Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

LostCause

It's only for CI/CT ops. Not for Infantry, army can't think outside of anti terror duties. Thanks to our 50+ yrs of peace, most of our top brass are the product of CT ops only.

Sad reality
What a surprise a front-line force is getting the priority while the procurement using special powers /s

LostCause

This is bad real bad.View attachment 183039the point man is going to get deaf and blind and dead.

The rifle of 2nd man should be resting on biceps not on shoulder, with eyes above the sight and hips forward...

View attachment 183040

I'm no hand to hand combat expert, but no one in his right mind should kick someone who have a hand gun with him, you are just increase the distance between you and the pistol hence cutting your chance to survive.

Hope this is just for show their bollywood addiction and not a real training

By their kit it looks like they are going for a airsoft match
Go touch some grass bhai

1) Its a basic breach stack formation, the gun is touching the shoulder joint which seems wrong but either way he aint gonna take a shot.

2) PR - Khete hai usko

LostCause

What do you expect, really. There are no specialised instructors in IA, I don't think they even send even 1% of them to friendly foreign countries for training and learn from others. Thats what happens when you try to imitate others but are left out on details.
Small unit tactics are almost non existent in IA doctrine. It's like saying that the poor jawan doesn't matter much, we can always get more chaps out of a billion plus pop. Saala 20 saal se jyada ho gye Kashmir m aur ab jaake ye thoda bhot dyan de rhe h urban combat tactics m, only for RR though.

Just observe the various large exercise video snippets we have been seeing, if you see the movement of tanks and BMPs highly resemble that in the late Soviet exercises. Even the stupid dismounting of Infantry and walking side by side that too at ridiculously small distance in front of enemy positions. I am sure Pak and China have no atgms, RPGs and loitering munitions like really, world has changed their tactics several times over and we are still stuck in 80s.

Agree or not, I think we are going to lose a lot of men in front of PLA which seems to evolve without a stop, trying and adoption strategies from wherever it can.

Over a period of time, the reality I see if particularly IA is grim dark going forward, not like it was particularly better before, maybe in 90s.
There are specialised instructors to teach hand-to-hand combat for a long time which are hired.

What specifically you mean by urban combat tactics? Also, most of the tactic learned in Kashmir is not viable on a Regular battlefield.

SwordOfDarkness

Go touch some grass bhai

1) Its a basic breach stack formation, the gun is touching the shoulder joint which seems wrong but either way he aint gonna take a shot.

2) PR - Khete hai usko
As for 1), nope. Its a wrong setup. Your rifle should protude waay further. The purpose of breach stack is to have multiple guns out towards the enemy, not to use your buddy as a shield to hide behind.

LostCause

As for 1), nope. Its a wrong setup. Your rifle should protude waay further. The purpose of breach stack is to have multiple guns out towards the enemy, not to use your buddy as a shield to hide behind.
This is the train idealy they should have retracted the gun or have it at a angle from the buddy at least, ex-

Go touch some grass bhai

2) PR - Khete hai usko
Whatever happened to train as you fight? Seems IA is more interested in PR than proper tactics

And considering the fact that no IA soldier is issued ear protection in the field this demo is even more egregious

instead of the 100s of useless PILs commies create every year in india I’d like to see one come about to get the GoI to have to defend the PPE neglect within their soldiers. Have the GoI state for public record why they expect their soldiers to have to endure deafening sounds on a career long basis with zero
Mitigation efforts

Delta Squad

Thread on potential new helmet of indian army, btw how many of you think that the tender is going to get cancel, these helmets are expensive and no indian companies made them AFAIK 😭

What?? Those SLAAP type ones, SMPP makes them, call them some modules plates attached helmet or something like that. They have an entire series of AK- proof helmet, both with converter bands and without, for mild steel core as well as hard steel core, do watch atleast half of the video.

Spadex

What?? Those SLAAP type ones, SMPP makes them, call them some modules plates attached helmet or something like that. They have an entire series of AK- proof helmet, both with converter bands and without, for mild steel core as well as hard steel core, do watch atleast half of the video.
Was not aware of that, thanks 👍

The Shrike

Thread on potential new helmet of indian army, btw how many of you think that the tender is going to get cancel, these helmets are expensive and no indian companies made them AFAIK 😭

Genuine question - what % of troop fatalities are because they are shot in the face vs shot at the top/back of the head that is covered by a helmet?

Spadex

Genuine question - what % of troop fatalities are because they are shot in the face vs shot at the top/back of the head that is covered by a helmet?
That need some research for a definitive answer but you can still survive a shot on face (have heard of many cases in indian army itself) , a shot anywhere close to the brain is pure death

Exactly. This is an OEM solution now and I expect the RFI has been created purely for this solution but it has to be tendered out procedurally.

not that it matters much because the IA has no night fighting doctrine but these helmets have zero ability to integrate NODs which further highlights how backwards the IA is in their thinking.

1 step forward, 2 steps back with these guys always.

The Shrike

That need some research for a definitive answer but you can still survive a shot on face (have heard of many cases in indian army itself) , a shot anywhere close to the brain is pure death
Face - maybe the lower half like jaw/mouth, a bit if the nose etc., but through the eyes etc? There are huge chunks of the "brain" that most helmets don't protect at all. Yup I hope too they do some scientific studies for requirements rather than biases or brochure bazi.

SwordOfDarkness

I would guess decent number in CI/CT, since both sides are hiding behind cover and taking potshots at each other. In combat, almost all casualties come from shrapnel, so then bullet protection is not as imp for helmet.

I guess thats why "modular panel" was a requirement, put on for CI/CT and remove for peer engagements.