Modern India: A Compendium of Images of Urban India

Navnit Kundu

Pika Hu Akbarrr!!
@Indx TechStyle aapka real estate mein kuch interest hai kya? You seem very passionate about these things. I am a big fan of it too, just love looking at homes with custom interiors.

Look at this, how small this home is, not more than 250 square feet. Japan is facing a massive space crunch, so most of the houses that are coming up are like this :

This is how it looks from the inside.

They even did a documentary about the real estate crisis in Japan. This is a widescale trend in Japan, that makes India look like a concrete jungle of skyscrapers, still Indians think that living in India is a downgrade to living in phoren. If you are a professional living in any of our metro cities, there is nothing better you could ask for. You are better off than 90% of the world. I read a statistic somewhere which said that if you have a net worth of 60L it puts you in the league of top 8% rich people in the world. Now imagine, how many rich people must be living in a single sky scrapper in one of your images. Still those people living in those buildings themselves think that India has bad infrastructure.

Look at this, how small this home is, not more than 250 square feet. Japan is facing a massive space crunch, so most of the houses that are coming up are like this :

This is how it looks from the inside.

They even did a documentary about the real estate crisis in Japan. This is a widescale trend in Japan, that makes India look like a concrete jungle of skyscrapers, still Indians think that living in India is a downgrade to living in phoren. If you are a professional living in any of our metro cities, there is nothing better you could ask for. You are better off than 90% of the world. I read a statistic somewhere which said that if you have a net worth of 60L it puts you in the league of top 8% rich people in the world. Now imagine, how many rich people must be living in a single sky scrapper in one of your images. Still those people living in those buildings themselves think that India has bad infrastructure.
Discussed earlier with @SANITY & @Screambowl and ruined a lot of threads argumenting @CrYsIs. Stereotyping (ever google search "indian people" in image section and then, repeat with Chinese & Korean people, you'll know), too much saving & living in austerity and the main thing over self criticism which causes India to still rank even behind $hithole countries in happiness index.
Off Topic: Hey, do you know about "Latha Jishnu"?

Oh My God (not my phrase, it's building's name, really:biggrin2:) - Sector-129, Noida

A 200 meteres high giant building under construction and will look awesome like impression in picture when completed.

Future Mumbai MMR
Most of the towers, specially the tallest one, are more then 1/2 complete and apt.'s are on sale r8 now. Others are in progress and lots more in approved status. This is not a pie-in-the-sky render but a realistic skyline in 10 yrs.
Credit: @patentneer

But I think this supercar part is too much.
The truth though is that because Mumbai is an unplanned city, it really doesn't have a 'downtown' per se (used in the urban planning sense of the word). The 'downtown' of Mumbai is really the oldest part of the city (what you're see in the skyline above is the part that developed after the oldest part- Parel, Worli, etc- that ever since the mid-90s have had their old textile mills replaced by these monstrous skyscrapers. In fact if you go a little inland you'll see even more monstrosities that are not visible in this pic of the coast. Mumbai has many 'downtowns': the Bandra-Kurla Complex, Andheri-Lokhandwala, Powai-JVLR just to name a few. And therefore the true spread of Mumbai's skyline is not visible from these pics.

Half truth, Mumbai is also going to have two parts like Delhi, Navi Mumbai and Old Mumbai.
And AFAIK, Navi Mumbai is a way better planned city as compared to Older one.

Not enough of pictures yet, it's Mumbai Monorail again and more beautiful are things around it:
Mono.jpeg
IMG_20161206_012250_399.JPG