep saying soon moonmoon.....
‘Truthfully, I am for privatizing DRDO to force discipline, accountability and responsibility on them. Right now it operates like a typical government department with scientists acting as bureaucrats. This regime has to be ended.

Aniruddha Mulay

‘Truthfully, I am for privatizing DRDO to force discipline, accountability and responsibility on them. Right now it operates like a typical government department with scientists acting as bureaucrats. This regime has to be ended.
Not DRDO's fault that the end user keeps of changing its requirements constantly.
DRDO develops a said system based on a GSQR and a fixed budget allocated by the MoF, if the end user changes the GSQR mid-way through project implementation, for DRDO its back to the drawing board.
Try these tricks with the private sector and the very first thing they will do is shove the GSQR file into the dustbin.

daya

Not DRDO's fault that the end user keeps of changing its requirements constantly.
DRDO develops a said system based on a GSQR and a fixed budget allocated by the MoF, if the end user changes the GSQR mid-way through project implementation, for DRDO its back to the drawing board.
Try these tricks with the private sector and the very first thing they will do is shove the GSQR file into the dustbin.
Both are part of government..

archie

What they need is a Modern Project Management office along with a client that has to frame reasonable requirements with a roadmap for improvements