Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

SGOperative

IA are such clowns for not standardising around the SIG family. Could have it as their main rifle- especially for LAC, DMR and some derivative for RR.

insisting on overpriced junk AKs and scrapping follow on 716s is peak Indian military stupidity

they are just just asking to be outgunned by Pakis and Chinese who will be running with 7.62 NATO or 5.56 that can engage at 500-700m, IA grunts with their downgraded AK-203s will be spraying and praying at a max of 250-300m
ok

mind your language atleast . Calling the army " clowns" is pretty offensive
You are not qualified enough to call out names and that too to the army
Why else would you call so-called professionals that are going back to 1947 era designs whilst the rest of the world is taking a clean sheet approach

Just look at the US’s NGSW that rheu selected this week, 6.8mm because of superior long range ballistics and a brand new generation of LPVO with integrated IR, ballistics computer and environmental sensors.

Meanwhile IA wants downgraded AK-203s with iron sights and cancelled their 716 follow on deal

in the near future eve their infantry will be outgunned by their adversaries, then what? More emergency procurements to pad their bank accounts or get their families residency abroad?

Clowns

@Gessler

AD79942D-F04D-4887-AA5B-2C112D5E166D.jpeg

Angel of War

Why else would you call so-called professionals that are going back to 1947 era designs whilst the rest of the world is taking a clean sheet approach

Just look at the US’s NGSW that rheu selected this week, 6.8mm because of superior long range ballistics and a brand new generation of LPVO with integrated IR, ballistics computer and environmental sensors.

Meanwhile IA wants downgraded AK-203s with iron sights and cancelled their 716 follow on deal

in the near future eve their infantry will be outgunned by their adversaries, then what? More emergency procurements to pad their bank accounts or get their families residency abroad?

Clowns

@Gessler

View attachment 152076
It's fine that you criticise the armed forces in multiple threads and some amount of criticism is perfectly fine but your criticism has been becoming pretty toxic lately and your rants are becoming a daily affair especially in the special forces thread where I've been following your posts for quite some time now . You raise questions on our military's standards , training , Tactics , etc not knowing what $hit they have to go through to become what they are , neither me nor you are qualified enough to give them advice because they are well versed with what jobs they have and what do they have to do . So it's better if you could somehow cut them some slack and take a chill pill for yourself too

I won’t re-hash the standard arguments on these topics but to say that this ‘they are qualified so only they can speak’ reasoning doesn’t work. Anyone can judge them based on output. No one needs to be a general to see the downgraded AK-203s are incompatible with modern combat with peers.

Use whatever obfuscation you like but performance speaks for itself

Tuco

Who is qualified then? When some decisions are stupid, nothing wrong in being called out. Few days ago a jawan lost his life because of substandard bpj's, all us many times have discussed about the obsolete protection gear our armed forces use but none of us can be classified as qualified but our observation did come true. Same case with optics. A good student even though not qualified can make right observations. When Chinks and paxstanis can target our jawans from further away, we'll isnt that a cause for concern.

Your father is in army, I understand it mate .
I understand it , but he too might be issued sub standard gear probably?
Thats what we don't like , the top brass .
Nai to fauj ke peeche to hum hamesha khade rahe hain , khade rahenge.

India Super Power

Clowns

@Gessler

View attachment 152076
Hum gareeb log hai
M5 afford nahi kar sakte :yawn:

India Super Power

I agree to them about substandard equipments But still our sf has done those operations which very few countries have achieved it
Ops top class equipments worthless

Angel of War

I agree to them about substandard equipments But still our sf has done those operations which very few countries have achieved it
Ops top class equipments worthless
I never questioned the fact that many of our stuff is outdated . But the way he rants about our SFs every time just feels pretty toxic . I don't mean to offend anyone here , but if you look at the SF thread it's a complete joke , every second reply is a complaint there

Angel of War

I won’t re-hash the standard arguments on these topics but to say that this ‘they are qualified so only they can speak’ reasoning doesn’t work. Anyone can judge them based on output. No one needs to be a general to see the downgraded AK-203s are incompatible with modern combat with peers.

Use whatever obfuscation you like but performance speaks for itself
and yeah you're the one judging their performance right ? Don't make a joke out of yourself mate , what do you even know about their ' Performace ' eh ? I guess you must have been an operative yourself since you know so much about their performance

Angel of War

Who is qualified then? When some decisions are stupid, nothing wrong in being called out. Few days ago a jawan lost his life because of substandard bpj's, all us many times have discussed about the obsolete protection gear our armed forces use but none of us can be classified as qualified but our observation did come true. Same case with optics. A good student even though not qualified can make right observations. When Chinks and paxstanis can target our jawans from further away, we'll isnt that a cause for concern.
Just tell me this - Is cursing our Forces really worth the time ? What impact is your criticism having on the performance of the forces or is it somehow helping them lift their standards . We get that our stuff isn't high grade , but you don't need to remind us about that every single time , plus the criticism then becomes nastier after some random dudes who don't know $hit about the SFs start questioning their Training and weapons handling skills ( happened many times on the SF thread) , that's pretty frustrating . If someone is really is qualified for making criticism it's our veterans who have actually experienced $hit cause they know better where we are lagging behind , their words are more meaningful to me .

Angel of War

Your father is in army, I understand it mate .
I understand it , but he too might be issued sub standard gear probably?
Thats what we don't like , the top brass .
Nai to fauj ke peeche to hum hamesha khade rahe hain , khade rahenge.
My dad is in corps of engineers . What do you exactly mean by substandard equipment here ? Yes we had some old ww2 anti tank mines but they are now replaced my magnetic mines . Otherwise our bridging and trawling equipment is top notch

My dad is in corps of engineers . What do you exactly mean by substandard equipment here ? Yes we had some old ww2 anti tank mines but they are now replaced my magnetic mines .
Bullet proof vest , good rifles.
Modern artillery guns

and yeah you're the one judging their performance right ? Don't make a joke out of yourself mate , what do you even know about their ' Performace ' eh ? I guess you must have been an operative yourself since you know so much about their performance
Again with this?

A soldier with iron sights on his Slightly upgradedAK-47 vs the NGSW, It doesn’t take an expert to infer performance. Somehow Indian soldiers will shoot fheir spray and pray rifles 250m when everyone else is looking to shoot 700+ metres

Who would even defend the AK-203 decision at this point? $1000 per rifle for downgraded junk, such decisions are reserved only for the elite super geniuses and professional Indian army

Angel of War

Again with this?

A soldier with iron sights on his Slightly upgradedAK-47 vs the NGSW, It doesn’t take an expert to infer performance. Somehow Indian soldiers will shoot fheir spray and pray rifles 250m when everyone else is looking to shoot 700+ metres

Who would even defend the AK-203 decision at this point? $1000 per rifle for downgraded junk, such decisions are reserved only for the elite super geniuses and professional Indian army
that's not the damn question i asked you . I am specifically asking you for a data on their performance and not speculation based on their gear . Never ever have i come across a Tavor without optics and Its not a big deal for to me to observe these para operatives' equipment since their unit is a stone throw away from where i am right now .

Yodha

India is my Identity
that's not the damn question i asked you . I am specifically asking you for a data on their performance and not speculation based on their gear . Never ever have i come across a Tavor without optics and Its not a big deal for to me to observe these para operatives' equipment since their unit is a stone throw away from where i am right now .
Stop flaunting it. It doesn't help. It's a very useful suggestion.

This is an open forum. Some arguments are apt and some are not.

I've heard a story about a rich family who owns a big conglomerate based out of Europe having bringing up one of their heirs out of many as a criticiser of the family and it's conglomerate. It helps in developing benefiting strategies and business ideas.

The no man is as important as a yes man, even if the argument is right. But @abingdonboy has always put up arguments a level above than anybody here. His way of putting forward his thoughts might be crude or unapologetic.

What data are you exactly asking for? That the NGSW can shoot 700m+ or the AK-203 can’t shoot beyond 300 accurately? Even the IA knows the issue that’s why they went to the SIG-716 for the frontline units.

Defending the indefensible is childish but pretty common tactic I see for Indian defence fanboys because it’s not like you have evidence or facts on your side . When you scratch away you’ll see the emperor has no clothes