ISRO General News and Updates

Vyom

Seeker
What's with the naming. Number 2 was launched before number 1?

Param

Can someone please name all our dedicated Mil satellites as well as dual purpose satellites?

It's too confusing. The only satellites I know are INSAT and IRS :D

Param

And when is GSLV GOING TO be launched
Its not the GSLV itself that's so interesting but the indigenous Cryogenic stage. Since last time the home made Cryo failed I think this time they will be using the same Russian one.

ok then when they are going to launched home made Cyro

There is also an intelligence sharing pact between India and Israel.
Yes, such collaborations happen frequently. All the data gathered by desi and foreign satellites onboard ChandraYaan was shared with ISRO. (and why not , we're the ones who bloody took them on Moon, that too in a budget flight :D )

JAISWAL

India going to launch an X-ray telescope satellite Polix to study black holes.

ISRO is in a race with NASA over putting X-ray telescope in space - Bangalore - DNA

Scientists at Raman Research Institute (RRI) are building an X-ray telescope to be sent to space to explain the nature of black holes.

A jointly funded project of the RRI and the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the X-ray polarimeter experiment for astronomical research, affectionately called Polix, will study the polarisation of X-rays from cosmic sources.

"We are building the telescope and Isro will be building the satellite that will take it to space. This would be the first X-ray polarisation mission to space. We submitted a proposal to ISRO and we received the funding. The equipment will be ready this year and it will be up to ISRO to build the satellite," said Dr Biswajit Paul, principal investigator of Polix.

Paul said the telescope would study how a black hole influences the space around it and also the magnetic structure of neutron stars.

"There is a lot of important science that can be done around black holes. We hope to find concrete evidence of some of the predictions for the general theory of relativity," said Paul.

The Gravity and Extreme Magnetism Small Explorer (Gems) being developed by Nasa is also an X-ray telescope slated for launch in 2014. It is similar to Polix.

"We are competing strongly to launch before they do but Gems is much more sensitive and our work can be complementary to one another. But yes, our goal is to launch before they do," he said.

Polix is more economical than the Gems project. "Our instrument has a budget of about Rs12 crore to Rs14 crore. It will cost about Rs100 crore to launch the satellite. The budget for Nasa's mission is about $150 million.

"We are a small fraction of that and we will be able to do a significant amount of work that the NASA's mission will accomplish," he said.

ISRO focused on RISAT-1 launch

Feb 02, 2012

BANGALORE: It's business hours as usual for the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). The message amidst the mess, is to stay focused on immediate missions and not the madness orbiting them, thanks to the Devas-Antrix row.

Warming up for a possible mid-March launch is PSLV-C19 carrying the Radar Imaging Satellite (RISAT-1). Not cowed down by non-stop criticism and direct shelling by the scientific czars, ISRO Chairman K Radhakrishnan has made up his mind not to enter the boxing ring. "Our onus is on the next launch. So many critical technologies are being readied and I am moving forward in confidence. As I said earlier, only mission matters," Radhakrishnan told Express.

"We are putting everything in place towards this launch. ISRO has a huge work culture that's inspiring. We have our peers to whom we look forward. They are our guiding lights. They advice us ahead of critical mission. All my team assemble in an auditorium to debate and question about various launch preparedness," Radhakrishnan said.

According to him, the PSLV-C19 will be the 21st launch of PSLV and in this mission, the 'XL' version of PSLV with six strap-on motors (PSOM-XL) is used. "These strap-ons are larger than the ones used in PSLV 'standard' version. This will be the third launch of the 'XL' version of PSLV. The 44-metre tall PSLV-C19.

will have a lift-off mass of about 320 tonnne and it will carry the RISAT-1 remote sensing satellite into orbit," Radhakrishnan said, in the company of his two trusted lieutenants. The home-grown remote sensing satellite is capable of taking day and night images of Earth even under hostile weather conditions. "It will be one launch to watch as the disaster-management capabilities of India will increase immensely.

Outsmarting the cloud-cover to take images will be a significant achievement, only a few nations can boast of. We are delighted about the prospects of this launch," Radhakrishnan said.

The microwave remote sensing RISAT-1 carries a C-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) payload, operating at 5.35 GHz in multi-polarization and multi-resolution mode (ScanSAR, Strip and Spot modes) to provide images with coarse, fine andhigh spatial resolutions respectively.

"The SAR, being an active radar sensor, operating in the microwave region of electromagnetic spectrum, has the unique capability of imaging in all weather conditions. The SAR payload is based on an active phased array technology using (TR) modules," said an aide.

ISRO focused on RISAT-1 launch - southindia - Karnataka - ibnlive

The satellite is scheduled for launch anytime after March 15, 2012 by PSLV-C19(XL)

We really need this very badly Our real time imaging capabilities will get a big boost with this

Best of Luck to ISRO

So along with Venus, Mars is also in the radar of ISRO? Good one.

Chota

GSLV-MK3 Test this year (2012) -- Updates?

All we know is that the the C25 stage is not ready yet..But there is a talk that GSLV - Mk3 test is planned before this year end with a dummy third stage. Any updates?

Nope, i wont believe them until they successfully test it

Chota

^^ The detachable solid boosters and twin engine liquid stages are already ground tested 2 times.. What s remaining is the cryogenic stage..Instead of waiting till the cryo stage is ready, there is a talk to test the vehicle with a dummy 3rd stage.

dude thats the point isn't it. We have not tested a cryogenic engine yet! And till they test one(indigenously) i will remain skeptic.