Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

thebakofbakchod

Fire and groove

Some things people here should keep in mind-

1.The american next generation infantry weapons come with an astronomical price range.This combined with their optics especially their next gen thermal optics are simply not affordable for us or any big army.Neither the chinese nor the pakistanis will have them,so no problem for us here.Scopes are very costly and need to be replaced in less than 10 years.

2.If we ever get these gucci weapons it will be exclusive for special forces units.We are getting squad recon drones and loitering munitions,thats good.

3.No matter how well you equip your infantry,vast majority of losses will come from artillery(and airpower).The biggest damage for the infantry is always done by the mortars and light machine guns.What i want to see most is 2 x scoped negev LMGs per squad of 10 instead of 1 LMG per unit.That will increase our squad firepower exponentially without unsustainable costs.

4.Battle rifles require scopes -otherwise wasted.Now we have 2 problems -a)Scopes very costly and require relatively quick replacement on 400 infantry battalions.b)Battle rifles are not the best in CQB,urban combat or mechanized assault.For assault in mountains when taking strongpoints you still need to spray lead in a short duration.In jungles scopes also useless.

Given these constraints i think AK-203 is a solid rational choice.Excellent ,reliable rifle and accurate as well(unlike what people say).We are not going to face american army- we make our choice keeping in mind our enemy.Pakis wanted AK-103 but didn't have money,their existing old g-3s and ak-56s will be outmatched by SIG and ak-203 combo.Chinese qbz-95 is a relatively shitty 5.8mm assault bullpup meant for mechanized wave style attacks using conscript spray and pray.Their new QBZ-191 is also an assault rifle,rather than battle rifle with 5.8mm round.Ak-203 will match or exceed it in assault,and SIG will outrange it.No need to panic.
Remember china is a mechanized infantry army.It is crucial that you have the capability to match them lead for lead in a fire assault.
Reliability of the AK-203 is questionable considering the performance of Russian gear in Ukranian. At the very least, the furniture used is dogshit and the 7.62x39mm caliber was superseded a decade ago minimum by the 5.56 which is lighter, smaller and has better performing external ballistics within the infantry sweet spot of 0-300 meters.

Fire and groove

in terms of surveillance capabilties and communications we have got a lot especially in the past 6 or 7 years . Each infantry unit has BFSR and LROS and now they gave drones too . They are getting SFDRs as well and signals detatchment with each infantry battalion is capable of doing EW as well. Mobility is being enhanced via induction of ASLV .
Source?

Reliability of the AK-203 is questionable considering the performance of Russian gear in Ukranian. At the very least, the furniture used is dogshit and the 7.62x39mm caliber was superseded a decade ago minimum by the 5.56 which is lighter, smaller and has better performing external ballistics within the infantry sweet spot of 0-300 meters.
Based on what assessment? Indian infantry have repeatedly shown a preference for the AK-47s over the INSAS and even some NATO 5.56 firearms.

Fire and groove

Based on what assessment? Indian infantry have repeatedly shown a preference for the AK-47s over the INSAS and even some NATO 5.56 firearms.
Which means nothing. The Indian infantry has little expertise or understanding of firearms and ballistics beyond reliability, nor are they adequately trained in combat shooting, marksmanship, or even safety procedures beyond trigger safety etc. User reports are important but only in extrapolating the level of comfort and compatibility for troops in operating weapons and gear in combat conditions with associated tactics, which is difficult when the average Indian infantryman struggles with explaining stuff like the difference in grazing fire and plunging fire, or the value of engaging troops in enfilade.

karn

Which means nothing. The Indian infantry has little expertise or understanding of firearms and ballistics beyond reliability, nor are they adequately trained in combat shooting, marksmanship, or even safety procedures beyond trigger safety etc. User reports are important but only in extrapolating the level of comfort and compatibility for troops in operating weapons and gear in combat conditions with associated tactics, which is difficult when the average Indian infantryman struggles with explaining stuff like the difference in grazing fire and plunging fire, or the value of engaging troops in enfilade.
Ok this part is too much .. Infantrymen know basic flanking tactics.
Besides an IA infantyman explained to me in great detail on the employment of LMGs on heights and how gun sites and ranging is done for ranges beyond that which can be achieved with sites on target.
Its true the infantryman does not care about how special a weapon is .. kornet, milan, spike ..whatever are all just missiles for them.

Tere ko bahut pata hai bada aaya gucci gang.

Fire and groove

Tere ko bahut pata hai bada aaya gucci gang.
Nothing "gucci" about modern firearms, at this point i'm pretty sure guys like you would still be justifying poor equipment if the troops fought with sticks and stones.
Ok this part is too much .. Infantrymen know basic flanking tactics.
Besides an IA infantyman explained to me in great detail on the employment of LMGs on heights and how gun sites and ranging is done for ranges beyond that which can be achieved with sites on target.
Its true the infantryman does not care about how special a weapon is .. kornet, milan, spike ..whatever are all just missiles for them.
Depends on who the infantryman is. NCOs are usually versed enough having attended additional courses but jawans tend to struggle.

with that statement of yours you just proved what an ignorant you are. You have competently ignored IA’s decades of counterinsurgency experience, 4 wars, and numerous skirmishes. Not to mention the annual combat training exercises they have undertaken.

You know nothing about IA. So before you make another stupid asinine comment about the IA I strongly encourage you to read up IA’s battle history and avoid putting your foot into your mouth.

Waiting for people to come and defend OFB in 1.2.3.
Lal salam comrade , I would request you to not to put blame the ordinance factory for this extremely unfortunate incident.
Any other bullet proof jacket would have failed here also , it is upto to the army to order new bullet proof jackets.
Ofb shall deliver them at a priority basis to the amry

Angel of War

Software defined radios
Battlefield surveillance radars
ASLV
Tonbo LROS
do you want anything else ?

Aditya Ballal

Software defined radios
Battlefield surveillance radars
ASLV
Tonbo LROS
do you want anything else ?
T-Rex was an emergency purchase during the stand off, it’s not yet available across the whole force. SDRs are still years away from even being deployed with the infantry, they still haven’t selected a winning prototype. BFSRs are largely available though and are in production with BEL.

Angel of War

T-Rex was an emergency purchase during the stand off, it’s not yet available across the whole force.
It's deployed along the LAC , you don't need LROS for every infantry battalion when BFSR and Drones can do the same job .

Aditya Ballal

It's deployed along the LAC , you don't need LROS for every infantry battalion when BFSR and Drones can do the same job .
But the numbers definitely won’t be big enough, they bought the T-Rex as an emergency purchase for limited no.s. The final selection for buying them in numbers is still not done. Tonbo, TASL and others are all in the fray for this. DRDO has also made one, so I assume BEL will be marketing that.
1652076558941.jpeg

Angel of War

But the numbers definitely won’t be big enough, they bought the T-Rex as an emergency purchase for limited no.s. The final selection for buying them in numbers is still not done. Tonbo, TASL and others are all in the fray for this.
View attachment 154856
The one made by TASL has also been inducted in Unknown Numbers

Angel of War

@Aditya Ballal take a look at this
Several units of Elbit's Long-Range Reconnaissance and Observation System(LORROS) are currently operational with IA. LORROS consists of forward looking infrared (FLIR) and colour charge-coupled-device (CCD) image sensors, with the option of also integrating an eye-safe laser rangefinder (LRF), built-in compass and an inclinometer, which provides UTM location mapping. It can be operated remotely with a control unit that can be stationed up to several kilometres away using a fiber -optic channel. This year however BEL began deliveries of the 'Kshitij' to IA which is an upgraded version of LORROS that extends its FLIR range beyond 13 km and was developed keeping in mind the Line of Actual Control with China. It is expected that the cheaper Kshitij will allow IA to field it in every battalion.