Know Your 'Rafale'

That would be nice, but consider that you would be abrogating the law and in consequence all the rest of the banned companies would be able to bid again in all your tenders, immagine the situation that will result from it and how much you will delay all the other tenders plus taking in consideration that you are bringing in companies that are clear corrupt.

Plus you won't get the responsibility of indian built EFT on the EFT group(that would be suicidal as it is for Dassault)
India is a land of lawyers, they will figure that out.

For bold part. Procuring of 2 sqad. of EFT ( I personally believe it won't be so) will not be made in India but procured off-the self.

Meriv90

India is a land of lawyers, they will figure that out.

For bold part. Procuring of 2 sqad. of EFT ( I personally believe it won't be so) will not be made in India but procured off-the self.
All the better for us then :) hoping that your lawyers can make it work, the french receiving a punch worth 21 billions (minstral included) would draft them away from german lead.

RFP deviation strengthen French negotiators on MMRCA | idrw.org

Parrikar's open support on purchasing of additional Su-30MKI and talks of likely collapse of the deal has shook French Dassault Aviation, who are coming back to India with better negotiation team . Dassault Aviation has failed to get Export customer for Rafale in last decade due to frequent flip-flops with negotiating customers , While many called off talks after few months , with India they kept the pot boiling for 3 years and its right time to turn off the fire.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar is not easy person to deal with, Ex-CM of Goa has ability to go through contracts and draw out shortcomings, his technical educational background comes in handy(first CM who is a IIT graduate!!!) many times said people who have worked with him when he was CM of Goa , French might be learning more of Sharp and active Parrikar lately.
As per someone's comment what $30 Billion can get us is below, can someone please confirm since it doesn't sums to 30?

1. 3.5 Billion - 100 Tejas MK1
2. 2.5 Billion - 814 Mounted Guns
3. 800 million - 400 Dhanush Guns
4. 300 million - M46 gun upgrade
5. 300 million - 100 K9 howitzers
6. 200 million - 400 Pinakas

power_monger

Who made that rule? India. Who can change that rule, again India.
India can change.but will not because,this would violate the clauses of tender which will give food for opposition to help create another bofors.That will be the last thing any ruling government would like to see.

power_monger

as per unconfirmed tidbit from an insider on another forums the breaking news is that

Russia is ready for weapons for Food etc items deal with India just like older USSR deals and like argentina

and the offer is being seriously taken in Govt circles
Its time we support our friend.We cannot allow russia to fall. Back in 1990 we could not do anything.But atleast we can now.Hopefully we accept the deal and help russia.BTW,I heard Amul is entering russian market.Is this the begning?

Rafale has always been a good fighter but the company selling it Dassault has been full of shit since day 1 and its the reason why the fighter still has no takers. They have fallen flat on their own promises to many a potential customers and now it is no surprise that the deal is at the brink of failure and I am glad, Rafale made sense if the first squadron was fully delivered by now. I have no confidence on the so called 'empowered team' being sent. I understand that after such a long time of discussion with patience running thin, the DM and the MOD are indeed giving the french one last chance to salvage this. Not much can be said, except Dassault has as per indications violated plenty of clauses in the RFP (regardless of how silly those clauses may be), I doubt this last bit of pressure help the deal any bit.

For things for sure, if the deal fails, no one will buy the Rafale

Best to go for more Super MKI, ideally the modified version that can deploy the Brahmos, Nirbhay and Brahmos-2 in the near future. Since we already have 270, additional 130 MKIs would be great.

What if Rafale is cancelled, who has to lose more, Dassault for us ?

We have plan B, but who will buy rafale in future ?

Its better for Dassault to accept terms of the tender, if they cant, it is better to cancel it.

power_monger

Best to go for more Super MKI, ideally the modified version that can deploy the Brahmos, Nirbhay and Brahmos-2 in the near future. Since we already have 270, additional 130 MKIs would be great.
we can go alternate path of increasing our strategic arms such as conventional missiles for short term solutions for operational prepardness along with additional sukhois.
15 billion dollars is lot of money.

Just to give idea on how much DRDO has spent to develop

Nirbhay missile was developed using just 90 crores.
AESA Radar(uttam) for 490 crores.
Advanced Light Weight Towed Array Sonar (ALTAS) for 115 crores.
QRSAM for 470 crores.
Development of 155/52 Towed Artillery Gun system (ATAGS) for 247 crores.
Prahaar missile for 56 crores.

Some of the stuffs mentioned here are in different stages of development.But it shows how much we are spending for important projects.
15 billion dollars = 1 lakh crore rupees.DRDO entire budget in its life span should be some where that amount. If DRDO is given additional 1 lakh crore,things would have been entirely different.

Punya Pratap

What if Rafale is cancelled, who has to lose more, Dassault for us ?

We have plan B, but who will buy rafale in future ?

Its better for Dassault to accept terms of the tender, if they cant, it is better to cancel it.
With the Mistral delivery stuck due to whatever reasons to Russia and a Rafale deal on the verge of breaking. ... France will loose out big time. They will loose the trust and no one would ever buy anything from the French!

Our beloved IAF might say there's no Plan B but MKI will be more than adequate.

PaliwalWarrior

Its time we support our friend.We cannot allow russia to fall. Back in 1990 we could not do anything.But atleast we can now.Hopefully we accept the deal and help russia.BTW,I heard Amul is entering russian market.Is this the begning?
i dont know but i think it is a good step

when our food cos go to the west they haress in non tariff barriers - like water level fat level pesticide residue level many of such claims are found to be wrong but they still haress our companies

now russia at this time wont do much of a song and dance

AMul entering the russian market - it is the best thing that can happen to boost india russia trade

Meriv90

as per unconfirmed tidbit from an insider on another forums the breaking news is that

Russia is ready for weapons for Food etc items deal with India just like older USSR deals and like argentina

and the offer is being seriously taken in Govt circles
Quite hard, I would like to see a reliable source, since Russia food independence is at 89% more than enought, italian one is for example around 80%, the possible (and really really improbable) deal with Argentina is in food not because russians are in a dire need of it but because Argentina doesn't have anything else to offer and it is in its last resort.

Common banned imports are for 9 billions and only few years ago Putin wasted in a useless bridge 1 billion in Vladivostock

Bangalibaba

What exactly is a Light/Medium/Heavy Mix for the air forces of the world?

If I have understood right, then fighter aircraft are designed specifically for ground-attack, strike, interceptors, close-support et al.

Bombers, a staple of 20th century warfare, are largely obsolete in modern times, largely because of developments in ICBM and cruise missile technology.

And India has no expeditionary ambitions, as yet.
Liked your 'As yet' Part immensely!!

sgarg

With the Mistral delivery stuck due to whatever reasons to Russia and a Rafale deal on the verge of breaking. ... France will loose out big time. They will loose the trust and no one would ever buy anything from the French!

Our beloved IAF might say there's no Plan B but MKI will be more than adequate.
The Europeans have discovered the joy of money printing. The French do not have to export any more. They can get as many Euros from ECB as they want.

I have already predicted on this forum that Rafale will NOT happen for IAF. Even if a deal is signed, not a single Rafale will join IAF. The destiny is very clear - Rafale is NOT in IAF's destiny.

IAF need to focus on locally produced weapons. The sooner it is done, the better it is.

sgarg

Quite hard, I would like to see a reliable source, since Russia food independence is at 89% more than enought, italian one is for example around 80%, the possible (and really really improbable) deal with Argentina is in food not because russians are in a dire need of it but because Argentina doesn't have anything else to offer and it is in its last resort.

Common banned imports are for 9 billions and only few years ago Putin wasted in a useless bridge 1 billion in Vladivostock
India will work out Ruble-Rupee swap with Russia. The mechanism is being worked on. This mechanism will give both countries each other's currency for trade. India will be able to buy Russian goods in ruble while as Russians will be able to buy Indian goods in rupees.

India can change.but will not because, this would violate the clauses of tender which will give food for opposition to help create another bofors.That will be the last thing any ruling government would like to see.
Who cares.

BTW IAF MMRCA tender become useless, just waiting for announcement.

The Europeans have discovered the joy of money printing. The French do not have to export any more. They can get as many Euros from ECB as they want.

I have already predicted on this forum that Rafale will NOT happen for IAF. Even if a deal is signed, not a single Rafale will join IAF. The destiny is very clear - Rafale is NOT in IAF's destiny.

IAF need to focus on locally produced weapons. The sooner it is done, the better it is.
No to new MKI either?

tramp

India will work out Ruble-Rupee swap with Russia. The mechanism is being worked on. This mechanism will give both countries each other's currency for trade. India will be able to buy Russian goods in ruble while as Russians will be able to buy Indian goods in rupees.
India had rupee payment arrangement with the Soviet Union which helped it get over the US ban on arms sales. Maybe some similar arrangement can be worked out.