LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

I would happily take tejas MK-1A over Su-30 and so would govt.
Govt is getting mk1a it's just price re - negotiations. DAC has already approved it and tenders are out for assembly iirc.

As soon as price as optimized orders will be placed.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk

patriots

Defense lover
Tejas MK 1 A is much better fighter than Gripen E. If HAL accept price between price 300 cr and 275 cr. Then i am must happiest person in the world if this thing happen.
Tejas mk1a is better than gripen c and d ...and far better than jf17 block 3...
But I believe gripen e is better though it's still not ready.....
And Tejas was our first attempt...next time we will do better....
Hope nal Saras also succeed...we need desi tramsptra jets too

dude00720

"The certification confirmed Tejas as a multi-role fighter with capabilities like beyond visual range air-to-air and air-to-ground attack capabilities and longer endurance through mid-air refuelling.

Despite these advanced features, Tejas in its current form is only an improved version of MiG-21 but it falls short when compared to other modern day fighters."

What exactly does this mean?

Tejas has all new features, but, still less than other fighters. Sometimes language does not make sense at all.

BVR, AESA, A2G, A2A, Mid-air refueling aka Higher endurance

check the f-16 vs tejas comparision.
https://www.militaryfactory.com/air...orm&aircraft1=861&aircraft2=22&Submit=COMPARE

rohit b3

"The certification confirmed Tejas as a multi-role fighter with capabilities like beyond visual range air-to-air and air-to-ground attack capabilities and longer endurance through mid-air refuelling.

Despite these advanced features, Tejas in its current form is only an improved version of MiG-21 but it falls short when compared to other modern day fighters."

What exactly does this mean?

Tejas has all new features, but, still less than other fighters. Sometimes language does not make sense at all.

BVR, AESA, A2G, A2A, Mid-air refueling aka Higher endurance

check the f-16 vs tejas comparision.
https://www.militaryfactory.com/air...orm&aircraft1=861&aircraft2=22&Submit=COMPARE
Tommorow i will write an article that "Tejas is the best fighter jet in the world" and post the link here. No big deal.

Another typical import pimp bullshit...

Tejas FOC is already technologically superior to all our upgraded Migs & Mirages, Mark 1A than even Su-30 MKI in many grounds. IAF declared it to be better at effective ground attack than every other aircraft in inventory.
MWF with higher performance second only to Rafale & AMCA, even to Super Sukhoi with its huge RCS.

Saichand K

Another typical import pimp bullshit...

Tejas FOC is already technologically superior to all our upgraded Migs & Mirages, Mark 1A than even Su-30 MKI in many grounds. IAF declared it to be better at effective ground attack than every other aircraft in inventory.
MWF with higher performance second only to Rafale & AMCA, even to Super Sukhoi with its huge RCS.
It would be interesting to see what IAF thinks of Tejas in terms of it's air-air capability.

Deathstar

I dont understand what makes an aircraft modern?
Modern characteristics like avionics, HUD , HMF , BVR , composites right
Not much difference between airframe design.
How does one say that this aircraft is modern and this is not?
What if we install these same characteristics in say MiG21?does it become a modern aircraft then???

kstriya

dude00720

What if we install these same characteristics in say MiG21?does it become a modern aircraft then???
1. BVR
2. AESA Radar
3. Stealth(Low RCS)
4. High Fuel capacity.
5. Electronic countermeasures.
6. Blocking electronic counter measures.

Some of these are design oriented and some are add-ons.

Most of the above at core require a High quality engine.

Dollars paid to the writer of article makes the plane modern.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk

dude00720

If it’s true than GOI will be saving 14.5k crores which should be sufficient to complete the Kaveri GTRE project and R&D for MWF... win win scenario for all.... Jai Hind
Kaveri is more technical expertise, rather than money. We cant get the wet thrust i.e afterburner technology right.

Enquirer

I would say that the defining characteristic would be a FULL FLY-BY-WIRE...with some amount of SENSOR FUSION (HMD et al)

The other list of avionics listed by @dude00720 are all modern ADD-ONS

The article I posted says in the CURRENT form tejas is not on par with modern fighterjets. Current form means strictly mk1 , not even mk1a .

Range is short for mk1 , engine is not powerful enough for carrying big load of weapons. Aesa radar is not there .