ISRO General News and Updates

Yes, labor cost are higher there but still they are managing cost comparable to us plus look at their 10 yr plans, they will be building launchers to launch far higher of sats in space than us. SpaceX is already launching 60 starlink sat in cluster in Falcon 9, they recently broke ISRO records of launching highest no of sat in one mission. They can repurpose Falcon 9 fairing to include only small or nano sat and there goes our ISRO's lower labor cost advantages.
What I said remains.
which is a head start for companies from relatively lower income spacefaring nations before they incorporate optimum tech.
Their advantage is going to accumulate since they won't catch US & EU per capita income levels at least in this half of century.
This is generally true with low tech items but countries with Lower labor cost and skills in Space technology should emerge by that time. I foresee few countries with lower labor cost but I do not foresee those countries emerging as space power who can provide space services at a lower cost. That is why I see India leading in High tech technology sectors with cost advantage for a long long time.
Yup, there will be very few yet even if cost advantage of current vendors deteriorates. Not so many countries have eco system or technological knowhow for a reasonable aerospace sector. And since this tech is strategic in nature, not so many countries will get it from their "master" nations.

SavageKing456

Yes, labor cost are higher there but still they are managing cost comparable to us plus look at their 10 yr plans, they will be building launchers to launch far higher of sats in space than us. SpaceX is already launching 60 starlink sat in cluster in Falcon 9, they recently broke ISRO records of launching highest no of sat in one mission. They can repurpose Falcon 9 fairing to include only small or nano sat and there goes our ISRO's lower labor cost advantages.

Look into what has already happened in space sector in Indian and rest of the world till now and what are the actual plans for next 10 years and what the companies are doing to actually realize these plans.
Even the ISRO's semi-cryogenic engine is no where near completion that we could cluster and increase payload capacity

Mantospace

Certification would take time and then integration
The last news we heard was in 2k19 when it had to goto Ukraine for testing
Yeah, so it means engine is ready. And there is a feeling that isro or goi dont want to work heavy payloads vehicles, atleast for another 5/6 years.

Even the ISRO's semi-cryogenic engine is no where near completion that we could cluster and increase payload capacity
I am hearing this for over a decade now that ISRO is already working on this technology or that technology but the technology never comes online! by the time ISRO comes up with anything substantial, some player in global market have already dominated the place.

40 years is long time to be matured in terms of process & execution.
Once we considered isro as best performing asset of government , then came drdo of 2020.

Isro need reforms , launch should be frequent and project should be completed in time , they are deploying all their energy in gaganyaan , whereas we should focus more on reusable launch vehicle ,earn some profit and invest in rnd more

Once we considered isro as best performing asset of government , then came drdo of 2020.

Isro need reforms , launch should be frequent and project should be completed in time , they are deploying all their energy in gaganyaan , whereas we should focus more on reusable launch vehicle ,earn some profit and invest in rnd more
Exactly, what we are saying for ISRO today was what we were saying for DRDO a decade back.
ISRO used to be our darling in India, where none of Govt PSU were expected to perform. ISRO was doing amazing stuff although compared to these PSU only (global players were still much faster).
But over the last few years DRDO has managed to turned around its image completely, so many projects are running in parallel, so many projects are showing results also.
But ISRO seems to have lost track, even after so much years, where a lot of rocket stuff is outsourced to private players we are still seeing only 4-6 launches per year, SSLV nowhere to be seen, Powerful engines no where to be seen, only thing which is coming out is "ISRO is already working on the same".

mandestiny

Exactly, what we are saying for ISRO today was what we were saying for DRDO a decade back.
ISRO used to be our darling in India, where none of Govt PSU were expected to perform. ISRO was doing amazing stuff although compared to these PSU only (global players were still much faster).
But over the last few years DRDO has managed to turned around its image completely, so many projects are running in parallel, so many projects are showing results also.
But ISRO seems to have lost track, even after so much years, where a lot of rocket stuff is outsourced to private players we are still seeing only 4-6 launches per year, SSLV nowhere to be seen, Powerful engines no where to be seen, only thing which is coming out is "ISRO is already working on the same".
Yeah DRDO really doing good work. ISRO need good and energetic chairman.

SavageKing456

You never knew that DRDO had much more strain of work than ISRO.
DRDO had to literally do R&D even smaller components and defence programs required more knowledge because they're more advanced.
Humans are still noobs in space technology but progressing well in defence,getting new ideas and implementing it faster.
The reason could be more spending in defence.
Just imagine all other countries who are spending billions in defence spent that on space programmes a benchmark would've been set which would've caused same strain on ISRO.
Probably some people say "India has built cryogenic engine for GSLV,but couldn't make kaveri gas turbine"
Because turbofan engines are too hard and way more complex than cryogenic engines.
Defence technologies are more advanced than space technologies for now.

mandestiny

Why GOI not providing more funds to DRDO & ISRO why same figure every year.

30K crore to aise hi nikal ayenge . Isse jada to corruption main money loss hoon jatte hai.

Gerlat

Advantage of ISRO mainly around low costs for space mission and not in the case of launching satellites. India depends on forien countries for heavy launch and yet to start developement of super heavy rocket. USA/EU/Chinese need a large number of satellites for global space application, space exploration, planet exploration etc.
Question is does isro meeting Indian requirements- 88% yes which is a way better than DRDO/ HAL/ dpsu/ ofb.
NASA developing new space launch vehicle/crew module and buying engine from Russia and need Russia support. ISRO still one of the best.

Gerlat

ISRO main launch vehicle is PSLV.
PSLV gto - 1.3t,GSLV - 2.5t
Space x- Falcon 9 gto- 8t. Heavy - 28t.
Before making further comparison-
How many satellites does India, USA, Chinese, EU, Russia having and planned ?
How many satellites Indian private company having ?
ISRO meets Indian demands 85% which is a way better than DRDO/ofb/HAL/dpsu etc.
Only Chinese, French, Russian better than Indian because they having heavy lifter/super heavy lifter and operating space station.
I need a update in the case of USA, last time I read they're developing heavy/super heavy. Space x, etc were private, can't compare with ISRO. It's like comparing BSNL vs Jio.

ISRO main launch vehicle is PSLV.
PSLV gto - 1.3t,GSLV - 2.5t
Space x- Falcon 9 gto- 8t. Heavy - 28t.
Before making further comparison-
How many satellites does India, USA, Chinese, EU, Russia having and planned ?
How many satellites Indian private company having ?
ISRO meets Indian demands 85% which is a way better than DRDO/ofb/HAL/dpsu etc.
Only Chinese, French, Russian better than Indian because they having heavy lifter/super heavy lifter and operating space station.
I need a update in the case of USA, last time I read they're developing heavy/super heavy. Space x, etc were private, can't compare with ISRO. It's like comparing BSNL vs Jio.
GSLV MK3 is India’s heaviest payload carrying vehicle at 5 Tonnes...
1614845929818.jpeg