Nag anti-tank Missile

well namica is a modified bmp 2 (first inducted in 1972)
as for range our dedicated anti tank carrier uses spike NLOS has a range of 25 km wail being twice as light as the nag
( only 70 kg)
i don't think nag range is better then spike er (8 km)
Hang on BMP 2 is still used in IA, and it is going to be used for quite some time now, I don't see any logic behind this, also I think you are exaggerating the ranges to laughable levels

Rafael Advanced Defense Systems Ltd.

Nitesh now a days range is 8 km Nag is only 4 km. plus it is based on BMP platform.
Saar, please, the typical engagement ranges is 4km for ground forces, Helina is 8km which is equivalent to what is there in market

well namica is a modified bmp 2 (first inducted in 1972)
as for range our dedicated anti tank carrier uses spike NLOS has a range of 25 km wail being twice as light as the nag
( only 70 kg)
i don't think nag range is better then spike er (8 km)
I agree that Spike NLOS and ER has a better range (25 km), but what's NAMICA being 40 years old gotta do with it ? For such a heavy missile, you need a heavy carrier, and hence the BMP 2 fits the size.

By the way folks, here's a Spider Light strike vehicle of the Singaporean Army employing a locally developed twin tube launcher for the Spike:

pack leader

I agree that Spike NLOS and ER has a better range (25 km), but what's NAMICA being 40 years old gotta do with it ? For such a heavy missile, you need a heavy carrier, and hence the BMP 2 fits the size.
there is a whole multitude of problems because your missile is sow heavy you need a big carrier which means
that not only is your tank destroyer a big slow target .
it can also be easily destroyed by the same tanks it hunts because off similar range (tank gun = nag)
you cant shoot and scoot .

pack leader

Hang on BMP 2 is still used in IA, and it is going to be used for quite some time now, I don't see any logic behind this, also I think you are exaggerating the ranges to laughable levels

Rafael Advanced Defense Systems Ltd.
bmp 2 is a death trap my father personally destroyed 2 on the Golan heights in 1973 with a bloody heavy machine gun

HELINA missile has NOT even been TESTED even once

It is 5 years away
HeliNA may not have been tested as a complete system, but its sub-systems are being and have been tested on base model which is NAG. Check the quote

Two NAG missiles were fired from a ground launcher in full Helina configuration with RF data link. The range of operation was 4 km. Two hot targets separated by 30 m were erected at 4 km from launch point. The seeker was focused on first target when missile was launched. During missile flight the target video received via data-link was monitored by weapon system officer. Based on the target video. The track gate was shifted to the second target and lock command was issued using command link. It was stated that the officer could perform all the tasks within 10 seconds of missile flight from ground itself.

The field test to validate range of operation was carried out and a range of approximately 10 km was established. All the interface checks in full mission configuration were carried out and the LOAL principle was verified. http://frontierindia.net/helina-missiles-two-way-rf-command-video-data-link-realised
Even the land version is at least 2 years away because NAMICA carrier has to be modified.Army cannot be blamed for Nag's delays
If Army can not be blamed for delay in Nag's induction then who should be, DRDO? Why is that our so self-sacrificing and dutiful Army (referring to Adarsh and Sukhna famed section) could not foresee requirement for second panoramic sight in past 10 years during which multiple trials were conducted, are they so myopic? Fact is, Army is working day and night to block service entry of any indigenous system and for that they have tools ranging from 'Non-Cooperation movement' to 'special standards' to 'special testing', all for maintaining smooth shipment of Chai-Biscuit etc to Sena Bhawan. But who cares, people will continue blaming DRDO, even for not having a paranormal skill called MIND READING?

bmp 2 is a death trap my father personally destroyed 2 on the Golan heights in 1973 with a bloody heavy machine gun
Pace we have Army Generals, they not only like BMP but also T series tank. you know what i mean.

^^ " The programme director has also revealed that a feasibility study is officially on to integrate the HELINA onto the Rustom-H MALE UAV."

Now this thing surely caught my interest !!

ace009

Freakin' Fighter fan
isint 200 per year low...i mean the soviet union used to produce 25000 a month,thats 25000x12 a year.
Are you crazy? 25000 a month? 25000 a year makes little sense. The Soviets were not THAT crazy. Where did you find this number from?

Ok just found this, apparently the Libyan rebels want the nag, i say we give it to them to test in a real world scenario

Last month, Mansour El-Kikhia, a Libyan-American activist with close ties to the TNC and its military leadership, presented a second list to the Pentagon. He said the request came from the senior military leaders of the rebellion.

He asked for the following:

Helmets
Boots
Military fatigues
Body armor
Assault rifles
Hand guns
Grenade launchers
Ammunition
FGM-148 Javelin anti-tank missile (third generation)
Third-generation Nag anti-tank missiles The Pentagon rejected the request, according to El-Kikhia
What's on the Libyan rebels' shopping list? - By Robert Zeliger | FP Passport

Why would the TNC be asking the US government for Indian missiles? Go ask India... :laugh:

Apparently they've also asked the pentagon for a bunch of Russian hardware namely

Anti-tank rocket-propelled grenade launchers with range of more than 25 miles
KPV heavy machine guns -- price tag: $50,000 - $100,000 each
SPG-9 Recoilless rifles -- $30,000 - $40,000
ZU-23 anti-aircraft artillery guns -- $50,000-$100,000
Towed Howitzer -- $100,000
DShK machine guns -- $10,000
PK machine guns -- $5,000
AK-47s -- $300 - $500
Plus, 20-30 million AK-47 ammunition rounds
from the same source!

^this is a scam just check out the price $5000 USD for a PK LMG , $300-$500 for an AK

I read the entire thread.
Some strange questions and strange behaviour.: Throughlly hilarious and some disgusting.

"Why would you have a tank-killer in an urban environment. "
How was Burlin captured and what happened in Stalingrad?
What about Jaffna?
Waht will happen to Lahore, Kusur, Mangla, Rawalpindi, Rahimyaar khan, Bhawalpur? How do you destroy the structures there without dropping a fat man or 1000 lbs bomb? and how will the indian drone take on a building in which Lakhwi and Jhanwi hide?

Missile is not only an anti tank weapon but can perform other tasks too.

Does India have tank drones for target practice (simulated/remotely operated moving targets)?

strange but why should India have drones to fire a missile? We have enough tanks gifted to us by Pakistan in 1971 war. Keep hitting those.

" that missile is alright, it is IA which is changing its goals........ but this time they will induct the missile".

Becuase IA has got to fire it in battles and not test and market it.... understood.

" also portable version which can be fired by soldiers should be developed "
Oh yah, with such a weight and velocity, the soldier flies along with the missile to the target and further cuts down the tank with his Gurkha knife ! Hillarious.

" yeah they want foreign mall, foreign soldiers and foreign Generals "
Yeah, you missed foreign Sceintists and technology !

" Why it is so problematic to start inducting it and seek batch wise improvements?"
You mean to say your mal. Is not it awful that IA remains waiting for your mal for centuries together and tou blame it on foreign mal. Naach Na Jane Aangan Tedha.

" delibrate strategy to derail the induction, nothing else"
If the user is not happy why are you pushing your product. Try bribing the generals, you have not succeeded so far? In fact it appears to be reverse case of DRDO not bale to import essential components and loosing out on their commissions ! Induct now has that strong logic.

"some day they have IA (imported army) and some day they have imported generals.."

Fentastic, how can any one trust these DRDO guys and their weapon system if they think such good about Indian Army. I think they hurry up on their commission from imported parts and subsystems which is invariably 70 per cent touted as desi mal. Let us appoint them as Generals since their head is alredy a state minister in MoD. A sure shot reciepe of disaster. MoD must dismiss all generals and appoint all these so called unedcated scientists as the Generals and Air Marshalls. When it comes to developing a system, they play scientists but when it comes to its utility and application they play Generals. It is a serious issue to ponder over.

A pertinent question which no DRDoO wal answered :
"can someone explain the military logic of nag as far as i can tell :
it's too big and heavy to be hand held.
it's range is very limited for a dedicated tank destroyer missile
it has yet to be inducted and it's platform is already 40 years old
can someone please clarify why bother with such a project "

Fhat gayi !!

DRDO guys may devote more time on their research rather than on their business activities and propaganda. It is an age old organisation with no responsibility and acoountability.

IA will fight hard even with sticks, battons and stone and win the war inspite for such loosers. It is much more solid than any DRDO commercial inventions.

Third generation Nag test-firing in Pokhran soon - The Times of India

JAISALMER: The third generation Nag missile's final test will be done in Jaisalmer's Pokhran field firing range next week. The "fire-and-forget" missile has been developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

The optical guidance system of Nag makes it virtually jam-proof unlike infra-red seekers of the Javelin and the Spike. The indigenous development of an imaging seeker, a highly complex and closely guarded technology, is Nag's biggest advantage.
The Nag provides its operator with another important tactical advantage. The plume of burning propellant from the tail of most missiles gives away its flight path and allows the target to get behind cover. The Nag, in contrast, is visible only during the first one second of flight, when the missile's booster imparts 90% of the momentum; after that, a sustainer maintains the missile's speed, burning a smokeless propellant that is practically invisible.

Hope the imaging seeker is enhanced even further during this test.

4th Gen anti-tank guided missile 'Nag' to undergo final round of tests news

4th Gen anti-tank guided missile 'Nag' to undergo final round of tests

Jaisalmer: The DRDO-developed, fourth generation, 'fire-and-forget' anti-tank missile 'Nag' will undergo a final round of tests next week at the Pokhran field firing range located at Jaisalmer in the state of Rajasthan. The Nag missile was last tested in July 2010, and it has undergone some rectifications since then.

Confirming the tests, a DRDO spokesman said there are some technical changes and corrections in the launch pad as per army requirements. Reportedly, the army is satisfied with the performance of the Nag.

"The missile is developed by the Defence R&D Laboratory (DRDL) in Hyderabad. The army is confident of the performance of missile. It has budgeted Rs335 crore to complete the project," said a DRDO spokesman.

Once operational, the Nag, will be one of just a handful of "fire-and-forget" missiles, such as the American Javelin, and the Israeli Spike. The Javelin and the Spike are lighter missiles that can be carried by a soldier (man portable).

Heavier and more powerful than these missiles, the Nag is designed to operate from vehicles and helicopters. As per sources, that Nag can hit a target in any climate at any time, whether day or night.

The Nag can operate in ranges of 4-5 km.