LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

ah already mentioned here on threads, besides even wikipedia has it,
i wasn't sure whic cannon was that but wiki says it's Sukhoi's GSh-30 so maybe that one
I never understood why HAL did not go for the Aden guns from the Jaguars/Harriers. Thats a gun system we have been using since the Hunters entered service - and one that just plain works - and OFB has license too

SwordOfDarkness

I never understood why HAL did not go for the Aden guns from the Jaguars/Harriers. Thats a gun system we have been using since the Hunters entered service - and one that just plain works - and OFB has license too
They seem lower powered than the 30x165mm that the russians use, though I doubt it will matter much for air combat....

Can we make a 30 mm cannon and just put it in a jet or are there certain factors to it?

Gun exhaust is diverted downwards and while flying it will most likely be swept back, poor paint gonna take all the brunt.
So things like Strain on the aircraft body, vibration and Gas diversion do factor in installing the gun

Why is F 22 cannon so clean then?

OFB calling it the most advanced gun is typical
Hey don't blame them it's a Desi thing.
Some Weapons gets procured:
"Rat ko Sone nahi Dega chin ko ye khatranak Hatiyar"
"Pakistan ki batti Gul kardega ye khatarnak hatiyar"
"America ka ghamand todega ye khatranak hatiyar"

Screenshot_20221215_112015_YouTube.jpg

9 replies are Muricans, Turks, Pakistani mocking this jai ho.

There are two kinds of Desis
One who think we are residing in a pile of shit the other believes we are better than everyone.

Gyyan

View attachment 186073

One who think we are residing in a pile of shit the other believes we are better than everyone.
Both have their merits the first ones aspire for change with criticism though sometimes they tend to go overboard but still critics are necessary for any functioning democracy and the second one with their inexhaustible belief stand for stability and hopeful future for example when we were in the meltdown they believed indian army in a heartbeat.

Sanglamorre

View attachment 186073

Then there's the eternal, "tight slap to <insert enemy of choice>"

No matter what happens, half a dozen comments will always be about how it is a tight slap

@Roland55 are there any folks in Argentina politics who are in favor of more defense spending? or all parties arriving to the same conclusion?

Roland55

@Roland55 are there any folks in Argentina politics who are in favor of more defense spending? or all parties arriving to the same conclusion?
Lately a more "liberal" party that was created a few years ago is the only one that supports a bit more sending regarding the armed forces. The current ones (Kirchner) have no intention of investing on defense, the major opposition might have a bit more intentions, but that's not saying much (I mean, this are the guys who wanted to pay less for the Korean trainers, and they already were cheap)

Eventually they will have to spend in defence, but that might take years..