Nag anti-tank Missile

chalo forget about this missile now, as IA is not interested in this, time for buying something from foreign

This is classical if you are not able to shoot the rider, kill the horse

http://www.hindu.com/2011/04/19/stories/2011041957821000.htm
Nag induction likely to be delayed

Y. Mallikarjun

Army seeking improvements to the specially-made missile carrier, Namica.

HYDERABAD: The induction of third generation anti-tank Nag missile is likely to be delayed by more than a year with the Army seeking improvements to the specially-made missile carrier, Namica.

After the completion of the missile's "final validation trials" in the Chandan Air Force ranges in Rajasthan in July last, it was anticipated that it would be inducted into the Army this year. During the trials, the missile proved its capability against both moving and stationary targets, covering varying ranges of 500 meters to 2,600 metres.

The Namica too established its "channel-crossing ability" and manoeuvred across the Indira Gandhi Canal at Nachna in Rajasthan during flotation trials time. Each carrier can carry 12 missiles with eight of them in ready-to-fire mode.

Having a maximum range of four km, the Nag is equipped with the highly potent HEAT (High Explosive Anti-Tank) warhead.

With the Army seeking additional features such as providing a "panoramic sight" for two commanders, against the present system of having only one such facility for the 'gunner,' the Namica is being totally redesigned.

Two systems would be made — one by Bharath Electronics Limited (BEL) and the other by Larsen & Toubro.

Following a comparative evaluation of the two carriers in the summer of 2012, the configuration of the production version would be selected.

Asked about induction, sources in the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) said, "It is up to the Army to decide."

Meanwhile, the first demonstration flight test of the 7-km range Helina, the airborne version of the Nag from a helicopter, is planned to be conduced early next year. Recently, flight-testing from a ground-based launcher to establish the guidance scheme featuring "lock-on after launch" concept was conducted successfully at a range of 4.2 km, the sources said adding the DRDO proposed to carry out a guided flight test against a tank target by the end of the year,

yeah they want foreign mall, foreign soldiers and foreign Generals.

Saya saar, the problem here is after so many trials, once they find nothing as excuses, just stop the induction by asking for "improvements". I mean why it can not be inducted so the missile production can start, and the namicas can be modified/replaced later.

Nitesh, DRDO and OFB cannot match the money power of foreign companies, arm dealers and their contacts in Indian Military. Even if product from foreign supplier is of degraded export quality, our Military guys (IA in particular) will be tight lip about it.

Their was an Ex Officer (very high ranking) and his family member who used to leave about 1 crore at the home of concern persons, about 5-7 years back, even if that person dont want money, they would say we will collect back the money next day in the mean time you think about the offer.

Just wait, before our "perfectionist weapon brigade" joins the party, and start supporting this action

Your sarcasm is noted. Next I belong to some "50 paise" brigade from the Army that's meant to affect public opinion of the army.

Funnily enough the "Chalte hai" attitude is very well seen and even exercised on this forum.

They say, induct it for now even if they don't fit requirements. Dead soldiers on the battlefield are not as important as DRDO making money after all. Chalta Hai, indigenous is more important.

Namica does not even have Panaromic sights which is a standard fit all over the world now. I have seen the stuff they make. They put a weapon on a box and ask Army to induct it. After that there is a whole brigade on the internet which criticizes the army because they don't want the box on wheels and start spinning stories on how corrupt the Generals are.

The problem is people believe whatever is coming out of DRDO's labs are the best in the world. What is news for them is that by the time the stuff comes out the rest of the world has moved ahead by an entire generation.

Your sarcasm is noted. Next I belong to some "50 paise" brigade from the Army that's meant to affect public opinion of the army.

Funnily enough the "Chalte hai" attitude is very well seen and even exercised on this forum.

They say, induct it for now even if they don't fit requirements. Dead soldiers on the battlefield are not as important as DRDO making money after all. Chalta Hai, indigenous is more important.

Namica does not even have Panaromic sights which is a standard fit all over the world now. I have seen the stuff they make. They put a weapon on a box and ask Army to induct it. After that there is a whole brigade on the internet which criticizes the army because they don't want the box on wheels and start spinning stories on how corrupt the Generals are.

The problem is people believe whatever is coming out of DRDO's labs are the best in the world. What is news for them is that by the time the stuff comes out the rest of the world has moved ahead by an entire generation.
Rhetoric aside, what was IA doing till this time the trials were done? Did they were un aware of the particular feature till "final validation trials". What exactly had stopped them from asking it when the trials were getting conducted?

karna

p2p, it is not the case I think. NAMICA is already having one panaromic sight for the gunner.

Rhetoric aside, what was IA doing till this time the trials were done? Did they were un aware of the particular feature till "final validation trials". What exactly had stopped them from asking it when the trials were getting conducted?
We do not know the scope of the modifications required. The article goes on to say the entire thing will be redesigned and that 2 companies are already in the fray for the new project.

You could say the modifications were already requested long time ago and that DRDO developed the Nag system before a new platform could be developed. You could say Namica was Phase I and the new BEL-L&T :Namica-2 design would be the Phase 2 of the project. If you notice the project for prototype development has already been awarded when the journo wrote the article.

Also note that the platform firing version of Nag is still being tested. Live firing exercise on tanks will be conducted only at the end of the year or the beginning of 2012. That's when the platform will also be chosen for large scale production some time in the summer of 2012. So, all in all the Nag will be ready only a little before the production variant of the platform would be ready. So, what's wrong with that?

Once the 2 are mated, orders can be given and production will commence followed by induction. This is a typical example of "Look before you leap."

We do not know the scope of the modifications required. The article goes on to say the entire thing will be redesigned and that 2 companies are already in the fray for the new project.

You could say the modifications were already requested long time ago and that DRDO developed the Nag system before a new platform could be developed. You could say Namica was Phase I and the new BEL-L&T :Namica-2 design would be the Phase 2 of the project. If you notice the project for prototype development has already been awarded when the journo wrote the article.

Also note that the platform firing version of Nag is still being tested. Live firing exercise on tanks will be conducted only at the end of the year or the beginning of 2012. That's when the platform will also be chosen for large scale production some time in the summer of 2012. So, all in all the Nag will be ready only a little before the production variant of the platform would be ready. So, what's wrong with that?

Once the 2 are mated, orders can be given and production will commence followed by induction. This is a typical example of "Look before you leap."
On what basis, you come to conclusion that the requirements where given much before? I have not came across such news, if you have please point it out. Sorry but unable to understand "platform firing version", what exactly you mean?
First of all, the "final validation trials" where done in which the capability for hit the stationary and moving targets where established, also the namicas have proven there capability to cross the water channels. As of now it has one sight, now two sights getting demanded which will definitely require the redesign. Was IA sleeping till this time? Why it is so problematic to start inducting it and seek batch wise improvements?

plugwater

Two systems would be made — one by Bharath Electronics Limited (BEL) and the other by Larsen & Toubro.

This is a very good news. Hope they make one as tracked and another as wheeled so that IA can induct some from both variants and we ll know how good a carrier from BEL compared to L&T made.

And for the redesigning, I guess IA can afford to wait another 1 year so they must have proposed the changes.

Anyway the mistake is on IA side this time they knew Namica has only one panoramic sight, they should have told it much earlier.

This is a very good news. Hope they make one as tracked and another as wheeled so that IA can induct some from both variants and we ll know how good a carrier from BEL compared to L&T made.
Will in not add to logistical issues? What will be the purpose seved by inducting both the variants?

And for the redesigning, I guess IA can afford to wait another 1 year so they must have proposed the changes.
What stops from inducting it in current form? Why it can not be inducted and then improved later?

Anyway the mistake is on IA side this time they knew Namica has only one panoramic sight, they should have told it much earlier.
This is delibrate strategy to derail the induction, nothing else

plugwater

Will in not add to logistical issues? What will be the purpose seved by inducting both the variants?
Depends on operational requirments of IA. If they feel they can manage both variants without any major logistical nightmare means they ll select both variants.

What stops from inducting it in current form? Why it can not be inducted and then improved later?
Whats the need of inducting them into armored corps if there is no urgent need ?

This is delibrate strategy to derail the induction, nothing else
No idea Nitesh. They better have some good reasons.

Depends on operational requirments of IA. If they feel they can manage both variants without any major logistical nightmare means they ll select both variants.
I am asking what exactly is the purpose served with two different variants? Is it just for the heck of it

Whats the need of inducting them into armored corps if there is no urgent need ?
I am clueless what to answer. Are you saying anti tank missiles are not needed?

No idea Nitesh. They better have some good reasons.
Unfortunately if you read the news, I can't find any reason

plugwater

I am asking what exactly is the purpose served with two different variants? Is it just for the heck of it
Well both have their own advantages. I am quite amazed why IA have not asked for any wheeled carrier until now. One major advantage is wheeled is more silent than tracked.
I am clueless what to answer. Are you saying anti tank missiles are not needed?
We just bought lot of man portable anti tank missiles and close to acquiring spike or javelin. We ll equip out BMPs with these missiles as well so i guess IA must have thought Nag can wait until they upgrade namica.

Well both have their own advantages. I am quite amazed why IA have not asked for any wheeled carrier until now. One major advantage is wheeled is more silent than tracked.
And magically this thing was not needed till all sort of trials were done. Till now every one was sleeping, and now this becomes reason for stopping the induction

We just bought lot of man portable anti tank missiles and close to acquiring spike or javelin. We ll equip out BMPs with these missiles as well so i guess IA must have thought Nag can wait until they upgrade namica.
Oh so this is the actual reason, when we are importing then why induct anything which is home grown

plugwater

And magically this thing was not needed till all sort of trials were done. Till now every one was sleeping, and now this becomes reason for stopping the induction
It is my opinion to have both the variants. I do not know what army's take on this.

Oh so this is the actual reason, when we are importing then why induct anything which is home grown
IA never said they are not going to induct Nag. After 1 year they ll still induct Nag and upgraded Namica.

It is my opinion to have both the variants. I do not know what army's take on this.
ok, then leave it.

IA never said they are not going to induct Nag. After 1 year they ll still induct Nag and upgraded Namica.
My question is why IA came out of sleep when it is supposed to get inducted, and delayed the induction. Why it can not start induction, and get the upgraded version in next batches?