Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

It's not just because they didn't have alternative. SF units tend to use Kalashnikov type rifles to camouflage their presence in hostile territory.

Sharp eared sentries can tell the difference between an Ak going off and a Tavor/M4.

This is also why you'll see a lot of American tier one SF units and mercs using AKs in Libya/Syria/Iraq
Show me one picture of a tier 1 unit using AKs

List of ammunition types currently used by IA
  1. 5.56×45mm NATO - Assault rifles, Machine guns
  2. 9×19mm Parabellum - Handguns and SMGs
  3. 7.62×39mm - Assault rifles
  4. 7.62×51mm NATO - Battle rifles, Sniper rifles, Machine guns
  5. 7.62×54mmR - Sniper rifles, Machine guns
  6. .338 Lapua Magnum - Sniper rifles
  7. 12.7×108mm - Anti-material rifles, Machine guns
  8. .50 BMG - Anti-material rifles, Machine guns
  9. 14.5×114mm - Anti-material rifles
  10. 20x82mm - Anti-material rifles
  11. 5.56×30mm MINSAS - SMGs (in future)
The entire situation is a gigantic logistic nightmare.
The largest and most proficient militaries in the world are only trying to reduce logistics, harmonise inventories and increase commonality. Indian planners are doing the exact opposite, genuinely hard to tell if this is sheer incompetence or just different lobbies winning out but the effects are the same.

Absolutely no desire to win a war, just pad their pockets

don't know why ya'll are bitchin about the new finsas look. Indian army just took a giant half-century leap in modernization, from looking like a 50's Viet-cong soldier to a 03' US army grunt. It's a win guys... Take the W and move on.

View attachment 168581
Because it wasn’t called ‘force modernisation’, they’ve relabelled bits and pieces that they’ve been bringing online (mostly basic PPE of 00s standards) and labelling it F-INSAS

The F is meant to mean FUTURISTIC, what’s futuristic about any of this?

Furthermore, the original F-INSAS was not meant to be some basic PPE issue but a complete overhaul in C&C and bringing in A true jet centric warfare concept utilising C4I.

lipstick on a pig comes to mind. IA is making a joke out of itself and the country it is charged to defend. PLA are coming and this is the BS they parade around? They couldn’t even match the camo patterns for this display. These are the guys that are gobbling up >50% of the entire Indian defence budget

Indian Army Seeking 4,800 New Sniper Rifles
The Indian Army has issued a request for information to local defense firms to procure 4,800 sniper rifles with telescopic sights.

The new rifles will reportedly be used by soldiers deployed on the country’s borders with China and Pakistan.

India is currently using a limited number of Beretta .338 Lapua Magnum Scorpio TGT and Sako TRG-42 bolt-action sniper rifles acquired through emergency purchases.

However, 380 infantry battalions in India are still reportedly using Russian-origin 7.62mm Dragunov semi-automatic sniper rifles, which have a “limited” kill range of 800 meters (2,624 feet).

The army is now looking to acquire a large number of long-range sniper rifles and provide advanced training on their use, according to a Times of India report.

The total budget earmarked for the acquisition is 460 Indian crore ($58.3 million).

Specifications
According to the request, the new .338-caliber sniper rifles should have an effective range of over 1,200 meters (3,937 feet).

The chosen vendor should also be able to deliver the weapons within six months of signing the contract.

The Indian Army canceled an earlier proposal to procure 5,719 sniper rifles because none of the interested parties could comply with all of the requirements.

Upgrading Sniper Courses
The push to purchase additional sniper rifles and upgrade sniper training comes as Indian soldiers face ongoing challenges along the country’s border with Pakistan.

The Times of India reported that the Pakistani Army is equipped with better sniper rifles, enabling improved defenses along the border.

India’s Infantry School in Mhow has already begun stepping up its basic and advanced sniper courses in response.

A senior officer said that providing the right kind of training to future snipers could make them a better force multiplier and intelligence asset.

“While long-range precision shooting is the most fundamental skill, good snipers also need to be adept at survival, concealment, stalking and navigation for conventional conflicts as well as counter-terrorism operations,” he was quoted as saying.

Indian Army seeks 4,800 sniper rifles with 78 lakh rounds of ammunition
The hunt for around 4,800 sniper rifles with 78 lakh rounds of ammunition. The Army recently issued a request for information to local defence firms. Sniper rifle - A semi-automatic or bolt action long gun, equipped with a scope. Sniper rifles allow soldiers to hit intended targets from long distances. Defence Procurement Board had announced the acceptance of necessity in May.

It is still pity to know that India can put satellites in the orbit, land on the moon or build everyday commercial payment system that India cannot design and build everyday soldier’s rifle. We still had to go to Russia to get AK 203 rifle. The rifle India copied and built INSAS was a terrible failure. Much of the troubles of INSAS were overblown by foreign suppliers who eyed supply in case they could prove it a failure. US M-16 in Vietnam war had 15 years of teething troubles but they kept on improving. In case of INSAS improvements were never taken up seriously. The fault, the way DRDO operate. The DRDO is a government department operates as a government department with no responsibility, accountability or discipline.

Had the job handed over to private sector then all INSAS problems would be behind us.

Now we do not know when the Russians will deliver on hardware and metals to manufacture it. In the meantime the Army is waiting for the new rifle.

Arjun Mk1A

It is still pity to know that India can put satellites in the orbit, land on the moon or build everyday commercial payment system that India cannot design and build everyday soldier’s rifle. We still had to go to Russia to get AK 203 rifle. The rifle India copied and built INSAS was a terrible failure. Much of the troubles of INSAS were overblown by foreign suppliers who eyed supply in case they could prove it a failure. US M-16 in Vietnam war had 15 years of teething troubles but they kept on improving. In case of INSAS improvements were never taken up seriously. The fault, the way DRDO operate. The DRDO is a government department operates as a government department with no responsibility, accountability or discipline.

Had the job handed over to private sector then all INSAS problems would be behind us.

Now we do not know when the Russians will deliver on hardware and metals to manufacture it. In the meantime the Army is waiting for the new rifle.

Man again we are going in circle.
1.IA wants different calibre for everything and we are going to have a zoo of weapons.
2.We shitted INSAS too much and never allowed Private companies to innovate things on this platforms, thus we basically dropped the platform.
3. Same happened with MCIWS and even the project went down without moving to next stage.
4. We took 70 years to finally take on OFB.
5. Today we are not ready to conduct evaluation on Indigenous small arms manufacturers and try to buy them since our MOD decided to buy from Russia for Strategic gains.
6. So we have SIG 716, AK 203, Carbine, DMR - either SIG or some other, LMG - Negev. The problem most big armies build a family of weapons but we literally bought this entire zoo.
7. Unless army changed we are going to see some piece improvements.

1.IA wants different calibre for everything and we are going to have a zoo of weapons.
2.We shitted INSAS too much and never allowed Private companies to innovate things on this platforms, thus we basically dropped the platform.
3. Same happened with MCIWS and even the project went down without moving to next stage.
5. Today we are not ready to conduct evaluation on Indigenous small arms manufacturers and try to buy them since our MOD decided to buy from Russia for Strategic gains.
6. So we have SIG 716, AK 203, Carbine, DMR - either SIG or some other, LMG - Negev. The problem most big armies build a family of weapons but we literally bought this entire zoo.
‘Thank you…

OFBkaRakhwala

That Ak203 and 7.62 is some babus doing imo. Some Russian chic and babbu happy. Army went with Sigs and selected the Caracal carbines, The Ak203 having political angle with the amethi factory makes me lean towards it also it is a good hafta for the Russians