LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Can't say.. Lift is getting the MWF cockpit. Mark1A might still get lucky.
View attachment 88915
Almost no chance of this

Maybe, just maybe for post MK1A SP-21 (the ones that will get the Uttam AESAR)

But you start messing around with the configuration/spec of the MK1A fighters now and you will get production delays and cost escalations

Better to go for a MK1B or whatever

Ghost hale

Crawl, walk, run.

It makes perfect sense to go Sulur>Srinagar>Pathankot.

Sulur as the home base (and close to HAL BLR) is where the operational workup began for LCA and where a lot of the training manuals will have been written but going to a foreword base like Srinagar is a huge jump for a new asset and that too one that is relatively unproven. It will create understanding of how to operate and support LCA away from S.India, then they can take it to a (more) strategically critical base like Pathankot

Srinagar is a very smart intermediate step from Sulur to Pathankot, it will pose just the right amount of challenge without pushing the fleet too hard operationally

Guys it's not even like the Mirages get out of Agra very often or the Rafales will be operating out of their 2 Homebases too much, LCA will be all over India within a few years.
U didn't got my point. Its not about Srinagar or Pathankot. I m unable to get how Srinagar is safer base than Pathankot. Srinagar is first to respond in case of LOC interception. Pathankot is at IB. And logistics is not an issue between Pathankot and Srinagar.

Maybe Iaf choice , whatever it is, they are stationing it in forward base and that's something good news

Ghost hale

I hope mk1a get new cockpit and new drop tank drag optimised, that's only thing I want extra, rest chutney is ON
Drop tank is easy task as we would be developing those for Mk2 already. New cockpit can also be done but in later stage. Maybe second half lot as LIFT integration would be done by then and it will be easier to push same in here.

Ar.gaurav28

I just want a new cockpit in mk1a , this older don't suite it , @Bleh any possibility
Bro not worth it! HAL gonna ask for more money and time!!😜
that we don’t have,whereas it wouldn’t be the backbone which will be MWF/MK2 which the IAF really wants, mk1a was even conceptualised because ADA was requiring more time to develop mk2!😇
Hope for quick induction of mk1a strength the failing squad no.!😎
MK2 will fulfil all your desires even that meteor mk2 variant!🥰

Ar.gaurav28

You probably have far more knowledge now thanks to the Tejas problems.
You always learn more from difficulties than from too easy victories.

JF-17 is a chinese low end product. Quite nothing came from porkies heads.
You have no idea bro!
With the knowledge from junk fighter 17 they gonna create AZM!🤪
it will start firing weapons even before it’s first flight, that too before 2025!🤣

I m unable to get how Srinagar is safer base than Pathankot.
Hills.. Pir Panjal all around.

That means in aircraft can takeoff & get until a particular altitude without being detected. You're more likely to see action, but you're in an advantageous position. I'd take Srinagar anyday of the week over Pattankot.

But you start messing around with the configuration/spec of the MK1A fighters now and you will get production delays and cost escalations
Not exactly "messing with configuration & soecs" this one is... unlike say, moving pylon to wingtips.
Screenshot_20210511_072604.jpg

It's just a change in MFDs, the content is still the same. MWF too was originally supplied to have this one...
IMG_20210511_072123.jpg

...but later discarded in favour of using the present one they call Advanced Cockpit System. Coincidentally that's also used in LIFT, prototype scheduled in 2023 only.

onlinpunit

Some seem to be entirely forgetting what the LCA is meant to do and how the IAF employs their assets

LCA is to replace the MiG-21, MiG-21 is foreword deployed for the interceptor role and is the first line of defence, LCA's dimensions are entirely derived from the need to fit the airframe into the same HAS as used by MIG-21s in forward bases.

Rafales, Mirages and MKIs are mostly kept in the interior of India and used in offensive ops or special missions. Occasionally MKI flights are dispatched to foreword bases for surge ops but this is only on a short term basis during high readiness periods.
We have to understand that time for specialised jets for each role is mostly over.
So having a dedicated point defence jet making less sense day by day. Also with ever evolving radar and BVRs it's less about jets and more about what they carry.
And we have admit that at this moment LCA is not matured enough to act on its own in a shooting war.

We have to understand that time for specialised jets for each role is mostly over.
So having a dedicated point defence jet making less sense day by day. Also with ever evolving radar and BVRs it's less about jets and more about what they carry.
And we have admit that at this moment LCA is not matured enough to act on its own in a shooting war.
But Mig 21 is. We can send Mig 21 against F16 and J17 but LCA is not mature enough. :):):):):):):)

Is there any meaning of self imposed deadline for HAL ?
Vai kuch updates hai to karke hi denge na.. Nahi sab fir se wapas bhejna parega.

Can u confirm on non induction?
You'll know if any are inducted. Every delivery will make a headline & of you can't find any that means they are still under HAL.