*Improved DSI
*Lerx modified like of Gripen
*enlarged Intakes
*Fixed IFR

4 crashes?really?any source?

only 1 crash had happened in the past 6 years.that too due to bird hit.
:tsk: you guys think toooo highly of your super dooper Junk fighter :tsk:

An official statement released by PAF authorities, however, did not mention the make of the plane. "A PAF jet aircraft, while on a routine training mission, crashed due to technical malfunction," it said.
Bogey: JF-17 'Thunder' crash jolts plans to sell aircraft – The Express Tribune

after EFT
JFT beats all the fighters in both year to crash ratio or numbers to crash ratio.

Rafale ranks the worst

A rough comparision with the rest of fighter

Years to crash ratio(YTR)

*JFT=1 crash in 5 years (YTR=0.2)
*Gripen=8 crashes in 15 years(YTR=0.5333)
*Rafale=4 crashes in 11 years(YTR=0.363)
*EFT=3 crashes in 9 years(YTR=0.333)
*SU30MKI=3 crashes in 10years(YTR=0.3)
*j-10=3 crashes in 7 years(YTR=0.4285)

add more if anyone want
more

Gripen, ~250 in operation. 6 crashed. That's 2.4% of the fleet.
Rafale, 100+, 5 crashed. That's 5%. All human errors.
EFT, 350, 2 crashed. That's 0.6%.
J-10, 250+, 3 crashed. That's 1.2%.

MKI, 175, 4 crashed (1 prototype crashed in France, I suppose). That's 2.3%. 200, if we estimate the number of aircraft delivered to IAF and undergoing squadron inductions as of today. So around 2% if we add the numbers delivered. I have not added the 18 Su-30Ks that we had for 12 years and have no crash history. Similarly it would be lower for the 4 other aircraft above as well.

JF-17, 47, 1 crashed. That's 2.1%. Out of which the third squadron is yet to be formed and the rest have been in operation for the least amount of time since induction compared to the other aircraft. All the other aircraft have finished 100000 hours compared to JF-17's roughly 10000 hours. Spanking new aircraft to boot.

Overall Rafale and Gripen are the worst followed by JF-17. Rafales were all human errors while flying in tough conditions. Gripen has been serving since over 2 decades now while JF-17 is very new. So, that would push JF-17 below Gripen. So, which is the worst now?

No comparison, fleet wise or in terms of hours flown.
p2prada ↑
Rest of post agreed

but now 50 JFT are in service.

Date:11nov 2012
He said that so far, PAF had been supplied 47 JF-17 Thunders, adding that three more would be handed over to the air force by the end of this year
'PAC Kamra capable of exporting JF-17 Thunder jets' | Business Recorder

which means JFT %age is just 2%.

Gripen crashed a total 8 times not 6times

hence the new ranking would be like this

Best to worst
EFT -0.6%
J-10 1.2%
JFT- 2%
MKI 2.3%
Gripen 3.2%
Rafale 5%
http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/pakistan/27240-paf-jf-17-thunder-crashed-attock-19.html

If you go near and take a big photo it too will look as big as JF-17's
even a blind if able to see will tell you JFT intakes are atleast twice or slight even more than twice the size of Advance jet trainer LCA.which is the reason Why tejas cant go more than 1.2-4mach

F-22 does not have sexy DSI. Will it make F-22 3rd gen fighter.
The job of the intake is to provide enough air to engine. Whater it is DSI or splitter plate.
the DSI was tested on f-16.which resulted in almost same performance as non dsi and rather even improved performance at some level.
DSI is a complex tech and france might not be willing to help you guys out here.and you are not capable of even bringing up a reliable AJT karan leave alone putting dsi into LCA

So do you think TYPHOON , SUKHOI-30 MKi, SUKHOI-35 ,and F-22 which have no DSI intake like TEJAS inferior to JF-17?
No they are not but DSI indeed is a plus time..Beside this DSI is a latest tech while all the fighter you mentioned were designed 3 decades before,or prior to the invention of DSI

after EFT
JFT beats all the fighters in both year to crash ratio or numbers to crash ratio.

Rafale ranks the worst
Bhai Jaan,

LCA is the best... there was no crash in its history of flying...

If I am not wrong, a total three JF-17s have crashed till date. The figure of just one crash seems to be wrong.

Bhai Jaan,

LCA is the best... there was no crash in its history of flying...
do you know LCA in the past 3 decades has only completed 2000 odd sorties.when as per chinese forums 1 single prototype of JFT in CAC the pt-06 had completed more than 1000h flight profile and still continue.

First crash of JFT happened only 10000k sorties in nov 2011.must be over 20000k sorties now.or may be even more.

Please never compare JFT to LCA.
i feel offended

If I am not wrong, a total three JF-17s have crashed till date. The figure of just one crash seems to be wrong.
no your very much wrong.

1 crash had happened.if you can prove otherwise than please do

in Pakistan a UAV crash is reported let alone a Fighter aircraft

Official Picture of JFT with mar-1 from PAC

mar-1 confirmation from ideas def expo 2012

JFT with C-802

do you know LCA in the past 3 decades has only completed 2000 odd sorties.when as per chinese forums 1 single prototype of JFT in CAC the pt-06 had completed more than 1000h flight profile and still continue.

First crash of JFT happened only 10000k sorties in nov 2011.must be over 20000k sorties now.or may be even more.

Please never compare JFT to LCA.
i feel offended
Can you please provide the source for it...

Lol Pak sent Blunders to escort Chini PM aircraft. Chaaplusi ki koi hud nahi

So, Junk Fight is the future Stealth fighter of pakistan? Niieeeece!

@bose

sure

Note this is completed since nov 2011.it must have clocked more than 20k as of now

http://www.ainonline.com/aviation-n...an-jf-17-fighter-slated-block-2-upgradeshttp:

EDIT***

Ooops the link is dead now..anyway there is a video of JFT program head from CAC as well.
and this is a snapshot captured from the video confirmation about 10k sorties.

Pakistani JF-17 Thunder Fighter Jet Detailed:Official Presentation Part II ~ Pakistan Military Review
The link is not working... anyway can you tell JFT can drop bombs ? Can it detect LCA that has a small RCS before LCA detect JFT ??

Picture already posted.basically a snapshot from the JFT program head from CAC

what makes you think that lca has smaller rcs than JFT?

LCA clean rcs must be around 2-3m2..
while JFT rcs are said to be the least in PAF inventory.which makes it smaller even more than f-16.and f-16 standard block rcs are considered 1.2m2 as average.

Though it is not about which fighter detects which one first..because bvr are not fired at max range.if the range is 100km than it is better to fire the bvr at 60-70km.

so by than both the fighter would have detected each other

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Picture already posted.basically a snapshot from the JFT program head from CAC

what makes you think that lca has smaller rcs than JFT?

LCA clean rcs must be around 2-3m2..
while JFT rcs are said to be the least in PAF inventory.which makes it smaller even more than f-16.and f-16 standard block rcs are considered 1.2m2 as average.

Though it is not about which fighter detects which one first..because bvr are not fired at max range.if the range is 100km than it is better to fire the bvr at 60-70km.

so by than both the fighter would have detected each other
Where is the source for your LCA RCS claim? What makes you think that when JF-17 can fire 100 km missile , the LCA Tejas cannot integrate 100 km range BVR? Any structural deficiency?

because the design makes me thinks so.

where i said it cant?it can

what i meant is BVR are not launched at max range.