Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

Lancer

Bana
Modern Plate Carriers & integrated vests are not meant to cover whole back. They have already mentioned about 'Low gear requirement & low threat perception'. Usually these armour plates aren't that big like riot gear to cover whole rear portion. Protection fully depends on the armour plate inserted even if the fabric covers whole back.

RR
This plate seems to be covering half portion.
View attachment 64158

This one slightly larger which almost covers 2/3rd.
But again more protection = more weight & there are chances of getting your movements hampered.
View attachment 64167

Some foreign references
View attachment 64160View attachment 64161
View attachment 64165
One shot in the areas being left wide open, and you could end up paraplegic for life.

What is the Barrel length of the CAR-816 that we are buying?

this is 7.5” PDW CAR-816
1603598360221.jpeg

This is 10.5” CAR-816
1603598410888.jpeg

This is 14.5” CAR-816
1603598577744.jpeg

I guess Army is going for 10.5” or 14.5” coz 7.5” is too short.

but again our army is Indian Army so maybe a disappointment may come again and Army may buy 7.5” CAR-816 which would be useless.

And a 14.5” barrel means can be used as an assault rifle and carbine like the M4A1.
1603599275337.jpeg

Killbot

What is the Barrel length of the CAR-816 that we are buying?

this is 7.5” PDW CAR-816
View attachment 64241

This is 10.5” CAR-816
View attachment 64242

This is 14.5” CAR-816
View attachment 64245

I guess Army is going for 10.5” or 14.5” coz 7.5” is too short.

but again our army is Indian Army so maybe a disappointment may come again and Army may buy 7.5” CAR-816 which would be useless.

And a 14.5” barrel means can be used as an assault rifle and carbine like the M4A1.
View attachment 64247
10.5" barrel. 14.5" is too long

Killswitch

Still waiting to see what happens for the carbine tender. I personally see zero reasons to use 556 NATO anymore, even the US is getting ready to phase out this round. AK, SIG 716, and NEGEV 7 are more than enough to meet the needs for frontline soldiers. Althought I would change the following:

AK 203s iron sights are the old style, I would rather see the AK 15 style sights with the rear sight at the back of the dust cover (right by the butt stock) and the front sight on the gas block.

For the SIGs, I would go for piston over DI (runs cooler and cleaner).

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Limited use.
RR night capability is basically limited due to shortage of NVGs.
I got this information form my cousin who in 48RR.According to him night operations get harder and time consuming due to massive shortage of NVGs.
Why should there be a “massive” shortage of NVDs? We have indigenous capabilities here - Tonbo Imaging, for example. Our defense capita expenditure budget should be enough to procure NVDs of all kinds. I am surprised we are lagging here. Once again, something is wrong with the way we are equipping the frontline.

NVGs are expensive and our budget is limited, thats what why I say, our Defence Spending should at Most be 150-200 billion dollars. To meet the current requirements, coz health, education and development may happen anytime but Armed Forces‘ capabilities help as a deterrent to any misadventure, almost all our neighbourhood is going to be hostile. And an all front conflict can be dangerous as we can just Fight a 2 front war, we need to overpower both Pakistan and China in a 2 front war. We have so many options, ambitions and requirements but our limited budget of $71 Billions is not at all enough even when it is the 3rd largest defence budget of any country in the world, next to USA and China only.

ArgonPrime

NVGs are expensive and our budget is limited, thats what why I say, our Defence Spending should at Most be 150-200 billion dollars. To meet the current requirements, coz health, education and development may happen anytime but Armed Forces‘ capabilities help as a deterrent to any misadventure, almost all our neighbourhood is going to be hostile. And an all front conflict can be dangerous as we can just Fight a 2 front war, we need to overpower both Pakistan and China in a 2 front war. We have so many options, ambitions and requirements but our limited budget of $71 Billions is not at all enough even when it is the 3rd largest defence budget of any country in the world, next to USA and China only.
Only if you want the nation to go bankrupt.

I know, I just said the defence budget we require. Thats why Increasing India’s economy by massive reforms is necessary but our sarkari babus have no insight to future, if we manage to bring all MNCs‘ investment in China to India, it will decrease China’s economy and increase ours.

we may feel proud that our GDP growth rate usually is 7.7%, we are negative but next year it will be 8.8% but its not the case, we lost 300 billion dollars worth of GDP atleast this year and then the 8.8% of the lower GDP added won’t compensate it. Our GDP growth rate should be atleast 10-12% considering our potential, we are a potential Global... Manufacturing Hub, R&D hub, Pharmaceutical hub, Automobile Hub, IT Hub, Agricultural Hub, Tourism hub and we aren’t utilising our potential and it is got to do somehow with the mindset of sarkari naukari hi karni hai, not business.

We get happy comparing ourselves from Pakistan but we should be comparing ourselves to China and USA To grow.

ArgonPrime

I know, I just said the defence budget we require. Thats why Increasing India’s economy by massive reforms is necessary but our sarkari babus have no insight to future, if we manage to bring all MNCs‘ investment in China to India, it will decrease China’s economy and increase ours.

we may feel proud that our GDP growth rate usually is 7.7%, we are negative but next year it will be 8.8% but its not the case, we lost 300 billion dollars worth of GDP atleast this year and then the 8.8% of the lower GDP added won’t compensate it. Our GDP growth rate should be atleast 10-12% considering our potential, we are a potential Global... Manufacturing Hub, R&D hub, Pharmaceutical hub, Automobile Hub, IT Hub, Agricultural Hub, Tourism hub and we aren’t utilising our potential and it is got to do somehow with the mindset of sarkari naukari hi karni hai, not business.

We get happy comparing ourselves from Pakistan but we should be comparing ourselves to China and USA To grow.
Yeah, thank the rampant corruption right down to the Group D level and the dreaded 'red tape' culture we have got running since our inception. No wonder MNCs are preferring nations like Vietnam and Mexico over us.

Corruption at macro level can be termed as under control as compared to UPA days. The fact remains our procedure are too complicated for anyone to be able to navigate quickly. No matter what you end results appears to be inconclusive. Also, we can never match China or Vietnam the discipline, dedication, basic work ethics seems to be inexistent for mass manufacturing. I do hope that things are changing we need to shed that socialism crap asap.

Thats alarming, thats why I hate Indian democracy, bas naam ki hai. You don’t have freedom of expression in any form, it is selective if liked by lutyens and left wingers then it is propagated and if not liked by them gets huge backlash and criticism.

no human rights, hindus abuse muslims saying they are jihadis, mullahs terrorists etc and muslims kill hindus calling them hindutva fascists, sanghis, kafirs etc. both are wrong. Its just a bad stereotype that muslims of India love and support pakistan, they support pakistan during cricket matches, they are anti national but its not, they don’t get enough chances to prove themselves in the Army as the recruitment pattern of Indian army is same as british Indian army thats why Many muslims are unable to get recruited in muslim majority areas as in 1857 the muslims of bihar, bengal, UP etc revolted against the british for India but were defeated hence the british Indian army stopped recruiting them and changed recruitment pattern followed till now. Many Hindus lynch and kill muslims for the accusation of them carrying beef. Many hindus are lynched by muslims for being friends with them, there is so much religious and social hate in India growing everyday.

Indian media is all biased from NDTV, Zee News, Republic, The Quint, OpIndia, The Wire (anti national hazard) India Today they all are godi media.

No equality as our constitution says we all are equal irrespective of caste, creed or religion but still we have reservations.

Indian democracy has been a joke, and thats why CCP turned China into an economic superpower and about to make it military superpower.

the people get their jobs, they live freely, they have high living standards all because of their government so they support their government even if it is authoritarian.

We all are fighting with ourselves for no fuking reasons.

and we dream of becoming superpower by comparing ourselves with pakistan which will cease to exist by the end of this decade.
if vietnamese, bangladeshis manage to bring investment then we will lose those chances as well and our investment potential will keep dropping.

all our talent gets drained towards the west.

we can never become a superpower. Period.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Hmmm...if this is the case how exactly are we going to take on the PLA now? I am sure they will be equipped with all sorts of stuff given their $260B military budget and a personnel strength similar to our forces. Heck...the CCP might end up installing 5G equipment all along the LAC and optical fiber networks for robust Satellite data backhauls. Network centric warfare is also super expensive. If our budget cannot even afford NVGs, we can forget network centric warfare then. This is a dangerous thing for us. We better find a way to get the defense budget to at least $100 billion to maintain some sort of parity with the Chinese. We need to get to the $5-6 trillion levels ultra fast to afford this defense expenditure. It is an issue of natIonal security. Any babus in the way should be arrested and national security laws invoked on them.

ArgonPrime

Corruption at macro level can be termed as under control as compared to UPA days. The fact remains our procedure are too complicated for anyone to be able to navigate quickly. No matter what you end results appears to be inconclusive. Also, we can never match China or Vietnam the discipline, dedication, basic work ethics seems to be inexistent for mass manufacturing. I do hope that things are changing we need to shed that socialism crap asap.
Fully agree but aren't both the Chinese and the Vietnamese socialist countries themselves?? SO if they can do it, then surely we could do that as well. The biggest problem in my opinion is not adherence to socialism or capitalism at all - it's a problem of the mindset of our citizens at large. As you correctly summarized - we simply lack the necessary discipline and dedication to our duties that have been dragging us down.