LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

from what i understand we are currently using G-404 engines. i had read somewhere that they are a bit underpowered is this true please do correct if i am wrong. Also is it possible to add G-414 to mk1a variant or is it for mk2 only.

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Absolutely ! Still beats me as to why govt does not heavily fund such a project and bring in all pvt industry heads together. DRDO can't do it on its own not with sarkari babu culture

Congrats India and Shriman MODI! :clap2: :salute: :india2:

MK2 is also coming soon!

It's so funny to see how Chinese Pakis are FRUSTRATED and trying to play it down but deep down they know that India is leaping ahead! Just some while ago they tried to play down Rafael and now Tejas! :rofl::rofl::rofl:

#AtmNirbharBharat

Tejas MK2.jpg

Tridev123

Absolutely ! Still beats me as to why govt does not heavily fund such a project and bring in all pvt industry heads together. DRDO can't do it on its own not with sarkari babu culture
Yes, I have been advocating bringing in the private sector into the turbofan engine development process in a big way. The GTRE will have to handhold the private sector initially as it is a high tech, new technology for them. But the returns will be seen in the long run.

There has not been even a single instance of India and its intelligence agencies managing to steal key technologies. All countries engage in scientific espionage.
Our RAW should acquire by hook or crook crucial high performance turbofan engine technology. Nothing immoral in it.

The Soviets gained a lot of knowledge on the atom bomb from a Cold War spy in the US. The Porks were allowed to steal centrifuge technology from Europe which they later shared with the Chinese.

Anyway a very good day for India today with the LCA mk1a getting approval from the CCS. I believe most of the work on this model is already finished.
Waiting for the first prototype of the LCA mk2. It should give the Pak Block 52F16 and the J10C(high chance of PAF getting the plane) a run for their money.

If would be good for the nation if we have one company in the private sector manufacturing combat aircraft. Apart from HAL. There would be healthy competition between the two and standards will rise.

Rohan Naik

SU-30 Line will probably have to stay open for 272 + 12 MLU and any other super-sukhoi type upgrades, more over the production time lines that are coming out in the media for Mk2 is being mentioned as 2025-26.
Why cant we have used L&T factory which makes the howitzers and convert or extend tge facility. I mean, an integrated complex should be explored which can be used for multi purpose production/service purposes.

For aero engineering, it's not the factory that matters, it's the availability of skill set. and bangalore has traditionally been the hub for aero engineering in india.

who knows, may be HAL will move AMCA production to chitradurga.

Because you will need to re-structure the whole factory building, install whole new set of tools/cranes, training the staffs who used to build howitzers with new skills, also you will need to build an airport besides it.

The problem is that is far more expensive than building a new factory and more importantly who pays the cost.

Rohan Naik

Because you will need to re-structure the whole factory building, install whole new set of tools/cranes, training the staffs who used to build howitzers with new skills, also you will need to build an airport besides it.

The problem is that is far more expensive than building a new factory and more importantly who pays the cost.
My suggestion was about being proactive. If the L&T factory was getting established, our def ministry should habe thought about maximising the output. We talk about the defense corridor too often. I think PPP is the key to build massive world class infra. But all this needs to be speeden up with futuristic approach.

Finally, Deal Cleared For LCA Tejas Mk.1A Fighters
We’d told you this deal would be signed by December 2020. Okay, so we’re about two weeks off the mark, but finally, after months of procedural prevarication, the Indian government has cleared the decks for its biggest ever deal for indigenous equipment — a ₹45,696 crore deal for 73 LCA Tejas Mk.1A fighters and ten LCA Mk.1 trainers.

In doing so, the government has shortened what were expected to be two separate orders for 83 Mk.1A jets and 18 Mk.1 trainers, for a total of 101 aircraft, almost definitely to meet budgetary plans on the program.

In a statement today, the MoD said, “Light Combat Aircraft Mk-1A variant is an indigenously designed, developed and manufactured state-of-the-art modern 4+ generation fighter aircraft. This aircraft is equipped with critical operational capabilities of Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) Radar, Beyond Visual Range (BVR) Missile, Electronic Warfare (EW) Suite and Air to Air Refuelling (AAR) would be a potent platform to meet the operational requirements of Indian Air Force, IAF. It is the first “Buy (Indian-Indigenously Designed, Developed and Manufactured)” category procurement of combat aircrafts with an indigenous content of 50% which will progressively reach 60% by the end of the programme. The Cabinet has also approved infrastructure development by IAF under the project to enable them handle repairs or servicing at their base depot so that the turnaround time would get reduced for mission critical systems and would lead to increased availability of aircraft for operational exploitation. This would enable IAF to sustain the fleet more efficiently and effectively due to availability of repair infrastructure at respective bases.”

The LCA Mk.1A is an improved configuration of the baseline LCA that bridges the capability gap towards the planned LCA Mk.2, which will be a substantially more different and powerful jet. The Mk.1A will be mid-air refuellable, sport an updated internal Radar Warning Receiver (RWR) — likely in-house kit from the DRDO’s DARE laboratory — an external Self Protection Jammer (SPJ) pod to enhance survivability and an AESA radar. The Mk.1A needs to be able to fire different types of BVR and close combat air to air missiles. The meat of the Mk.1A, though, will be a slew of major improvements in the LCA’s squadron-level maintainability contours. It is difficult to overstate just how much importance the IAF has placed on ramped up no-nonsense maintainability, more than a milestone away from the admittedly unwieldy maintenance architecture built into the Mk.1. On maintainability alone, the Tejas Mk.1A will have the 43 improvements out of 57 planned on the bigger, more powerful LCA Mk.2:

1. Panel interchangeability: In the prototype stage, composite panels were built and matched to specific airframes. For the Mk.1A, tooling will be built up and panels moulded lending themselves to easy interchangeability between airframes, plus spares. The IAF won’t deal with a platform that doesn’t allow at least this level of squadron-level maintainability, so this is priority.
  2. Quick access: Several airframe panels that required daily servicing have a large number of screws that need to be removed — a time consuming affair that eats into the platform’s turnaround time. These will be replaced on the Mk.1A by quick release fasteners making it easier and faster for maintainers access, considerably bringing down time required to service aircraft. Importantly, quick release fasteners will remain with the panel and therefore minimise FOD chances.
  3. Gromets in composite panels: When fasteners are regularly used for removal and installation, there is a possibility of damage and widening of holes. Mk.1A panels will have to stop this.
  4. LRU positions: A number of LRUs will be repositioned for better access. Current configurations make it nuisance to access frequently used LRUs.
  5. Additional aids: The Mk.1A package will contain ground handling aids and testers to enable speedier turnaround of aircraft

Narasimh

Why every article is saying mk1a will be mid air refuelling capable as a feature difference from mk1?
FOC mk1 already has the capability, doesn't it

Pandora

Lame argument... twitter is place full of woke and intelligent assholes who are quick to make a keema given the chance....and he put himself on plate and went ahead.... what u expect.....
And he thinks he knows everything ,Mujhe sab aata hai and malum hai. In reality he is good with strategic affairs but in defence affairs he becomes cuckoo..