LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

FalconZero

Again You are Not getting What My core reasons are

Ultimately Weapon role Is to Provide Superiority Over you adversary in war

Do Current LCA Provide It Nope it Won't
Tejas was created as a replacement for Migs, Jags and to an extent Mirage, which it can do for the most part and the best part is the system itself, the design itself is indengous which can later be exploited for export, Mk2 or Mk1a will out perform anything that pakis throw bar F16 and probably Junk Fighter block 3.

So, investment in Tejas platform shouldn't even be questioned at this point.

Nope you are Right we Don't Have Money to create 5th generation fighter Let alone 6 th generation going by current budget

For F-22
As production wound down in 2011, the total program cost is estimated to be about $67.3 billion, with $32.4 billion spent on Research, Development, Test and Evaluation (RDT&E) and $34.9 billion on procurement and military construction (MILCON) in then year dollars

we don't have 15 billion $ To buy 114 Rafale Let alone 50 odd billion $ Developing 5 th gen

But Our adversary is already have developed a fifth generation aircraft Which will be operational in next 5 years And they Will give it to Our Sworn Enemies

What Should We do now ??? For 15 years wait for AMCA that is Still Far fetched
or Import F-35 consortium that Will be Available To us Within 2 years Operationally Available
That's why there was MMRCA, that's why there is rafale which can take care of most of the stuff thrown by Chinese, also, their '5-th gen' is a meme aircraft. Rafale is enough for that. Again, it's not related to Mk1, Mk2 or Mk1a, these platforms have their roles in taking care of likes of Pakistan and provide numbers with credible defense + future export potential + base for our next gen aircrafts like AMCA. Sidelining these will mean we will remain in perpetual pressure for imports.

Look at Example of Japan they to have Fifth generation on Going program but they
Bought 105 F-35 To maintain Air Supremacy over PLAAF for Next 20 years
We have rafales to take care of that, also, unrelated to tejas project.

WARREN SS

HAL has suppliers from different private and foreign companies they can't be left unpaid, payments for HAL employee can't be withheld.

So, you choose to compete with OFB or LM based on your ease of proposition, that's a pretty troll level and you seem to be desperate here to prove a point.
If that the case HAL should Privatize because it govt company End
Should not get Any Luxuries govt Companies get for GOI

Why Not Monetize 53,120.49 crore (US$7.4 billion) (2020) assets
or 13,215.12 crore (US$1.9 billion) (2020 )in equity

To pay salaries ????

LOOOOOOOL,

HAL is providing LCH which is one of the best, , Tejas mk1, mk1a are one of the best, Arjun which was rushed because of IA only to be dropped later on. There are companies like MKU, Tonbo who are private and great in terms of service who already provide services internationally and still it took years for just meagre amount of orders.

IAF can't pay HAL, can't pay for more rafales and then cry why muh lack of aircrafts, this is the exact mentality I was talking about, army isn't going to buy even if they were best unless they are attached with additional bribes and offsets for babus and dalals within the army.

You don't start running in one day you have to learn to stand up first, otherwise, keep crying about why muh lack of aircrafts muh lack of equipment during war.
What Is different btw Monopolistic Govt consortium And Foreign Corporate consortium
Better HAL should be Sold To Private Players For fully corporatization

Why Get Tag as govt company then

Jeez, are you seriously retarded or just acting as one?
However, the IAF still owes HAL about Rs 20,000 crore in unpaid dues for aircraft delivered and overhauled and for milestone payments due, Business Standard has learnt.
I will not try to explain about how dumb your statement is.
Do Even know how To read Accounting books ???

The money Is Basically Govt Not HAL As
HAL is state owned Consortium And It Can Be well adjusted in GOI books as well as Firm

WARREN SS

That's why there was MMRCA, that's why there is rafale which can take care of most of the stuff thrown by Chinese, also, their '5-th gen' is a meme aircraft. Rafale is enough for that. Again, it's not related to Mk1, Mk2 or Mk1a, these platforms have their roles in taking care of likes of Pakistan and provide numbers with credible defense + future export potential + base for our next gen aircrafts like AMCA. Sidelining these will mean we will remain in perpetual pressure for imports.
That Is gross undermining of you adversaries capabilities Which has both monetary And
Technological advantage over you by a decade

This not how War are Planned

Tejas was created as a replacement for Migs, Jags and to an extent Mirage, which it can do for the most part and the best part is the system itself, the design itself is indengous which can later be exploited for export, Mk2 or Mk1a will out perform anything that pakis throw bar F16 and probably Junk Fighter block 3.

So, investment in Tejas platform shouldn't even be questioned at this point.
yes And It missed the deadline by a Decade

FalconZero

If that the case HAL should Privatize because it govt company End
Should not get Any Luxuries govt Companies get for GOI

Why Not Monetize 53,120.49 crore (US$7.4 billion) (2020) assets
or 13,215.12 crore (US$1.9 billion) (2020 )in equity

To pay salaries ????
I have no issues with privatisation, rather i wholeheartedly support it.

What Is different btw Monopolistic Govt consortium And Foreign Corporate consortium
Better HAL should be Sold To Private Players For fully corporatization

Why Get Tag as govt company then
You yourself quoted the funding allocated for the F22 and F35, comparing HAL with any foreign private player like LM is absurd.

I have no issues with privatisation, do it but for now it's a fairy tale so we adjust with whatever we have, sort out the system, HAL despite issues under current government and head is doing better, room for improvement yes but that doesn't mean drop everything and go for import.

Do Even know how To read Accounting books ???

The money Is Basically Govt Not HAL As
HAL is state owned Consortium And It Can Be well adjusted in GOI books as well as Firm
Then why didn't GOI sign the deal for Mk1a?

FalconZero

That Is gross undermining of you adversaries capabilities Which has both monetary And
Technological advantage over you by a decade

This not how War are Planned
In comparison to gross exaggeration of the adversary, also, planning about the war, well if i have 64 rafales(Assuming additional orders) + Mk2 tejas + Mk1a Tejas + Flankers + additional american stuff if we buy + old stuff. I think we will fair well, considering we don't have much options here, well at least that's what IAF thinks who have stated that they are okay with AMCA for 5-th gen and wont' import any 5th gen aircraft.

yes And It missed the deadline by a Decade
Can be blamed onto various factors and unrelated considering it changes nothing now.

36+114 odd Rafales Will Take care of 500 + 5th And 4.5 Generation Fighters :facepalm:
Let not add PAF Equation Yet
Well, depending on when we are going for war, also, again it's not possible for PLAAF to use all of them against India alone.
By 2030 IAF will look like this :

Rafales => 32 + (32 more)
Flankers => 261 + 12
Tejas Mk1 => 40
Tejas Mk1a => 83
Tejas Mk2 => If things go well then at least 2 to 3 squadrons by then
Some american stuff => (This depends on the MMRCA)
Migs => 54
Jags => 118
Mirage => 45
(Mig 29)

So, roughly around 600 to 692 (Around 400+ 4.5th gen aircraft which can take on everything from pakis or most of china), which is not bad by any parameters. This is just rough estimate with many ifs and buts but this is not bad.

WARREN SS

You yourself quoted the funding allocated for the F22 and F35, comparing HAL with any foreign private player like LM is absurd.

I have no issues with privatisation, do it but for now it's a fairy tale so we adjust with whatever we have, sort out the system, HAL despite issues under current government and head is doing better, room for improvement yes but that doesn't mean drop everything and go for import.
My Point Why Not Get better When We have the Way I have no problem With HAL if Its
Another Private Player in Plethora or Other Firms

But the Time has come To open aviation sector To other Players and to end monopoly

Then why didn't GOI sign the deal for Mk1a?
Prior Commitments to Navy projects & MISC
MOD Shoddy work ethics

But my point was HAL not completing at least 18 FOC aircrafts That Will Get them under GOI sword
for disinvestment in future

If they want To continue there monopoly at least they should be ready to take risk like Monetization of
assets or sell Equity at least then there Will no excuse To point fingers at them

I have never Seen such problem during MKI its Only LCA division

FalconZero

My Point Why Not Get better When We have the Way I have no problem With HAL if Its
Another Private Player in Plethora or Other Firms

But the Time has come To open aviation sector To other Players and to end monopoly

Prior Commitments to Navy projects & MISC
MOD Shoddy work ethics
If privatisation was easy it would have been done long ago, until then we have these issues and HAL has improved a lot, recent hiccups doesn't change that Tejas is a great platform and some issues or delays doesn't mean start promoting imports and badmouthing the product.

How many private companies in India are interested in putting resources? Those who did how many of them were given orders? Talking about companies like Kalyani, tonbo, mku, L&T etc. etc.

But my point was HAL not completing at least 18 FOC aircrafts That Will Get them under GOI sword
for disinvestment in future

If they want To continue there monopoly at least they should be ready to take risk like Monetization of
assets

I have never Seen such problem during MKI its Only LCA division
They already have 3 of them ready, 1 delivered, 3 in the development stages which were affected by the Covid, their aim for 6 to 8 aircraft could have been easily achieved this year, also, point added by Bleh that there are some reason why IAF is not taking deliveries yet.

FalconZero

From the article :
The erstwhile Kiran hanger was modified to roll out at least four aircraft per year in addition to eight aircraft per year capacity of LCA division. This created the total production capacity of 12 aircraft per year. However, by the time the production facility reached the desired production rate the aircraft on order were already delivered and next variant (FOC) was not yet clear. The ramped-up production reached eight aircraft (May be beyond) on March 22, 2019 with the first flight of SP-15 (SP 16 was delivered before SP 15 on March 11, 2019).
The first FOC Tejas SP21 took skies on 17th March 2020, followed by the first flight of SP 22 on 24th September 2020. The Indian Airforce based on the user experience recommended some software patches and these were to be incorporated in the subsequent units. As per the production schedule, HAL was to deliver eight FOC Tejas by March 2021 and remaining by end of the financial year 2021 (i.e. March 2022). This will be followed by the delivery of the trainer jets, Indian Airforce will get eight trainer jets of FOC standards.
  • SP21 is delivered and SP22 is ready
  • SP23 and SP24 – Jets are ready and only a few components are to be added which were delayed due to COVID delays.
  • SP25 and SP26 nearing completion – The coupling stage is almost complete.
They can still meet their deadline, assuming it was as stated in the article.

WARREN SS

In comparison to gross exaggeration of the adversary, also, planning about the war, well if i have 64 rafales(Assuming additional orders) + Mk2 tejas + Mk1a Tejas + Flankers + additional american stuff if we buy + old stuff. I think we will fair well, considering we don't have much options here, well at least that's what IAF thinks who have stated that they are okay with AMCA for 5-th gen and wont' import any 5th gen aircraft.

Can be blamed onto various factors and unrelated considering it changes nothing now.

Well, depending on when we are going for war, also, again it's not possible for PLAAF to use all of them against India alone.
By 2030 IAF will look like this :

Rafales => 32 + (32 more)
Flankers => 261 + 12
Tejas Mk1 => 40
Tejas Mk1a => 83
Tejas Mk2 => If things go well then at least 2 to 3 squadrons by then
Some american stuff => (This depends on the MMRCA)
Migs => 54
Jags => 118
Mirage => 45
(Mig 29)

So, roughly around 600 to 692 (Around 400+ 4.5th gen aircraft which can take on everything from pakis or most of china), which is not bad by any parameters. This is just rough estimate with many ifs and buts but this is not bad.
Flankers are Way Pass To MLU which was due in 2015

another Problem Adding to the list Russians asking 12 billion $ for Whole MLU

Hal offering 7-8 billion $

add 14 billion $ of MMRCA

+ LCA project

GOI Need at least 30 billion $ in Next 10 years to complete Prior commitments

PLAAF has over 200+ 4.5 generation fighters

That has AESA + Next Gen BVR

They are rapidly Upgrading there J-11,j-10,Su-30's With AESA And IRST and Next gen BVR

Production J-20 is On expected To Peak by 2023

they have 50 as of 2019 that 3 squadrons

While First Prototype Of LCA MK1a Will be fly in 2023
With Operational squadron by 2025 or 2026

You Tell Me are we are ready

WARREN SS

If privatisation was easy it would have been done long ago, until then we have these issues and HAL has improved a lot, recent hiccups doesn't change that Tejas is a great platform and some issues or delays doesn't mean start promoting imports and badmouthing the product.

How many private companies in India are interested in putting resources? Those who did how many of them were given orders? Talking about companies like Kalyani, tonbo, mku, L&T etc. etc.
Main Reason Is Nehruvian Socialist's Legacy And Left Based eco system that corrupted there mind
Look at the farmer Protest at Delhi borders

look at the demonization of Corporates Ambani & adani or others

Its Like Our Nation doesn't like Rich or successful people

Our Media Love affair With Poverty

Majority Of Population is Still trapped in Pre Independence Legacy of Company raaj

Better Let TATA take over HAL if not reliance

as Its not Private owned consortium but multi firm conglomerate

FalconZero

Flankers are Way Pass To MLU which was due in 2015

another Problem Adding to the list Russians asking 12 billion $ for Whole MLU

Hal offering 7-8 billion $

add 14 billion $ of MMRCA

+ LCA project

GOI Need at least 30 billion $ in Next 10 years to complete Prior commitments

PLAAF has over 200+ 4.5 generation fighters

That has AESA + Next Gen BVR

They are rapidly Upgrading there J-11,j-10,Su-30's With AESA And IRST and Next gen BVR

Production J-20 is On expected To Peak by 2023

they have 50 as of 2019 that 3 squadrons

While First Prototype Of LCA MK1a Will fly in 2023
With Operational squadron by 2025 or 2026

You Tell Me are we are ready
Upgrades will happen so these are unrelated queries, UTTAM AESA has almost completed most of its trials and is supposed to be upgraded for Sukhoi so it will be even more potent, we will have missiles like Astra mk1, mk2 BVRAAM, and mk3 which are potent for BVR combat and AEWC killers.

So if they are upgrading j11, j10 su30s we are doing it too, j10. J20 is just another 4.5th gen aircraft riddled with issues, calling it 5th gen is a joke unless chinks somehow actually demonstrate that.

Most of these can be taken care by our tejas mk2, mk1a and Su 30 mki. Rafale and Flankers together can take care of their next gen++++ aircraft.

The number is an issue but Tejas mk2,etc. are the only way forward, you don't have money to buy lots of phoren 5-th gen, so only choice is focus on improving the current system, maybe invite private players too, considering how things are going chances are there. If things go well we will not only save money but will probably be able to sell those products in international market, there are buyers for sure.

My opinions don't matter in comparison to IAF chief who thinks that indigenous system are the way forward, thankfully, thinks that Tejas is best in class, AMCA is the only way forward for 5th gen.

These problems related to numbers etc or china getting 5th gen won't be solved by us importing some expensive aircraft and being subservient to other countries in events of war.

FalconZero

Main Reason Is Nehruvian Socialist's Legacy And Left Based eco system that corrupted there mind
Look at the farmer Protest at Delhi borders

look at the demonization of Corporates Ambani & adani or others

Its Like Our Nation doesn't like Rich or successful people

Our Media Love affair With Poverty

Majority Of Population is Still trapped in Pre Independence Legacy of Company raaj

Better Let TATA take over HAL if not reliance

as Its not Private owned consortium but multi firm conglomerate

Eeeeh, hate for socialists and commies are mutual, most of us here wish that we can privatise these PSUs using magic wand but it's not gonna happen or not that easy, you have already seen chimpout by OFBs....

These points are parallels to the topics in hand and are no excuse of sidelining indigenous systems.

WARREN SS

So if they are upgrading j11, j10 su30s we are doing it too, j10. J20 is just another 4.5th gen aircraft riddled with issues, calling it 5th gen is a joke unless chinks somehow actually demonstrate that.
Is this called War planning What Proof there Will be issues ???
They are superior to india in both monetary And industrial sense

So far I seen even JF-17 Worked fine During 26 feb Air Raid without glitch

Upgrades will happen so these are unrelated queries, UTTAM AESA has almost completed most of its trials and is supposed to be upgraded for Sukhoi so it will be even more potent, we will have missiles like Astra mk1, mk2 BVRAAM, and mk3 which are potent for BVR combat and AEWC killers.
FOC is version is not getting uttam

MK1A does that Will be only 20 by 2026
The number is an issue but Tejas mk2,etc. are the only way forward, you don't have money to buy lots of phoren 5-th gen, so only choice is focus on improving the current system, maybe invite private players too, considering how things are going chances are there. If things go well we will not only save money but will probably be able to sell those products in international market, there are buyers for sure.
LCA MK2 Or MWF Is Due to get operational in 2030
its HAL deadline

My opinions don't matter in comparison to IAF chief who thinks that indigenous system are the way forward, thankfully, thinks that Tejas is best in class, AMCA is the only way forward for 5th gen.

These problems related to numbers etc or china getting 5th gen won't be solved by us importing some expensive aircraft and being subservient to other countries in events of war.
IAF chief contradicts CDS Rawat, says plan is to buy 114 foreign fighters besides LCA Tejas

However, IAF chief Bhadauria told news agency ANI Monday: “This project (114 jets) is in the middle-weight and is in the Rafale class, in this issue, we will deal with it in the Make in India region, with an increase in FDI, with support to the private sector. I think in future this will bring in technology which is required to support the aviation sector. I think it is important to have another generation of aircraft in terms of capability, technology as we go along

FalconZero

Is this called War planning What Proof there Will be issues ???
They are superior to india in both monetary And industrial sense

So far I seen even JF-17 Worked fine During 26 feb Air Raid without glitch
C'mon now you are just getting desperate, pakis used both f16 and jf17, ROE by IAF were different, if are you using that even to prove your point then just drop it.

FOC is version is not getting uttam

MK1A does that Will be only 20 by 2026
Never said FOC is getting Uttam but they can upgrade it later if they want, also, despite that the radar Mk1a will have is pretty capable too.

LCA MK2 Or MWF Is Due to get operational in 2030
its HAL deadline
Due to uncertainty, I didn't count that number, I didn't even count migs 29 upg. So despite that we will have 450+ great 4.5++ gen aircrafts.

IAF chief contradicts CDS Rawat, says plan is to buy 114 foreign fighters besides LCA Tejas

However, IAF chief Bhadauria told news agency ANI Monday: “This project (114 jets) is in the middle-weight and is in the Rafale class, in this issue, we will deal with it in the Make in India region, with an increase in FDI, with support to the private sector. I think in future this will bring in technology which is required to support the aviation sector. I think it is important to have another generation of aircraft in terms of capability, technology as we go along

Your point being? IAF chief has repeated again and again that he wants 83 Mk1a deal passed, 6 squadrans of mk2 will be bought too + mmrca + AMCA in future.

“In the long run, the IAF will have 40+83 Tejas Mk I/IA and around six squadrons of Tejas Mk II. Eventually, we aim to boost our capabilities with the fifth generation plus AMCA (Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft),” he said.

“You are amongst the best in the IAF, so that you will have to operationalise the squadron in the shortest span of time. TEJAS today what you are getting is the best in its class in the world. Take my word for it. It is for you now to study it, gain knowledge, understand its capabilities, maintenance aspects and know everything about the aircraft. With your brains, with your abilities to synergise and with networking, you must ensure that TEJAS continues to grow and increases its combat capabilities,”

WARREN SS

C'mon now you are just getting desperate, pakis used both f16 and jf17, ROE by IAF were different, if are you using that even to prove your point then just drop it.
well point Is They getting It numbers they have 120 + add Jets Now
Ands they are Multirole

Due to uncertainty, I didn't count that number, I didn't even count migs 29 upg. So despite that we will have 450+ great 4.5++ gen aircrafts.
Point Is they are not MLUed

For MLU you have to ground them

While PLAAF has 200+ Upgraded Fighters that have AESA And Meteor class BVR Even today if We fight them
we have what 12 Rafale's uptil now that is Sad reality
Your point being? IAF chief has repeated again and again that he wants 83 Mk1a deal passed, 6 squadrans of mk2 will be bought too + mmrca + AMCA in future.

“In the long run, the IAF will have 40+83 Tejas Mk I/IA and around six squadrons of Tejas Mk II. Eventually, we aim to boost our capabilities with the fifth generation plus AMCA (Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft),” he said.
My Point Availability Of these fighters at any given minute in current scenario

We will have 3 Squadrons Of LCA by 2026
In Which only 20 ODD LCAMK1A have AESA

While PLAAF have 500+ 4 th gen Fighters 200+ J-20 in same time

MWF First Squadron Will not come before 2030

I Never Said LCA is inferior product I said Its Not Available when required

FalconZero

well point Is They getting It numbers they have 120 + add Jets Now
Ands they are Multirole
Well capabilities of their aircraft can be debated separately so leave that, coming to numbers, well GOI for now can't out spend china, MMRCA will take care of the filling the gap + Tejas will also do the same while developing the base for future endeavours like AMCA or export of those aircrafts.
None of these can be sorted out in short term.

Point Is they are not MLUed

For MLU you have to ground them

While PLAAF has 200+ Upgraded Fighters that have AESA And Meteor class BVR Even today if We fight them
we have what 12 Rafale's uptil now that is Sad reality

My Point Availability Of these fighters at any given minute in current scenario

We will have 3 Squadrons Of LCA by 2026
In Which only 20 ODD LCAMK1A have AESA

While PLAAF have 500+ 4 th gen Fighters 200+ J-20 in same time

MWF First Squadron Will not come before 2030

I Never Said LCA is inferior product I said Its Not Available when required
Eeh lots of assumptions and points being ignored, we are not going to ground all of those 200+ Mkis or migs for MLU, it's a process which is linear (not exactly but for the lack of better words). Also, these are issues not related to HAL or not limited to them, decades of negligence and ignorance has lead to that.

Mk1a will having Elta aesa radars (+ Uttam in later ones). By 2030 most of our fleet will be upgraded to AESA which will have Mk1 and Mk1a too and will match and outperform most of the fleet of PLAAF and PAF.

Mk2 will depend on lots of factors so i am not counting it as of now.

450+ 4.5th gen aicrafts with upgraded MKIs, Tejas Mk1a, Rafales, Mig29 upg are no joke, number can be more but these are issues which are more related to the thing called 'lack of money'.

WARREN SS

Well capabilities of their aircraft can be debated separately so leave that, coming to numbers, well GOI for now can't out spend china, MMRCA will take care of the filling the gap + Tejas will also do the same while developing the base for future endeavours like AMCA or export of those aircrafts.
None of these can be sorted out in short term.

Eeh lots of assumptions and points being ignored, we are not going to ground all of those 200+ Mkis or migs for MLU, it's a process which is linear (not exactly but for the lack of better words). Also, these are issues not related to HAL or not limited to them, decades of negligence and ignorance has lead to that.

Mk1a will having Elta aesa radars (+ Uttam in later ones). By 2030 most of our fleet will be upgraded to AESA which will have Mk1 and Mk1a too and will match and outperform most of the fleet of PLAAF and PAF.

Mk2 will depend on lots of factors so i am not counting it as of now.

450+ 4.5th gen aicrafts with upgraded MKIs, Tejas Mk1a, Rafales, Mig29 upg are no joke, number can be more but these are issues which are more related to the thing called 'lack of money'.
These are not Assumptions But well calculated war Planning

for example
LCA MK1A is Light Weight Category fighter While J-10C is medium weight category fighter

J-10C has Powerful Engine That automatically means more Peak power for Radars
Its Will have more Detection Range It can be compared To MWF not MK1A

MK1A has Max detection range of 150 km due less engine power of GE404

J-11C will has AESA no less than detection range of 400 km With Twin engines Its Heavy class fighter
armed With Meteor class BVR Superior to our current MKI also there is
Shenyang J-16

Basically Upgrading MKI means less Availability ratio

You missing Many things

Only If We Will have 150 (114+36 Rafale's by 2030)
only then have some chance I am hoping That navy Will get 57 SH then Will Increase our chances

Let Pray LCA not get Stuck by CAATSA Sanctions Which already hanging on our heads

I Can talk In detail about Shortfall of IAF but its not relevant thread

johnq

36+114 odd Rafales Will Take care of 500 + 5th And 4.5 Generation Fighters :facepalm:
Let not add PAF Equation Yet
I disagree with your assessment of the situation, mainly because I also know of the PLAAF's (and PAF's) current limitations despite the CCP's propaganda. The PLAAF does not currently have any 5th generation fighters. The J-20 is a somewhat reduced RCS 4th generation aircraft at best (and can be tracked and shot down by IAF fighters such as the Rafale and SU-30MKI). The J-20 is further limited by the outdated technology of its avionics, and its underpowered Russian engines. The Rafale's avionics are far superior to anything on the J-20, including radar, osf, ecm and weapons. IAF has the capability to jam PLAAF aircraft radars and air-to-air missiles (which have avionics copied from downgraded Russian avionics from the 1990s, giving the IAF the advantage). The PLAAF radars are running obsolete software, and hence limited in capability. It is not just me saying this: Talk to retired air marshals on twitter who have had access to intelligence reports, and they will confirm all of this.

Then there is the intelligence assessment of how many fighters PLAAF is capable of fielding (or willing to field) against the IAF while also dealing with enemies on its east coast.

The bulk of the PLAAF fighters (including J-10s and flanker copies) have serious reliability issues, especially with the Russian engines on their single engine fighters (the Chinese engines are too unreliable to be put on operational aircraft). They had to cut flight training of their pilots because of too many crashes (including J-10s and flanker copies), which means their pilots are poorly trained. In any conflict with repeated sorties, I expect J-10s to crash left and right due to engine issues. Coming to PAF, over 40 percent of PAF JF-17s have been grounded due to reliability issues, and they are also single engine fighters with Russian engines:

PLA navy J-15 fighters have very serious issues with both engines and flight control software, causing at least 4 out of 20 aircraft to crash (and even that is only the ones that we know of, since PLA hides the truth):

I think most people overestimate PLAAF/PLA navy capabilities because the CCP/PLA have a really good propaganda/psy-ops machine.

But even if we are talking about building up numbers, the Tejas is an excellent choice. I can field 4 to 5 Tejas with AESA and integrated ECM for the cost of 1 Rafale. Tejas is needed to make up the numbers on the western border, where most of the targets are at ranges of less than 500 km. The Tejas is also capable of operating from high altitude airfields due to its low wing loading (lower than Rafale and Mirage 2000). It also has a very reliable engine. It can be used for air defence and close air support role, as well as in hitting several short and medium range targets when operating from Ladakh, Sikkim and Arunachal/Assam.

This is not to say that we don't need long range fighters like the Rafales. The Rafale's deep strike capability with its stealthy cruise missile is extremely useful. The Su-30MKI with the Brahmos is also a very useful platform for hitting high value targets.