INS Vishal (IAC- II) Aircraft Carrier - Flattop or Ski Jump

Overlord

Any idea what type of Carrier it will be (if get sanctioned) - CATOBAR or STOBAR.
I really hope a CATOBAR this time.

Any idea what type of Carrier it will be (if get sanctioned) - CATOBAR or STOBAR.
Can't be a CATOBAR because it would require significant modifications and result in multiyear delays. It will be STOBAR but they should increase the tonnage to 55K and increase the length of the deck to allow for up to 44 planes and helicopters.

NutCracker

Can't be a CATOBAR because it would require significant modifications and result in multiyear delays. It will be STOBAR but they should increase the tonnage to 55K and increase the length of the deck to allow for up to 44 planes and helicopters.
I (wish NAVY ) would prefer 11-12 years for Nuclear+ catobar.
Cant launch AWACS from stobar.

If its STOBAR, make lifts big enough for V22 osprey AWACS ( although I never seen pic its AWACS variant).

Corvus Splendens

Vikrant 2 with wider lifts, maybe a few thousand tones more in displacement, more hanger space and longer takeoff angles. Don't see any possibility for catapults soon as EMALs hasn't been tested.

WORK HAS BEGUN ON SECOND AIRCRAFT CARRIER: DEFENCE MINISTER
After the launch of the indigenously built INS Vikrant, India has started work on its second aircraft carrier, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh said on Friday. Addressing a talk show, Singh said India became the seventh country in the world to build an aircraft carrier when it launched INS Vikrant recently.

"When India became Independent not even a needle was manufactured in the country. In 2022, we are building a massive aircraft carrier like INS Vikrant," Singh said. He said a few years back nobody would have believed that India was capable of such a thing. "After the US, UK, France, Germany, China and Japan, India is the only seventh country that can build an aircraft carrier," Singh said.

"Hamare doosre aircraft carrier ka bhi kaam prarambh ho gaya hai (Work has begun on our second aircraft carrier)," the minister said. He underscored that the INS Vikrant aircraft carrier has achieved 73-74 per cent indigenisation. Currently, India operates two aircraft carriers – Russian-built INS Vikramaditya and indigenously built INS Vikrant, a 40,000 ton vessel.

Last week, Navy chief Admiral R Hari Kumar had said the Navy was considering a repeat order for INS Vikrant to capitalise on the expertise available within the country.Kumar said the Navy was yet to firm up its mind on building the indigenous aircraft carrier-2, a heavier vessel with 65,000 tons displacement. Singh said under the Atmanirbhar Bharat initiative, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appealed to businesses to ‘Make in India’ and ‘Make for the World'.

He said TATA-Airbus have laid the foundation in India for manufacturing the C-295 transport aircraft, which will also be exported to other countries. Singh said India's defence exports had already touched Rs 14,000 crore this year and were set to reach Rs 19,000 crore by the end of 2023. The defence minister said India has set the target of Rs 25,000 in defence exports by 2024-25.

Gandaberunda

For strange reasons Navy didn’t wanted more submarines and has fetish for nuclear super career but MoD tried to force submarines on IN at the expense of super career hence navy agreed for replica of Vikrant keeping their super career still ON. This is same like IAF fetish for MMRCA. Both MMRCA and P75I are sham dragging for decades

jai jaganath

Most sensible decision.
On one side, you do not have adequate surface and sub-surface combatants and on the other want to build a $13 billion novelty item.
Yeah it's a good decision
But can u elaborate what are major things which we can indigenize in this contract

NutCracker

Another 45k tonne STOBAR carrier :facepalm:
A flattop nuclear super carrier is now out of question for next 15 years.
View attachment 186549
It should at least be a steam catapult. or wait for 10-12 years and get EMALS.

Most sensible decision.
On one side, you do not have adequate surface and sub-surface combatants and on the other want to build a $13 billion novelty item.
In the absence of potent AWACS, even this STOBAR will be a 10B $ handicapped CBG.

If we are going to go for another IAC-1 type then order at least 2 more. That way we will have 3 carriers in 10 years time while the design for IAC-2 continues to mature.

Another 45k tonne STOBAR carrier :facepalm:
A flattop nuclear super carrier is now out of question for next 15 years.
View attachment 186549
Arey bhaisab you complain for the sake of complaining.
Cant leave such a large shipyard ideal and lose momentum of carrier building so this order is the most sensible. We would need some 5 years more to build Nuclear Carrier. So expect order not before 2027, at the time we will have a decent budget and all the experience. If Allah wishes we will also have TBDEF concept ready by than.

Reactions: SKC

Arey bhaisab you complain for the sake of complaining.
Cant leave such a large shipyard ideal and lose momentum of carrier building so this order is the most sensible. We would need some 5 years more to build Nuclear Carrier. So expect order not before 2027, at the time we will have a decent budget and all the experience. If Allah wishes we will also have TBDEF concept ready by than.
Navy had ample time to work on it.