No, 50k one isn't a big deal. Even 65k wouldn't have if didn't need more advanced systems planned on ship. There are just too many aspects of naval expansion going on where we can't afford to build another carrier in meantime. Not even another 40k one.Otherwise, forget 65k-class we can't even afford to try building a slightly larger 50k ton carrier with this economy
Waho to bolaThere are just too many aspects of naval expansion going on where we can't afford to build another carrier in meantime. Not even another 40k one.
The carrier has to be economically viable so I hope they make another easy logistical Vikrant. Simply, CSL has to order another set from the same major vendors and prices will remain similar.No, 50k one isn't a big deal. Even 65k wouldn't have if didn't need more advanced systems planned on ship. There are just too many aspects of naval expansion going on where we can't afford to build another carrier in meantime. Not even another 40k one.
Making an slightly bigger version of the Vikrant is not an bad idea. Lots of things are in its favour. Would give the Cochin Shipyard an opportunity to consolidate on the skills already acquired while building Vikrant 1.Seems the lowest cost option.The carrier has to be economically viable so I hope they make another easy logistical Vikrant. Simply, CSL has to order another set from the same major vendors and prices will remain similar.
I don't find any complaints or internal problems from the government for processing another order soon.
Why stretch when we can convert both the carriers to catobar. I say make the same size and change the propulsion to nuclear; I am sure BARC has a reactor design ready to be installed in pairs or trikes. With a catobar layout, with 3 or 2 emal cats.If the navy is adamant on a nuclear supercarrier for IAC-2 the Vikrant is a good template. Stretch it and use Russian reactors and American emals.
Well, that's exactly the thing which is easier said than done. It took decades to miniaturise reactor for Arihant for a reason.I say make the same size and change the propulsion to nuclear
No there is no carrier reactor available in india as of now. VKD should not be modified any further. VKD is vintage in tis design. Uses boilers like the Viraat, and has tons of wiring, piping, and structural mods that it will become too expensive to make it catobar. Also i would guess the cost to convert a non nuclear ship to a nuclear one is prohibitively expensive. Better to make new ones.Why stretch when we can convert both the carriers to catobar. I say make the same size and change the propulsion to nuclear; I am sure BARC has a reactor design ready to be installed in pairs or trikes. With a catobar layout, with 3 or 2 emal cats.
We actually showed interest in it few years ago, Boeing/Umrikis weren't opposed to sel us, obviously they would sell it to us now to counter Chini influence in IOR, only thing left is a formal RFICan't we buy some v22s and solve our long range awacs problem?
Abey LEGO set ka Carrier model nahi banana hai!If the navy is adamant on a nuclear supercarrier for IAC-2 the Vikrant is a good template. Stretch it and use Russian reactors and American emals.
I don't think the size of elevators in vikrant or vikramaditya will allow us to carry a v-22.We actually showed interest in it few years ago, Boeing/Umrikis weren't opposed to sel us, obviously they would sell it to us now to counter Chini influence in IOR, only thing left is a formal RFI
India sizes up V-22 Osprey
India has shown interest in the Bell Boeing V-22 Osprey, although it has not stated a formal requirement for the tiltrotor aircraft.www.flightglobal.com
Also, lookee here, apart from Armed forces, Aviation research centre under R&AW have fooled around with the idea of V22 and special forces operators used to evacuate personnel from hostile conditions, that too was years ago(2015) never knew what happened to it, maybe they'll pop up again after AFSOD is 100% up and running
Coming to AWACS based on the V22 osprey platform, Umrikis are already working on the idea(it can also double as a tanker)
Osprey's Next Jobs: Tanker or AWACS?
FARNBOROUGH, England -- The V-22 Osprey's program manager and his counterparts with Bell and Boeing have some high-tech aspirations for the future of their iconic -- and controversial -- tiltrotor.www.military.com
View attachment 102542
Boeing EV-22 AWACS (concept)
This statement was appropriate in 2001 AD it's over two decades and conventional research and development is and was and is in full swing for reactor development. I believe the reactor designs are ready for A/C and subs. As we have seen with SSBN design; we can easily fit reactors and install emals on the carriers.No there is no carrier reactor available in india as of now. VKD should not be modified any further. VKD is vintage in tis design. Uses boilers like the Viraat, and has tons of wiring, piping, and structural mods that it will become too expensive to make it catobar. Also i would guess the cost to convert a non nuclear ship to a nuclear one is prohibitively expensive. Better to make new ones.
Abey apne pure forces hi lego hain of different suppliers!Abey LEGO set ka Carrier model nahi banana hai!
You just dont buy RUSSIAN reactor and US EMALS and build a carrier!
Read: https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/i...ed-aircraft-carrier-anytime-soon-2421329.htmlThis statement was appropriate in 2001 AD it's over two decades and conventional research and development is and was and is in full swing for reactor development. I believe the reactor designs are ready for A/C and subs. As we have seen with SSBN design; we can easily fit reactors and install emals on the carriers.
Length and height of both aircrafts are comparable, but, the wingspan of V22 is about 2 meters longer than MiG29, and I don't see how it can be folded like other conventional naval aircrafts()I don't think the size of elevators in vikrant or vikramaditya will allow us to carry a v-22.
Sir, I hope you considered this option too.Length and height of both aircrafts are comparable, but, the wingspan of V22 is about 2 meters longer than MiG29, and I don't see how it can be folded like other conventional naval aircrafts()
If Indian navy wants a EV-22 carrier borne AWACS, it has to wait till it gets bigger carriers than Vikramaditya or Vikrant
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
H | Ministry of defence,India: Save our first Aircraft carrier INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 2 | |
Chinese Media on INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 7 | ||
RIP INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 16 | ||
P | Dismantling of iconic warship INS Vikrant begins | Indian Navy | 11 |