ISRO General News and Updates

BREAKING: Gaganyaan project may fail.
WTF is "breaking" there?

Our required parameters are pretty different, taking humans into LEO and staying there for 5-7 days. For meeting deadline, adjustments will be made and parameters can be eased.

Deadline will be pushed ahead only due to safety concerns.
After doing research on this subject I have concluded that Gaganyaan mission can't take place in 2022.
But can't fail.
No human rated launch pad. If (a big if) they start building next year it will take 3 to 4 years.
TLP is already under construction. However, it's not expected to be operational before 2023.
No progress in HLS system eg. O2 recycler, CO2 scrubbers, human support system etc. It will take many years to make and validate the same.
In place, validation pending.
Space food & medicine in development.
No progress in subsystems development either.
Data relay satellites or docking systems? All are in pipeline.
No validation of spacesuit in high altitude flights.
Will be there after other sets of validation.
No final selection process for astronauts even in 2019. Just 3 years before supposed mission.
Ongoing
No training facilities for astronauts
Established.
No roadmap for LV testing.
5 successful launches are needed for human rating.
First unamanned Gaganyaan in December 2020, second in July 2021 and manned one (scheduled) for December 2021.

Follow Indian human spaceflight program thread for updates
A realistic timeline for ISRO's human spaceflight would be post 2030.
2025-26
Maybe 2035-2040 period at earliest.
That'd be the period for space habitation module or a space station.

Yes, ISRO has officially stated about manned space station.
After 2022's timeline failure would put project in cold storage.

The project will be put in cold storage only if UPA regains. Because it's only them who have been plugging it out again & again.
People will see ISRO as a failed organization, Big humiliation on international level.
Failed & humiliated?
One of world's largest space agencies will full launch capacity, extra terrestrial probes and probably even heavy launchers by then.
Political funding will stop and the project will die slow death.
Funding doesn't come from politics. IHSP is as old as 2003 and gradually capabilities have been built up to achieve this. It can be delayed not cancelled after being this near.

Vehicle is there, spacecraft is there, subsystems are there.
More important, its symbolic in itself to add another feather in cap for an emerging great power.

There is no valid point that could give a reason for its cancellation.
To win people's confidence back ISRO may ink contract with SPACE-X or Roscosmos for a token space mission from abroad.
Since when ISRO started running on "people's confidence"?
Conclusion: India may never send humans in space on their own for foreseeable future.
Conclusion is that ISRO will either miss deadline or a human space mission with eased parameters just to touch orbit will fly in 2022 to meet deadline.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
WTF is "breaking" there?
After spending considerable time researching the subject, speaking with industry insiders I have came to a conclusion that is industry first hence "breaking". You will hear similar analysis from mainstream publications in 2021 and beyond.

Our required parameters are pretty different, taking humans into LEO and staying there for 5-7 days. For meeting deadline, adjustments will be made and parameters can be eased.
What parameters will be eased? Are you talking about scientific or duration in space? Here I am talking about basics.

Deadline will be pushed ahead only due to safety concerns.
The deadline is unrealistic to begin with. It will be pushed because they won't be ready.

TLP is already under construction. However, it's not expected to be operational before 2023.
Please provide your source regarding construction. As of now there is no movement on ground. Without HRLP/TLP mission is a big NO GO.

In place, validation pending.
So according to you ISRO has completed work on ECLSS all the way to validation stage. Seriously? This must be a joke!

Space food & medicine in development.
What about
Radiation protection,
micrometeorite shielding,
Decompression survival,
Microgravity Countermeasures,
Thermal Control,
Attitude Control
Fire Protection,
Body Waste Management,
Water recycling,
and many many many more elements? But according to you they have manage to put food & medicine in squeeze tube so human spaceflight is ready to go.

Data relay satellites or docking systems? All are in pipeline.
Docking??? Are you dreaming about Gaganyaan taking crew to ISS????

Do you believe ISRO(or any other agency) can design a suit without any high altitude validation? Its not like you design a space suit and then test in the end. When it comes to space suits, design and validation are simultaneous process.

If you logic is ISRO is nowadays putting some orange suits in expos therefore it must be ready. In that case sorry to burst your bubble but what you see in ISRO's expos are mock up artistic ideas of what actual space suit may or may not look like.

In reality there is no space suit yet.

Again source? Please don't quote resent news about IAF pilots might be next indian astronauts because every person in the industry knew that from day 1. What I am asking is actual selection process which according to you is ongoing. What are merits? Qualifiers? BMRs? How many in shortlist?

5 successful launches are needed for human rating.
First unamanned Gaganyaan in December 2020, second in July 2021 and manned one (scheduled) for December 2021.
Even as per your logic and figures those are two fully loaded launches. Where is five?

That is nice thread but I have some direct contacts for updates.

Not possible with such complex mission. 2035+ is more reasonable but by then project will be scrapped anyway.

That'd be the period for space habitation module or a space station.
Yes, ISRO has officially stated about manned space station.
ISRO can say whatever they want but reality will speak otherwise. If you don't know cost of ISS than let me enlighten you its $150000000000 USD, in INR it would be Rs 10546500000000.

The project will be put in cold storage only if UPA regains. Because it's only them who have been plugging it out again & again.
The project will be put in cold storage because of missed deadlines and massive cost overruns regardless of ruling party.

BTW UPA is more science supporter than NDA but that is another debate, irrelevant to this topic.

Failed & humiliated?
One of world's largest space agencies will full launch capacity, extra terrestrial probes and probably even heavy launchers by then.
By 2025 (your deadline) SPACEX and NASA will be working on space colonies, JAXA and CNASA will be readying their lunar human missions. Even Pakistan will have their citizens in space by 2022 (with help of CNASA). Here in India ISRO will be giving deadlines after deadlines with no clear path in sight.

In light of above events ISRO will be humiliated. We may not like this but this is a fact.

Funding doesn't come from politics.
Funding always come from politics. Kennedy had a dream to put man on moon and he did that in a dacade by massive funding of NASA. Now please don't compare Modi with Kennedy, both are world apart.

IHSP is as old as 2003 and gradually capabilities have been built up to achieve this. It can be delayed not cancelled after being this near.
ISRO is nowhere near sending humans in space. This unreasonable 2022 timeline will cause delays and eventually kill the program. This is a fact.

Vehicle is there, spacecraft is there, subsystems are there.
Vehicle is not human rated, spacecraft doesn't have life support, subsystems are just theories at this point. Nothing is ready.

More important, its symbolic in itself to add another feather in cap for an emerging great power.
There is no valid point that could give a reason for its cancellation.
Money and time will be reason for IHSP's death.

Since when ISRO started running on "people's confidence"?
Why do you think they are wasting their time with Yuvika programm and recent launch stadium. ISRO needs good PR for money.

Conclusion is that ISRO will either miss deadline or a human space mission with eased parameters just to touch orbit will fly in 2022 to meet deadline.
Its all wishful thinking no substance.

jadoogar

After spending considerable time researching the subject, speaking with industry insiders I have came to a conclusion that is industry first hence "breaking". You will hear similar analysis from mainstream publications in 2021 and beyond.

What parameters will be eased? Are you talking about scientific or duration in space? Here I am talking about basics.

The deadline is unrealistic to begin with. It will be pushed because they won't be ready.

Please provide your source regarding construction. As of now there is no movement on ground. Without HRLP/TLP mission is a big NO GO.

So according to you ISRO has completed work on ECLSS all the way to validation stage. Seriously? This must be a joke!

What about
Radiation protection,
Decompression survival,
Thermal Control,
Attitude Control
Fire Protection,
Body Waste Management,
Water recycling,
and many many many more elements? But according to you they have manage to put food & medicine in squeeze tube so human spaceflight is ready to go.

Do you believe ISRO(or any other agency) can design a suit without any high altitude validation? Its not like you design a space suit and then test in the end. When it comes to space suits, design and validation are simultaneous process.

If you logic is ISRO is nowadays putting some orange suits in expos therefore it must be ready. In that case sorry to burst your bubble but what you see in ISRO's expos are mock up artistic ideas of what actual space suit may or may not look like.

Again source? Please don't quote resent news about IAF pilots might be next indian astronauts because every person in the industry knew that from day 1. What I am asking is actual selection process which according to you is ongoing. What are merits? Qualifiers? BMRs? How many in shortlist?

Even as per your logic and figures those are two fully loaded launches. Where is five?

Not possible with such complex mission. 2035+ is more reasonable but by then project will be scrapped anyway.

ISRO can say whatever they want but reality will speak otherwise. If you don't know cost of ISS than let me enlighten you its $150000000000 USD, in INR it would be Rs 10546500000000.

The project will be put in cold storage because of missed deadlines and massive cost overruns regardless of ruling party.

BTW UPA is more science supporter than NDA but that is another debate, irrelevant to this topic.

By 2025 (your deadline) SPACEX and NASA will be working on space colonies, JAXA and CNASA will be readying their lunar human missions. Even Pakistan will have their citizens in space by 2022 (with help of CNASA). Here in India ISRO will be giving deadlines after deadlines with no clear path in sight.

In light of above events ISRO will be humiliated. We may not like this but this is a fact.

Funding always come from politics. Kennedy had a dream to put man on moon and he did that in a dacade by massive funding of NASA. Now please don't compare Modi with Kennedy, both are world apart.

ISRO is nowhere near sending humans in space. This unreasonable 2022 timeline will cause delays and eventually kill the program. This is a fact.

Vehicle is not human rated, spacecraft doesn't have life support, subsystems are just theories at this point. Nothing is ready.

Why do you think they are wasting their time with Yuvika programm and recent launch stadium. ISRO needs good PR for money.

Space-X had a huge huge layoff recently after failing to get bought by Tesla due to some alert investor opposition. Also had to run to wall street to get another billion dollars.

So ISRO can bail out space-X - but what is there in it for ISRO ? The pot should be sweetened quite a bit for ISRO.

Human space flight is not that important - time period not critical - can be done when ready.

Why not get Space-X sold to some deep pocketed entity like Boeing or Lockheed Martin or Apple or Google or FB or Amazon, Microsoft. All these entities have 100 billion dollar cash every year and can easily fund and develop Space-X.

Or fold it back into NASA. After all the Chinese space program is state funded. And the Chinese had demonstrated human space flight :rofl:

Gessler

After 2022's timeline failure would put project in cold storage. People will see ISRO as a failed organization, Big humiliation on international level. Political funding will stop and the project will die slow death.
Going by that metric, funding for LCA program should have ceased and project would have died by 2005 itself.

You seem to not know how institutions work in India. Especially state-run ones. A delay of 1-2 years is absolutely nothing. We are used to delays of 10-20 years or more.

Is Gaganyaan likely to get delayed? I must say it is pretty likely. But thinking that will cause any long-lasting effect on the industry or ISRO in general is crazy. There is only one way that will happen: if the mission is launched and ends in failure with the vyomanauts dying. Even then it's unlikely we will give up. We didn't give up when the indigenous cryogenic engines failed for the first few times.

We have one thing riding in favor of us: we aren't competing with anyone. There is no rush. So any drastic reconsideration happening as a result of a delayed Gaganyaan is totally out of question. If not in 2022, then we go in 2024. If not, in 2026.

The mission to put humans in space will remain just as true.

By 2025 (your deadline) SPACEX and NASA will be working on space colonies, JAXA and CNASA will be readying their lunar human missions. . Here in India ISRO will be giving deadlines after deadlines with no clear path in sight.

What is this ....... " Even Pakistan will have their citizens in space by 2022 (with help of CNASA) "

How is this even a factor or even something to write home about in the context of ISRO manned mission ?

I simply fail to understand why you even mentioned porkistan . It's a case of begane shaadi me bikhari abdullah deewana :pound::pound::pound:

After 40+ countries yeah sure porkistan's is going to do something so earth shattering that it puts to notice what India as the 4th country in the world is trying to do.

Are you trying too hard to emulate indian presstitudes ?

I have a feeling you are a porky , an Indian space enthusiast even if critical of isro will not mention porkistan with space .
That's a joke

• After 2022's timeline failure would put project in cold storage. People will see ISRO as a failed organization, Big humiliation on international level. Political funding will stop and the project will die slow death.
  • To win people's confidence back ISRO may ink contract with SPACE-X or Roscosmos for a token space mission from abroad.
Khatarnak negativity hai bhai tumhari.
ISRO is doing things that even if a failure occur, world will not look away (though I do hope this does not happen with manned space mission ).
Even if they can't do in that time frame, they can do it within 2030 then also INDIA WILL STILL BE THE FOURTH Nation to do this sort of thing.
I AM NOT AT ALL WORRIED ABOUT "NON-EXISTENT HUMILIATION".

Advaidhya Tiwari

ISRO only plans to stay in LEO for 1-2 days or at best 1 week. There is not really much of an ISS type intent. So, parameters are already eased

The deadline is unrealistic to begin with. It will be pushed because they won't be ready
Deadline is unrealistic is something I agree but that is not exactly deadline but tentative date. We are not going to kill anyone for reaching deadline. Moreover, with assistance from Russia and France for human rated technology it is possible to be within 2022. Since human rated technology is not something of military value, I don't see uch of a hurdle in getting assistance

Note that if the requirement to stay in space is for short duration, many things can be done away. Waste management, recycle etc are unnecessary or minimally needed.

What about
Radiation protection,
Decompression survival,
Thermal Control,
Attitude Control
Fire Protection,
Body Waste Management,
Water recycling,
How many of these are difficult? We don't need water recyle etc of duration is short.

How exactly did USA make suits in 1960s or USSR make it in 1961? But ISRO must circus

Not possible with such complex mission. 2035+ is more reasonable but by then project will be scrapped anyway
Why not 2100? Why does one need 20 years? Is there a special handicap with India?

Yeah, the problem here is bloating of US dollar by USA. Real cost in terms of material is much less. In Indian standard of salary and cost, the cost will be much less. What was the cost of Chinese space station by the way? Moreover, India does not intend to have any station in space. I have strong reason to say this

BTW UPA is more science supporter than NDA but that is another debate, irrelevant to this topi
Hmmm..... India has seen projects delayed by 15-20 years and still functioning and yet you say project will be scrapped? Moreover, UP is better in space? Lol! Entire space R&D happened under Indira (with USSR help), PVNR & BJP.

Colony where? Growing potatoes in Mars? Are you sure you don't watch too many movies?

Was Kennedy a superman? Moreover, if the technology is indiegenous, the cost in terms of forex will be minimal and hence there is no problem funding internally. It will be like govt expenditure on roads

None is near till it is done. Near is a speculative word. You are taking deadline too literally. No one is going to end up dead. It is just tentative. Realistic one is likely 2025. So, 2022 is expected to be delayed to 2025.

But even the 2022 deadline can be met if countries like Russia, France give assistance in periheral technology like temperature control and other human rated technology.

We are in 2019. If you want everything ready several years in advance, it is your problem. As I said, it is possible to get all human rated technology from other nations as it does not pose a military threat. So, things ca be fastened up.
Why do you think they are wasting their time with Yuvika programm and recent launch stadium. ISRO needs good PR for money
This is something to get young talent. Calling it as PR for money is foolishness. ISRO does not need donation

Adrian Corvus

You are being too much of a pessimist. If ISRO does want to, why do you think it will be as big as the ISS, look at Skylab (2.2B), it would more like that (plus ISRO loves to do everything at a low cost)
BREAKING: Gaganyaan project may fail
This seems more like just-another attention seeking stuff.
After doing research on this subject I have concluded that Gaganyaan mission can't take place in 2022.
Oh...well we would all be pleased to read your research material and know your sources.

What about
Radiation protection,
Decompression survival,
Thermal Control,
Attitude Control
Fire Protection,
Body Waste Management,
Water recycling,

Sorry buddy. But it seems that your insider source has thrown you bait and hook.

LP1.jpg

LP2.jpg

LP3.jpg

Please count the number of launchpads. So the TLP status could be seen here itself.

Moreover you might have missed this particular para of reporting.

Sivan said that the Gaganyaan mission will be an Indian affair with some help from other countries for training and selection of astronauts. “The launch vehicle and the crew capsule will be India-made. The selection and initial training of the astronauts will carried out under an Indian system.”
https://www.thehindubusinessline.co...-for-middle-of-april-isro/article25968158.ece

So the crew, crew module and vehicle would be Indian. But it is no where told that all the subsystems would be build from scratch in house.

Although it is a non-political thread, but somewhere I say that it has been mentioned that UPA was more inclined towards science then NDA. It might be. But let us have a look at one report from 2010.

ISRO's Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) in Sriharikota will soon initiate the process of creating Third Launch Pad for human transportation into space, SHRC Director Chandra Datttan said on Tuesday during Republic Day celebrations.

After unfurling the Tricolour at the SDSC, he said the work may start in six months with an estimated cost of Rs 12,000 crore.

The Third Launch Pad is required for the 2015 Human Space Flight Mission and beyond, a senior official of ISRO said.
https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...r-human-space-flight-mission-65857-2010-01-26

So you see, the Human mission is not something which NDA or for that Modi suggested. It was planned way back in last decade. But we all know how was the funding and political support towards institutions like these that it took more then two years after this announcement to start work on TLP. We already missed the 2015 timeline because of political inclination to the project.

darshan978

Darth Vader
Khatarnak negativity hai bhai tumhari.
ISRO is doing things that even if a failure occur, world will not look away (though I do hope this does not happen with manned space mission ).
Even if they can't do in that time frame, they can do it within 2030 then also INDIA WILL STILL BE THE FOURTH Nation to do this sort of thing.
I AM NOT AT ALL WORRIED ABOUT "NON-EXISTENT HUMILIATION".
As always one of them , an attention grabber indian...
Who just try to go against the flow of thinking and get successful in grabbing few spoons of attention...

obviously, that's not the TLD- "third launch pad" but the SVAB
so, no TLD construction so far as the GE image shows.

Thanks for pointing this out. But just a small confusion.

LP1.jpg

This is the First Launch Pad with the VAB.

pslv-c29_on_the_first_launch_pad_with_vehicle_assembly_building_in_background.jpg

This is the 1st VAB.

Now lets have a look at the 2nd Launch pad.

LP2.jpg

Now if we trace the road to the VAB, we could see the below image.

VAB.jpg

Two VABs.

12fullyintegratedpslv.jpg

Now I have yet to learn of the Third VAB

shiphone

errrr....this is the VAB(Vehicle Assembly Building ) of SLP, the building behind is the SSAB(solid stage assembly building)

---------------
and this one(white tower) on the FLP is not called VAB but MST(Mobile structure tower), we normally call it Mobile Service Tower in our system...MST moves away after the LV assembly, VAB not...

-----------
and this is the pink SVAB...it seems to be a part of TLP,but at this moment, the LV assembled here might have to move to SLP to launch...

G10

There is no third VAB. I think SVAB will supply to all LP’s. May be in far future. Who knows.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Sigh... so much ignorance on full display here. I don't mind or care because a genius is never understood by ignorant.

Chandrayan 2 mission benefits.

errrr....this is the VAB(Vehicle Assembly Building ) of SLP, the building behind is the SSAB(solid stage assembly building)

---------------
and this one(white tower) on the FLP is not called VAB but MST(Mobile structure tower), we normally call it Mobile Service Tower in our system...MST moves away after the LV assembly, VAB not...

-----------
and this is the pink SVAB...it seems to be a part of TLP,but at this moment, the LV assembled here might have to move to SLP to launch...

Thanks............... ISRO has just changed the nomenclature as per verb IMO. MST in FLP is used for INTEGRATION whereas VAB is used for ASSEMBLY in SLP.

But I think TLP is already there in place.

TLP.jpg

G10

This image is augmentation of first launch pad project. FLP is undergoing a big upgrade. Dont know if FLP will become TLP.
Wiki
The first launch pad is undergoing major expansion with PIF (PSLV Integration Facilities) project worth 475 crore (US$69 million) . Once complete, the first launch pad is expected to cater to around 15 launches per year.

might not be a good forum topic

is it mild to say the least that isro is pleased of some of the launch date is after may 23 not right before - the weather is also accomodating.

it is also a reminder to anyone and everyone get your eggs and milk and all the action done well before may 23 - you can use it - people have good memory of such things - asat and much more.