LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Assuming you understood IAF chief's words very well and i didn't.. can you tell me which year will the first production variant of MK1A be inducted into IAF? And how?
Bhaduria probably meant something like, we'd start inducting the 83 Mark1As within next 5 years... Don't overanalise too much a casual statement.

Anyways, this is what I know.
Deal to be officially signed in 2020 probably but prep work has already been going on for a while.
2021-22 is target year for flying 2 LSPs in full Mark1A configuration (some like drag-optimised EFT or Uttam AESA are being tested independently on other LSPs) presently being done... If no teething issues come up the 1st production variant is to roll out late-2023. Then attention will shift to MWF 1st flight that year & AMCA in 2024-25.

No news of any delays so far, same timeline is being stated everywhere.

Lancer

Bana
I'm worried at the lack of mention of ORCA.

That project is critical for IAF and IN, even more than the MK2 or AMCA imo. If it gets scrapped; that'll really wreck plans to build up numbers (trying to fill the requirement solely through Rafales or F-18s would be incredibly expensive).

Navy got go ahead for TEDBF, but IAF showed no interest as they had AMCA... You'll find details of the ADA meet in ORCA thread.

aerokan

Bhaduria probably meant something like, we'd start inducting the 83 Mark1As within next 5 years... Don't overanalise too much a casual statement.

Anyways, this is what I know.
Deal to be officially signed in 2020 probably but prep work has already been going on for a while.
2021-22 is target year for flying 2 LSPs in full Mark1A configuration (some like drag-optimised EFT or Uttam AESA are being tested independently on other LSPs) presently being done... If no teething issues come up the 1st production variant is to roll out late-2023. Then attention will shift to MWF 1st flight that year & AMCA in 2024-25.

No news of any delays so far, same timeline is being stated everywhere.
Doesn't make any sense at all even if we go without overanalyzing. The timeline you gave is not even near any of what we thought will happen till now.
" In the next five years we will commence induction of 83 LCA Mk1A "
"He said the timeline for LCA Tejas Mk 1a is about 4 years."

I get it that MK1A production of 83 jets can be wrapped up in 4 years give or take as planned with 8+8+5 per production line per year. That will be a minimum of one squadron per year.

Where will the 5 years fit in related to induction ? a squadron per year assuming IAF will be inducting only full squadron + HAL delivery promise of 3 years after signing will at max gives us 4 years without counting the advances made in reducing the fit to 12 months.

Everybody is just flinging years casually now, including the IAF chief? :hmm:

aerokan

“At the moment, we are concentrating on 83 LCA Mk 1A. After that, the follow-up planned is MRFA (multi-role fighter aircraft), which is ‘Make in India’ and the other line is on LCA versions, and Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA),” said the IAF chief.

He separately mentioned LCA next generation variants in addition to MRFA. Maybe ORCA..!!

Doesn't make any sense at all even if we go without overanalyzing. The timeline you gave is not even near any of what we thought will happen till now.
For you maybe(?)... Most others have known that 24-29 timeline.

patriots

Defense lover

@hvtiaf says orca's fate depends on the success of tedbf only

Lancer

Bana
@hvtiaf says orca's fate depends on the success of tedbf only
Hopefully both are a resounding success. But I think IAF is being delusional by expecting 100+ aircraft of Rafale or F-18 caliber. Even if they theoretically get them, it'd seriously hamstring their ability to make other purchases/investments.

We Have Placed Our Trust In Tejas: IAF Chief
New Delhi: Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal R K S Bhadauria said on Monday that complete trust has been put on desi fighter Tejas and its future variants.

Addressing his annual press conference here ahead of the 89th IAF Day on October 8, the CAS said that IAF is scaling up combat capability and credibility through modernisation and operational training in addition to increasing indigenous equipment to achieve self-reliance and strategic autonomy.

“We have placed our trust in the LCA (Tejas). In the next five years we will commence induction of 83 LCA Mk1As. We are supportive of DRDO and HAL’s effort at their indigenous production and you will soon see the contract of HTT-40 and LCH,” the IAF Chief said.

He said the second half of this decade will see IAF leapfrog to the induction of next generation platforms.

“Be it the future LCA versions, the AMCA or unmanned combat enablers, and which include combat, manned and unmanned platforms. We are committed to the indigenous development of fifth generation AMCA which will be the mainstay of the IAF fighter fleet after a decade or so,” the IAF Chief said.

He said, in the emerging security scenario in the neighbourhood and beyond mandates a robust capability to fight across the entire spectrum of warfare.

“In the year gone by, the IAF has continued its stride on the path of comprehensive enhancement of capabilities and sustained modernisation. IAF is transforming at a rapid pace and over the years we have grown from being a tactical force to a strategic one with trans-oceanic reach,” he said.

He said IAF’s offensive strike capability has been honed with up-gradations and new inductions of weapons and platforms, ably supported by combat enablers and a networked decision making environment, including an integrated approach to handle incoming threats.

“We have the largest strategic air lift capability in our region comprising of IL-76, C-17 & C-130 platforms. We have significantly enhanced our heli-lift capabilities with our helicopter inductions. Our immediate offensive deployment of combat ready units in response to the stand-off along the LAC in the North is indicative of our operational state today,” he said.

On Rafales, the IAF Chief said it is a platform armed with weapons, sensors and technologies way ahead giving an operational and technological edge. “Combined with upgraded capabilities of our current fighter fleet, it gives us the ability to shoot first and strike deep and hard, even in contested airspace,” he said.

On the joint command structures, he said that deliberations are on for a solution that will fit IAF’s unique environment and the need to maximise its resources.

“Tri-Services study teams have been formed which are looking and deliberating to arrive at the most optimum solution and the contours of such a joint structure that will come up in the near future. The core competence of each service is being effectively synergised to attain the desired capability and generate the desired effect in operations,” Bhadauria said.

He said modernisation is an ongoing priority area to enhance operational potential in keeping with the desired combat capability in the years to come.

“This includes induction of state-of-the-art modern equipment as well as simultaneously up-grading existing systems to boost their capabilities and ensure operational relevance. Time-frames for such activities are planned to ensure an operational edge over the adversaries in the coming years,” he said.

Dessert Storm

Read again...

'in next 5 years' 'commence' 'induction' of 83 LCA Mark 1As.

Hope IAF chief misspoke but if that is not the case, i don't understand where @vinoddx9 pulled the 2023 induction date from. So he mustn't have read the IAF chief's message.

If they start inducting MK1A's in 2025, then when will they complete?

So no plan to sign MK1A before financial year 2022-2023 in the best case scenario? :smash::frusty:

And people here are liking those posts :shoot:
I think the reporter messed it up.

patriots

Defense lover
Hopefully both are a resounding success. But I think IAF is being delusional by expecting 100+ aircraft of Rafale or F-18 caliber. Even if they theoretically get them, it'd seriously hamstring their ability to make other purchases/investments.
Ya definitely... fighter squadron s need regular upgradation......I see either the mmrca 2 collapsed...or the 112 fighter number s reduced to a two digit number

Lancer

Bana
Bdw Tejas gave the confidence that Ada designed jet can fly....
So now iaf is showing confidence on Ada...and waiting for amca.. instead of getting fgfa /su 57
It doesn't have to be either-or.

Going for a limited number of Su-57's would give IAF experience w/ operating and maintaining 5th Gen stealth fighters in advance, and possibly help add valuable knowledge/experience for the designers of the AMCA too.

Not to mention, immediately boost sqd numbers by a few more.

vishnugupt

You are absolutely right. when Armed forces gave serious opinion on indigenous product last time? They become lethargic, careless and comatose whenever they talk about local product. He just used opportunity to push for 114 more imported jets.

So now iaf is showing confidence on Ada...and waiting for amca.. instead of getting fgfa /su 57
Start showing confidence !!:rofl::rofl::rofl: Even Nawaz Sharif had shown confidence back in 1998. That mean IAF has been sleeping somewhere under rock since 1983.

"G@@nd lagi Fatne toh Confidence laga batne"

Trololo

It doesn't have to be either-or.

Going for a limited number of Su-57's would give IAF experience w/ operating and maintaining 5th Gen stealth fighters in advance, and possibly help add valuable knowledge/experience for the designers of the AMCA too.

Not to mention, immediately boost sqd numbers by a few more.
IMO IAF has a whole lot of issues with the Su-57 design and avionics. Induction of a limited number of Su-57s would again add to our plane zoo. Not worth it if AMCA is the plan.