LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

AmoghaVarsha

OTE="indiatester, post: 2097864, member: 13273"]
Its not just a single size fits all product. It varies depending on the antenna size.
The comparison may not be fair without it being put in same size, power constraints.
[/QUOTE]

Mk1A with the Elta will have a detection range if 200km and with Uttam a range of 100.

This defeats the purpose of long range bvr missiles IAF intends to induct in future.

The minimum requirement should be to be able to fire a a meteor.

MonaLazy

This defeats the purpose of long range bvr missiles IAF intends to induct in future.

1638961924981.png

If Uttam was inferior to Elta 2052 why do you think they would induct it at all? After all the accusations of UNAF are they suddenly top class desh bhakts now?

1638962100134.png

MonaLazy

They just said excess of 100km, not just 100km
True and the same AESA goes into the nose of an Astra AAM which has a range well over 120km!

1638963075973.png

I imagine the Tejas nose to be much larger than that of Astra- be able to house more TRMs, have better power & cooling from all the on board systems, and hence see much much farther. Only we don't want to say how much.

This ~100km seems to follow a continuing pattern of understating the real capabilities of our weapons- complicates planning for Bhikaristanis since they will want to keep a gap of "real" range + 20 kms in their next aerial engagement with our AF.

Block 3 is comparable to tejas mk1a
No. Its inferior in some aspects like Radar will be more Superior on The Tejas. Also LCA Tejas has access to better and More Capable Missiles like Derby ,R-73 etc. The block 3 JF 17 is not going to be like absolutely better than Tejas mk1a or at the Same level,JF 17 block 3 is Decent and it's definitely a Good Aircraft for its price(can't deny that) but Still Tejas mk1a is better in some Aspects. Block 3 will be a good Fighter with PL-15 missile.

Atleast 150 MK1As needed for both fronts. Flying heavy twin engine Su30s for regular CAP is way too costly. Chipping in little birds(having relatively good AESA) can really ease annual cost factor of IAF.
Tejas Mk1a is a good Fighter Aircraft and it will be enough to Handle Pakistan Airforce. To be honest I agree with you that atleast 150 MK1a should be added in the Inventory of the Indian Airforce in order to Fight a 2 front war. Maybe minimum of 120-130 will be enough. And I guess The Rest of The Requirements would be Fullfilled with Tejas Mk2. Tejas mk1a should be Inducted in numbers of atleast 120-130 at maximum in my personal opinion.
20211208_055043.jpg

Concard

A topic which certainly worries me about India and also our defense industry.

We don't even produce passive components like resistors, capacitors and inductors for use in commercial and defense applications. Japanese and Koreans dominate this sector. Chinese haven't been successful at beating them. In PCB's Chinese dominate it. I am not sure where we are in this area. There are certain PCB makers in India, whether they are fully self reliant is something I could not ascertain. And I don't have to tell about chips. We don't even manufacture small Micro chips.

Our electronics and semiconductor sector alone requires 1 lakh crore infusion every year until 2040 if we have to become self reliant. We have the talent who are unfortunately working for big American companies who in turn sell the tech developed by Indians to us at marked up price. AMD, Qualcomm, Intel, Texas Instruments, Analog devices derive lot of R & D from India. AMD and Qualcomm has more open positions to fill in India next only to USA. We need a dedicated city like Shenzhen for hardware. PLI schemes are not going to cut it. It is unfortunate we are not thinking of building an entire city just for this sectors alone given the importance it has to national security. We need to get at least a mature node 14nm fab going to make FPGA's, Microcontrollers and specialized chips in Embedded applications. With our volatile democracy I highly doubt it will happen anytime soon.

Spitfire9

From a tweet in the accident thread:

Gp Capt Varun Singh was awarded a Shaurya Chakra for safely recovering a Light Combat Aircraft(LCA) after a mid-air Cockpit Pressurization and FCS failure in Oct 2020.
Sounds like he kept the Tejas no losses record intact. I wish him the best of luck in recovering from his injuries from the helicopter crash that killed all others on board incuding the CDS.

A topic which certainly worries me about India and also our defense industry.

We don't even produce passive components like resistors, capacitors and inductors for use in commercial and defense applications. Japanese and Koreans dominate this sector. Chinese haven't been successful at beating them. In PCB's Chinese dominate it. I am not sure where we are in this area. There are certain PCB makers in India, whether they are fully self reliant is something I could not ascertain. And I don't have to tell about chips. We don't even manufacture small Micro chips.

Our electronics and semiconductor sector alone requires 1 lakh crore infusion every year until 2040 if we have to become self reliant. We have the talent who are unfortunately working for big American companies who in turn sell the tech developed by Indians to us at marked up price. AMD, Qualcomm, Intel, Texas Instruments, Analog devices derive lot of R & D from India. AMD and Qualcomm has more open positions to fill in India next only to USA. We need a dedicated city like Shenzhen for hardware. PLI schemes are not going to cut it. It is unfortunate we are not thinking of building an entire city just for this sectors alone given the importance it has to national security. We need to get at least a mature node 14nm fab going to make FPGA's, Microcontrollers and specialized chips in Embedded applications. With our volatile democracy I highly doubt it will happen anytime soon.
I agree with you have just Said. Most of our Bright Youth do high Level of studying in India and work for the Benefit of Other Countries. It's a sad sight that they don't want to Contribute to Their Own Nation.

Spitfire9

I agree with you have just Said. Most of our Bright Youth do high Level of studying in India and work for the Benefit of Other Countries. It's a sad sight that they don't want to Contribute to Their Own Nation.
I'm not sure that people who go to work in a different country don't want to contribute to their own country. I once worked on an application upgrade somewhere in the UK where there was a team of Indians employed by an Indian company working on a different software project. I think they supported their families back in India. That is contributing, isn't it?

I would say that if you want people with internationally marketable skills to work in India for Indian companies, you need to pay them enough to be prepared to work for Indian companies.

Concard

To be fair it's not that many of them don't want to contribute. It's just that they don't have an environment or atmosphere where their talents, skills and knowledge can be harnessed. Look at the way how most idiots these days see Ambani and Adani. Both are going full throttle on Solar energy including manufacturing. Ambani recently even bought a Solar company. This is a huge deal for the country. But that doesn't matter for most Indians.

Instead of encouraging entrepreneurs we discourage and pull them down. Socialist mindset has made Indians big time losers. They simply whine and bitch how the other person is rich instead of trying to uplift themselves. The colonial mindset has also made them retards. Most of them would rather enrich Jeff Bezos than Ambani. Every single country supports their domestic companies. Only in our country we shoot at our own. Couple all these with the stupid education system of IIT's which do nothing other than placing the students in high profile companies. What we get is a nation of employees not employers. Most of our startups reflect what Indians are good at. We are good at being Banias. Our start ups are technology enabled startups not pure Technology startups. Once we create a culture of entrepreneurship, research and innovation things will fall in place. The talent is there, how we harness is in our hands. A good example is TSMC. Just study how Taiwan in 1990's harnessed the talent of Taiwanese Engineers working in US to set up their own electronics industry.

To be fair it's not that many of them don't want to contribute. It's just that they don't have an environment or atmosphere where their talents, skills and knowledge can be harnessed. Look at the way how most idiots these days see Ambani and Adani. Both are going full throttle on Solar energy including manufacturing. Ambani recently even bought a Solar company. This is a huge deal for the country. But that doesn't matter for most Indians.

Instead of encouraging entrepreneurs we discourage and pull them down. Socialist mindset has made Indians big time losers. They simply whine and bitch how the other person is rich instead of trying to uplift themselves. The colonial mindset has also made them retards. Most of them would rather enrich Jeff Bezos than Ambani. Every single country supports their domestic companies. Only in our country we shoot at our own. Couple all these with the stupid education system of IIT's which do nothing other than placing the students in high profile companies. What we get is a nation of employees not employers. Most of our startups reflect what Indians are good at. We are good at being Banias. Our start ups are technology enabled startups not pure Technology startups. Once we create a culture of entrepreneurship, research and innovation things will fall in place. The talent is there, how we harness is in our hands. A good example is TSMC. Just study how Taiwan in 1990's harnessed the talent of Taiwanese Engineers working in US to set up their own electronics industry.
Agreed

ssethii

True and the same AESA goes into the nose of an Astra AAM which has a range well over 120km!

View attachment 123826

I imagine the Tejas nose to be much larger than that of Astra- be able to house more TRMs, have better power & cooling from all the on board systems, and hence see much much farther. Only we don't want to say how much.

This ~100km seems to follow a continuing pattern of understating the real capabilities of our weapons- complicates planning for Bhikaristanis since they will want to keep a gap of "real" range + 20 kms in their next aerial engagement with our AF.
You are comparing apple with oranges here, a bvr races towards its target, and its range is defined as the distance covered by it until the motor burns out in a certain flight path configuration. It still needs guidance from fighter radar to close in before it can turn on its own radar and track the target itself for the kill. That is why the range of radar should outmatch the bvr missile range to effectively guide it to its target.

Spitfire9

You are comparing apple with oranges here, a bvr races towards its target, and its range is defined as the distance covered by it until the motor burns out in a certain flight path configuration. It still needs guidance from fighter radar to close in before it can turn on its own radar and track the target itself for the kill. That is why the range of radar should outmatch the bvr missile range to effectively guide it to its target.
Thanks for the explanation. Whoever drew up the requirement for UTTAM had clearly not grasped what you have. Or the range figure given for UTTAM is inaccurate. This idea of giving a reduced range figure to mislead adversaries, does that apply to other radars?

MonaLazy

So?? Does that not mean Tejas has >120+km radar range?

If Tejas Uttam radar has a ~100km range then how to acquire weapons-quality lock on bogey & vector Astra with 120+km range up to the point where it goes pitbull?

What's your age , mate ?